• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If Singaporeans don't earn enough, you can't blame the government

It must take a lot of drive to become a Cabinet Minister in S'pore. See, we people have to entice them out of their comfort zones by giving them millions in salaries. After all, from civil service to a high political office without any challenges at the hustings, how much drive is really needed? Yet, there are not enough takers that we have to pay them well.

Now they say our students have no drive. What about themselves? Why dont they quit the Cabinet and come out to the real world to face the real challenges? Arent they suppose to be our leaders? Why dont they prove to us how good they are? If they cant do it, then why criticise our poor overstressed students?

It must take a lot of drive to become a Cabinet Minister in S'pore. See, we people have to entice them out of their comfort zones by giving them millions in salaries. After all, from civil service to a high political office without any challenges at the hustings, how much drive is really needed? Yet, there are not enough takers that we have to pay them well.

Now they say our students have no drive. What about themselves? Why dont they quit the Cabinet and come out to the real world to face the real challenges? Arent they suppose to be our leaders? Why dont they prove to us how good they are? If they cant do it, then why criticise our poor overstressed students?

Best post I have read so far.

*Sidetrack*
Some PAP ministers already found out this.
Ever wonder why Imperial emperors has so much drive for concubines. Visit Beijing TRT.
tongrentang_0001.jpg

There's something wrong with this thread. The title "If Singaporeans dont earn enough, you can't blame the govt" does not match the headline of the story which is "Lack of drive in students a worry"

Is the TS implying that drive = earning enough?

Sim Wong Hoo must have a lot of drive to be an entrepreneur, yet I bet you he doesnt take home as many millions as our ex-President. Who has more drive? Nathan or Sim? Yet Nathan earns $48 million in take home over 12 years without risks. So also do all our Cabinet Ministers, such as Mah Bow Tan, Raymond Lim, etc. Does it take a lot of drive to be a top well-paid civil servant like Heng Swee Kiat before he became Minister to be even more well-paid? Do people like Mah have drive? Lim Swee Say who was from the NCS. Can we say he had drive becuz he is certainly well paid now?

hence, drive does not equate earning enough.

As usual, the blame is placed on someone else. If it's not the government, it's "society". Well I have news for you... society is you, your parents, your friends, your relatives and your work mates. If you want to take the blame along with your fellow countrymen, I won't stop you.

There are many other avenues to success. Higher qualifications are but one option. Nobody is being forced into a tertiary education. They choose to go or they're forced into it by their parents. In my opinion, the buck stops with the family.

Sharp as usual Sam. I would like to respond to your statements but I think you missed the point I was trying to make.

You quoted the right line, but the operative word is "backward", and the context is "economy". New jobs are added in the services sectors, largely near the low end. Where jobs are suitable in this country, they do not preclude the possibility of a similarly qualified from another part of the world. What that means is this new job doesn't require any intrinsic value that is derived from receiving an education in Singapore. That being the case, education quality and content may not be the issue.

For the PAP to blame it on the citizen is almost too predictable, but I suggest looking from another perspective.

Now if universities are run like businesses, they would all go out of business in Singapore. An SMU graduate may be equally qualified for a role as one from Zhejiang University, but the cost of education is likely 3 times that of institutions elsewhere like China. What this means is that the university in this example is inefficient if you consider the annual budget for administrative staff, local/foreign scholarship grants and teaching staff.

These three categories may not be collectively exhaustive of all costs students are paying before subsidies, but I am sure it is not difficult for readers to see where costs may be reduced. With lower tuition fees, perhaps Singaporeans can someday afford to be competitive by becoming "cheaper better faster" than our third world counterparts.

To continue as it is without pressures to cut costs would be double standards and contradiction to the free market ideology espoused by the PAP and obliging bureaucrats. Because if people don't earn enough (to break even their initial investment), it may be because they overpaid for something which the government is responsible for.

P.S. Have I also mentioned either way the bureaucrats win? Surely if we look into the public schools systems and the Ministry, greater inefficiency is likely to exist for the administrative overheads and grants to foreign students.

Actually, Mr Heng also said this:

[TABLE="width: 560"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD="colspan: 3"]Adaptability and drive - what bosses want in staff[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="colspan: 3"]
blank.gif
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: bodytext_10pt, colspan: 3"]By Gwendolyn Ng
Drive, confidence and a willingness to venture out of one's comfort zone - these are what entrepreneurs and top chief executives are looking for in their employees, said Education Minister Heng Swee Keat yesterday.
Addressing about 300 undergraduates at a forum held at the Singapore Management University (SMU), Mr Heng said that many business leaders he spoke to cited a lack of drive, in particular, among their young employees.
He also cited a conversation he had with the CEO of a global bank. When Mr Heng asked him which quality he valued the most, the CEO replied: "Without a doubt, it is adaptability."
[TABLE="width: 300, align: right"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

Mr Heng said: "He said 'I am in this business... The changes are so rapid that the person who cannot adapt to change is not able to do well.' "[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

------------------------------

So I wonder what Sam's motive really is, to quote only the part on drive.

Singapore students in fact are an adaptable lot! Look at the humongous number of chops and changes to the education system over the years, and you'll really wonder how the Singapore student managed to come out of it at all if he were not adaptable!

In fact, the Singapore student already is going through his training to be an entrepreneur even when in his primary and secondary schooling.

The school system is excellent. Education can only provide the basic tools. Drive, determination and hard work has to come from within.

Your post is a perfect example of how Singaporeans blame everyone but themselves for their failures.

The public school system is broken,why ?? because it is public ...

if you regulate the banking industry, you create a shadow banking system...

likewise our students are aceing exam inspite the public school system....

the teacher are demotivated and underpaid.. so you get rubbish ....

the solution is already here... PTE tutors...

the idea is to stop throwing $ at the broken public school system, paying lousy school teacher to have sex with students in school and only thinking of where to chiong after lesson instead of concentrating on lesson...

all of you ah pek left skools so many year back, I am surprise you guys act as if you know shit... just looking for excuses to whack PAP....

ah Sam boss too, just looking for excuses to whack and troll the forumers... no wonder this forum is shit ..... no good posting....

ah Sam boss obviously dunno how free market works in education... whacking for the sake of whacking ...

There is nothing stopping any child from dropping out and re writing the rules. Those who don't like marching to the drumbeat of the masses can play their own tune.

you obviously dunno about Compulsory Education (CE) was implemented by the PAP in Singapore in 2003

this was 1st mooted by socialist chiam see tong.... he think you can educate every1...

that is problem ...we no longer have an under class of illiterate cheap labour force...

in its place we have cock up overqualified, overpaid, complancent workforce....

That is the problem... people need to be allow to quit school... but the PAP govt say cannot

Mainstream education is no different in other countries. Many countries sit for the same exams. How the exams are approached and the importance of the grades attached to the results is up to parents and the child him/herself.

The world's richest men dropped out to pursue their own agenda. There is no reason why a Singaporean can't do the same.

Write a good app for the iPhone and 1 million downloads can make an 18 year old a millionaire in a matter of months.

Just by reading what u post above, I can tell u are a product of a failed education system.

brocoli said:
that is problem ...we no longer have an under class of illiterate cheap labour force...

in its place we have cock up overqualified, overpaid, complancent workforce....

That is the problem... people need to be allow to quit school... but the PAP govt say cannot

WAH. You talk like you want to create the Brave New World. It is definitely not capitalism you are talking about. You are talking about a dystopia.

do we need an under class of illiterate cheap labour force...?? if not why are we importing them ??? who else will build our casino and overpriced flat ?

It is not really bout capitalism ... but education need to be privatise...

bro,
please join the teaching fraternity!

Don't choke, I give you warning first.

I was once a relief teacher many years ago in a secondary school full of pai kias. They all loved me! Coz one idiot challenged me before. I asked him to leave the classroom. Outside, I told him 'pang soh xai'. He was stunned when I used Hokkien expletives. When he returned to class, complete silence. From then on, whenever the class kpkb, he was my discipline master. He need only stare at the troublemakers and there would be silence.

Days after the incident, the lau chiao principal called me to the office. I thought jialak liao. Student must have lodged complaint. Or, his parents did. I didn't expect what was to happen next. Principal asked me what I did to control the class so well! Wanted to strongly recommend me to MOE.

So, don't play-play. I also teacher before. Must admit some of the ah lians in class were seepay jude.

Don't choke, I give you warning first.

I was once a relief teacher many years ago in a secondary school full of pai kias. They all loved me! Coz one idiot challenged me before. I asked him to leave the classroom. Outside, I told him 'pang soh xai'. He was stunned when I used Hokkien expletives. When he returned to class, complete silence. From then on, whenever the class kpkb, he was my discipline master. He need only stare at the troublemakers and there would be silence.

Days after the incident, the lau chiao principal called me to the office. I thought jialak liao. Student must have lodged complaint. Or, his parents did. I didn't expect what was to happen next. Principal asked me what I did to control the class so well! Wanted to strongly recommend me to MOE.

So, don't play-play. I also teacher before. Must admit some of the ah lians in class were seepay jude.

Uncle GD what lessons you teach? :D I'm sure you are a smoker.. Then during school hours how you control your urge to light a stick?

History and Geography. I smoked in the staff toilet!

Another school experience took place years later. Principal of school called police. Can't recall the exact reason why. Had to do with this student gangster. Together with my colleague, we attended to case. Arrived in school during recess time, all eyes on us. Spoke to principlal in his office. Another old-timer principal. Very friendly. Expressed frustration. Hard to discipline school kids. Was a secondary school.

Recess over. Can't recall how this student suddenly appeared outside office door of principal. Told principal I had to talk to this student in his absence. Principal left his office. Spoke nicely to this sia lan face student. He bohew. Maybe coz my colleague and I looked very decent. Machiam pastor?

I gave this student a good surprise by pulling his shirt collar in my direction and gave him 2 tight slaps. My collegaue joined in to jiak bak. Don't know where he hit. While being hit, this student miraculously knew how to say, 'sorry, sorry". He 'sorry", we 'knnbccb him". When all was in order, I went out and called the principal. He was nowhere to be found. He walked in later. The clerk must have told him I was looking for him. He thanked us for our intervention after I assured him 'all's settled'.

Knnbccb, a few days later, my boss summoned me and my colleague to his office. While walking towards office, was wondering if boss had 'tio' in the evening and wanted to 'jio' us. Knocked his door, went in. He shook his head even though shake head wasn't the trend then. Told us teok complaint from boy's parents who went to MOE and had also lodged a police report.

Weeks later, I received a phone call. Wahlaneh, principal called me. Thought he sure kpkb why we hamtam his student. What he said touched me deep deep man. He told me he was called to assist in police investigation and assured the investigator no assault took place because while he left his office, he was looking in to his office from the outsode via the glass panel and therefore there was no way his student could have been assaulted. As to why there were missing buttons on the student's shirt, he explained that the said student always got into fights or could have done it himself to sabo the police.

No further action was taken against my colleague and I.

Some months later, my colleague from another department called. Asked me about the school incident. Told me same boy with him. Arrested for gang related activities. I requested my friend to hamtam on my behalf!

If Singaporeans earn more than what they're actually worth in terms of effort and intelligence, do we or they thank the government? :D

I smoked in the staff toilet!

heheh...

most of the educators also never "wear shirt", mostly 白版, you thought they even know the lingo the ah bengs used?
all given, they ought to be role models for a start, they must be able to discharge their authority too. the 爱的教育 is going a bit too far. proper punishment is required to keep those twits toe the line sometimes. not to the extend where there's abuse of power. me cringe at the thought of the type of kids roaming the streets these days :eek::eek::eek:

GoldenDragon said:

Luckily you were only a relief teacher for a short time. Otherwise you would have got into some trouble with these ah lians.