• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How the Govt makes obscene profits from Worker Dorms

By now, everyone knows about the FW dorm overcrowding and poor conditions that has led to the outbreak of almost 20,000 Covid cases. And everyone has blamed the employers, MOM, the dorm operators, etc. However, from what I understand, the root cause is non other then Govt greed.

The govt is the one that delegates parcel of land to be put out to tender for construction of these worker dormitories. Once the govt has identified and put the parcel out for bids, that’s when you have the problems. Do you know for example, the lease given by the govt is only 20 years for these dorms? That’s right, 20 years. That means whoever wins the bid has 20 years to recoup the land cost and construction costs for these dorms. That means that all these dorms are build with modular construction so that they can be dismantled in 20 years at the expiration of the lease and re-assembled for further use elsewhere. The underlying land under the dorms will then be re-sold for more permanent development.

A typical example is in 2014, Tiong Aik Construction Pte Ltd bid and beat out 8 other bidders for a piece of land in Tuas South Street to build a 9200 bed workers dorm. They paid $113.9 million for this privilege. Back in 2014, this was one of the largest dorms, but it’s a medium size dorm by today’s standards. This land was owned by stat board JTC. Imagine thy had to pay $113.9 million for the 20 year lease, and on top of that construct the building, put in all the services, etc. This could end up costing them close to $150 million. You must remember these dorm lands are not even located in prime locations. They are usually in remote areas like industrial estates.

They then have less then 20 years (lease of 20 years less construction time) to earn all their money back, and still make a profit. Is it any wonder that they are squeezing as many workers in there as possible? Is it any wonder that their cleaning and hygiene standard is not there because they have to squeeze every single penny out of the building? Is it any wonder that perhaps they shortcut their maintenance on these dorms to save money?

Now look at it from the PAP’s view point. You have just squeezed $113.9 million from a large company for a short 20 year lease. If you harass them and pressure them to maintain their dorm and to spend money on the facility, they will tell you that reduces their profits. Therefore, other future bids for dorm land will not fetch as high a price if the MOM’s inspectors do their jobs and impose profit reducing regulations. Coupled with the fact that many of these companies have links to the PAP at the grassroot level and you have a very incestuous relationship. Josephstink Teo is not going to kill the goose that lays the golden egg by reading the riot act to the dorm operators. Hence we are in the situation we are in today. This situation will continue in the future, as long as it is so lucrative to the govt.

Now where does all this money from land leases to dorm operators, plus billions $ worker levies go, well your guess is as good as mine. So much collected and the PAP still will not allow us to take $5000 of our own money out of CPF.

mahjongking

all these newbie ministers also pawns la......dig deeper and we will know who the real culprits are, some of the dorms belong to entities that has former ministers on the board. you think jo dares to investigate? thats why the silence is deafening on the dorms condition, a few of the dorms are very well maintained (maybe for publicity purposes, but by and large most are slums...citizens and banglas all taken for a ride

It's all a big racket.

First the Clown Loong dictates the rapid increase in population, and those below him make adjustments in their policies to accommodate that. For example, building more flats, MRT lines, enblocs, renovating tourist sites, upgrading of estates and overhead bridges, road widening etc. All these jobs require a steady pool of workers.

birdie69

By now, everyone knows about the FW dorm overcrowding and poor conditions that has led to the outbreak of almost 20,000 Covid cases. And everyone has blamed the employers, MOM, the dorm operators, etc. However, from what I understand, the root cause is non other then Govt greed.

The govt is the one that delegates parcel of land to be put out to tender for construction of these worker dormitories. Once the govt has identified and put the parcel out for bids, that’s when you have the problems. Do you know for example, the lease given by the govt is only 20 years for these dorms? That’s right, 20 years. That means whoever wins the bid has 20 years to recoup the land cost and construction costs for these dorms. That means that all these dorms are build with modular construction so that they can be dismantled in 20 years at the expiration of the lease and re-assembled for further use elsewhere. The underlying land under the dorms will then be re-sold for more permanent development.

A typical example is in 2014, Tiong Aik Construction Pte Ltd bid and beat out 8 other bidders for a piece of land in Tuas South Street to build a 9200 bed workers dorm. They paid $113.9 million for this privilege. Back in 2014, this was one of the largest dorms, but it’s a medium size dorm by today’s standards. This land was owned by stat board JTC. Imagine thy had to pay $113.9 million for the 20 year lease, and on top of that construct the building, put in all the services, etc. This could end up costing them close to $150 million. You must remember these dorm lands are not even located in prime locations. They are usually in remote areas like industrial estates.

They then have less then 20 years (lease of 20 years less construction time) to earn all their money back, and still make a profit. Is it any wonder that they are squeezing as many workers in there as possible? Is it any wonder that their cleaning and hygiene standard is not there because they have to squeeze every single penny out of the building? Is it any wonder that perhaps they shortcut their maintenance on these dorms to save money?

Now look at it from the PAP’s view point. You have just squeezed $113.9 million from a large company for a short 20 year lease. If you harass them and pressure them to maintain their dorm and to spend money on the facility, they will tell you that reduces their profits. Therefore, other future bids for dorm land will not fetch as high a price if the MOM’s inspectors do their jobs and impose profit reducing regulations. Coupled with the fact that many of these companies have links to the PAP at the grassroot level and you have a very incestuous relationship. Josephstink Teo is not going to kill the goose that lays the golden egg by reading the riot act to the dorm operators. Hence we are in the situation we are in today. This situation will continue in the future, as long as it is so lucrative to the govt.

Now where does all this money from land leases to dorm operators, plus billions $ worker levies go, well your guess is as good as mine. So much collected and the PAP still will not allow us to take $5000 of our own money out of CPF.
Sorry, I can't guess where such huge money goes to?

KNN pap 自作孽 人民受 pap 發 KNN

The banglas should be given citizenship like what they gave the chinese coolies so that they can buy hdb and live in decent homes.

Must make sure they have the antibodies first to enable herd immunity. :wink:

The banglas should be given citizenship like what they gave the chinese coolies so that they can buy hdb and live in decent homes.

Kee Chew

It's all a big racket.

First the Clown Loong dictates the rapid increase in population, and those below him make adjustments in their policies to accommodate that. For example, building more flats, MRT lines, enblocs, renovating tourist sites, upgrading of estates and overhead bridges, road widening etc. All these jobs require a steady pool of workers.

Check out Sin Rak Sin :biggrin:

IMG_20200511_203705.jpg

now that it is sexposed sinkies to bear the blame and sinkie taxpayers to bear the burden. heads they win tails you lose.:laugh:

nayr69sg

Staff member

Wow! Another exclusive premium report from Great bro @Papsmearer !

Thanks!

After 20 year lease is up can top up and extend? Just like 99 year condos?

Wow! Another exclusive premium report from Great bro @Papsmearer !

Thanks!

After 20 year lease is up can top up and extend? Just like 99 year condos?

Its actually worse then that. From my buddies in the industrial estates, they are also doing strata factories and things like this. All their leases were originally 60 years (30+30) and then was cut down to 30, and now 20 years. After the 20 years lease, these friends inform me the factory building has to go back to JTC or URA or whoever is the Lessor. So, the govt makan the property for free!!. There is no top up, because now, the govt can rent it out because they also own the building. More profits for them. Now u see why dorm operators have to lan lan squeeze everything out within 20 years.

It's all a big racket.

Yup, as I have said before, biggest scam on earth. Pigs Are Pigs made Bernie Madoff look like a choir boy.

If sinkies want income tax to remain low, then the government has to raise money from elsewhere to fund public projects without much debt.

Kudos to the PAP for being able to lease out industrial land for a handsome price to the private sector.

Nice-Gook

didn't realizes that dorm operators operates on short leash of 20 years ...that's news to me ...but I would guess ,even if it's say 30 or 60 years leash ,i would say it doesn't make much differences. to how dorm operators would operate to squeeze maximum profitability

here is my take ,dorms for labourers has an extremely short life so as to speak...it's not like residential units ...where the property is an investment and family might actually live in it for 99 years...proof of it is in a landed 999 leasehold 3 to 4 generations had actually lived on that land

so ,dorm will never yield a capital gain ,not only because of the short leasehold but the very structures itself detriotes rather fast quite similar to our barracks of the past

most importantly ,the tenants ,because there is no permanence on the demand side ...meaning how the MOM will pursue its future policies is totally uncertain ..if MOM pulls the plug than the demand crash....so, i would reckon dorm operators themselves operates on very short term liquidity gain ...in short ,they will no way lay their monies for longer term gains spread over 10,20 or 30 years...since ,even if the structure remains good for the next 30 years the very usage is limited to packing labourers like sardines not to mention the variable cost of operation itself is rather high

so i would guess ,the dorm operators pretty much would operate just as they are even if the leash is 20 or 30 or even 50 years

but the land cost does make a difference in depreciation in accounting sense but whether the operators would pass such gains as less rent to the labourers or not is highly questionable

so, i would opine, if MOM had a regulatory kind of thingy like say each labourer would be provided a minimum standard of living at maximum ceiling price than things would regulate itself ...of course ,the crony system must go and competitive bidders must be allowed and that would ensure free market to adjust demand and supply thingy