• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Inhuman Working Conditions in Din Tai Fung

[h=2]Boycott Din Tai Fung[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
November 7th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

[The letter is addressed to HR of BreadTalk which owns Din Tai Fung. It
is also copied to mainstream media including SPH and Mediacorp
]

DTF.png
Dear BreadTalk HR,

Recently, I came to know of a very sad story.

I was taking a taxi towards my work place as I was late. The taxi driver told
me that your subsidiary Din Tai Fung is a horrible place to work in.

Before that, we already know that Din Tai Fung is a human zoo. Your
management put your chefs and cooks in a glass chamber so that customers can
gawk at them and their cooking.

Besides enduring the shame, the glass panels are also a heat absorber. Using
glass panels instead of a proper wall will trap heat inside the kitchen, leaving
your poor staff to withstand the uncomfortable working conditions.

In addition, the taxi driver told me that he was only paid $1200 a month to
be a cook and dishwasher. He had to go through 2 rounds and not forgetting
standing long hours until his feet started cramping.

Any customer would feel and sympathise with this working conditions. If there
is an Occupy Wall Street to boycott Din Tai Fung, I will strongly urge any
decent human being to stop patronising your services immediately. Your employees
are also your family. Treat them like how you would like to be treated.

I would not patronise a business which treats customers like king but treats
their employees like dirt.

I believe your bosses also drive big cars and live in swanky condominiums. It
re-affirms why we really need a minimum wage to reduce the high-low growing
income disparity.

Edmund Lim

i like to eat there, as for them treating their chef like animal, i dun think so, a lot of F&B are like this.

In addition, the taxi driver told me that he was only paid $1200 a month to
be a cook and dishwasher. He had to go through 2 rounds and not forgetting
standing long hours until his feet started cramping.

its a free market and softies like him who can't stand are free to quit.

the open kitchen concept is very common in angmo countries

Ya, let us pressure DTF to up the salary of their staff by 50%. However, are we prepared to visit DTF if their prices are up by 50% too?

Why can't DTF increases the salary of its workers? In doing so, the company makes less profit only mah, it is not as if DTF is running an unprofitable business. Afterall, the DTF boss is living in a big house and driving expensive cars...

1. aiyoh!
2. i just find anything so nice from the dtf joint leh.
3. honest, i have seen worse working condition in chineyland than the dtf thing.

Ya, let us pressure DTF to up the salary of their staff by 50%. However, are we prepared to visit DTF if their prices are up by 50% too?

Then it is up to you to ask your boss to up your salary by 50%. If you can't do it, ask is it because

a) you got no balls
b) you are easily replaceable by cheaper foreign labour
c) you work for a company that can only survive by using cheap labour
d) there is no union or organisation to fight for and protect your rights
e) all of the above

Please don't forget to also look at other causes of why you might have trouble surviving if your food costs go up.

Sorry folks. Why ?

DTF , breadtalk, Sakea Sushi, Food republic is all under the same group. Lee Hsien Yang is also the major shareholder of this group.

Now you wonder why all these outlets get prime location in shopping mall...

Why can't DTF increases the salary of its workers? In doing so, the company makes less profit only mah, it is not as if DTF is running an unprofitable business. Afterall, the DTF boss is living in a big house and driving expensive cars...

The same as to why saki sushi cannot pay their DISH WASHER $3000/mth as PROMISED? LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

If the people have the balls to vote PAP out and eliminate the rent seeking culture of the PAP and the rich,,like reducing rents etc,,the workers might actually get better pay and the people in general can get a lower cost of living,,,but PAP is the cause of our high cost of living,,and the rich and super scale civil serpents and PAP MPs benefit from such a system,,,

the people dont want to get rid of pap,,dont kpkb that they kenna tekan

Sorry folks. Why ?

DTF , breadtalk, Sakea Sushi, Food republic is all under the same group. Lee Hsien Yang is also the major shareholder of this group.

Now you wonder why all these outlets get prime location in shopping mall...

Guys, just boycott DTF and all the chow porsche beng's outlet lah. KNN, so 'hungry ghost' must eat from a pappie running dog's outlet arh?