• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I Love Singapore

TracyTan866

I love my country Singapore. And by extension of my love for Singapore, I care for Singaporeans. The PAP leaders said the same too when they canvassed for support at GE 2011.

But we seem to have completely different views of what's love for Singapore and care for Singaporeans.

The pap's views of their love for Singapore and their care for Singaporeans are:

1. SG is not just for Singaporeans. I will give SG citizenship to anyone who is cheaper than you.
2. You better be the best, fastest and cheapest, or else I will replace you with foreigners.
3. Learn to handle stress. Life for you is stress from cradle to grave
4. There is no retirement for Singaporeans. There are plenty of jobs. If you cant support yourself financially in old age. You can be a cleaner, security guard, cardboard picker, etc. The govt will not take care of you.
5. Health is a personal responsibility. If you are sick, your or your children's savings can be wiped out.
6. Dont be poor. It's a curse to be poor. And no govt can help you if you are cursed.
7. Housing is affordable as long as you work hard and 30years for it. Dont be retrenched along the way.

My view of love for Singapore and care for Singaporeans are:

1. As long as you are Singaporean, SG is the best place for you.
2. As long as you are willing to work, you can feed your family in SG
3. If by some unfortunate event you fall through the cracks, be assured that SG will care for you.
4. You are precious to SG. No foreigner can replace you.
5. Take care of your health. But if sickness strikes you, SG will help you
6. Life may not be a bed of roses for you, but as long as u r in SG, you will not be neglected nor forsaken

It seems that the pap's concept of loving SG and caring for Singaporeans are very different from mine.

Am I wrong?

it's a fantastic place. ultra friendly. well run, clean, fun and efficient. excellent dining choices. cheap and good public transport. great for visitors and residents alike.

try working for S$800 a month and u will have a different view

nah beh....so pessismistic:

1. As long as you are Singaporean, SG is the best place for you. (there is always geylang)
2. As long as you are willing to work, you can feed your family in SG (of cse, come stand at geylang)
3. If by some unfortunate event you fall through the cracks, be assured that SG will care for you. (again, you can always come geylang to seek solace or stand here to work)
4. You are precious to SG. No foreigner can replace you. (uh oh...that is not true. Foreigners complement the selection at geylang.)
5. Take care of your health. But if sickness strikes you, SG will help you (at geylang, all workers are obliged to go Kelantan Lane for free quarterly checkups)
6. Life may not be a bed of roses for you, but as long as u r in SG, you will not be neglected nor forsaken (the gals at geylang / guys at loyang will take care of your emo needs for a small fee. If you kenna KS, then its not my problem)

nah beh....so pessismistic:

1. As long as you are Singaporean, SG is the best place for you. (there is always geylang)
2. As long as you are willing to work, you can feed your family in SG (of cse, come stand at geylang)
3. If by some unfortunate event you fall through the cracks, be assured that SG will care for you. (again, you can always come geylang to seek solace or stand here to work)
4. You are precious to SG. No foreigner can replace you. (uh oh...that is not true. Foreigners complement the selection at geylang.)
5. Take care of your health. But if sickness strikes you, SG will help you (at geylang, all workers are obliged to go Kelantan Lane for free quarterly checkups)
6. Life may not be a bed of roses for you, but as long as u r in SG, you will not be neglected nor forsaken (the gals at geylang / guys at loyang will take care of your emo needs for a small fee. If you kenna KS, then its not my problem)

Why are those seen as pessimistic? On the contrary, I see them as reassurance...that whatever may befall a citizen, he will not be neglected by the country. No one will be left behind. Is that pessimism?

just because others express in a different way that does not mean they dont love spore.

likewise just because the sort of help give by the pap govt to the disadvantage are not to your liking that does not mean pap govt dont care about the public. pap govt prefer to offer "help" in a indirect way that why the welfare money is so low. i know it sound like a lie but believe me, there are help given on a broad spectrum.

even with such low level help by govt, yet there are still cases of abuse of system by people who are not entitled. i myself know of a person register as a rental flat tenant which pay less than $100 per month have two daughters, one of which live in a semi-d which the person spend most of the time in, only return to the rental flat on weekend. The help given to low income families are much better than in the past. family income of less than $1800(i think) are given free school books & uniforms each year. the amount of bursaries available at all level are staggering, from RC, chinese associations, religious bodies and even MP too. The so call poor are well taken care of, period. $800 a month do look little so the rest of the family better contribute lor, there are many ways to earn a buck, it just a matter of working for it. i grew up in a poor family too, my first job was newspaper boy at the age of 9yo and collect old newspapers, milk tin, cans, beer bottle etc etc to sell and work part time as i grow up. money earn mostly go into the family pot so why can't nowadays kids do it. btw i am in my mid thirties so still relevant to current enviroment. anyway there are many jobs that pay more than $800 a mth, it just a matter the job applicant willing to sweat for it.

Well said Tracy, nice thread.
Let's see whether the green vegetable complains about this thread, hahaha.

just because others express in a different way that does not mean they dont love spore.

likewise just because the sort of help give by the pap govt to the disadvantage are not to your liking that does not mean pap govt dont care about the public. pap govt prefer to offer "help" in a indirect way that why the welfare money is so low. i know it sound like a lie but believe me, there are help given on a broad spectrum.

even with such low level help by govt, yet there are still cases of abuse of system by people who are not entitled. i myself know of a person register as a rental flat tenant which pay less than $100 per month have two daughters, one of which live in a semi-d which the person spend most of the time in, only return to the rental flat on weekend. The help given to low income families are much better than in the past. family income of less than $1800(i think) are given free school books & uniforms each year. the amount of bursaries available at all level are staggering, from RC, chinese associations, religious bodies and even MP too. The so call poor are well taken care of, period. $800 a month do look little so the rest of the family better contribute lor, there are many ways to earn a buck, it just a matter of working for it. i grew up in a poor family too, my first job was newspaper boy at the age of 9yo and collect old newspapers, milk tin, cans, beer bottle etc etc to sell and work part time as i grow up. money earn mostly go into the family pot so why can't nowadays kids do it. btw i am in my mid thirties so still relevant to current enviroment. anyway there are many jobs that pay more than $800 a mth, it just a matter the job applicant willing to sweat for it.

You obviously do not know what the real situation is with the poor in S'pore. You obviously are completely out of the touch with the plight of these people currently. You obviously are still living in the 70s. You obviously don't know how things have changed. You obviously don't know what you are talking about.

Dear Miss Tracy, Singapore is paradise especially to migrants like me. Lets live in peace and harmony. Jagan jagan Singapore! Namaste.

I love my country Singapore. And by extension of my love for Singapore, I care for Singaporeans. The PAP leaders said the same too when they canvassed for support at GE 2011.

try working for S$800 a month and u will have a different view

with $800 a month in sg, i can still have 3 healthy and very affordable meals a day at the food court. mee pok ta or nasi lemak and tea tarik for breakfast, yong tau fool for lunch, hokkien mee for dinner. no need for a kitchen including fridge, oven, stovetop and sink. no need to buy groceries. no need to cook. and i can still maintain my weight at a muscularly thin 170 lbs. rent is affordable in sg if i share a bedroom with sam or tony. almost free if i live with family and or relatives, and give them $100 angpow for utilities, garbage (almost nil) disposal, and the inconvenience of occasional flatulence that permeates the house after a meal of curry chap chai. public transport via the mrt is excellent and cheap, and it takes me to almost everywhere on the island except marsiling and mandai live firing areas, where sometimes a young nutcase woman would be sleeping under an umbrella. i may have $40 balance at the end of the month for the occasional romp in geylang.

if you live on $800 a month in the bay area, and presuming your rent is paid for by virtue of a kind but horny landlord with ulterior motives on your body, you'll end up going to fast food 80% of the time dining on cheap burgers and fries and gulping down copious gallons of soda, because it's a free refill. you may have diluted gawdawful coffee and a donut once every 2 days for $2.00 (converted to sgd) right next to the drug rehab and alcoholic treatment centers, or the nearest liquor store. for 20% of the time, you may reward yourself with a decent meal from the nearest vietnamese fast food, either lee's sandwich or new tung kee noodle house. for $9 (sgd) you get the cheapest healthy meal in the bay area. 1 regular size bowl of combo noodle soup with 2 beef balls, 2 shrimps, some chicken skin and a few slices of fatty pork. the other healthy meal that costs less at $8 (sgd) is a cold sandwich from subway. but you'll end up with too much nitrates and preservatives from cold cut salty meat that you'll end up having gout, kidney failure or stomach cancer. your choice. public transportation alone will wipe half your $800 wage.

count yourself lucky to be earning anything in sg.

I am very blessed and am thankful for what life has dealt me.

But I am concerned for the poor, deprived, sick and aged in SG

I too am blessed for being born here and able to earn a good living. I am also concerned about the underprivileged and will urge the government to do more for them. Hopefully in time more of these people will be better off if we all pull together as one.

Good for you:)

You obviously do not know what the real situation is with the poor in S'pore. You obviously are completely out of the touch with the plight of these people currently. You obviously are still living in the 70s. You obviously don't know how things have changed. You obviously don't know what you are talking about.

haha... it u who didnt know what u r talking about. how to u define poor? by family income or personal income. i only in my thirties, so i cannot have know what it like in the 70s as i will be too young to remember. i grew up in a 3room flat which my parents paid cash monthly for 20yrs as they have no cpf. i had experienced electricity and telephone cut off by PUB and Telecom because my parents cannot come out with the money to pay. i even work in sentosa to carry golf bag for japanese expats at 16yo. i was unemployed for a whole year in 1999 and my first job take home pay only $ 959.50. i dunno what it like to be poor.. hahaha... how i wish i dunno what it like to be poor so that i can have a decent childhood compare to my peer. And i am not earning big bucks to be disconnect from the ground as i still living in a pigeonhole with a school going kid to raise. i see many disadvantage people from neighbourhood trying to make ends meet on their own efforts rather than going for govt handout.

i agree those single old folks need help but families with two adults shd try to have dual income instead of kpkb that $800 is too little. at where i currently work, plenty of jobs from companies nearby that need manual work paying $1k+ per month excluding OT. there a flour distributor that pay its manual workers $100 a day and $200 on weekend. while it no cpf but working hrs normally dont last a whole day as long the bags of flour deliver to customers, the workers can knock off early at ard 4pm. There are companies that pay $150 to stuff or unstuff per 20foot container and a fast experience crew of 3-4 person can do 4-5 containers a day. that more than $180 for each person for a day work, which is more than a office worker get.

i cannot tahan ppl who give up without trying. a person who put in effort may end up as a loser but a person who dont even try is confirm a LOSER. my uncle raise three kids as a cabby after being layoff by the shipyard in the 90s. who can he seek help in those days? by working hard, he manage to send his oldest son to NTU and now still work as cabby even though his son want him to retire.

u must have a carefree childhood and never experience provety at all. never had debt collectors bang on your door or parents try to raise money by bidding on tontine... so u never been poor so how can u know what it like to be poor? I know what it like to go to school with no money in my pocket and only drink water from the water cooler at recess. dont tell me what i did as a kid to earn money not relevant today. There are still provision shops that take in empty beer bottles at $10cent each, certain brands even pay $20cents for a bottle. see can be green yet earn some pocket money. if u think i bullshiting then go ask around. mostly those provision shops (mom & pop type) are those that have many kelings (local and FTs) like to buy beers from.