I am grateful to SIM for giving me a second chance

Johnrambo

I went to SIM. At first, I struggled with myself for a bit, wondering if it is still worth attending a university here if I couldn't make it into the big three (NUS, NTU and SMU).

I guess the answer is, it depends on the individual. For me, it was really worth it. But for some of my peers, it wasn't. I think you need to be absolutely certain the degree you plan to undertake is something you genuinely enjoy. So long as you know what you want to do, SIM honestly isn't that bad of a place to pursue one's tertiary studies at.

I had breezed through my exams all my life until the 'A' Levels. Scored 250+ for PSLE, under 5 points for the 'O' Levels. I naively thought 'A' Levels would be just as easy, hence I took things for granted big time. In the end, I fared very badly and couldn't get into a government university.

Inferiority complex aside, deep down inside I knew I wasn't stupid. I knew I could do fairly well if I had tried harder. I wanted so badly to prove to everyone, to my friends, to my family that I was capable of so much more. Studied my ass off and made sure I did better than everyone else there. Recently, I received an offer to further my studies in my dream school.

More at

I am grateful to SIM for giving me a second chance

SIM and private universities are 2nd chance unis to get a degree...but it does not mean it's a 2nd chance to get a degree paying job.

Good for you. Remember to vote PAP in the next election ok ? It’s PAP that gave you the chance. Go register with John Tan for grassroots volunteer.

So what dream school this NUS reject talking about?

Simi Psle o level air level degree are all useless if the person can't think and is not hungry enough to succeed

why young sinkies do not follow ah neh in bang-galore in pursuing tech subjects, especially in coding and machine programming? skills in these areas with a diploma is worth 6.9 times more than a useless general degree.

I have one theory.

Sinkies all follow the confucious crap. Listen to parents. Listen to emperor.

So they listen to their outdated parents who grew up in the 60s still thinking got degree that means shiok liao.

All living in the past. And of course the emperor still giving out scholarships that will ensure you got it made at the age of 18 if kena scholarship!

Singapore will collapse in the next 7 years.

Wonder if the reason he didn't get into big 3 is because of the number of scholarship places reserved for FT or he really fared badly.

My uncle joked that sim is the most well known sg uni internationally. People all over the world,from austria to zimbabwe are asking for its cards. U never hear them asking for ntu or nus cards.