• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I am down to my last $10 until my husband receives his salary

Are you saying that this data is a pack of lies?

ISUwelfa_130823.png.cms

Are you saying that http://anitra.net/homelessness/columns/anitra/eightmyths.html this is a pack of lies?

I can't comment on that report but I can certainly comment on this one. I watched it unfolding before my eyes on the news and in the papers.

The Government says it's caught more than 3000 welfare beneficiaries cheating the system, thanks to a change of law that allows it to share information from Inland Revenue.

The departments began sharing at the start of the year, and say they've found fraud that runs into the millions.

Connie Warden knows about the risks of benefit fraud. She was caught out trying to claim more than she was entitled to.

"They said to me if I did that again I was going to end up in prison, so that's why I maintain that it pays to be honest," says Ms Warden.
And it's those who haven't been honest over long periods who now being caught out.

"What we have found is that 3129 have been unlawfully receiving a benefit and so they've been moved out of welfare," says Associate Social Development Minister Chester Borrows.

The Government's detecting more potential fraud because the IRD is sharing customer details with the Ministry of Social Development. That identifies beneficiaries whose taxable income does not match what they declare to the Government.

Of those who have lost their entitlements, the majority were either on the unemployment benefit or the sickness benefit.

"There has always been an issue around people continuing to recover benefits when they move into work - this can be for just a week or so and is frequently the fault of Work and Income as it is themselves," says Sarah Thompson, of Auckland Action Against Poverty.

But Mr Borrows says it's not trying to target those who have been overpaid for a short period.

"If it's gone on for a couple of months then there may be alternative action, but if it's gone on for six months or a year well pretty much they're done for, I would say."

The Government says if it's proven people have deliberately ripped off the system, they will be prosecuted, but Labour says the Government should be paying more attention to tax fraud, which remains a much bigger problem.

3 News

Read more: http://www.3news.co.nz/Welfare-chea...3/articleID/305467/Default.aspx#ixzz2msO2iJxc

The Government says if it's proven people have deliberately ripped off the system, they will be prosecuted, but Labour says the Government should be paying more attention to tax fraud, which remains a much bigger problem.

Like I said previously, I think the magnitude of welfare abuse is overblown and the amount lost is insignificant compared to the sum due to tax fraud and evasion committed by the rich and corporations.

Taking what is not due to you is stealing.

Avoiding ridiculous taxes is good business sense.

I have not seen anyone left behind in Singapore. Everyone is taken care of. There are more than enough government grants to ensure that nobody is left penniless.

You can download the details at http://www.ncss.org.sg/documents/assistanceschemes.pdf

I am not talking about penniless people...we have one of the riches POOR on this planet earth....no money in the pocket, but the flat is worth, $xxx,xxx.xx , CPF ordinary account, $xxx,xxx.xx, Special Account $xxx,xxx.xx & Medisave Account, $xx,xx.xx ( maximum)....I am talking about cash at hand, unable to pay the common bills, like Town Council, Utilities, Property Taxes...etc...whose behind is never left alone...

The penniless ones, would have jumped into Reservoirs, burnt down the flat or jumped off the building....

Chey! Still have 10 dollar what. last time me doing national slavery, almost every month, even last ten dollar also don't have. cos minimum withdrawal is 10 dollar. knn, ang hoon also cannot buy. And slave pay day is 2-3 weeks away. Knn. Ns is killing sinkees.

Taking what is not due to you is stealing.

Avoiding ridiculous taxes is good business sense.

We are not talking about tax avoidance here ...by the way, aggressive tax avoidance could be deemed tax evasion after an audit ...but tax fraud. Lots of people cheat on their tax ...if the government has the resources to audit every return, they would reap more money than going after welfare cheats.

Chey! Still have 10 dollar what. last time me doing national slavery, almost every month, even last ten dollar also don't have. cos minimum withdrawal is 10 dollar. knn, ang hoon also cannot buy. And slave pay day is 2-3 weeks away. Knn. Ns is killing sinkees.

Bro last time ang hoon was $1.8 now different liao :D

hehehe now how much? I still remember the packaging. Ang hoon is a good backup. But very very dry. Knn, feel like having one now.

Back to topic, 35 yo, oversea graduate, shud be quite in demand. Umm.... then those no degree or diploma one how? Knn, degree cannot find job. Something is wrong with sinking land.

hehehe now how much? I still remember the packaging. Ang hoon is a good backup. But very very dry. Knn, feel like having one now.

Bro it could be more than 10 dollars liao,papers around 10 cents:D

Over supply little demand, wages suppressed. What do you think?

10 dollar for ang hoon?! Me started with ang hoon as a kid, rolling ang hoon for my old folks when they playing mahjong. also rolled one for myself and went toilet to testing testing. knn, good old times.

This is a shame really. Is the job of the government to take care of the country, or its citizens?
I always believe that if you take care of the citizens, the citizens will take care of the country.
those who are down and out should have a lifeline to salvage their livelihood, say six month on welfare, or usage of cpf which is given only if they attend some classes to upgrade their skills such as those in demand, like kitchen assistants, nursing, oil and gas, ship crew etc.

All you chee bye ppl arguing about what fuck welfare?

For starters just give back the CPeeF money to their rightful owners after they turned 55!

Then many would not need the fucking Pap welfare liao!

The whole fucking place is playing wayang and.conning the Sinkie.

Withhold all their money, pay themselves super high salaries,make the place very costly and then the ppl have not enough money fr their elder years.

She should seek employment as a dishwasher in a fancy Japanese restaurant making $3000 while her husband can be a taxi driver that commands $7000 a month :rolleyes:

printLogo.png

GM calls time on Holden in Australia

By Jamie Gray, and AAP
4:19 PM Wednesday Dec 11, 2013
SCCZEN_A_0404NZHRRHQ06_220x147.jpg

The sun could be setting on Holden is Australia - (pictured) a 1974 HQ Holden Kingswood. Photograph/Richard Robinson. NZHerald

General Motors, owner of the Holden brand, said it would stop making cars in Australia by the end of 2017.

Detroit-based General Motors said it would transition Holden to a national sales company in Australia and New Zealand.
The decision throws the future of the Australian national auto industry into doubt.

Ford Australia is due to stop making cars in 2016, and there are concerns that Toyota will pull out as well. Mitsubishi closed its Australian factories in 2008.

The car component industry is expected to be hard hit by Holden's decision.

Up to 2900 employees at Elizabeth in South Australia and in Melbourne will be affected by the decision made overnight by Holden's parent company, the US car maker General Motors.

An Australian Manufacturing Workers Union spokesman says Holden's withdrawal will be devastating and lead to 50,000 job losses and a $21 billion hole punched in the economy.

"We are completely dedicated to strengthening our global operations while meeting the needs of our customers," the chairman and chief executive of GM Dan Akerson said in a statement.

"The decision to end manufacturing in Australia reflects the perfect storm of negative influences the automotive industry faces in the country, including the sustained strength of the Australian dollar, high cost of production, small domestic market and arguably the most competitive and fragmented auto market in the world," he said.

Holden will continue to have a significant presence in Australia beyond 2017, comprising a national sales company, a national parts distribution centre and a global design studio.

"This has been a difficult decision given Holden's long and proud history of building vehicles in Australia," GM Holden chairman and managing director Mike Devereux said.

Last week, Prime Minister Tony Abbott - who is returning from the Nelson Mandela memorial service in South Africa - had rejected spending more public money to keep Holden operating in Australia.

Abbott said the government would not offer anything beyond what was promised at the September election - a total of $500 million in car industry assistance to 2016/17.

The company on Tuesday told a Productivity Commission inquiry into the auto industry it had not decided whether to continue manufacturing cars in Australia.
Federal parliament erupted into angry exchanges following the announcement, with the opposition accusing the Abbott government of getting what it wanted.

Victoria Premier Denis Napthine said the state government had been told the decision was irreversible.

``This is a very, very sad day for Australia and Victoria,'' he told parliament.
``We have been advised that it is an irrevocable decision.''
- additional reporting AAP

By Jamie Gray, and AAP
- APNZ

Copyright ©2013, APN Holdings NZ Limited