• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If Dr Koh is such a good catch, why was Ting Pei Ling fielded ahead of him in 2011?

Questions:

If Dr Koh Poh Koon is such a good catch for the PAP, then why wasn't he fielded in GE 2011?
Is it because he doesn't even measure up to candidates like Tin Peh Ling?
Is Punggol East residents getting a third-tier candidate from the PAP?

Two Acting Ministers sing praises about Dr Koh Poh Koon, so why is he not good enough for GE 2011?

Posted by singaporenewsalternative

SINGAPORE: Acting Ministers Tan Chuan—Jin and Chan Chun Sing spoke on Sunday in support of Dr Koh Poh Koon — the People’s Action Party’s man for the Punggol East by—election.

Both said they have known Dr Koh for many years and described him as a sincere man who is passionate about making a difference.

Acting Minister for Manpower Tan Chuan Jin said: "Poh Koon is a very good man. He’s very sincere very passionate, I think in all the things that he does. So whether as a doctor, and certainly now in his possible capacity as a Member of Parliament, possibly beyond that depending on what plans there are — Poh Koon is someone I trust, someone who I know has the people’s needs at heart, and he’s someone who cares a lot for society as well."

Mr Tan added, "I know it’s very difficult to get to know someone new in such a short period but I guess with all things, I hope that they would provide him a chance but there will also be other good candidates stepping forward from the opposition, and that’s always a good thing.

"It’s important to have choices and today we see that manifesting itself. I think it can only be good for society and it also forces the government to be on our toes. You can’t take things for granted. So whether you win over hearts and minds is something we have to earn and something Poh Koon has to do."

Mr Chan, who is Acting Minister Social and Family Development, said: "He has just embarked on a new career in the private practice and the fact that he is prepared to set that aside to come forward and serve the people of Singapore — I think that speaks a lot about this character.

"I’ve always known him to be somebody who feels a lot for fellow Singaporeans and I think we will be very happy and very proud to have him on the team."

— CNA/fa

Re: If Dr Koh is such a good catch, why was Ting Pei Ling fielded ahead of him in 201

Yeah if Dr Koh "knows what to do", then why was he not tapped before Ms I dunno what to do......

Let us have some Answers!!!

Besides, endorsements by Ki Chiu and Bukit Brown Dictator are not endorsements....what do you expect these 2 clowns to say? That they think Dr Koh is an idiot who is not exactly the most respected in his profession and is doing this so that he can make more money??? If this sort of statements are unlikely to come out of the people endorsing him then there is no objectivity about their comments. Why dont they interview his coursemates or people working with him...or interview the nurses who work for him and let them tell you what kind of doctor is he...usually a person's true character is best guaged by the comments of his subordinates....

Re: If Dr Koh is such a good catch, why was Ting Pei Ling fielded ahead of him in 201

A doctor who examines the anus is not someone most people would want to relate to.

Ms.Tin is a great MP. Everybody knows that. Just ask the folks at MacPherson.
And with her push in parliament, the govt decided to spend more on health care.

What did WP MPs like Low, Chen, Prata and Sylvia achieve? Nothing.
If PEH is the best they can field for Hougang, what can they field in PE?

These are the young turks who are trying to build a team to get rid of the current leaders in the PAP. They want to add to their team.

There is no need for another PAP MP, there are already too many of them.

Please lah... They intro Mdm Tin to counter Ms Nicole seah!

& She has very strong backing...

A doctor who examines the anus is not someone most people would want to relate to.

What can we expect from these two arsehole generals? These arseholes wouldn't want this "very capable" doctor to stand in GE2011 for they may not then stand a chance!

Probably Dr Koh is even more capable than these two goons!

I saw the news. When Dr Koh talks to the residents he hunched his back and stand in a crooked way. His demeanour is aloof and distance. No sincerity at all from his guy. Just wayang and going through the motions.

His yaya style is worse than TCH, that takes a lot.

aiya,,, dr koh only joined pap recently, probably after 2011 GE,,,

PE, with LTK and gang probably will be going for the teochew clan there, PAP has to dig for teochew lang, and OYK or georgie yeo not teochew lang,

so last minute, must get some backside itchy ministers to recommend a teochew anal specialist la

The Surgeon General actually has expressed reservation of itu Dr Ko. According to the Book of Kells, he is fickle.:o

Ting is LHL's camp. Koh is the young turks camp. Let them fight it out.

This is a farkin farce man....

it all boils down to dialect?

the truth is this.... if you have no heart pr sincerity and have no grassroots experience to serve in a community.... you think it can happen overnight just like that??

So just because PAP roll out some high flying teochew doctor everyone must vote him???

I think Li Lian just has to convince her constituents that she knows them better, serves them better and since the last time they gave the Mango loving angmoh a chance, why not give her a fair go at it as well? All she needs is a chance to prove to them that she can be a better MP than any dog the PAP throws at the people expecting them to fall inline and vote....

the PAP will still be the governemtn and nothing will change except that they will get a more in tune dedicated MP who is sincere and earnest...not so last minute choice drafted from the ranks of PAP prized dogs...

Hey! Hello!

Tin Pei Ling is a top quality candidate ok!
She used to be some sort of consultant ok!
Her husband used to be a PPS and now a second perm sec in MTI ok!
The first perm sec is a lady called Mrs Ow Foong Pheng. Another top quality civil servant ok!

whats this bullshit about young turks la LHL gang la.... its all crap...anyone fromthe PAP will be held accountable when the shit all spills out. Doesnt matter whether you were "fighting" from within etc etc etc....

if you have are with the PAP that just means you are already guilty...it is HOW guilty are you which would be then decided...in the end days these bastards will just be like all of the murderers in nazi germany and pol pot's kampuchea.... if I didnt kill they will kill me, so i should be blameless in the name of survival...

this whole bullshit scam from the PAP was previously used to try to justify to the voters of Aljunied why they should vote him because he was part of "resistance from within the PAP".... utter rubbish.....If you joined the PAP, you joined in the plunder, no excuses when you get your hands hacked off by the people of singapore

Please lah... They intro Mdm Tin to counter Ms Nicole seah!

& She has very strong backing...

This Tin Pei Ling is a dimwitted MP, introuced by our dimwitted PM..

How on earth the PM swap a veteran George Yeo for this newbie..???

Hence,the conclusion ....PM is dimwitted...u can see the mess we are in with his 6 million population policies...

Hey! Hello!

Tin Pei Ling is a top quality candidate ok!
She used to be some sort of consultant ok!
Her husband used to be a PPS and now a second perm sec in MTI ok!
The first perm sec is a lady called Mrs Ow Foong Pheng. Another top quality civil servant ok!

Ah yes, ok...

Understand that TPL has to surrender her MP pay to her company, as part of the company policy. The trouble is her MP allowance is much more than what she drew from her company. That is the reason why she quit her job and gone full time as a MP. If this is true, such people cannot make it lah.

This Tin Pei Ling is a dimwitted MP, introuced by our dimwitted PM..

How on earth the PM swap a veteran George Yeo for this newbie..???

Hence,the conclusion ....PM is dimwitted...u can see the mess we are in with his 6 million population policies...

I cringe whenever I hear people calling the likes of Georgie boy as veteran heavyweight blah blah blah....
Lest anyone forgets he was also another paper general.
A jiakliaobee who got paid millions thinking of ways to screw our arses.
His public persona of thinking man philosopher is all wayang.
He is as vile as the next white scum....
Those who got displaced by FTs can thank him and his FTAs

Tin Pei Ling went quickly up through the PAP ranks, because she spread her legs for the right man.

Dr Koh is just a last minute doggie pushed into the PE cauldron. If he loses, there'll minimal loss of face for the PAP, because he is a 'newbie'. Dr Koh is a 'low risk' candidate.

TPL is special crony category. Wife of LHL private secretary.
Ranking is higher than some ministers like Yacob or Vivian.

Dr Koh is just rank and file PAP foot soldier, no relation to LHL so he goes to the bottom.

Not different camps but rather "training camp." It appears that this BE is led by TCH with Kee Chiu and TCJ as key strategist and organiser.

The slogan of "it is me" and "do not give sympathy vote" sound good in movies (specially if the deliverer is the hero). However, when used by a wrong character under a wrong situation and wrong time, it becomes arrogance. Maybe they are too young or too detached to understand human nature. Or was it their nature.