• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

i also wanna be a PATRIOTIC PAPPIE

.....but i m just too shy and embarrass to wear their emperor's new clothing.

Lawrence Wong

I’ve been watching incidents unfold on the internet over the past few weeks with some heaviness in my heart.

When the British royal couple came to visit, PA and HDB organised an event at Queenstown to give them a glimpse of the diverse activities in our heartlands. Singaporeans young and old volunteered readily to b
e part of this event. Yet, they were mocked online for taking part in a “wayang” show.

When Mediacorp organized a TV forum with the PM, they invited a group of 50 people from all walks of life. Some had participated previously in Mediacorp’s TV programmes. Several were nominated by the unions and schools. Others came from a range of professional, voluntary and self-help groups.

No one was invited because of his or her political affiliation. But it so happens that among the group of 50, a handful were PAP members. They were a small minority. But on the internet, there was a campaign targeted against these PAP members, with their names being singled out and attacked, and their phone numbers publicised online.

The PAP has done a lot for Singaporeans over the past decades. But it is not perfect – no party is. We need to listen to criticisms and improve as a party, to serve our people even better.

This is why I and many others joined the PAP – because we appreciate what the party has done, we believe in the cause the party stands for, and we want to help the party do more to serve the interests of Singapore and our fellow Singaporeans.

I understand that not everyone will feel the same way about the PAP. Each of us is free to support any political party and choose the government we want. Indeed, the critics online clearly have their own political affiliations too, even though many have chosen to stay silent on this, or to hide their real identities behind anonymous online profiles.

Politics is important. But surely we do not want to end up in a situation where every activity or conversation in this country becomes politicised, where our people are polarized by political beliefs, where Singaporeans are set against Singaporeans based on creed or political affiliation.

More importantly, when decent people step forward to be part of a genuine national effort to welcome our overseas guests, or volunteer their time to be part of a national TV forum with the PM, and yet get vilified by their fellow citizens, then we really should pause and reflect, and ask ourselves whether this is the kind of society we want.

Politics can drive a wedge between us and divide our society. Or it can be a force for good, to bring our people together, and to build a stronger and better Singapore.

Look at what we have achieved together over the years. Our public housing, our schools and institutions of higher learning, our parks and museums, our container port and airport, and even the Pledge – these are national institutions that the PAP government has worked hard to put in place, with the support and contributions of all Singaporeans.

Let us continue to work together and keep our democracy healthy – by maintaining a basic level of civility in our public discourse, by treating all with dignity and respect, and by finding ways to bridge our differences and forge a common future together.

.....when u wear the emperor's new clothing, ur small little LP is just too revealing. pai seh!:p

Cheena Wine #5 - This is why I and many others joined the PAP...do more to serve the interests of Singapore and our fellow Singaporeans.

Good for you Mr Wong, but the question is - "how do you do more and serve" when you already slam the netizens (citizens) who does nothing but publish the truth.

People told me, why slam the government and not do your part to help the country?
Well, Mr Wong, let me tell you a story:

I heed the government advise to upgrade and upskill (Master, diplomas, certifications in IT) but these upgrades which the employers saw as over-qualification, although I did not ask for million$ salary, but accordingly to their company salary guideline.
After 4 years without a job, and at 43 years old, I packed my bags and heed to USA, but government said we are 'quitters', well, I would rather be a quitter than a beggar on the street to feed my family.

Currently, I live in USA, I work for one of the top big 4 consulting firms, I am well respected in my work, all my clients who range from public and private sectors, they are amazed at my IT skills (they thought I was from India), but with my different work ethics and attitude, plus clear no-accent English (no Singlish), they told me that they like Singaporean worker, and they are hoping to see more in USA.

Being a true blue Singaporean, I did not apply US citizenhip, because deep in my heart, I still want to go back home to Singapore where my heart is and will forever be among my families, friends and people.
While in USA, I applied for jobs in Singapore and for public sectors posts at SLA, LTA, MINDEF, HDB etc..., I did not receive a single reply.
Again, I did not put my expected salary in my CV, I am willing to work for my country, but it seems my country has forsaken me.
My beloved country willing to give jobs to foreigners whose main aim to get Singapore PRs to further their ambitions in getting EASY access to other countries.
Well, I am not a gossip, I am working with people from India, China, Malaysia, here in USA, and all have PRships from Singapore.

Why can't our Singapore government STOP issuing PRs and Citizenships easily, and allow only work visas like all countries?
Restrict the work visas by renewing every 2 years, and the employers/government should review if they need these FTs or if they can integrate into the society, otherwise, they can go back home - no strings attach and Singapore will not be overcrowded and became xenophobic.
Did you know that PRs are the biggest job hoppers in Singapore?

Cheena Wine #4 - The PAP has done a lot for Singaporeans over the past decades...We need to listen to criticisms and improve as a party, to serve our people even better

Again Mr Wong, you mentioned you need to listen to criticisms, then why are you slamming what we 'criticize' online?
The people of Singapore did/do all the things to make what Singapore is today - TEAM WORK!

My father was a public servant all his life until he retired and died from cancer, and my mother was a housewife raising the children; my parents passed away a year of each other, they never been or get invited to NDP, a country my father served and help built.
Yet, while I'm in USA, my American friend informed me that while he was working in Singapore for 2 years contract, he had tickets to watch NDP - TWICE!

What's wrong with this picture, Mr Wong?

hmmmm....no wonder many sgporeans do not get ndp tickets. they are reserved for FTs!!

true of not??

I heed the government advise to upgrade and upskill ................... plus clear no-accent English (no Singlish), they told me that they like Singaporean worker, and they are hoping to see more in USA.

Another twit who doesn't know that "advice" is a noun and "advise" is a verb and who thinks that the sinkie accent is "no-accent".

What a moron. No wonder nobody wanted to hire him in Singapore. :rolleyes:

pinky and his gang of ivory tower residents should descend and live for a while like the peasants. when they have done that, probably they would understand better that some of their lame policies are indeed causing more havoc and suffering.

we must be patriotic to our country and not the party who rules it. just like we believe the reiligion but not overly in the preacher who preaches it.

you are a wise man...but why are you so quiet here?

there are too much excessive noise over nothing so i prefer to be silent patriot.

Talk about patriotism...why pinky engineered and remove BG Yeo...a rare talent and will serve Singapore well..???

It is for the selfish reason of protecting his own turf and remove this threat..
It is not for the good of Singapore that we lose a very senior Minister..Even Asean senior ministers were stunned..

Do u respect someone who only see and work for their own selfish interest..????

Not for the interest for the Nation.???

Talk about patriotism...why pinky engineered and remove BG Yeo...a rare talent and will serve Singapore well..???

It is for the selfish reason of protecting his own turf and remove this threat..
It is not for the good of Singapore that we lose a very senior Minister..Even Asean senior ministers were stunned..

Do u respect someone who only see and work for their own selfish interest..????

Not for the interest for the Nation.???

georgie was not removed by pinky who is his bf. he was removed by the voters and all thanks to the soft thread from old man.

georgie is a nice friendly and humble man. what he did for singapore, many are quite ignorant about it. he was minister for foreign affairs. he helped sgp alot from the exterior. unlike traitorous chee who forever tries to sabo sgp from outside and yet, again many silly ignorants worship chee like the new messiah.

what singapore really needs is the truth and authencity of the real happenings here, the real pent-up feelings of the citizens, the real unhappiness but less on the flatteries that are pouring towards the pap and even lesser wayang and operas the pap loves to showcase on.

if pap remains complacent about the fake praises, the ball polishing and all the good things 90.5FM are offering, then singapore is destined to be doomed. it shall come to a day when the citizens are pressured too much, the cooker would just explode.

singaporeans basically are a peaceful tolerant lot - tolerant of pap's nonsense of unreasonable price icnreases. when taxi fares went up, everyone especially the cab drivers remained silent and swallowed it. in hk, taiwan, matland or thailand, there would be mass protest. over here, it's the uncanny dead silence.

when school fees went up, again silent. conservancy up, silent. PUB up up and away, silent...silent.

is this nation a country of deaf and mute? or is this country which have the greatest thresh hold of sufferings?

now the pap designs a CONversation. what do we get? things like: oh, it makes my day when i heard my neighbour talking in impeccable mandarin...

wtf!!

georgie was not removed by pinky who is his bf. he was removed by the voters and all thanks to the soft thread from old man.

georgie is a nice friendly and humble man. what he did for singapore, many are quite ignorant about it. he was minister for foreign affairs. he helped sgp alot from the exterior. unlike traitorous chee who forever tries to sabo sgp from outside and yet, again many silly ignorants worship chee like the new messiah.

Do elucidate for us please. What did George Yeo do that "helped sgp alot" and what did CSJ do that "sabo sgp"? Or do you expect us to just accept your flimsy, unsubstantiated claims as truths? :rolleyes:

yeo canvassed for more " free trade" while chee tried to instigate newly crowned president obama to sanction sgp.

why didn't TOC or another other non-MSM criticise chee for those traitorous antic?

yeo canvassed for more " free trade" while chee tried to instigate newly crowned president obama to sanction sgp.

why didn't TOC or another other non-MSM criticise chee for those traitorous antic?

Yeah, free trade agreements that reduced the barriers to labour mobility, resulting in the liberalisation of immigration policies. Any idea why there are suddenly so many Ah Neh PMETs in Sinkieland? I've no qualms with neoliberalism and globalisation in general. Just don't tell me to sacrifice 3 years of my life and my life savings to protect a non-cuntry that holds no allegiance to the people and finance the gambling addiction of the Lees. :rolleyes:

And what is so traitorous about asking the political and business leaders of the US to stop collaborating with an illegitimate government that exploits the people? Why? Your heart bleeds for your dear PAP, is it? Did he advocate a full embargo on the whole Sinkie economy? Stop conflating the government with the country. :rolleyes:

Valuable thoughts and advices. I read your topic with great interest.
girl.jpg

girl2.jpg

Yeah, free trade agreements that reduced the barriers to labour mobility, resulting in the liberalisation of immigration policies. Any idea why there are suddenly so many Ah Neh PMETs in Sinkieland? I've no qualms with neoliberalism and globalisation in general. Just don't tell me to sacrifice 3 years of my life and my life savings to protect a non-cuntry that holds no allegiance to the people and finance the gambling addiction of the Lees. :rolleyes:

And what is so traitorous about asking the political and business leaders of the US to stop collaborating with an illegitimate government that exploits the people? Why? Your heart bleeds for your dear PAP, is it? Did he advocate a full embargo on the whole Sinkie economy? Stop conflating the government with the country. :rolleyes:

just go imagine what if obama obliged chee and sanction singapore.