• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I am surprised by Wikileaks singapore reactions

I am actually surprised that people think that international diplomacy is conducted in a sterile fashion.

Nobody is going to turn up or engage Singapore if opinions are not frank and accurate when such meetings are generally confidential in nature. Such dialogues are not one way. It is a reciprocal exercise where you throw your opinions / intelligence and the other party reveals something that is of value to your nation and you.

The Malaysians, Indians, Thais, Japanese etc will doing the exact same thing to us - a tyrant running a tiny country, a nepotism with a facade of meritocracy, a family corporate pretending to be a democracy etc.

Comments made by high ranking individuals are valuable and are usually accurate. Kausikan, Ho and Koh were PS at that time.

The disgrace however is the Americans who fail to secure such reports that even a private can access it and its a huge hoard. Look at the American Embassy at Napier Road - built like a prison and yet one private managed to release it to the world.

myo539

Haha, interesting, even diplomats are human - they also KNN and puki-mak behind the back. Facing the media they become a two-face Janus.

There are so many occasions when the mike is not switched off and you have one of those private frustrations aired for all to hear.

I like MM Lee description of the old fabbly North Korean President.

I wonder what description he would give Mahathir - "crazy anything boleh Doktor from Mudland" - or something worse?

Of course he used to describe JBJ as a snake - but faced with a real snake and a human snake, I don't know which he tried to kill first. Now his baby snake is standing for election. Wonder what advice he would give his son in dealing with the baby snake.

I am waiting for the rest of the ASEAN talking about sinkies and describing their behavior. hehehehe.. PLs wikileak... leak it outttttttttttttt!!!!!!!!!!

that only things that will leak from your cheebye mouth is the cum from your ladyboy prostitute wife. :eek::biggrin::oIo:

aurvandil

Comments made by high ranking individuals are valuable and are usually accurate. Kausikan, Ho and Koh were PS at that time.

Of the three, one of them is supposed to stand in the upcoming elections. if all goes well, he was probably on the fast track to become a $2 mil a year Minister.

Wonder how this leak affects his prospects. Perhaps he will be quietly dropped so that we can "move on".

kingrant

Yup. It's like the children have finally realised that their parents do have sex in their bedroom and they were not brought by the stork or left in a basket by the river, or in the rubbish dump.

@rmadill0

I am actually surprised that people think that international diplomacy is conducted in a sterile fashion.

Nobody is going to turn up or engage Singapore if opinions are not frank and accurate when such meetings are generally confidential in nature. Such dialogues are not one way. It is a reciprocal exercise where you throw your opinions / intelligence and the other party reveals something that is of value to your nation and you.

The Malaysians, Indians, Thais, Japanese etc will doing the exact same thing to us - a tyrant running a tiny country, a nepotism with a facade of meritocracy, a family corporate pretending to be a democracy etc.

banner3.cgi

The disgrace however is the Americans who fail to secure such reports that even a private can access it and its a huge hoard. Look at the American Embassy at Napier Road - built like a prison and yet one private managed to release it to the world.

Good point. That could be the reason why I believe these countries will not be pushing us hard for an explanation of what was said by our officials. They know clearly that if they have done so and subsequently, featured in the next episode of wikileaks for saying bad things about Singapore as well, they will have eggs on their face.

That said, do you think there could be a possibility that the US had leaked these deliberately?

captainxerox

lol bro as usual you give perspective to this saga!

Well said, bro. Good read.

silverfox@

Their country's beloved Mahathir is not disputing the comments (regarding the sodomy case) either:biggrin:

Maybe the truth really hurts.

Windsor

I do agree with what you said, but then we are talking about opinions of all and sundry. Many oppositions of each country will try to draw mileage of what had been purportedly said by Singapore officials. In the case of Anwar Ibrahim, who is fighting his case in court, this will affect him in no small way where public perception is concern. Any statement by LKY as we all know, do affect our dear neighbours very much. His recent trip there was the talk of the town.

What has been leaked, and appeared to be official with no denials only make matters worse. We are talking about world opinion, and this will badly affect relations, especially those with an agenda against Singapore. There need to be something done to counter the negative effects of these so-called "leaks." Are they true?

ivebert

When did PAP say we are a fully democratic country?

We have democratic views and electoral system but the other things are not

Why keep insisting on democracy?

We don't have the $$$/land for full democracy.

In this business, the trick is to identify the person who not has the most accurate information but someone who can frame it in the context that best paints the picture.

Overtime, they will gain a reputation and are sought after. They then become very influential in getting access to certain materials, places and people and are in position to influence supranational politics.

Then you have second rate individuals who have half-baked information, can see the context even its bites them in the arse and nobody is going to talk to them.

If you read the situation, you will know how accurate certain things are. A case in point is the Anwar affair. Notice how many photos Anwar has taken with Singapore opposition figures and how he sought the assistance of the Aussies. The Aussies got it wrong. Anwar's failure is allowing himself to be caught out. He is a liability.

Generally such leaks will pass over. All the countries know very well the context that it is made. Everyone plays the same game.

As Kingrant's excellent analogy points to it - eventually the kids will grow up and realise that their parents had sex.

I do agree with what you said, but then we are talking about opinions of all and sundry. Many oppositions of each country will try to draw mileage of what had been purportedly said by Singapore officials. In the case of Anwar Ibrahim, who is fighting his case in court, this will affect him in no small way where public perception is concern. Any statement by LKY as we all know, do affect our dear neighbours very much. His recent trip there was the talk of the town.

What has been leaked, and appeared to be official with no denials only make matters worse. We are talking about world opinion, and this will badly affect relations, especially those with an agenda against Singapore. There need to be something done to counter the negative effects of these so-called "leaks." Are they true?

One point to note though. When foreign diplomats and emissaries meet the old man, they are advised to be guarded when making comments as the old man has a history of quoting people even on matters that are considered confidential. His proponsity to shoot from the mouth is well known. The usual routine is pay him a courtesy call, spend time listening to his views on China as he considers himself an expert and then meet the MFA staff for serious discussions and the exchange of frank comments. Another loose cannon is Mahathir.

ChaoPappyPoodle

One can provide honest opinions without belittling the subject in question!!!!!!! :oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

Many names or terms can be used but for simplicity, we deem it as being cordial, respectful or understanding.

For those PAP FASCIST pigs to use those words on anyone, including our very own elderly, shows how the PAP works.

The PAP is a FASCIST political party, with obvious fascist leanings, that will berate neighbours and all possible enemies to make themselves look good.

Anyone amongst us, PAID to do a job to conduct diplomatic relations with our friends and enemies should at all times conduct ourselves professionally! :cool:

The three shameless and now shameful morons have brought shame to our country. What these three idiots have done is to go against the grain of their very profession. This is similar to Noh Alam Shah getting red cards in a game while representing Singapore.

These three idiots are paid to NOT create hostility against or towards our neighbours.

All three should be sacked for using such foul and debased language against our neighbours. Especially so when they are paid to perform tasks contrary to their actions and words.

Sharing personal issues relating to the Thai Prince was unbecoming.
Sharing PERSONAL thoughts about leaders of other countries IN SUCH A DISTASTEFUL manner is criminal!

:oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

ChaoPappyPoodle

One point to note though. When foreign diplomats and emissaries meet the old man, they are advised to be guarded when making comments as the old man has a history of quoting people even on matters that are considered confidential. His proponsity to shoot from the mouth is well known. The usual routine is pay him a courtesy call, spend time listening to his views on China as he considers himself an expert and then meet the MFA staff for serious discussions and the exchange of frank comments. Another loose cannon is Mahathir.

Dont TALK cocktail LAH. :biggrin:

LKY is nothing but a policeman ruling a country at a very important geographical location. Without Singapore's important geographical location, no one would pay attention to the fucking old man!

LKY has achieved nothing but to enrich his entire clan! Thanks to the 154th, they have built LKY as a god-like creature! The 154th has done the same but on a smaller scale to other PAPies.

jacobsgoh

Dont TALK cocktail LAH. :biggrin:

LKY is nothing but a policeman ruling a country at a very important geographical location. Without Singapore's important geographical location, no one would pay attention to the fucking old man!

LKY has achieved nothing but to enrich his entire clan! Thanks to the 154th, they have built LKY as a god-like creature! The 154th has done the same but on a smaller scale to other PAPies.

In a way lky is very dog-like, i for one think he never lies, more so about the fuck backside case in M'sia, its time he [lky] prove his point and put all lairs to shame.