• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I am a Chinese Singaporean, and proud of it

Thick Face Black Heart

By Kirsten Han

I am a Chinese Singaporean, and proud of it. I'm not as fluent in Mandarin as I am in English, but I delight in being bilingual. Living in Singapore, I have Chinese privilege, whether I want it or not.
All these things are simultaneously true.
"Chinese privilege" (or "majority privilege", which is essentially the same thing in Singapore when it comes to race since the majority race is Chinese) is a concept that we can use to talk about how there are particular issues, challenges, and barriers that don't exist for Chinese Singaporeans, but exist for others.
It points to how, for instance, I don't have to worry about whether particular HR staff or employers in Singapore will turn me away on the basis of my race, because even if the job ad says "bilingual speakers preferred", I can almost always assume that the two languages they mean are English and Mandarin. Or that, if I ever want to buy a HDB flat, I likely don't have to worry about the ethnic quota, while my minority friends do. It means that I can be confident that, whenever my government launches a national initiative, it will cater to me and my needs (especially if I am also cis and heterosexual and middle-class). Even if I were mainly a Mandarin speaker, there are still many spaces I can move about in within the country without much worry; like how cinemas often only offer Chinese subtitles with English-language films, which means that someone who only knows Mandarin can go to the cinema and still follow an English film, while someone who only knows Malay/Tamil can't.
What Chinese privilege is NOT about is demanding that Chinese people be apologetic or ashamed of being Chinese/in the majority race. What would be the point of that? Who would be served if I went around saying sorry for being Chinese, or if I stopped speaking Mandarin out of shame? It'd be totally pointless, because the whole point of the concept is to point to *systemic* inequalities, not just individual behaviours. Systemic inequalities and racism operate independent of what the individual feels about their position; I could be completely embarrassed about being Chinese, start refusing to speak Mandarin, and give up xiaolongbao for life (omg the horror)—and I'd *still* enjoy Chinese privilege in Singapore, because the system is set up to exempt me from particular obstacles and barriers on the basis of what it perceives me to be.
I don't understand why there are people who think that anti-racists talking about Chinese privilege want Chinese people to be sorry about being Chinese. Why would anyone waste time wanting Chinese people to do such a pointless thing?!
No one is demanding that Chinese Singaporeans feel bad or guilty about being Chinese. And as long as the system continues as it is, we Chinese Singaporeans cannot renounce our privilege. (You can *say* that you want to renounce, but again, the system doesn't care about your feelings.) But what we *can* do is decide how we want to use it to stand in solidarity with marginalised communities to reform/dismantle unjust structures and systems.
It's not about blame or saying that Chinese Singaporeans are bad people because we have Chinese privilege. It's about power, opportunities, access, and responsibility.

Woke bitch is only proud of woke views. Since woke consider chinks white she should be cutting herself everyday

By Kirsten Han

I am a Chinese Singaporean, and proud of it. I'm not as fluent in Mandarin as I am in English, but I delight in being bilingual. Living in Singapore, I have Chinese privilege, whether I want it or not.
All these things are simultaneously true.
"Chinese privilege" (or "majority privilege", which is essentially the same thing in Singapore when it comes to race since the majority race is Chinese) is a concept that we can use to talk about how there are particular issues, challenges, and barriers that don't exist for Chinese Singaporeans, but exist for others.
It points to how, for instance, I don't have to worry about whether particular HR staff or employers in Singapore will turn me away on the basis of my race, because even if the job ad says "bilingual speakers preferred", I can almost always assume that the two languages they mean are English and Mandarin. Or that, if I ever want to buy a HDB flat, I likely don't have to worry about the ethnic quota, while my minority friends do. It means that I can be confident that, whenever my government launches a national initiative, it will cater to me and my needs (especially if I am also cis and heterosexual and middle-class). Even if I were mainly a Mandarin speaker, there are still many spaces I can move about in within the country without much worry; like how cinemas often only offer Chinese subtitles with English-language films, which means that someone who only knows Mandarin can go to the cinema and still follow an English film, while someone who only knows Malay/Tamil can't.
What Chinese privilege is NOT about is demanding that Chinese people be apologetic or ashamed of being Chinese/in the majority race. What would be the point of that? Who would be served if I went around saying sorry for being Chinese, or if I stopped speaking Mandarin out of shame? It'd be totally pointless, because the whole point of the concept is to point to *systemic* inequalities, not just individual behaviours. Systemic inequalities and racism operate independent of what the individual feels about their position; I could be completely embarrassed about being Chinese, start refusing to speak Mandarin, and give up xiaolongbao for life (omg the horror)—and I'd *still* enjoy Chinese privilege in Singapore, because the system is set up to exempt me from particular obstacles and barriers on the basis of what it perceives me to be.
I don't understand why there are people who think that anti-racists talking about Chinese privilege want Chinese people to be sorry about being Chinese. Why would anyone waste time wanting Chinese people to do such a pointless thing?!
No one is demanding that Chinese Singaporeans feel bad or guilty about being Chinese. And as long as the system continues as it is, we Chinese Singaporeans cannot renounce our privilege. (You can *say* that you want to renounce, but again, the system doesn't care about your feelings.) But what we *can* do is decide how we want to use it to stand in solidarity with marginalised communities to reform/dismantle unjust structures and systems.
It's not about blame or saying that Chinese Singaporeans are bad people because we have Chinese privilege. It's about power, opportunities, access, and responsibility.
What rubbish Chinese privilege I don’t feel it and didn’t benefit from it

Nobody cares about you, you fat and 'woke' libtard SJW outrage merchant. :rolleyes::biggrin:

Anytime one of these Marxists utter the word 'privilege', it's time to switch off. That's a small hop to 'institutional racism' and 'reparations'. A slippery slope to hell.

she and chrissy teigen the fake woke queen can lick each other’s labia until cows cum home.

But Kristen.......

What you wrote is totally the same thing "White privilege" is being talked about.

The White People keep apologizing.

Your husband is white right?

But Kristen.......

What you wrote is totally the same thing "White privilege" is being talked about.

The White People keep apologizing.

Your husband is white right?

In the US, they are trying to ban students from learning about literary works of white authors. They are also doing a mass "cancellation" of all achievements by white people. This includes works of scientists, doctors, etc. The umbrella term for all this is "wokeness" or "wokeism" or simply, being "woke".

Are you woke?

Why would anyone be proud of something that required absolutely zero effort to achieve?

hmm good point.

I also seldom see people say......

I am proud that I won TOTO 1st prize!

or

I am proud that I was born into a rich family

or

I am proud that I am tall

But then again got people say things like

I am proud to be Alberta born and bred.

Oh well.

hmm good point.

I also seldom see people say......

I am proud that I won TOTO 1st prize!

or

I am proud that I was born into a rich family

or

I am proud that I am tall

But then again got people say things like

I am proud to be Alberta born and bred.

Oh well.

In my books in order to be proud of something some effort must have been put in to achieving some milestone or qualification. EG you can be proud of becoming a doctor it is not something that many people can achieve.

You can also be proud of your children if they become successful adults because both yourself and the child had to work hard and strive to attain success.

However this proud to be black, proud to be asian stuff is just garbage. Nobody has any control over who their parents were or which country or state they were born in so what exactly is there to be proud of?

I'm proud to have a nose on my face instead of just a gaping hole to breath through.

In my books in order to be proud of something some effort must have been put in to achieving some milestone or qualification. EG you can be proud of becoming a doctor it is not something that many people can achieve.

You can also be proud of your children if they become successful adults because both yourself and the child had to work hard and strive to attain success.

However this proud to be black, proud to be asian stuff is just garbage. Nobody has any control over who their parents were or which country or state they were born in so what exactly is there to be proud of?

I'm proud to have a nose on my face instead of just a gaping hole to breath through.

Uhm.......

I am certainly NOT PROUD to be a fucking doctor. What I do as a doctor is basically dumb myself down, suppress my knowledge and am a glorified customer service front line worker there to agree with most customers and do what they want and make them happy.

My children? What they do they should be proud themselves. What the fuck did I do?

I know cos I have 4 children. The first one did very well. The 2nd one not so good but ok. The 3rd is a total bum and useless bugger. The 4th is 3 years old.

What did I do different with each of them? Nothing! Nothing to be proud of.

Pride. Isnt that one of the seven deadly sins?

Don't be proud lah. Be humbled.

be poor and meek that's what Jesus said on Sermon on The Mount also.

Screen Shot 2021-06-30 at 10.26.09 AM.png

Uhm.......

I am certainly NOT PROUD to be a fucking doctor. What I do as a doctor is basically dumb myself down, suppress my knowledge and am a glorified customer service front line worker there to agree with most customers and do what they want and make them happy.

My children? What they do they should be proud themselves. What the fuck did I do?

I know cos I have 4 children. The first one did very well. The 2nd one not so good but ok. The 3rd is a total bum and useless bugger. The 4th is 3 years old.

What did I do different with each of them? Nothing! Nothing to be proud of.

Pride. Isnt that one of the seven deadly sins?

Don't be proud lah. Be humbled.

be poor and meek that's what Jesus said on Sermon on The Mount also.

Doc, no malice intended and i beg to differ. If you could not convince another of a truth means either you are wrong or you are not knowledgeable enough or wise enough to simply convince the others. Sam bring stats he don't just tok tok tok lol..........

Same like people said if you could not explain it simply enough means you do not know it well enough. Everything is simple there are core principle of our existence and Universe as above so below, within so without.

There are core principle and laws that are not arguable and if put them logically or string them up logically there's no argument.

UNLESS it's @ginfreely she don't care what reason you've said logically or not she'll just say she have exposed you son of God or whatever and so and so etc... This type is not logical or accept logic because she simply refuse to be logical and have other agenda behind it like they feel nice to be farked by everybody because irl she's a virgin ? Or maybe she's not a real girl actually or trying to be one etc etc nobody knows ffs ya ? or Nobody ever hit on her ever for whatever reasons so she gets the satisfaction here like hey you see i got all their attention.

Everybody likes to fark me...... lol

So if you still begs for forgiveness even in this kind of situation you are also asking for it because you don't have the intelligent to know that she just don't care or you're also having an agenda. Which is simple and clear enough you're not that uneducated so is not that you don't know but refuse to accept for whatever reasons.

Then you're trying to look for that pin in a haystack nothing wrong your own choice. So the only way out is to let it go and you know it too or continue with your 'adventure' nothing wrong it's your own choice. The key is know when to let it go and not be affected by others foolishness or ignorance.

Like those fanatics Christian they whip their own backs for that believe that they deserve it, you think it's painful they feel relief. Hua he dio ho (happy can already) I don't see anything wrong anywhere, be it you, @ginfreely or @ginmother. When ye understand, forgiveness is not even necessary is it not ? You'll just be amused, really. lol.............

*There's nothing wrong with pride if you're proud of things you do righteously only don't brag it. lol........... :P <3

Doc, no malice intended and i beg to differ. If you could not convince another of a truth means either you are wrong or you are not knowledgeable enough or wise enough to simply convince the others.

Same like people said if you could not explain it simply enough means you do not know it well enough. Everything is simple there are core principle of our existence and Universe as above so below, within so without.

There are core principle and laws that are not arguable and if put them logically or string them up logically there's no argument.

UNLESS it's @ginfreely she don't care what reason you've said logically or not she'll just she she have exposed you son of God or whatever and so and so etc... This type is not logical or accept logic because she simply refuse to be logical and have other agenda behind it like they feel nice to be farked by everybody because irl she's a virgin. Nobody ever hit on her ever for whatever reasons so she gets the satisfaction here like hey you see i got all their attention.

Everybody likes to fark me...... lol

So if you still begs for forgiveness even in this kind of situation you are also asking for it because you don't have the intelligent to know that she just don't care or you're also having an agenda. Which is simple and clear enough you're not that uneducated so is not that you don't know but refuse to accept for whatever reasons.

Then you're trying to look for that pin in a haystack nothing wrong your own choice. So the only way out is to let it go and you know it too or continue with your 'adventure' nothing wrong it's you own choice. The key is know when to let it go and not be affected by others foolishness or ignorance.

Like those fanatics Christian they whip their own backs for that believe that they deserve it, you think it's painful they feel relief. Hua he dio ho (happy can already) I don't see anything wrong anywhere, be it you, @ginfreely or @ginmother lol............. :P <3

*There's nothing wrong with pride if you're proud of things you do righteously only don't brag it. lol...........

Hmm this has nothing to do with gin as far as I am concerned.

Yeah you sound like the CPSA. Improve your communication skills!

LOL!

Aiyah......what is there to convince? When there is no REAL right or wrong?

For example covid vaccine. Is it wrong to take vaccine or right to take vaccine?

Ok maybe covid bad example cos we still dunno right or wrong.

What about screening for prostate cancer? What is right or wrong? Sam will tell you don't test! But maybe sweetiepie will say test safer lah

What about things like Doc I got really bad sore throat leh. I do swab test and there is no Strep Throat. So I say no Strep no need antibiotics. Right or wrong? Patient come back say fuck lah doc just give me the fucking antibiotics can?

Or I see sore throat wah big tonsils. I give Amoxiclav antibiotics. I never test for Strep. Cos I know this patient very stingy wont pay for the test also. Right or wrong? Depends who you ask. I know the Infectious DIsease doctor like Dr Leong Hoe Nam will say wah lau you very bad encourage abx resistance.

Right or wrong?

Or something more true and real. I have patient say he smokes THC throughout the day. I tell him just reminder don't drive until 4 hours after smoking cos can be impaired. He fucks me says I am lying am part of Pharma scam lies lies lies. Then tells me I am smoking my weed now as I am driving and talking to you and I have no impairment whatsoever.

Right or wrong? I dowan to argue with him. But it actually is my duty to report him cos if he cause accident kills someones 3 year old then says I was talking to my dr when I crashed and told him I was smoking and he did nothing........

Right or wrong?

What skill? Communication skill? What convincing?

Oh well.....

The liberal sense of pride has indeed become awfully misplaced. Its because everything you do, experience and achieve is seen through the lens of stuff beyond your control like your race, ethnicity, family, etc.

It is this loss of agency that causes liberals to blame everyone and everything for unfortunate circumstances, failure, lack of ability, etc, rather than doing some introspection.

Hmm this has nothing to do with gin as far as I am concerned.

Yeah you sound like the CPSA. Improve your communication skills!

LOL!

Aiyah......what is there to convince? When there is no REAL right or wrong?

For example covid vaccine. Is it wrong to take vaccine or right to take vaccine?

Ok maybe covid bad example cos we still dunno right or wrong.

What about screening for prostate cancer? What is right or wrong? Sam will tell you don't test! But maybe sweetiepie will say test safer lah

What about things like Doc I got really bad sore throat leh. I do swab test and there is no Strep Throat. So I say no Strep no need antibiotics. Right or wrong? Patient come back say fuck lah doc just give me the fucking antibiotics can?

Or I see sore throat wah big tonsils. I give Amoxiclav antibiotics. I never test for Strep. Cos I know this patient very stingy wont pay for the test also. Right or wrong? Depends who you ask. I know the Infectious DIsease doctor like Dr Leong Hoe Nam will say wah lau you very bad encourage abx resistance.

Right or wrong?

Or something more true and real. I have patient say he smokes THC throughout the day. I tell him just reminder don't drive until 4 hours after smoking cos can be impaired. He fucks me says I am lying am part of Pharma scam lies lies lies. Then tells me I am smoking my weed now as I am driving and talking to you and I have no impairment whatsoever.

Right or wrong? I dowan to argue with him. But it actually is my duty to report him cos if he cause accident kills someones 3 year old then says I was talking to my dr when I crashed and told him I was smoking and he did nothing........

Right or wrong?

What skill? Communication skill? What convincing?

Oh well.....

Yup there's always the grey area but it's your choice to choose this job. /shrug

'Doc' is a great respectable title but it comes with its 'perks' is it not ? Live with it with grace or get the fark out don't dilly-dally everyday comprain it's boring /yawn get it ? lol......... :P <3