Is our new HDB flat safe?

davidlifake.jpg

It is a well-known fact that some PRC nationals submit forged education certificates and qualifications to enable them to land a job in Singapore, but what is shocking is that there may be bogus engineers without any training in Civil Engineering supervising the building of flats in Singapore!

According to a tip-off we received from an anonymous source, there are two PRC bogus engineers who are currently working as certified ‘engineers’ in Singapore, one of whom is a ‘David Li’.

“David Li is a fake C&S Resident Engineer, without any relevant training in Civil / Structural Engineering. And the irony is, he (a fake) is supervising 14 blocks of HDB BTO flats (>1000 units). It seems that the system is not rigid enough.”

Our source added that David Li is a Singapore PR and has applied for Singapore citizenship.

Working as a Resident Engineer without the necessary qualifications and training contravenes the Building Control Act (Cap 29) Building Control Regulations – Fourth Schedule.

The above email has been forwarded to the following attached with the necessary supporting documents:
Building & Construction Authority
IES / ACES C&S Resident Engineers & Resident Technical Officers Joint Accreditation Committee
Professional Engineers Board, Singapore
Housing & Development Board
Immigration & Checkpoint Authority
Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau

http://temasektimes.wordpress.com/2...ineer-supervising-building-of-1000-bto-flats/

i guess it is not safe. it is ok. HDB will compensate you if the flat is not safe.

Is our new HDB flat safe? ...
y dun u go ask dat $8 scum burger? ... :rolleyes:

he said he spent $8 on medical xpenses, den iz $8 ...

he said trees n bushes dept buy bicycles got no prob, den iz no prob ...

Based on that exposé, I'd say your HDB flat is at risk of collapsing at any moment.

Hope this issue does not open a can of worms ..:eek::cool:

safest is to build your own one storey landed...no money to buy land in sinkapore? live and die like the rest of us. haha.

Look on the bright side. If a new HDB flat collapses, your corpse will be undamaged if you hide inside the bomb shelter.

It makes corpse identification much easier.

Look on the bright side. If a new HDB flat collapses, your corpse will be undamaged if you hide inside the bomb shelter.

It makes corpse identification much easier.

who knows how secure the bomb shelter really is, especially under the expert supervision of a bogus engineer. :rolleyes:

i guess it is not safe. it is ok. HDB will compensate you if the flat is not safe.

Was anyone compensated for the falling window fiasco:confused:

From what I remember the "victims" were stuck with the bill for rectifying the problems created by HDB.

Typical reaction would be just to drive up asking prices of older flats built before the '90s open-immigration boom -just imagine the sales pitch "no need to worry wan horr, this flat built by our Singaporeans, no fake Chinese FTs" - that in itself surely worth a premium of sorts.

Let the flight to "quality" pigeonholes begin....

Talking about flat quality, the old ones are really good. Stay in one of these above 40 years old flats. KNN, during a renovation, contractor also KPKB concrete very solid. His workers work until face green green.

New flats really no comment. Don't think will ever stay in one.

PRC engineer bochap. Because after few year will go back home country. If building collapse not his problem. U think BCA/police will hunt he/she down ?

windows what? nothing, if the whole flat is declared unsafe, this will be big news, that affect, more than a thousand family. Surely you do not expect the outcome be the same.

Was anyone compensated for the falling window fiasco:confused:

From what I remember the "victims" were stuck with the bill for rectifying the problems created by HDB.

New HDB, old HDB what's the diff? As far as I know, every building and to a certain extent, every room in it has to have a fire exit. Your HDB flat has only one exit/entrance to the common passageway, if there is a fire and that passage is blocked, better hope you're on a low floor so you might survive the jump from the balcony.

Hehehehe. Me no stay in HDB or Sinking land long ago liaoz. Collecting rent every month.

Best to live by the beach. Free. Close to nature. Pass time by fishing for your makan. Fresh air. No need to pay property tax. Just set up your tent. If heavy rain, take cover inside car.

windows what? nothing, if the whole flat is declared unsafe, this will be big news, that affect, more than a thousand family. Surely you do not expect the outcome be the same.

Some may claim that nothing has ever gone wrong such as a flat collapsing. However the people responsible for that are probably retired & who knows what kind of people are now running HDB & Spore:confused:

SIA used to have a clean record until they had that nasty accident in Taiwan. People thought that SMRT was efficiently run until we found out otherwise. People were surprised by the floods in Orchard Rd.

What's worrying is that they are now building taller flats, dependant on recycled waste water,...if anything goes wrong many will be affected.

Some may claim that nothing has ever gone wrong such as a flat collapsing. However the people responsible for that are probably retired & who knows what kind of people are now running HDB & Spore:confused:

SIA used to have a clean record until they had that nasty accident in Taiwan. People thought that SMRT was efficiently run until we found out otherwise. People were surprised by the floods in Orchard Rd.

What's worrying is that they are now building taller flats, dependant on recycled waste water,...if anything goes wrong many will be affected.

My Ah Kong once told me, 'never say never.' That was way before the hotel collapsed along Serangoon Rd.