I turned down a $1000 increment to join a fark up Co

Bad New Brown

Today I turned down a job offer from a semicon Co who had reputation of high turnover rate of employee & poor management. Their offer give me another $1000 more in base salary of what am I getting with present employer. This job is arrange by a young stupid agent from Michael Page.
But this is not an sincere offer :o

Finally I decided to stay with present employer who treat me well despite I did not get an increment for the past 2 years :D

Bros here... share your views please

The fact that u had to ask for opinions in this forum after making your decision means that u have regrets. :rolleyes:

Hmm should not say regret. But my feeling whether I am a winner or a loser :confused:

I am not sure about it. That why I ask your guys for an opinion ?

imho, semicon industry not stable. today dey employ many ppl, the next day they retrench many ppl.
furthermore, there are bad rumours abt the co unless u risk taker.

since u decided to stay. stay wif it.

1k a month leh. There is sure to be regrets.

But I tell you, sometime money is not everything. Esp since you know the new company has high turnover, sure to be a shit place. Nonetheless, you should try to ask for a pay rise.

Can I ask your current employer is it a local firm ? usually local co. will treat their staff very well, closely knitted like family, but when comes to $ they are very neow 1...if it is I would have jump ship.

All depend if base salary is less than $3k that make big different if base salary is $10k or more that make little different because need to add in allowance/benefit/bonus.
If company old give 3 month bonus that already $30k. And new company only one month bonus that only $10k.
So why ask forrumer opinionn sone already decide?

There is no such thing as winner or loser. Just because some other dude will earn more then you doesn't matter. I think the most important questions you should be asking yourself is

1)Is your current salary able to support your desired lifestyle(of coz I'm not talking about getting a landed property, sports car etc. I mean realistic targets in life)

2)Are you happy with your current workplace

3)Job prospect(if company not doing well no increment for 1 - 2 years is understandable but long term got promotional prospect or opportunity for pay raise or not)

if Yes to all 3 then that's a winner in my book. Most important is 1 and 2. If 1 and 2 is satisfied then stay for now but keep a look out for better opportunity. If no to all 3 or either 1 and 2, get a new job asap

1k a month leh. There is sure to be regrets.

But I tell you, sometime money is not everything. Esp since you know the new company has high turnover, sure to be a shit place. Nonetheless, you should try to ask for a pay rise.

that bad :( $1000 increment lost

All depend if base salary is less than $3k that make big different if base salary is $10k or more that make little different because need to add in allowance/benefit/bonus.
If company old give 3 month bonus that already $30k. And new company only one month bonus that only $10k.
So why ask forrumer opinionn sone already decide?

My base pay is more than $3,000 but less than $5,000 a month

There is no such thing as winner or loser. Just because some other dude will earn more then you doesn't matter. I think the most important questions you should be asking yourself is

1)Is your current salary able to support your desired lifestyle(of coz I'm not talking about getting a landed property, sports car etc. I mean realistic targets in life)

2)Are you happy with your current workplace

3)Job prospect(if company not doing well no increment for 1 - 2 years is understandable but long term got promotional prospect or opportunity for pay raise or not)

if Yes to all 3 then that's a winner in my book. Most important is 1 and 2. If 1 and 2 is satisfied then stay for now but keep a look out for better opportunity. If no to all 3 or either 1 and 2, get a new job asap

1 and 2 is yes. Enough to buy HDB flats only and I get along well with my boss now (we have mutual trust on each other)

3 not sure. Depending on company business performance. I believe I can hold on to this present jobs here.

... Bros here... share your views please
u want a make u feel
icon14.gif
or make u feel
icon13.gif
view? ... :confused:

1 and 2 is yes. Enough to buy HDB flats only and I get along well with my boss now (we have mutual trust on each other)

3 not sure. Depending on company business performance. I believe I can hold on to this present jobs here.

My base pay is more than $3,000 but less than $5,000 a month

Liddat if wife working then should more or less enough to get house, get maid, put a bit aside for retirement and go eat wind every year liao. Financially stable. Not too much to worry about as long as you don't buy car. Can take your time to look for new job if current one proves to have little or no future prospect

A loser.

1. One should earn as much and as fast as possible. Dont go thinking you will be able to work until your retirement age as you would like to plan. Illness may strike, and alot of unforseen circumstances etc.

2. If you are a winner, head hunters in the industry will be be hunting for you. So no need to worry about high turnover of the company.

3. Present company treating you well should not have any bearing for rejecting the new offer. You can still maintain good relationship with the former company and maybe help that company in the future when you are able, since they treated you well. Strengthen yourself to return the favor.:) Win win.

4. IMO, you are stagnant. You are afraid to lose your job if you go to the new company. Implies your expertise and experience is not in demand. Current new offer is by luck only. If one is headhunted, prospective employer can be very accommodating.

5. Seems that you have apprehension in taking challenges because you are not well equiped.

Bitter medicine is not nice, neither is sincere words comfortable to the ears.

Hmm should not say regret. But my feeling whether I am a winner or a loser :confused:

I am not sure about it. That why I ask your guys for an opinion ?

wise choice! something i did not know when i was working 9 to 5,oh...lailiao, matah wear bemudas story coming again,just kidding.:p
on the other hand, depends on your personality, if you are coldblooded kind, can tahan smearing and politicking in new environment, go for the $1k, i believe if you survive in this kind of environment,more 1k will come your way. cheers!

Today I turned down a job offer from a semicon Co who had reputation of high turnover rate of employee & poor management. Their offer give me another $1000 more in base salary of what am I getting with present employer. This job is arrange by a young stupid agent from Michael Page.
But this is not an sincere offer :o

Finally I decided to stay with present employer who treat me well despite I did not get an increment for the past 2 years :D

Bros here... share your views please

A loser.

4. IMO, you are stagnant. You are afraid to lose your job if you go to the new company. Implies your expertise and experience is not in demand. Current new offer is by luck only. If one is headhunted, prospective employer can be very accommodating.

5. Seems that you have apprehension in taking challenges because you are not well equiped.

Bitter medicine is not nice, neither is sincere words comfortable to the ears.

Was about to say the same thing but you beat me to the punch. It sounded the TS has reached his comfort zone. Most that have reached it would not want great change at all. Preferring to remain status quo. I suppose as long as he is comfortable. Just don't be surprised when you get retrenched at 40.

Today I turned down a job offer from a semicon Co who had reputation of high turnover rate of employee & poor management.

i only heard of one company that fit the description, is it APPLIED MATERIAL?

Hope the issue by TS is genuine. Like what Ash007 cautioned.

IMO as long as the current company that you are with is a business going concern, even if it is in a loss making position; Fact that you didnt get an increment in the last 2 years indicates that you are not identified as one of the important contributors to the company. You should know what I am trying to tell you.

Try to stay at least two steps ahead of competition.

Just don't be surprised when you get retrenched at 40.

depends on what you do on the new company man.

8 to 5 easy life in current company and recieved 4k every month vs work like a dog more than 12 hrs a day and earn 5k. i think its a easy choice to make

Whether you're a winner or loser doesn't depend upon how much you EARN. It all depends upon how much you SAVE and what what you do with the savings.

I've known individuals on $25,000 per month but they're losers through and through because achieving financial independence isn't anywhere in their goals. Instead, they're caught in a debt trap by spending way beyond their means.

On the other hand, astute planners have the ability to retire at 50 despite never having earned more than $10,000 per month at the height of their careers. Winning isn't about driving fancy cars, eating in fancy restaurants and flashing fancy credit cards. It's about having a comfortable lifestyle without having to kiss ass. That's what financial independence does for you. It enables you to live life according to your own schedule.