• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I was an RC Chairman

I was Chairman for several terms although the PA Bylaws indicates maximum 2 terms, there can be exceptions.

The role of grassroots is primarily to sell the PAP’s policies to the residents and of course to conduct activities for residents at discounts and to organise MPs’ a.k.a. Guess-of-Honor’s visit/s to the constituency. We are not paid any salary nor allowance but we do have perks such as FREE parking within our constituency (GRC), priority Primary 1 registration for our children, National Day parade tickets, visits to the Istana (National Day open house), free event makan-makan, free visits to the Zoological Gardens, just to name a few.

Chairmen are automatically members of the GRC Executive Committee and Town Council where meetings are champion by MP/MPs. As member of Town Council we are paid a monthly allowance of $300. The allowance is paid via the Town Council funds which is funded by residents.

Free foods and drinks are provided for these meetings.

When there are events, grassroots members attend for free with the exception for National Day Dinner whereby grassroots members pay a token sum of S$10/per member and rest is subsidised by RC funds.

At the beginning of each fiscal year PA would credit S$1,000 to each RC. The RC will then have to organise events for residents with profit in mind. Lost money events are not encouraged. Each RC can also ‘lease’ out their common areas for pasar malam which forms the largest profit for any RCs; between $5,000 and $8,000 depending on location. Excess funds are then channel back to PA.

Annually, MP/MPs will on the pretext of meeting and bonding, invite all RC members and Town Council staffs held outside of Singapore. Location is subject to MP/MPs’ choice. These meetings or outings are usually held from Friday until Sunday and meetings do not last longer than half a day usually the next day (Saturday) with rest of the weekend free and easy. For such outings, MPs’ spouse/s and their children attend for FREE. These expenses (transportation, hotel, meals, sometimes T-shirts) are expensed via the Town Council funds.

Its mandatory for ALL Grassroots members who belong to PAP constituencies must be PAP members.

I was RC Chairman

http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=63179#1

so stupid,

totally sinkiely stupid.

You are a citizen and you are involved in something like a company perks to get for your life. what a joke..

Nowadays being an RC chairman or anything related to PAP would grant you an immediate status of ball licking losers.

Free toothpicks leh? Got free toothpicks or not?

The boss took the box...the rest gets nothing...you ask ding dong dang people for them, they ask you " you towkay!"...you have to 'diam diam'...ha ha ha ha

Now you know why the "VOLUNTEERs" of the hawker cleaning centres make so much noises & trouble for the WP...they 'tan bo chiak'...members have privilege mah!:p

Cheapo bastards sell themselves and fellow sinkies out for lousy freebies.
Want to be traitor at least must be worth it mah.

watchman8

RCs have mostly dried mangoes. For the fresh, juicy ones, you need to go to PA.

Don't believe, go ask Michael Palmer.
Nonsense. RC have preserved mangoes, while PA has old mangoes. Palmer's mango is a divorcee, you know.

For fresh mangoes, PAP youth?

Kuailan

Last TIME WE GOT mEE Siam mAI hUM! u know who!
nOw WE GoT lIM sIA sUaY tooth pick minister.

Than we got Ah Heng Chairman TemaSick! huat ah!!

Nonsense. RC have preserved mangoes, while PA has old mangoes. Palmer's mango is a divorcee, you know.

For fresh mangoes, PAP youth?

I have seen a lot of old gingers trooping out of RC gathering..some so over the hills...you gotta see...60 going to 70, wearing MINI dress, earrings & make up & dye pink hair...

That is RC...:biggrin:

I have seen a lot of old gingers trooping out of RC gathering..some so over the hills...you gotta see...60 going to 70, wearing MINI dress, earrings & make up & dye pink hair...

That is RC...:biggrin:

Maybe they participated in a karaoke singing contest organized by the RC, and the judges give points for costume. :wink:

[video=youtube;AiP0K7_iYbU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AiP0K7_iYbU[/video]

greenies

The boss took the box...the rest gets nothing...you ask ding dong dang people for them, they ask you " you towkay!"...you have to 'diam diam'...ha ha ha ha

Toothpicks are for restaurant goers.
There are three categories; restaurants, food courts and hawker centres.
Community functions are categorized in either 2nd or 3rd rank.
Thus, ding dong dang does not provide here.
Next time you want toothpicks after meal, the function must be in restaurant "diam diam".

greenies

As member of Town Council we are paid a monthly allowance of $300.

$300 to buy a person's soul. That's cheap. Cheaper than a whore.

That is just a token.
There are numerous benefits... free car park lot, first in queue at any line, contracts, recommendations, schools, etc. etc.
What more do you want?
If anything more, we will upgrade those grassroots to food court category from the hawker status.
Restaurant level is for us.... Ha ha.

one thing everyone must be very sure: THE GAHMEN MAKES $$ NO MATTER WHAT, charity or non-charity, they shall profit from citizens. if they give freebies, everyone better be psychological prepared that something are going to be raised. :(