• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I also want bailout!! Reits beg for $12 billion Govt help !!!!!

downgrader

I also want

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story

Feb 4, 2009
REITs need help with debt
By Joyce Teo, Property Correspondent

A BODY which represents and promotes listed Asian real estate has asked the Government here to help the listed firms, particularly the real estate investment trusts (Reits), to refinance an estimated $12 billion in debt.
'Whether or not this debt can be refinanced in the current climate is problematic given that the credit markets have frozen,' said a background paper from the Asian Public Real Estate Association (Aprea).

'Government assistance is needed to help restart the credit markets for commercial real estate mortgages,' it said.

One option would be a lending facility, which is being implemented in Australia. The paper said that real estate is a capital intensive business but at present, there is effectively no capital.

'Whether you are a schoolteacher looking to buy a car or a real estate company looking to refinance an office building, the credit crisis has made it much harder to get a loan right now.'

Inability to raise credit and refinance could lead to foreclosures, bankruptcies and forced sales, leading to market instability and a potential downward spiral, the paper said.

ahleebabasingaporethief

I also want

Feb 4, 2009

A BODY which represents and promotes listed Asian real estate has asked the Government here to help the listed firms, particularly the real estate investment trusts (Reits), to refinance an estimated $12 billion in debt.
'Whether or not this debt can be refinanced in the current climate is problematic given that the credit markets have frozen,' said a background paper from the Asian Public Real Estate Association (Aprea).

'Government assistance is needed to help restart the credit markets for commercial real estate mortgages,' it said.

One option would be a lending facility, which is being implemented in Australia. The paper said that real estate is a capital intensive business but at present, there is effectively no capital.

'Whether you are a schoolteacher looking to buy a car or a real estate company looking to refinance an office building, the credit crisis has made it much harder to get a loan right now.'

Inability to raise credit and refinance could lead to foreclosures, bankruptcies and forced sales, leading to market instability and a potential downward spiral, the paper said.

Fuck their mother CBs. if garment give them help, all hell will break loose.

In good times raise and raise and raise rentals until costs of living in S'pore shoot up like crazy.

Now times are bad ask for TAXPAYERS money to bail them out.

CCB, heads I win tails you lose ah? I also like to use other peoples' monies ok.

Really there should be NO HELP for these GREEDY landlords.

Where is the monetary help for the middle class?

Only Bull Shit like Jobs Scheme which has already being exposed in parLeement as a BIG Fraud by Mr Low:oIo:

khunking

Sounds like calling the government's bluff to me. Can the government bail me out of my home loan instead?

I also want

Feb 4, 2009

ahleebabasingaporethief

Feb 4, 2009

Cannot afford , No money in system, then don't buy......Econs 101

allanlee

Another propaganda spin to con the singkies again...... many of these Reits people are also MIWs or their kakis.......

lifeafter41

I also want

Feb 4, 2009

REITs will never benefit the people. Singaporeans are being squeeze left, right, center, in terms of higher pricng on the products, by way of the high prices built into the products and foods, becuase of the obscene rentals these mall are demanding.

If the Singapore government were to help this bunch, they will be doing a great disservice to the very people they were voted in to represent.

AfterTimes

The government will still help this bunch of greedy landlords under the excuse of "saving job", like the job credit scheme.

helicopview

In 2006, 2007, they squeezed tenants in malls..make them pay a 2-tier rental. A base-level rent and variable rent dependent on the shops revenue. If not, the tenant can choose a fixed mthly rent,,a very high figure. The above 2 options has increased the mthly rent substantially. If u not happy, u leave the mall. Some tenants had no choice but to increase their goods price. This in turn push up inflation level in Singapore.

These Reits don't deserve any help at all.

ahleebabasingaporethief

The government will still help this bunch of greedy landlords under the excuse of "saving job", like the job credit scheme.

If they help, its bcos of CapitanReits,

But all hell will break loose as very little miniscule help is there for the poor and yet when it comes to big business, billions of Taxpayers money is spent with no hesitation.

WP Mr. Low will have another field day in ParLeement.

batman1

When the jobless citizens asked for withdrawal of $X p.m. from their CPF to tide over their current financial difficulties,the MIW will say : U don't be too choosy in choosing jobs lah,manage down your salary expectations,don't be lazy lah,u not putting enough effort in job search lah,increase your productivity lah....why u don't take $800.00 pm salary job...
However,IF the REIT ask for help in refinancing their $12 billion debt,most probably the MIW will say:Oh u poor thing,it's not your fault u are in this current insolvent plight caused by the freezing of credit.......I assure u it is not your fault (not to mention that the MIW are the largest landlord ).

ahleebabasingaporethief

When the jobless citizens asked for withdrawal of $X p.m. from their CPF to tide over their current financial difficulties,the MIW will say : U don't be too choosy in choosing jobs lah,manage down your salary expectations,don't be lazy lah,u not putting enough effort in job search lah,increase your productivity lah....why u don't take $800.00 pm salary job...
However,IF the REIT ask for help in refinancing their $12 billion debt,most probably the MIW will say:Oh u poor thing,it's not your fault u are in this current insolvent plight caused by the freezing of credit.......I assure u it is not your fault (not to mention that the MIW are the largest landlord ).

Can let them try lah.

People on the streets "tulan" until cannot "tulan" already. And most are the 66.6% that voted for them.

newyorker88

If the Singapore government were to help this bunch, they will be doing a great disservice to the very people they were voted in to represent.

REIT need bail out? Why not let them fail? Too big to fail or it burns too many rich? :biggrin:

These managers need to be booted out in the first place. All collecting huge salaries and when failure comes, they stick on to their bonus and salary and ask govenment to bail them out.

If govenment helps them, and I believe PAP will, they ought to scale down their bonus and pay, like what obama did propose, a 500K limit. Of cos, these suckers here deserve much less!

OBAMA! Way to go!!

funglung

Sinkies must take the stand now.

SHOW TO THEMSELVES THAT ENOUGH OF THEM HAVE BALLS

STAND UP WITH AND BY THOSE WHO SPOKE OUT FOR THEM

BE THEY THE OPPOSITION, REGARDLESS IF THEY ARE MP OR NOT MP

GIVE THEM THE SUPPORT AND ENCOURAGEMENT

STAND UP WITH AND BY BLOGGERS

KICK OUT LKY AND HIS BLOODSUCKING BUNCH OF PARASITES

In 2006, 2007, they squeezed tenants in malls..make them pay a 2-tier rental. A base-level rent and variable rent dependent on the shops revenue. If not, the tenant can choose a fixed mthly rent,,a very high figure. The above 2 options has increased the mthly rent substantially. If u not happy, u leave the mall. Some tenants had no choice but to increase their goods price. This in turn push up inflation level in Singapore.

These Reits don't deserve any help at all.
If they want a bailout, they will have to limit executives' compensation.
Want or not?

birdman

I want bailout!!!
image.php