• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is any Minister or PAP MP able to match Gerald Giam's speech?

Between the year 2000 and 2010, our population has seen an increase of 26%, mostly through immigration. The number of hospital admissions has seen an increase of 15% in this same period. However, not only have the number of hospital beds not kept pace with population growth, but they have actually decreased during this period. In the past decade, there has been a 7% drop in the number public sector hospital beds, according to the Department of Statistics[11]

Two years ago, the then-Health Minister admitted, that on hindsight, his ministry made a mistake by not building a new hospital two years earlier. Recently, the Health Minister floated the idea of bringing forward the opening of Sengkang Hospital, currently scheduled for 2020. I support this move, but this is still a long time to wait, and by that time, our population would have increased even more.

What is left unanswered is why this self-proclaimed “far-sighted” Government failed in the past 10 years to build our healthcare infrastructure to keep pace with population growth and an ageing population. Was the Government instead overly fixated on the near-sighted goals of boosting economic growth by increasing our population?

- http://theonlinecitizen.com/2011/10...nd-mantras-of-self-reliance-and-filial-piety/

Gerald did well in his maiden speech! He showed clearly that he's got substance and is not picking a fight with the PAP, unlike the patronising and self-righteous PAP MPs who have spoken so far.

GG is good. Good choice WP gave NCMP to him not ET. ET nice fellow but look blur not sharp. I want to see how YJJ perform. I think he even better than GG. I voted for him. Sipeh suay lost by 1% nia. Otherwise his my MP liao. This JC EC got very high hope for WP next GE.

The problem is many medical group concentrate on providing high class expensive medical service to the rich ... The parkway pantai group for example! Leaving government hospital shorthanded & demoralized. Everyone wants to make more $$$.

1. apparently, he has done his homework well.
2. aiyoh!
3. what do you expect from some daft sheep that just sit on its butt and paid well?
4. one statement: if you think you can do it better, prove it! - this will be something along the line from those daft sheep and dogs.
5. i bet on it!
6. honest, not only hospitals.
7. daft sheep are not quick enough to oversee the enhancement of its infrastructure to support the huge influx of talents into sheepishland too.
8. world-crass system, my foot!

Between the year 2000 and 2010, our population has seen an increase of 26%, mostly through immigration. The number of hospital admissions has seen an increase of 15% in this same period. However, not only have the number of hospital beds not kept pace with population growth, but they have actually decreased during this period. In the past decade, there has been a 7% drop in the number public sector hospital beds, according to the Department of Statistics[11]

Was the Government instead overly fixated on the near-sighted goals of boosting economic growth by increasing our population? ...
palaces not enuff! ... hospital's not enuff! ... wtf! ... :oIo:

lidat ... demand exceeds supply woh! ... prices increase lor! ... :rolleyes:

economic growth goot wat! ... ah loon can stuff himself n his jin gang wif 8 mths bonus woh! ... :oIo:

Funny how it's the opposition who are the ones proposing ideas while the ruling party is on the defensive throughout.

Cruxx said:
Funny how it's the opposition who are the ones proposing ideas while the ruling party is on the defensive throughout.

What it is telling us is that the ruling party has done all that it is capable of doing.

Very good of Gerald to speak out for those who long needed their voice to be heard.

However, results in 2016 will still be the same if 60% continue to ticks the blue thunder within a red circle. Only way is to educate everyone they will die miserably in SG if they continue to tick the blue thunder in the red circle.