I want to opt out of HOTA but still donate my organs...for a fee

LITTLEREDDOT

I want to opt out of HOTA but make my organs available...for a fee

I am thinking of opting out of HOTA but would still my organs available, but for a fee. Reasons:

1. My family will not be at the mercy of the gahmen in deciding when I am officially dead.

2. There is no free lunch. How can gahmen get my organs for free but charge transplant patients full price for transplant operation?

3. Proceeds from the sale of my organs can, at the least, cover my funeral costs, and not be a burden on the family.

Is it illegal to sell my organs? If it is, can I "donate" my organs, and the receipients of my organs make a contribution (pek kim) to my funeral expenses?

u cannot donate for a fee, donate means giving away FREE.

Point taken. I have made the corrections in my post, but unable (or don't know how) to correct the thread's title.

Looks like trading in organs is illegal. Oh well then, the receipients can make a donation to my funeral's expenses.

[TABLE="align: center"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD="width: 44"][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Title[/FONT][/TD]
[TD="width: 10"]:[/TD]
[TD="width: 546"][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Tang Wee Sung to be sentenced next Wednesday for organ trading

SINGAPORE: Singapore retail magnate Tang Wee Sung will be sentenced on September 3 for his role in the country's first kidney-for-sale case.

He pleaded guilty to two of three charges on Wednesday. The first charge is for agreeing to buy a kidney and the other, for lying to the Commissioner of Oaths.

The third charge - of lying to the Mount Elizabeth Hospital's Transplant Ethics Committee - will be taken into consideration in sentencing.

Tang is the first person in Singapore to be prosecuted for such an offence.

In his mitigation plea, his lawyer Cavinder Bull urged the judge to impose a fine for the first charge.

For the second charge, he said a conditional discharge should be sufficient. This means Tang must not commit any offences during a 12-month period.

Alternatively, if the judge objects to that, Mr Bull said a one-day jail sentence would be appropriate.

The lawyer also cited foreign organ trading cases in countries like Japan and South Africa, saying the recipients of kidney transplants were not sent to jail.

So there is no reason to believe that the situation should be more harsh in Singapore, he said.

On its part, the prosecution is calling for a fine of S$10,000 for the first charge and a "very short" jail sentence for the second.

It said the recipient is just as guilty as the donor and if there is no demand, there would be no supply.

Mr Bull also laid out several arguments for an appropriate sentence for his client.

He said Tang was driven by pure desperation to commit the offence as he suffers not just from end-stage renal failure, but other medical problems such as diabetes and coronary artery disease.

Mr Bull said that with such dire medical condition, the 55-year-old is already facing a sentence far greater than any the Court can pass.

Other mitigation factors included how Tang had no intention to exploit the poor and socially disadvantaged, that he never received a kidney in the end and that he was also a victim of organ trading.

But the prosecution argued that Tang's desperation does not totally absolve him from deliberately breaking the law.

The two Indonesian men involved in the kidney-for-sale case were last month sentenced to jail and fined.
[/FONT][/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

I would be willing and more than happy to give away my organs, provided the recipients are getting it free, and it's for deserving fellow sinkies like me. Not for some rich foreigners who are afraid to die.

Anyway after I die why would I need my liver, kidney, cornea or heart? What pisses me is that my organs are harvested for free, but the hospital would charge the recipient patients a fortune for the transplant. To me that is not morally right.

If they got my organs free, they should perform the operation free and strictly for my own kind.

Check if recepient is a sinkie or not. If so, then forbidden.

Re: I want to opt out of HOTA but make my organs available...for a fee

I am thinking of opting out of HOTA but would still my organs available, but for a fee. Reasons:

1. My family will not be at the mercy of the gahmen in deciding when I am officially dead.

2. There is no free lunch. How can gahmen get my organs for free but charge transplant patients full price for transplant operation?

3. Proceeds from the sale of my organs can, at the least, cover my funeral costs, and not be a burden on the family.

Is it illegal to sell my organs? If it is, can I "donate" my organs, and the receipients of my organs make a contribution (pek kim) to my funeral expenses?

You tell your lawyer that you want to pledge your organs to someone upon your death.

i thought they say they gonna set up an organ exchange where organs can be bought or sold ?

like that later can be like commodities market so people can speculate on organ prices mah hor ?

How about doing it outside Spore? If you sell & donate outside of Spore, it should be ok.

Try it on E-Bay. :D

You tell your lawyer that you want to pledge your organs to someone upon your death.

your organs must also "match"...

maybe can test before death...

why dun ya go geylang and sell your kar chng.

you can get recurring payments that will last until your retirement.

TS

You are lumping 2 separate things. The organ for argument sake is a product and the surgical transplant procedure is a service which attaches the product to a new holder. Both have distinct separate values. The hospital needs to pay for the surgeon and use of equipment and facilities. Either the receipient pays or taxpayer pays which would be the case for 3rd class patients.

HOTA is in effect shared insurance pool. Anyone can opt out with no questions asked. Its your right.

In an open market situation like the Philippines, you pay for the organ (the product) and you pay for the surgery to attach the organ. You make 2 separate payment, one goes to to the donor or his family and the other to the hospital. The hospital in most cases will act as the intermediary for the donor as well.

Though every one worries about organs being removed prior to death due to neglience or false reading, there is also the issue when you need an organ transpant but have opted out and therefore no longer in the pool to receive one. It can be nightmare to you and your family.

A better way is to have an advanced medical directive put together by a lawyer familiar with this. So you remain in the pool in the event of any eventuality but also protect yourself and family from any overzealous chaps who are gungho about doing any harvesting. I am sure Hospital Management will be ultra cautious when an AMD is in place.

i cannot figure out how come our bloodbank is always dry....unless they use it often to change the "engine oil" of our immortal oldman.

last time, the sperm bank is always dry. the reason is obvious with gecko when alive and needed to keep her skin supple.