• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is Singapore's military scholars system wrong? Duh!

Even if academic excellance does indicate great intelligence and a strong ability to lead, it is a total waste putting these people in the military for such a long time that they missed out on the experience that they would otherwise gain for their eventual calling.

Many joined the military mainly for the scholarship and the money, not for the career. Recruiting scholars with passion for the military and trained in the finest schools in warfare and human history, not in unrelated fields of their liking, is definitely a better way to build up an effective armed force.

I would further say that even scholarships elsewhere are given with no clear idea of what is to be required of these scholars when they started work and therefore there is no preference on the courses they have to take. In other words, the country only benefits from their general training, not from their technical/professional skills.

What a waste? Just because one great man thought that if you had the academic gift, you could be a Jack of all trades, even without professional and technical training.

Even if academic excellance does indicate great intelligence and a strong ability to lead, it is a total waste putting these people in the military for such a long time that they missed out on the experience that they would otherwise gain for their eventual calling.

Many joined the military mainly for the scholarship and the money, not for the career. Recruiting scholars with passion for the military and trained in the finest schools in warfare and human history, not in unrelated fields of their liking, is definitely a better way to build up an effective armed force.

I would further say that even scholarships elsewhere are given with no clear idea of what is to be required of these scholars when they started work and therefore there is no preference on the courses they have to take. In other words, the country only benefits from their general training, not from their technical/professional skills.

What a waste? Just because one great man thought that if you had the academic gift, you could be a Jack of all trades, even without professional and technical training.

Can't blame these scholars who made the decision at 18 yrs old.

With regards to our military scholars, I will only say this -

There are soldiers and then there are mercenaries! :cool:

武壮元

There was this documentary about Chinese Martial Arts and one of the chapters was 武壮元 warrior scholars. When situation turned favorable for the weak men like academic scholars to enter the hall to 'draft' tactics or military knowledge, they surpassed the brutish men (true warrior class). So, in the end, the imperial exam only had men with no guts or appetite for rough military life and terrains. They ended up bidding farewell from the camps and opted for comfy court halls instead.

No wonder there is NO MEN in Sinkieland. If Pinky can sway his hip like a sissy and be promoted to a BG (Biggest Goon), I can't help wondering where are the REAL men ? Where are the MEN ?

"The White Horse, sir."
"No, I mean really ... is there anyone else ?"
"Sir, the White Horse !"
"You mean we have nobody ?"
"No, sir. There's still one left."
"Who ?"
"Excuse grass."
"Nooooo ....."

In china, a scholar is supposed to be engaged with a woman of the imperial family.
The scholar will be given important prestigious post such as a general.
He will then be part of the imperial family dynasty given the duty of aiding the
emperor to rule the country.
Did we see a smilliar pattern in sg?
How many cabinet minsters(present and past) were a relative of the Lee dynasty?
I think we all know who they are.

Still too young to fully understand his/her obligation to society upon graduation. 18 years young. May be academically brilliant but still not matured enough, for me.

They understand they will earn millions

Not sure if people really grasp the purpose of having the SAF OMS. SAF is just the organisation, the environment and the platform to develop, nuture and build the leadership capability. The intention is not to build warriors and it has never been the case. SAF has some components, scenarios, etc that it resembles a mini state. Closely attached to the SAF is the local military industrial complex.

Lim Siong Guan, gotmer head of ghe civil service was a pioneer in developing many of the companies and industries that play huge part in the economy. While in Mindef he began the start-up of companies that build defences equipment such as ships, etc. Most of these scholars have no interest in warefare or regimentation. If they did not get the pay, They would have left the programme long ago.

The Police Force could not afford to provide similar opporturnities and many leave by paying out their bond. They are not the only ones. Nearly every batch of graduate senior officers recruited has seen nearly 80% lost to attrition wothin the first 5 years. Some cohorts have 1 or 2 remaining and these are usually in ISD. The promising scholars in MHA are identified early and taken out of the system. They do not spend years in SPF or MHA. People like Leo Yip and HSK left early.

To be frank, the Police is led by people who are remnants in a near empty barrel. We have Supts who who don't even have a degree in this day and age. You ask them to attend an overseas conference and they will come out the quietest in the class. You will never ever hear of a Singapore Police Officer topping his overseas courses unlike the SPF. Both the CP and DCP did not even figure in any ranking in their early years when the better ones in their cohort were around.

If you are smart, you would apply to Admin Service. Pure waste of time joing the uniform services or a narrow stream such as MAS, SPH, A*star. The guys in Admin Service set the tone and the policies. The rest follow.

They understand they will earn millions

scroobal said:
Not sure if people really grasp the purpose of having the SAF OMS. SAF is just the organisation, the environment and the platform to develop, nuture and build the leadership capability. The intention is not to build warriors and it has never been the case. SAF has some components, scenarios, etc that it resembles a mini state. Closely attached to the SAF is the local military industrial complex.

Of course the Military Service and Admin Service, if you are a scholar, is the shortcut to top leadership and if you are hungry for that you should go for that.

But I have my doubt that this is the best way to develop the so-called leadership in the political arena or the cut and thrust theatre of the business world. The rugby captain type of leadership serves best in the base supervisory level but higher up, it is the amalgamation of economic, financial, technical, human resource, managerial, marketing and visionary skills that is needed.

My gripe is that the sort of leadership and management capability developed in the military is very formulaic and one type. While in a combat role, there is a need for quick action but most of the time, this is based on stocked scenarios. You are in fact prepared. The administration and planning roles have long work and planning cycles, and most part of which is following past practices, not the out of the box, non-SOP, sharp responses required in politics and in the industries. I believe if you want to prepare someone for the job, put him where he can directly pick up the skills, not in some proxy organisation somewhere else.

The only justification for doing that is the belief that all that matters is your genes. I believe many people hold contrary views to that.

don't think the scholar system is outdated. the questions are whether it is given to the right people ( are tests geared towards eq, street smarts and acad smarts), and at the right time (18)

This scholars system were practised in Imperial China hundreds and thousands years ago.
These scholars were trained to administer the country.
They maintained peace and order but never bring the country forward.
When the country is rotting they will just continue with the rot.
After the early inventions like gun powder and compass etc. what have ancient or modern China contributed to mankind.
Why after so many years of scholar system, no sinkie scholar have achieved any international status. Most are confined to the local system.

First off, let's not forget that Singapore isn't a democracy. Singapore practices a totalitarian system of governance. Secondly, the PAP is a political party with strong fascist leanings. Having former generals and admirals as ministers is a mainstay of their ideology.

There is no intent to manage the economy in terms of best practices. Rather, every policy is handed out by a single person. Every policy is enacted to allow the party to stay in power.

don't think the scholar system is outdated. the questions are whether it is given to the right people ( are tests geared towards eq, street smarts and acad smarts), and at the right time (18)

18 is not a child's age. They should be able to make decisions.

Some cohorts have 1 or 2 remaining and these are usually in ISD.

I can think of 3 OMSes rightaway but all left. Current CP NG Joo Hee is one. The other 2 were Tans. David Tan Wei Son left for the private sector in the mid-90s. The other Tan, TPK was returned to the SPF and had to leave SPF later on. No president scholars in the dept.

There is also the misconception that President Scholars are the academically finest there are but there were years when not a single President Scholar had straight As in their A-level. And straight As students numbered in several hundreds. Evidently Pres Scholars were selected on quite different criteria.

The assignments given to OMS who are in highest rung of CEP are usually given by PS of the Ministry. They are judged by the work towards that assignment. in nearly all instance it has no direct impact on soldiering or policing. Some of the scholars are bold and ignore their day job. The point is most of them are not soldiers or policemen. It is just a convenient holding pen. Like it or not, they are the cream of society. There are 2 current perm secs and cabinet ministers who were mever part of OMS or any form of scholarships.
Of course the Military Service and Admin Service, if you are a scholar, is the shortcut to top leadership and if you are hungry for that you should go for that. But I have my doubt that this is the best way to develop the so-called leadership in the political arena or the cut and thrust theatre of the business world. The rugby captain type of leadership serves best in the base supervisory level but higher up, it is the amalgamation of economic, financial, technical, human resource, managerial, marketing and visionary skills that is needed. My gripe is that the sort of leadership and management capability developed in the military is very formulaic and one type. While in a combat role, there is a need for quick action but most of the time, this is based on stocked scenarios. You are in fact prepared. The administration and planning roles have long work and planning cycles, and most part of which is following past practices, not the out of the box, non-SOP, sharp responses required in politics and in the industries. I believe if you want to prepare someone for the job, put him where he can directly pick up the skills, not in some proxy organisation somewhere else. The only justification for doing that is the belief that all that matters is your genes. I believe many people hold contrary views to that.

The system of awarding scholarships is fine. Even when they return from their studies, most scholars are still pristine white sheets with their biases still weak and capable of being moulded. The unintended consequences that we absorb them all into the public sector and strengthen these biases and mindsets. Ngiam Tong Dow pointed this out some years back and perhaps we should release some of these people back into the private sector immediately instead of doing the parachuting years down the road into a GLC, etc.

Unfortunately, even Ngiam's suggestion will never overcome the fundamental premise of the academic model - that it favour certain human traits at the expense of others. William Deresiewicz put it across clearly over here - http://theamericanscholar.org/the-disadvantages-of-an-elite-education/

Scholars aka "people who can think and write using deductive logic" is favoured by the PAP. Anyone who can stand up to a crowd and move them to a particular cause of action are deemed to be dangerous to the status quo.

The PAP has to ensure that the best that come out of its education system go on to succeed in life. If they fail and fail consistently, then the entire education system will become a joke. So, its a catch 22 situation for most ministries who get these scholars. If a particular scholar cannot succeed in a ministry, he is transferred to another where he will become a success. And if a scholar who screws up in a particular ministry but later succeeds in another ministry, then the PS of the former ministry will be taken to task for not managing the 'precious resource' given to the ministry. So, it becomes a vicious cycle.

The PAP leaders typically have no life. They spend most of their time reading, writing and reading. And they are good at conveying ideas in writing only. If they speak, they will bore you to death. And many will make mistakes while reading aloud (like mee siam, mai hum).

The best way to tackle the mettle of their calibre is thru direct questioning. LTK and Sylvia Lim are capable of doing this and taking on any that the PAP has in its rank. JBJ and Francis Seow if they were in parliament today would have torn to CCS, TJC and all the "Nair's" to pieces.

The qualities that will make one successful in politics are yet to be defined in singapore politics. All who have made a living out of politics until now are simply riding on the coat tails of LKY. Once old man is gone, the scholars will scatter out of singapore. Now is that good for singapore? Maybe what we really need is to put the scholars where they really belong...in the civil service...write papers...present options..and let true blood politicians in parliament argue things out and decide on policy directions.