• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to develop a good habit of reading?

no_faith

i have problems reading thru a big chuck of words or paragraphs.
i tend to doze off or feel sleepy after a few sentences and stop to read.
i usually skim and scan the whole article.
Sometimes i juz hit the last part of the whole article to get the conclusion of the story.
I do read articles start from the end instead of the beginning.

am i suffering from dyslexia?

is there ways to improve reading and get more interested in it?

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
bro...try reading something that really interests you. Maybe that will help. But dont start with tonychat's or clinton's rubbish or that will put you off reading forever.

Sometimes i juz hit the last part of the whole article to get the conclusion of the story.

Go to any public library, and borrow a few books from the Children's Fiction or Young Adult Fiction shelves.

Once you are ready to upgrade, read adult fiction, non-fiction, academic papers, philosophy etc.

When ready to further upgrade, read Chinese books. Wish to upgrade some more? Learn a third or fourth language and read books written in other languages.

Too many Sinkies had been educated to be obedient workers: smart enough to operate the machines and do the paperwork, but never smart enough to be intellectually curious, to question and do critical thinking.

Reading only newspapers and magazines will never improve your literacy level. I have seen too many Sinkies hogging the newspapers at the libraries (saving newspaper money and enjoying the air con?), or crowding around the magazine section in Borders at Wheelock Place (now Marks and Spencer), flipping through glossy magazines.

Life is short. Improve yourself. There's always something new to learn and discover everyday.

Go to any public library, and borrow a few books from the Children's Fiction or Young Adult Fiction shelves.

Once you are ready to upgrade, read adult fiction, non-fiction, academic papers, philosophy etc.

When ready to further upgrade, read Chinese books. Wish to upgrade some more? Learn a third or fourth language and read books written in other languages.

Too many Sinkies had been educated to be obedient workers: smart enough to operate the machines and do the paperwork, but never smart enough to be intellectually curious, to question and do critical thinking.

Reading only newspapers and magazines will never improve your literacy level. I have seen too many Sinkies hogging the newspapers at the libraries (saving newspaper money and enjoying the air con?), or crowding around the magazine section in Borders at Wheelock Place (now Marks and Spencer), flipping through glossy magazines.

Life is short. Improve yourself. There's always something new to learn and discover everyday.

come on.. what century is this... now is E-books and E-magazine era... i can stores tons of books in my tablet and phone and read it whereever i am.

1. no offence!
2. it may be that you are getting "older" mah.
3. retention seems difficult at times.

Clone

even i watch porn sometimes, i juz fast forward and went on to the next one.:biggrin:

That's where the problem lies.

I advise you to sit through the video without fast forwarding to develop your mental strength and enhance your attention span.

It's proven that it takes 3 weeks to form a habit. Be patient! :smile:

no_faith

Be patient! :smile:
the key issue could be patience.

i want things fast, simple, straight to the point.
dun likes things too draggy. it makes me to lose interest very fast.

hahaha, tatz also imply i dont like fishing. cant jus throw the net, catch the fist and finish the job?

no worries bro, just stop trying to read the shit times or anything crap published by SPH, you'll be fine.

chupacabra

No need to read. Have more sex and wait for the movie release. Peesai hdb flats too small to collect books. Also peesai got dust problem and humidity destroy all the glossy picture books over time. That's what happened to all my artsy books. Even paperbacks will turn yellow fast in this climate.

KNN my uncle keep reading medical books until he think he already exceeded many small doctors KNN only he lacking practical skills to perform surgery for patients KNN but confirm with chop his knowledge far exceeded many gps KNN

English is england is BE is evil race... stay away fromm All forms of their evil doing....

English sucks and are stupid....

nightsafari

could be ADHD. I have the same problem. That's why I don't get along with textbooks.