• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to reduce income inequality in Singapore

You need Age Care Planning for that.

In OZ, budget AUD$250 per day for next 5 years# for Long Term Care in a High Dependency Care facility. The OZ govt will subsidise $41 per day up to $60,000 max (to be implemented if the current govt win the next election)

# Usually, the dependent will up lorry within 3 years when they turn independent to dependent, but budget 5 years just in case.

The accommodation cost is separate, you need a AUD$2million bond to secure a nursing home that looks like a resort. (again, the OZ govt "promise" no bond if you believe them)

Not for the faint-hearted. I am still waiting for full facts on this Age Care study.

Hey neddy, you in Oz? Me too. Me in Sydney. What about you?

Thanks for the input.

Have a good day mate! Cheers.

"Workers of the world unite". It is a very thin book. Please read it and understand the background of that book.

The Industrial Revolution? How different is that from Globalization?

Do not patronize me if you have not read it yourself. I could ask you to read up the Koran in a feeble attempt at obfuscation. Try quoting it or explain the gist, if you will.

Why should we rob people of what they earned to reward those who did not earn? So logical you idiots cannot understand. Sam should ban all of you ;)

Earning capacity is simply one measurement.

Idiots or not idiots - it is relative. I am an idiot with IT stuff. What about you? What are you weak at?

Hey, you have not answered my question I posted to you the last time. Hiya, so long already. It is okay if you choose to avoid my question. Nevermind. :)

The Industrial Revolution? How different is that from Globalization?

Do not patronize me if you have not read it yourself. I could ask you to read up the Koran in a feeble attempt at obfuscation. Try quoting it or explain the gist, if you will.

I read Political Science in Singapore U under the tutelage of Prof Chan Heng Chee. :D

I am no good at reading religious stuff. That I must admit. :o

Answer is very simple. Pay every citizen's Cpf back to them at age 55.

In this way, the poorer ones can have more at an earlier age. For the rich, it doesn't make any difference.

However, as it is now, OUR Cpf is being locked-up till 65 and beyond where they will give us back in drips and drabs !!!:mad::oIo:

you cannot get back ur CPF?? so how sad. Blame yourself for being ball-less. you deserve it.

So if someone is good at earning let him earn what he deserves. If you think someone is good in some other way (spiritual development, perhaps) then let him derive his reward in that way - spiritual actualization, perhaps :D

Earning capacity is simply one measurement.

I read Political Science in Singapore U under the tutelage of Prof Chan Heng Chee. :D

Ah, a most worthy scholastic pursuit! A shame I did not have the honour of making his acquaintance.

We have come full circle. His writing has become more and more relevant today than it has been over the last few decades.

Arise, workers of the world!
Release the shackles of tyranny that binds your life.
Break free from the cycle of poverty and subjugation, and claim your dues from those who seek to enslave you!

I'd like to bring everyone's attention to this article. It's about NZ. This a country where a mother and child who are out of work receive an average of $550 per week in benefits and more if you know how to work the system. There are subsidies and handouts for just about everything. http://www.workandincome.govt.nz/individuals/a-z-benefits/index.html.

That's more than $2200 per month for doing nothing.

They live in homes rented from Housing NZ for less than $35 per week

Yet in this land of milk and honey, they're staging rallies about child poverty? Ask yourself how this can be. :confused:

The answer is simple. I have done debt counseling in the poor areas of Auckland. The money is squandered by individuals who make poor choices in life. It wouldn't make any difference if they were given $2500 per month or $5000 per month or even $8000 a month. These characters are humans who are made up of inferior genes and they are incapable of making sound choices.

If they have $300 in their pockets, they'll head to the local dairy to buy $200 worth of lottery tickets, then to the pub for $40 worth of beer and pop into the dairy on the way home again for $20 of ciggies. What's left behind is then used pay a portion of a bill that has been outstanding for 6 months. [I could start talking about the druggies but that's a another story for another day]

Nothing will change them short of death. I gave up counseling a long time ago. I tried to explain the power of compound interest. I told them to buy seedlings so they could grow their own veggies instead of buying shit from McDonalds but they simply can't be bothered to work the soil. It's too hard and too troublesome and they don't want to wait for the seeds to germinate. McDonalds is just across the road so they collect their benefits and head straight there for a big Mac.

When I was in my 20s, I thought like you guys.. poor people are unfortunate.. not given a break... treated unfairly etc. Now with the benefit of living a full life and witnessing and getting involved in the realities of life, I'm a lot more realistic. Some people simply are inferior. There's nothing the rest of the world can do about it. :rolleyes:

Boss, I can understand how you feel.

Some simply cannnot control their "irrational behaviour". Some have different agenda just like in SBF. People are the same everywhere we go. The difference is - more good or more bad or more blur sotong like me :D

We are all born different. We all think differently too. Even Asean scholar Law School undergrad with pretty high IQ can think so differently. What else?

Doing social work is a love. A calling. Just keep doing. Expect little or no result but continuing effort. If only it touches the brainwave of a few chaps, it will be a job well done!

So if someone is good at earning let him earn what he deserves. If you think someone is good in some other way (spiritual development, perhaps) then let him derive his reward in that way - spiritual actualization, perhaps :D

Oh yes, agree with you.

But not benchmarking like what the ministars are doing. Wrong benchmark methodology.

For a start, those they benchmarked, will get the sack the moment they failed to deliver. But those ministars have little accountability over that 5 years.

Find out who the lowest paid employee is in your company and tell the payroll department to transfer 10% of your salary every month to the poor guy.

If it happens to be you, you don't have to do anything. Just sit back and your pay will go up with no effort on your part required.

Are you proposing a communist system?

I'd like to bring everyone's attention to this article. It's about NZ. This a country where a mother and child who are out of work receive an average of $550 per week in benefits and more if you know how to work the system. There are subsidies and handouts for just about everything. http://www.workandincome.govt.nz/individuals/a-z-benefits/index.html.

That's more than $2200 per month for doing nothing.

They live in homes rented from Housing NZ for less than $35 per week

Yet in this land of milk and honey, they're staging rallies about child poverty? Ask yourself how this can be. :confused:

The answer is simple. I have done debt counseling in the poor areas of Auckland. The money is squandered by individuals who make poor choices in life. It wouldn't make any difference if they were given $2500 per month or $5000 per month or even $8000 a month. These characters are humans who are made up of inferior genes and they are incapable of making sound choices.

If they have $300 in their pockets, they'll head to the local dairy to buy $200 worth of lottery tickets, then to the pub for $40 worth of beer and pop into the dairy on the way home again for $20 of ciggies. What's left behind is then used pay a portion of a bill that has been outstanding for 6 months. [I could start talking about the druggies but that's a another story for another day]

Nothing will change them short of death. I gave up counseling a long time ago. I tried to explain the power of compound interest. I told them to buy seedlings so they could grow their own veggies instead of buying shit from McDonalds but they simply can't be bothered to work the soil. It's too hard and too troublesome and they don't want to wait for the seeds to germinate. McDonalds is just across the road so they collect their benefits and head straight there for a big Mac.

When I was in my 20s, I thought like you guys.. poor people are unfortunate.. not given a break... treated unfairly etc. Now with the benefit of living a full life and witnessing and getting involved in the realities of life, I'm a lot more realistic. Some people simply are inferior. There's nothing the rest of the world can do about it. :rolleyes:

A cautionary tale, I must say.

Yet you seem to confuse fair wages for dole handouts when we discuss the issue of income inequality. The similarity is a transfer of wealth, I agree. But who pays? That is the crux!

Fair wages: Business + Government, while Dole: Government only, for the dim ones.

Government can legislate to compel businesses to pay fair wages and take in bums. Governments can lead by taking in bums. Yet it is not just the flesh that is weak, the spirit is equally feeble.

"Businesses might shift elsewhere" is one such lame excuse. Try running a postal service in Singapore from Batam. Have your postmen take little bumboats to Singapore with a huge sack and a bicycle. Some businesses that cannot shift, the government just have to twist their fingers a little to make things better. Some of them enjoy less than perfect competition now, don't they?

What if it is the government that owns these businesses, yet profit maximization continues unabated? You see, this Singapore Inc is conflicted. I find it quite unnecessary to discuss the dangers of dole, when inequality is primarily caused by systematic exploitation of individuals by governments and corporations. This is the context and challenge facing Singapore today.

Fair wages: Business + Government, while Dole: Government only, for the dim ones.

There is a minimum wage in NZ too. It's around $15 per hour. Has that changed the state of "poverty" in NZ? Not at all.

Poverty has got nothing to do with how much you earn or how much you receive in the form of a handout. It has everything to do with what you do with the money once you receive it.

There is another downside to the minimum wage. It results in a higher unemployment rate. I have an office in Singapore and an office here. In Singapore, I employ 4 people to run the show. Here I employ none. I subcontract all the work I can overseas and the rest I do myself. If NZ removed the minimum wage and the other ridiculous employee benefits, I would take on staff.

There is a minimum wage in NZ too. It's around $15 per hour. Has that changed the state of "poverty" in NZ? Not at all.

Poverty has got nothing to do with how much you earn or how much you receive in the form of a handout. It has everything to do with what you do with the money once you receive it.

There is another downside to the minimum wage. It results in a higher unemployment rate. I have an office in Singapore and and office here. In Singapore, I employ 4 people to run the show. Here I employ none. I subcontract all the work I can overseas and the rest I do myself. If NZ removed the minimum wage and the other ridiculous employee benefits, I would take on staff.

You may recall I am an ardent critic of minimum wage.

In Singapore's context, I think we have a pension crisis because the elderly cannot afford to retire with the pitiful amount in their CPF account called Minimum Sum. Working it out is the only viable solution; there are more leisurely jobs that can be undertaken by elders at all levels. But why would they hire elders in place of young energetic youths? As a consequence, a minimum wage is distortionary to that outcome and I vehemently oppose it.

And yet this bloody government isn't helping by flooding the land with a tsunami of migrants. If they bother to build a dam, and do their tripartite nonsense with businesses instead of indulging them with dope, we would have well-designed jobs for elders who can now afford to defer their retirement and be economically productive.

Therefore, a mighty dam I am proposing to be be built to withstand the Deluge. Proper control of labour supply will result in increased wages anyway. Besides when the government figures show there are more jobs than citizens, we can afford to have less jobs, less residents and higher wages.

Sadly most office peons in their pretty cloths prefer to remain stuck in their pens, allowing this evil alliance of government and business to milk them dry day after day.

Why the fuck should government do a stupid thing by forcing companies to take in bums? Comapnies will move. Postal companies cannot move but manufacturing and many service companies can move - you really think accounting, architectural drafting, financial services etc cannot be moved out of Singapore? This is the Internet age. Wake up, will you.

Government can legislate to compel businesses to pay fair wages and take in bums. Governments can lead by taking in bums. Yet it is not just the flesh that is weak, the spirit is equally feeble.

Why the fuck should government do a stupid thing by forcing companies to take in bums? Comapnies will move. Postal companies cannot move but manufacturing and many service companies can move - you really think accounting, architectural drafting, financial services etc cannot be moved out of Singapore? This is the Internet age. Wake up, will you.

That is why you take a targeted approach. That is where incentives and restrictions come in. You are clearly but a fool to suggest a blanket treatment across the whole economy, just as the liberals desire a minimum wage for all sectors without taking into account the microstructures inherent in the labour market. It is time for you to hit the books, peon before you publicly embarrass your political masters.

There is another downside to the minimum wage. It results in a higher unemployment rate. I have an office in Singapore and an office here. In Singapore, I employ 4 people to run the show. Here I employ none. I subcontract all the work I can overseas and the rest I do myself. If NZ removed the minimum wage and the other ridiculous employee benefits, I would take on staff.

But ..but ..but Boss the fucking Sinkie now have a double whammy. They don't have a min wage and their Master had used FTs to replace them.

So how leh?

Don't say tell the moronic Sinkie to think out of the box and be enterprising hor. From what I have seen, most of these Sinkie need their Master to tell them when it's time to shit and when it's not.

Of course, if you had asked for my opinion, I would say the Sinkie deserved it ( haven't I said it a thousand times) LOL