• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

is $3 mee rebus overprice?

Just dun buy if u think u kenna rip off. Simple as that. No need to hit all the ppl on the boat with one pole. Some malay stalls are just as dishonest to fellow malays too. My malay colleague once brought malay mix vegies nasi for $6. Only one chicken wing, a bergedil and cabbage, the stall at manhattan house along chin swee road.

prob is they never state price, unless people ask price first lor..but will appear so kiam siap lor. I would just assume and max at $4,m who knows will kena $5

Just dun buy if u think u kenna rip off. Simple as that. No need to hit all the ppl on the boat with one pole. Some malay stalls are just as dishonest to fellow malays too. My malay colleague once brought malay mix vegies nasi for $6. Only one chicken wing, a bergedil and cabbage, the stall at manhattan house along chin swee road.
Pity this makcik.......the prices used to be cheaper.....she was conned by a swindler some time back. If she know her you can verify with her.........the chap who conned her used to work in the building as a building manager. I got first hand knowledge.

ask her next time order again...........pay up..........then tell hawker to pack another 10 packets , say for her office colleagues............then go off and don't return to stall

one of the best Mee rebus I tasted was the this stall in a Chinese Kopitiam at Upp Serangoon.. People staying around there would know the stall..

Any idea where's the mee kia stall now? Duck rice stall was also bagus.

Uncle, even she kenna swindled, that does not mean she can con her customers. It not as if she no biz, she doing a roaring trade everyday with her daughters or DIL helping her. My malay colleague was piss by the price but he admit it very nice, i personally never tried.

I heard from the malay stall operator that Vivian ministry the NEA descend onto the coffeeshop and gave the coffeeshop operator 1 week to closed shop.

I thought both dishes have ketupat.

One is yellow noodle the other ketupat but when eating both will have two pieces of begedil in soup. Next time I'll put kambing or sapi instead if mackerel. I was pretty proud of myself cooking these for the very first time.

I heard from the malay stall operator that Vivian ministry the NEA descend onto the coffeeshop and gave the coffeeshop operator 1 week to closed shop.

Was under the impression kpt was closed for reno. But after a month, I parked at the carpark behind and checked on the kpt. The new location for the mee rebus stall was highlighted but none for the noodle and duck rice stalls.

Any idea why the need to close shop?

Sorry Uncle GD, no idea where they are now.. But do try this one at Jalan Tua Kong.. Comfirm one of the best in the island..

Was under the impression kpt was closed for reno. But after a month, I parked at the carpark behind and checked on the kpt. The new location for the mee rebus stall was highlighted but none for the noodle and duck rice stalls.

must be some minister or his son makan liao diarrhoea lah..........

Yes cooking for yourself is more rewarding than buying at hawker centre these days. Plus you can cook alot and eat untill you dont want to eat mee soto for years.

Agree with you Dr House, another advantage is you can put as much of your favourite ingredients as you like. For me it's the bawang goreng, must be fresh and crispy.

Sorry Uncle GD, no idea where they are now.. But do try this one at Jalan Tua Kong.. Comfirm one of the best in the island..

Tried years ago but still prefer the Upp S'goon stall. Even tried the 2 stalls at Simpang Bedok but still cannot match my favourite mee kia stall. Closest is the one at Beach Rd, at the basement.

Sorry, not very sure. My malayu very limited so i catch no ball what the malay stall operator was saying. Maybe u go amk to ask him, who know he also know where the teochew kway tiao and the duck rice shift to.

Just the previous week, went to Lavender and realised that my beef noodle stall wasn't there anymore. Checked with pohpiah stall. They also no idea. One by one, my favourite stalls all missing. WTF.

That beef noodle nice meh? I prefer the stall in the coffeeshop along macpherson road just next to old jackson. Operate by a old auntie and served with a very nice chilli. Both soup and dry version very nice.

Bro, like you many Singaporeans who have moved overseas have learnt to cook. And the standard to the old ways has been true. When I travel to meet kakis, never miss an invitation to eat the old Singaporean favourites.

Now even the ketupat is available in packets.

One is yellow noodle the other ketupat but when eating both will have two pieces of begedil in soup. Next time I'll put kambing or sapi instead if mackerel. I was pretty proud of myself cooking these for the very first time.

I find the one with chincalok or grago (not chap cheng) the best.

Uncle, even she kenna swindled, that does not mean she can con her customers. It not as if she no biz, she doing a roaring trade everyday with her daughters or DIL helping her. My malay colleague was piss by the price but he admit it very nice, i personally never tried.

If the mee rebus is nice and expensive I would still queue for it. But tats me.

Juz like the nasi padang stall "Sinar Pagi" at geylang serai mkt. My Chinese colleagues complained tat abang overcharged him. But he still patronise tat stall. Frankly even to me....and i have known tat abang for so many years. He still charges me the same like other customers. Expensive....but the rendang and kuah asam seeedap!