• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I am planning to migrate, thinking of Australia.

junkyard

Now is five years. You need to hold 5 yrs of nz PR before can apply to nz citizenship.

Using NZ passport does not give you automatic right to Autralia PR. ( law changed in 2001). It does give you right to work and stay in australia indefinately under SCV ( special category visa).

After 5 yrs, if you still have energy, go for it....

See my user location.

On other news, I hear that the points system for skilled migration has changed again. SOL is now different. Goalpost shift.

NOW is always good to move, regardless of readiness (70-80% will do!).

On the other hand, 2001 was a long time ago. I wonder how long it'll be before Australia follows USA and makes it really hard to hold a green card (let alone a citizenship), and change the rules for SCV. The SOL change is big to me -- I admit I may be a little caught out in my preps for a hedge against that eventuality but through SCV time may be a little on my side -- we shall see.

earmosim

See my user location.

On other news, I hear that the points system for skilled migration has changed again. SOL is now different. Goalpost shift.

On the other hand, 2001 was a long time ago. I wonder how long it'll be before Australia follows USA and makes it really hard to hold a green card (let alone a citizenship), and change the rules for SCV. The SOL change is big to me -- I admit I may be a little caught out in my preps for a hedge against that eventuality but through SCV time may be a little on my side -- we shall see.

IWC2006

You see a lot of ah nehs and PRC in Perth. Sometimes, it is not that I am racist, but they give that kind of pitiful look when applying for jobs and show their real :oIo: face after they are employed- and they wonder why they are not employable anymore. We are not dumb employers.

There is a trend towards employment preference for Anglo Saxons these days. Everything looks above board, but a less qualified Anglo Saxon will get the job over a well-qualified Asian migrant.

It is also men over women. IF A REDHEAD WHO LOOKS LIKE JULIA GILLARD COME FOR JOB INTERVIEWS, GOOD LUCK TO HER!!!

I am appearing less in the interview panels as well.

Some of the best excuses I have heard my colleagues mentioned on interview feedbacks are:
"talked too much",
"insufficient experience",
"unable to express him/herself"

Let's face it, multiculturism and equal opportunity workplace is becoming quite BS in the workplace. At best, it is tolerated by the bosses.
The best for Asians is to look for government jobs because they do diversity surveys to show the pressence of non Anglo Saxon in the workforce.

SO IF ASIANS CANNOT FIND A JOB IN PERTH, DO NOT BE DISHEARTENED AND THINK YOU ARE NO GOOD. We are as good, just need to appreciate the work culture that we need to talk things over. Even Sydneysiders get annoyed with how we do things.

I suspect it is because of Kevin Rudd ripping up the Howard employment laws, the bad reputation of Asian Tigers, Boatpeople, arrogant scheming untrustworthy Indians and salary-undercutting loud-mouthed hot tempered Chinese played up in the mass media and going around the words of mouth.

Even I also get frustrated with these Indian antics when out shopping. When you see a huge Merc or BMW SUV blocking the roads or not giving way, it is usually a newly arrived highly paid upper caste ah-neh doctor or engineer.

Things may sound really bad from the way I write but then it is not that bad,, I can write these things and still feel comfortable in my current environment - mainly because I am established here. But I still cannot stand the shit I get working in Singapore. "Know your enemy, know yourself ....." Sun Tze

Singaporean mother want to know why I decided to buy a Volvo over a German car when the cost similar! Why drive a "tank" when I can have a car. But my life is about enjoyment too. I will get a car I like, not one that someone think I should appear in.

i don't know much about Perth, only have been there once in my life. I would imagine many asians will move to the bigger city i.e sydney or melbourne for better job opportunities and less descrimination towards them. One of my friend(sporean) chose Melbourne as her final destination after living in perth for a few years. i guess small city has it's charm, traffic is less congested and fewer competition to land a job. In melb or sydney especially in the banking industry not hiring asians is not an option as there's simply not enough talents to fill the jobs. of course, the senior executive positions are still largely dominate by the whites, a number of asians take up middle managent positions but i suspect most of them are ABCs, and of course can't runaway from the run-of-the mild indians for those in the IT industry. Asians are mostly hired to take on more technical and specialised jobs which they are renowned for their hardworking work ethics and analytical skills. (there's a MNC bank i used to work hired a lot of ah nehs to do technical support jobs which require to work around the clock which they probably can't get enough interest from the white staying long) Those jobs require more soft skills eg. executives, marketing , project managers, business analyts, sales go mostly to the whites. In the end who cares - just do your job, get the wages and enjoy life after work, asian or not, as long we have a good life and have a balanced culture of friends. I have been reporting to Anglo saxions bosses back in Sg till now in sydney , to be honest - i rather reporting to them than asians - my earlier career in sg mostly reporting to Asian bosses esp sporeans - they were amongst the worst - disrespectful, power-driven and some were simply freakin' controlling.

the large asian population also means there's a target market employers can't ignore.

IWC2006

See my user location.

With America and Europe on crisis now, you'll see more applications from the west applying to OZ & NZ ( another group will head to Asia but mostly for job opportunities especially in financial industry) which is what the government wants as the rate of Asian immigration in the last few years had surged. The IELTs high English requirement is also another way to discourage non-english speakers to go elsewhere (one would also argue many europeans are not native english speakers but they are still very much grew up in the western culture so it's easier to blend in the Australian culture). apply early will put you on the right track. However, do bear in mind Australia living cost is relatively high and every service(if they ever provide any service) at all will come with all sort of fees but at least it's regulated so costs are maken known to you upfront. for instance, i recently moved location and there's a fee apply for reconnecting my broadband service and it took up to almost a month to get everything setup in the new location (however, you can get tax refund if it's related to the nature of your work) - talk about backwards, you'll hear a lot of whining about oz(especially from britons, americans, kiwis) - they are still using copper wire/ADSL for household broadband! only very recently some internet providers started to provide unlimited broadband service whereas the rest of the world already way ahead ages ago. as long you can live with the inefficiency of OZ then you'll be fine.

neddy

as long you can live with the inefficiency of OZ then you'll be fine.

I have a love hate relationship with this OZ inefficiency. But it does slow me down. Eg Taking the rest of the day off from work because my office computer is down, and the IT Dept ask if it is a "life or death" situation.

It is like the UK public works people - 6 guys standing on their shovels and only one working. :rolleyes:

X6jWhVV51G-300x165.jpg

ZorrorroZ

I have a love hate relationship with this OZ inefficiency. But it does slow me down. Eg Taking the rest of the day off from work because my office computer is down, and the IT Dept ask if it is a "life or death" situation.

It is like the UK public works people - 6 guys standing on their shovels and only one working. :rolleyes:

X6jWhVV51G-300x165.jpg

LOL! Is this commonplace in all Aussieland, or is it only in gov related agencies? I had the impression that private firms were more on the ball... at least till knock off time when they go for a beer. At least my coz in Melbourne gives me the impression that she works late hours when needed.

neddy

LOL! Is this commonplace in all Aussieland, or is it only in gov related agencies? I had the impression that private firms were more on the ball... at least till knock off time when they go for a beer. At least my coz in Melbourne gives me the impression that she works late hours when needed.

Private firms on the ball? LOL!

It depends on whether the workers are unionised or not.

Non-unionised workers are worse than working in Singapore. They have zero :eek: days leave! Eg IT contractors! :biggrin: Why do you think I pay $50 an hour for Sharepoint developers.

Unionised workers - when they go on leave - Employer give them 15% more than their usual salary. :rolleyes: and they have 6 weeks annual leave.

Now that we have a Labor government - Hor say liao. Can anyhow go on strive.
Tomorrow airport chaos because custom officers on strike!

Life is very the relax here.

IWC2006

I've worked in 3 organisations since I arrived 3 years ago and they'll all banks. 1st one is a french bank - very disorganised, backwards in technology adoption (typical French) and poor in planning, contractors benefited the most as they pay high rates, terrible place for perms. Overtime expected in certain weekends and on certain 'peak' phases of the projects otherwise quite be quite laidback.

2nd one is American Investment bank - more structured, technnology more advanced, but heaps of politics and they hire and fire as they like(typical American firms) - longer work hours and generally staff don't leave till 6pm+. Work cultural is better as environment is less stressful.

of course stress here is nothing compare to Asia ie. Sg, HK or Japan

Most recent one is Aussie bank - Bigger organisation, structured, strong governance,more project budgets and massive staff size. Work-life balance is emphasised here. People are more switch off - typically leave at 5pm sharp. Less stressful and more laidback attitude.

ZorrorroZ

I've worked in 3 organisations since I arrived 3 years ago and they'll all banks. 1st one is a french bank - very disorganised, backwards in technology adoption (typical French) and poor in planning, contractors benefited the most as they pay high rates, terrible place for perms. Overtime expected in certain weekends and on certain 'peak' phases of the projects otherwise quite be quite laidback.

2nd one is American Investment bank - more structured, technnology more advanced, but heaps of politics and they hire and fire as they like(typical American firms) - longer work hours and generally staff don't leave till 6pm+. Work cultural is better as environment is less stressful.

of course stress here is nothing compare to Asia ie. Sg, HK or Japan

Most recent one is Aussie bank - Bigger organisation, structured, strong governance,more project budgets and massive staff size. Work-life balance is emphasised here. People are more switch off - typically leave at 5pm sharp. Less stressful and more laidback attitude.

wow... that sounds good actually, haha!! Are there vacancies for IT grads in banks?!

ZorrorroZ

Need some further opinions.

I found out that my migration app is classified as priority 5, due to my vocation no longer being part of the national SOL, which kind of sucks. However, the general ground feel is that priority 5 applications would be assigned a case officer by next year. This is for a sponsored visa which would allow me residence in any place in AU.

However, but my vocation is eligible for a state-sponsored visa in western australia under the state SOL. If I were to change to WA, i would be classified as Priority 3, which should be processed in the next few months. But I would need to reside in WA for 2 years, before being eligible to live elsewhere in AU.

Now... is it worth it to change to stay in WA just so I can get my migrant visa asap - or should I just stick on to my original application and wait for (hopefully) next year to get an all-AU migrant visa.

Dilemma!

neddy

Need some further opinions.

I found out that my migration app is classified as priority 5, due to my vocation no longer being part of the national SOL, which kind of sucks. However, the general ground feel is that priority 5 applications would be assigned a case officer by next year. This is for a sponsored visa which would allow me residence in any place in AU.

However, but my vocation is eligible for a state-sponsored visa in western australia under the state SOL. If I were to change to WA, i would be classified as Priority 3, which should be processed in the next few months. But I would need to reside in WA for 2 years, before being eligible to live elsewhere in AU.

Now... is it worth it to change to stay in WA just so I can get my migrant visa asap - or should I just stick on to my original application and wait for (hopefully) next year to get an all-AU migrant visa.

Dilemma!

It is your choice. How desperate you want to migrate.

What if you are not eligible for WA Sponsored visa, do you return to the same position in your Priority 5 queue?
How do they calculate the 2 years residency?
Is it regional or any parts of WA, including Perth?
Does the 2 years exclude the time you can spend away from WA?

You may find IT work in WA and may not find IT work that quick in VIC.

What is more important to you??

ZorrorroZ

It is your choice. How desperate you want to migrate.

What if you are not eligible for WA Sponsored visa, do you return to the same position in your Priority 5 queue?
How do they calculate the 2 years residency?
Is it regional or any parts of WA, including Perth?
Does the 2 years exclude the time you can spend away from WA?

You may find IT work in WA and may not find IT work that quick in VIC.

What is more important to you??
hmm.. good points.

I don't think there is a return to the priority 5 queue if the WA app fails.

Which begets the question - if one is qualified to apply for a migrant visa, what are the chances that we won't get the visa?

The 2 years ... not sure how they count - gotta find this out. I believe also it covers whole of WA, incl Perth. But shall confirm, thanks.

The important question of how desperate to migrate... I guess waiting a few extra months is not an issue; the major push factor is NS for my kid as well as finding a good school for him - he's still within the 11 year barrier, but I want to get a secure footing for him soon in case rules may change in either AU or SG, to our detriment.

I think I most probably will choose the existing path of waiting out my priority 5 queue.

neddy

hmm.. good points.

I don't think there is a return to the priority 5 queue if the WA app fails.

Which begets the question - if one is qualified to apply for a migrant visa, what are the chances that we won't get the visa?

The 2 years ... not sure how they count - gotta find this out. I believe also it covers whole of WA, incl Perth. But shall confirm, thanks.

The important question of how desperate to migrate... I guess waiting a few extra months is not an issue; the major push factor is NS for my kid as well as finding a good school for him - he's still within the 11 year barrier, but I want to get a secure footing for him soon in case rules may change in either AU or SG, to our detriment.

I think I most probably will choose the existing path of waiting out my priority 5 queue.

I hope you know by now that the Australian Immigration put out all the information on their website and that the processing is transparent. They even tell you which centre is processing your visa.

It does appear that you cannot return to your old queue if you change priority.

All other applications–priority group 5
Applicants with a nominated occupation that is not on the SOL–Schedule 1 in effect at 1 July 2011 and who are not employer sponsored or nominated by a state or territory government under a state migration plan, will be processed under priority group 5.

Applicants with a nominated occupation that is not on the SOL–Schedule 1 in effect at 1 July 2011 can only move into a higher priority group by lodging a new application with an employer sponsorship or a state or territory government nomination in an occupation specified under a state migration plan. Alternatively, applicants can only nominate a different occupation that is on the SOL–Schedule 1 by lodging a new application. It is not possible to change a nominated occupation or to change to an employer sponsored or state nominated visa category, unless a new application is lodged. A new application would require the payment of a new Visa Application Charge.
"Square pegs fit square holes and round pegs fit round holes." This is different from how Singapore works - where you can get nasty surprises.

A lot of things have change in processing migrants. I have not kept up to date.

If they say that you meet the basic eligible requirements, you are. Even if the rules change later, it should not affect you if you have applied under the previous rulings.
Next, are you within the quota for the current year. Somehow, I feel that Priority 5 is like an eternal wait because they do not provide a timeframe. (Personally, I will go with Priority 3, again, this is my personal choice for a Perth person)

http://www.immi.gov.au/about/charters/client-services-charter/visas/8.0.htm

Also, during processing, have you given them all the documents they need to process.
REMEMBER, THESE PUBLIC SERVANTS MAKE MISTAKES TOO. So make sure what you do are in order, in case you want to complain.

It is NOT a lottery, like the US Green Card lottery!
But it is getting a lot tougher to migrate here!

Are you using an agent?

ZorrorroZ

I hope you know by now that the Australian Immigration put out all the information on their website and that the processing is transparent. They even tell you which centre is processing your visa.

This is different from how Singapore works - where you can get nasty surprises.
Yeah.. I agree 100% with you on this - so much better AU's info than SG's, where for all the said "meritocracy" and "transparency", one actually wades in murky water to find out what we want to know.

Next, are you within the quota for the current year. Somehow, I feel that Priority 5 is like an eternal wait because they do not provide a timeframe. (Personally, I will go with Priority 3, again, this is my personal choice for a Perth person)

Yeah, the waiting game is the bummer.

Also, during processing, have you given them all the documents they need to process.
REMEMBER, THESE PUBLIC SERVANTS MAKE MISTAKES TOO. So make sure what you do are in order, in case you want to complain.

Are you using an agent?

Yes, I am using an agent - quite a reputable one, I gather, from google searches in various migration forums around the world. He was recommended by a friend. And the agent also happens to be a former SG'rean who now helps others to migrate down under.

After having gone through the application process with the agent's help, I can't imagine having had to do this on my own without guidance.... my word, the number of apps and forms to submit!! :eek:

neddy

Yes, I am using an agent - quite a reputable one, I gather, from google searches in various migration forums around the world. He was recommended by a friend. And the agent also happens to be a former SG'rean who now helps others to migrate down under.

After having gone through the application process with the agent's help, I can't imagine having had to do this on my own without guidance.... my word, the number of apps and forms to submit!! :eek:

Agents are known to make mistakes or make things difficult for clients. Not their fault, they want success and easy processing.

Consider this case.
(Proof of English)
For Mr A who apply himself, he just write a personal letter stating that his tertiary education at LSE is conducted in English. The Case Officer thinks it is good enough.

Mr B who uses agent was asked to take the IELTS which was not even the requirement then! But it makes life easy for the agent. The agent just need to fax over the results.

Better use a MARA registered agent who is a notary public as well, the good ones subscribe to Australian Immigration Dept who send out information update regularly. The cheapskate ones go to the same IMMI website you visit to get updates :biggrin:

neddy

Hi ZorrorroZ,

You really need to thank the ah tiong and ah neh for making migration more difficult today.

I was chatting with some mates earlier about Priority 5 and the bad news is that the GFC-hit Irish and UK migrants are jumping ahead of you to migration.

Stats shows that too many nehs and tiongs are here, now they are still jumping queues with suspicious documents, etc to come here.

COMPETITION to migrate is higher today than ever before. Due to GFC? boom?

You may want to check with your agent about the time frame for Priority 5 because the govt here does not guarantee one.

Priority 3:Singapore is classified as LOW RISK with the timeframe of 12 months. This will give you some certainty to a visa.

Since you use an agent, My advice is to make full use of his/her service. It is YOUR (and your son's) future on the line! WAITING is a curse too! (My personal thought - dun get too stressed)

Found on the Aussie High Comm to India website.

Immigration Fraud - Warning!

In the interests of providing fair and reasonable services to our clients, we wish to advise that it is an offence under Australian immigration law to provide false documents or make misleading statements in a visa application.

In such cases, applications may be refused and visas may be cancelled. In addition, the persons involved may be barred by law from being granted a visa for one to three years. In some cases they may be permanently excluded from Australia.

To ensure the best possible client service, we strongly recommend that applicants obtain information and assistance regarding visa applications from either the Visa Office, our service provider VFS or preferred migration agents.

When applying for a visa to Australia applicants should be aware of the following:

• If you are involved with Immigration fraud in any way your ability to apply to travel to Australia will be affected.
• Ensure that all of the documentation that you provide with your application is genuine.
• You are strongly advised not to listen to people who tell you that they can ‘arrange’ a visa for a sum of money.
• There are known scams operating over the Internet and in newspapers offering employment or study in Australia. These are commonly offered by businesses claiming to be ‘migration agents’. When dealing with any agent or business offering such services please ensure that you verify any offers of employment or study.
• You should also verify that the agent is applying lawfully to the Australian Government BEFORE you make any payments or arrangements. If in doubt, contact the Visa Office.
• Please ensure that you obtain an official receipt for any money you pay for a visa or visa-related services.

While all efforts will be made to assist whenever possible, neither the Australian Government nor the Visa Office in New Delhi is responsible and cannot be held accountable for any loss related to such scams.

If you have information regarding suspected immigration fraud please contact the Visa Office by phone or email [email protected]

For further information regarding the management of Australia’s borders please consult the following link:
http://www.immi.gov.au/managing-australias-borders/index.htm

ZorrorroZ

Hi ZorrorroZ,

You really need to thank the ah tiong and ah neh for making migration more difficult today.

I was chatting with some mates earlier about Priority 5 and the bad news is that the GFC-hit Irish and UK migrants are jumping ahead of you to migration.

Stats shows that too many nehs and tiongs are here, now they are still jumping queues with suspicious documents, etc to come here.

COMPETITION to migrate is higher today than ever before. Due to GFC? boom?

You may want to check with your agent about the time frame for Priority 5 because the govt here does not guarantee one.

Priority 3:Singapore is classified as LOW RISK with the timeframe of 12 months. This will give you some certainty to a visa.

Since you use an agent, My advice is to make full use of his/her service. It is YOUR (and your son's) future on the line! WAITING is a curse too! (My personal thought - dun get too stressed)

Hey bro. Thanks for the advice.

I have been further confirming with my agent. (BTW, yes, he is one of those registered agents who is also a notary public, so all the docs I send are witnessed as acceptable by him, as well.)

1. I would be able to retain the initial priority 5 queue even if I go for the WA scheme at priority 3, as it is considered a separate app.

2. Yes, it is a matter of time to get the visa, whether priority 5 or better... except that priority 5 has no time frame. And unless laws change to stop already lodged apps, I should be able to get the visa on priority 5. It's just a question of when - and there is no guarantee if it would happen by next year. (So I should consider if hanging out in WA for 2 years is worth it... as my relatives and friends are mainly in melbourne and sydney).

neddy

unless laws change to stop already lodged apps, I should be able to get the visa on priority 5.

In Australia, this is usually not how the laws work.
Laws that were changed retrospectively usually involve closing tax loopholes, not immigration.

All the best in your application!