I really hate Chinese New Year

Got to do a lot of thankless things
Got to see a lot of people that I hate
Got to be a hypocrite
I do not fancy CNY too.

It's a very SUPERFICIAL cultural festival.

Unlike Christmas which emphasizes love, charity and kindness, CNY emphasizes GREED, COMPARISON, SHOW-OFF-NESS, SELF and NOTHING FOR THE COMMUNITY.

People just show up on Chinese New Year, expected to be welcomed like hotel guests, then teach me how I can do better for the seniors in household, said that I was suited to take care of the seniors because I could WFH, my work was flexible... ...

if they can give up their cycling, their tours, their exercising, their pets,
they too, will also have the time and money to take care of the seniors.

Please don't come over.
Leave me alone and let me rest.

It is the human celebrating CNY that fuck it up just like religion.

Bhai,

Me too.
Due to customary traditions, "forced" and "co-erced" to comply to certain meaningless decorums.

1. must cut hair
2. must trim nails
3. must wear new clothings -- previously more stupid -- must wear red -- DaFug?
4. get "new" notes for red packets -- DaFug - old notes, not Legal tender during CNY?!!
5. cannot use vulgar words
6. must have reunion dinner
7. heng -- lucky need not queue like a "ter nao" to buy bak kwa
and many others

actually i quite like cny. dont have any relatives. find time to really rest.
have a good reunion dinner wif family.
too bad kanna Covid now. resting at home 72 hrs

There is not a need to celebrate and follow the norms of CNY if you don't want to. Just go for a staycation alone or just tell your family u dun like chinese new year and dun want to mingle around. This is simple, at least, to me.

People just show up on Chinese New Year, expected to be welcomed like hotel guests, then teach me how I can do better for the seniors in household, said that I was suited to take care of the seniors because I could WFH, my work was flexible... ...

if they can give up their cycling, their tours, their exercising, their pets,
they too, will also have the time and money to take care of the seniors.
Hey, just go for a staycation or something lah. no need to torture yourself this way.

Got to do a lot of thankless things
Got to see a lot of people that I hate
Got to be a hypocrite

There is no such thing as 'got to'. You always have a choice. You merely weighed your options and decided it is more beneficial to go along, even if you dislike it.

The most irritating and insensitive question from vistors to my mother's house is when is her eldest son (a.k.a ME) getting married and have children.

Stupid culture. Stupid question. Stupid relatives.

index1.jpg

Why do I have the feeling of so many old bachelors in this forum? :roflmao: Is it really so difficult to find a suitable lifelong partner?

I hate chinese new year except their chio bus. They are exceptional. Always wear sexy revealing outfit.
CNY dinner They say halal steam boat, but they put pork and told me to take only take halal beef and chicken and fish.
But i like the free flow drinks.

Drink plenty of isotonic drink to replenish the fluids and electrolytes. Speedy recovery! :smile::smile::smile:

Catching up with family need not just be CNY. Everyday can be CNY.

Please rest well and put on N95 masks when you leave your room and interact with them.
Take care.