I need help - which pickup?

Talking about Lexus Fortuna, again phto taken this morning:

kb2.JPG

Talking about Lexus Fortuna, again phto taken this morning:

Keep them coming. It's interesting to see how different cultures pimp their rides in different ways.

Quite sure there's blue LED installed all over the truck. Very typical of Thai bengs driving pickup.

Anyway, the default pickup tyres from Toyota/Isuzu is Bridgestone which most drivers will change after 6-12 months. Might as well change the rims as well.

Keep them coming. It's interesting to see how different cultures pimp their rides in different ways.

Sam we know you you love your Toyota pickup truck, as I've never own any pickup truck before I'd like to ask if you have any opinion to share about Isuzu trucks. Here in Thailand Toyota and Isuzu are always head to head in the number of pickup trucks sold every month. The rest no need to mention. The trend is farmers or rather upcountry people tend to go for Isuzu D-Max as their impression on this brand is strong and reliable. I guess Isuzu did a great marketing job in the upcountry markets. So far no one could give me a more meaningful comparison between these two favourites.

Can't comment about the Thai market but in Australia and NZ, Isuzu is not a well respected brand in the pick up segment of the market although I do see quite a number of larger Isuzu vehicles eg buses and large haulers and tippers.

I was told when I first arrived not to buy an Isuzu. It's resale value isn't as good as Toyota in OZ/NZ. Perhaps the Isuzu pickups in Thailand are better than what arrives in OZ/NZ. I really don't know so I can't comment. My measure of reliability is what third world countries use as their primary means of motorised 4 wheel transportation.

http://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/isuzu/wizard/

Driven both Toyota Hilux 3.0 (4 door) and Isuzu Dmax 2.5 (2 door), and currently driving Isuzu D-max. Sold my 4 door Hilux not because it is no good but need a bigger space at the back. Got an Isuzu Dmax 2 door for a change, and so far, have yet to encounter any problem. Maybe it is still new (18 months) and also the mileage is slightly less than 50,000 KM. The real test is when mileage hit 250,000 KM or even maybe even less. The truck has also been serviced regularly so it's in good condition.

Performance wise, I still have yet to find any significant differences between the trucks. I do notice the steering is 'harder' for the Hliux than the Isuzu. Maybe it's also because of the engine size.

Understand Isuzu started the pickup business in LOS first and Toyota came later. So, it was kind of de facto brand for the pickup truck buyers in LOS.

Can't comment about the Thai market but in Australia and NZ, Isuzu is not a well respected brand in the pick up segment of the market although I do see quite a number of larger Isuzu vehicles eg buses and large haulers and tippers.

I was told when I first arrived not to buy an Isuzu. It's resale value isn't as good as Toyota in OZ/NZ. Perhaps the Isuzu pickups in Thailand are better than what arrives in OZ/NZ. I really don't know so I can't comment. My measure of reliability is what third world countries use as their primary means of motorised 4 wheel transportation.

http://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/isuzu/wizard/

Driven both Toyota Hilux 3.0 (4 door) and Isuzu Dmax 2.5 (2 door), and currently driving Isuzu D-max. Sold my 4 door Hilux not because it is no good but need a bigger space at the back. Got an Isuzu Dmax 2 door for a change, and so far, have yet to encounter any problem. Maybe it is still new (18 months) and also the mileage is slightly less than 50,000 KM. The real test is when mileage hit 250,000 KM or even maybe even less. The truck has also been serviced regularly so it's in good condition.

Performance wise, I still have yet to find any significant differences between the trucks. I do notice the steering is 'harder' for the Hliux than the Isuzu. Maybe it's also because of the engine size.

Understand Isuzu started the pickup business in LOS first and Toyota came later. So, it was kind of de facto brand for the pickup truck buyers in LOS.

Thanks guys. I guess October 2012 is worth the wait for the all new Toyota HILUX Vigo. Got to stop visiting showrooms. Buying vehicle gong-tao is very strong.

Hahahahahaha. Buying Gong Tao is nothing compare to after buying. The accessories Gong Tao even more powerful.

Drove this 600 KM up north to Surin.
pickup_Back.jpgpickup_front.jpgpickup_side.jpgpickup+trailer.jpg

The trailer beside the pickup is custom made for farming equipment/diesel/benzine/fertilizer/rice. For heavier load, I will use a Kubota tractor which can handle up to 30 tons without any problem but need to add 4 more wheels on the trailer.

This 2 door pickup can easily transport 3 motorcycles. The canvas/lid at the back is used for protection against rain and dust.

View attachment 3052View attachment 3053View attachment 3054View attachment 3055

The trailer beside the pickup is custom made for farming equipment/diesel/benzine/fertilizer/rice. For heavier load, I will use a Kubota tractor which can handle up to 30 tons without any problem but need to add 4 more wheels on the trailer.

This 2 door pickup can easily transport 3 motorcycles. The canvas/lid at the back is used for protection against rain and dust.

Cool. Thanks for the pics. ONe day when I get my pickup truck I will also get my own trailer to carry my own boat. Can bring the boat to see you in Pattaya and we go fishing together. On?

View attachment 3052View attachment 3053View attachment 3054View attachment 3055

Drove my Kelisa to Penang and back. More than 600 km Liao.

Cool. Thanks for the pics. ONe day when I get my pickup truck I will also get my own trailer to carry my own boat. Can bring the boat to see you in Pattaya and we go fishing together. On?
Baa Lor? Boat trailer from BKK to Pattaya ? Think at least 6 hours to reach Pattaya. Faster if you sail direct from BKK to Pattaya.
The boat trailers are also known as roll-on trailer or 'lo-on frame', 'y-frame'. Will be going to jomtien later and take some photos at Bali-Hi pier of these trailers.

Baa Lor? Boat trailer from BKK to Pattaya ? Think at least 6 hours to reach Pattaya. Faster if you sail direct from BKK to Pattaya.
The boat trailers are also known as roll-on trailer or 'lo-on frame', 'y-frame'. Will be going to jomtien later and take some photos at Bali-Hi pier of these trailers.

Hey I serious la one day I want to have my own fishing boat. If you have lobang on this can share share or not?

You will like Ocean Portofino. http://www.oceanproperty.co.th/realestates/portofino_jomtien/02-marina-lifestyle.php

There are a few boat builders in Pattaya. Most of them are for the luxurious boat market and some of the design are really good. I don't think it is too expensive.

I prefer the traditional fishing boat type. Been to a fishing trip with a few farangs before. I don't know how to fish but only eat the fresh sotong and fish sashimi and enjoy the beer. An overnight fishing trip rental is about THB 4000-8000 per boat. Set of from Bang Saray in late afternoon and return next morning at around 10-11am. Boat can take up to 12 person and comes with toilets and beds. Captain of boat also knowledgeable on where to get the best catch.

Saw this Toyota Land Cruiser Prado at Toyota Service Centre. Not sure if is made in LOS. Lady driver. ;)

Photo0077.jpg