• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How much is the Workers Dorm Business in Singapore? - SBF Exclusive Article

As I have posted before, and other forumners have done the same, many owners and operators of these workers dorms have ties with Crassloot Leeders or even ex Ministers like Sidek Saniff. Many companies that build these dorms are also shrouded in ownership secrecy as their major shareholders are all banking or brokerage nominees. What these nominees do is to hold shares in anonymity for the real owners. It will not surprise me to know that many shares in these companies are held by MIWs and PAP cronies under nominees.

But how big is this business? Minister Jo Teo recently stated that there are more then 200,000 workers in 43 dorms. This is the current number. But the max capacity for all dorms added together is in the 300,000-400,000 range. Exactly how many is not stated by the PAP. It depends on the economy and then number of infrastructure projects going on in Singapore.

Dorms are roughly divided in 2 categories. You have the older ones like S11 Dorm which claims to be the cheapest in Singapore. They can make this claim because some of their rooms can hold up to 12 workers, in bunk beads. If you think back on the older days SAF barracks, it something like this. Then you have the newer ones like Westlite Toh Guan, which typically hold 4 to 6 people in a room and are equipped with double toilets, separate living room, and a small kitchen, and even wifi. These newer dorms allow a worker to cook their own food. The larger dorms can hold as many as 22, 000 workers at max capacity. And these dorms provide catering of meals to the workers.

4 years ago, the pricing for one of the older more crowded dorms was $140-$150 per worker per month. This is just for the bed. There is a different price for a meal plan and also different prices for employers who place workers by the volume. The newer better ones were between $280-$300, just for a bed and this was 4 years ago. This price is paid by the company to the dorm operator to house their workers. Because the pricing can vary depending on the number of workers placed, meal plan versus no meal plan, etc. this is my best guess based on today.

For older more crowded dorms - about $250 per worker. For newer dorms about $400. For meal plan, about $7 per person per day. Lets say 225000 workers are in dorms today. Lets say three quarters are in older dorms with a meal plan. The other one quarter in newer dorms with no meal plans.

Older dorms = 168,750 workers X $250 = $42.2 million per month
Catering contracts = $168,750 X $7 = $1.2 million per day X 30 days a month = $35.4 million a month
Newer dorms = 56,250 X $400 = $22.5 million

Total monthly income from workers dorm = $100.1 million a month or $1.2 billion a year. That's big business and it does not include all the money made from commercial washing machines in the buildings and also from rent received from supermarkets located in these dorms. This is extremely good business for PAP cronies and porlumpars.

This is extremely good business for PAP cronies and porlumpars.

It also explains why they have to constantly import foreigners, build/rebuild new buildings and infrastructure. To keep these dorms occupied.

Technocrats playing a real-life SimCity video game.

It also explains why they have to constantly import foreigners, build/rebuild new buildings and infrastructure. To keep these dorms occupied.

Technocrats playing a real-life SimCity video game.

Also, don't forget that many of these dorms are not housing construction workers. They also house cleaners, retail workers, etc. Any company that needs a large numbe rof low cost employees can theoretically house them in these dorms too. eg. if your company has contracts to do maintenance for 5 housing board estates, and you need to hire 1000 low wage workers to do this, you could in theory contact one of these dorms to get a pricing quote. Point being they do not need to be all construction workers.

Nice-Gook

My 2 cents worth .Sidek Saniff our ex minister was put there as a decorative piece ..nothing more or nothing less ...now to this dormitory thingy as a buisness...it starts with labour supply first ...labour supply was non existence when kelantanese and thais were involved mostly as construction workers...than entered indians ,banglas and PRC who were more willing to pay for the privilage to work here...than middlemen as labour suppliers sprung ...but the catch was many landed on our shores without securing a job but parting with huge monies ...thats where the bosses and managers who can proviide the paper work as proof of employment came handy and thus took a huge portion of the monies involved ...which eventually lead to MOM approval thingy and thus a political appointee needed ...soon most petty labour suppliers died out giving arise to mega ones ...just like our NTUC having killed our ah peh and mama shop keepers ...now these very few labour suppliers saw the opportunity in down and upstream of business opportunities in labour supplies ...which includes housing ,transporting and feeding them ...thus arose this labourers dormitory businesses...they are also involved in logistics and etc.

so there is a cut for all involved directly or indirectly ...which the labourers foot eventually ....For eg ..the basic salary of a Malaysian starts around $ 1200 and the basic of a PRC starts around $ 800 and the basic of a Bangla starts as low as $ 400 ...how than do Banglas survive ? Overtime ! without which they cannot survive .

My 2 cents worth .Sidek Saniff our ex minister was put there as a decorative piece ..nothing more or nothing less ...now to this dormitory thingy as a buisness...it starts with labour supply first ...labour supply was non existence when kelantanese and thais were involved mostly as construction workers...than entered indians ,banglas and PRC who were more willing to pay for the privilage to work here...than middlemen as labour suppliers sprung ...but the catch was many landed on our shores without securing a job but parting with huge monies ...thats where the bosses and managers who can proviide the paper work as proof of employment came handy and thus took a huge portion of the monies involved ...which eventually lead to MOM approval thingy and thus a political appointee needed ...soon most petty labour suppliers died out giving arise to mega ones ...just like our NTUC having killed our ah peh and mama shop keepers ...now these very few labour suppliers saw the opportunity in down and upstream of business opportunities in labour supplies ...which includes housing ,transporting and feeding them ...thus arose this labourers dormitory businesses...they are also involved in logistics and etc.

so there is a cut for all involved directly or indirectly ...which the labourers foot eventually ....For eg ..the basic salary of a Malaysian starts around $ 1200 and the basic of a PRC starts around $ 800 and the basic of a Bangla starts as low as $ 400 ...how than do Banglas survive ? Overtime ! without which they cannot survive .

Basic salary is depending. If no meal plans provided, the basic salary for a bangla can $1200 - $1800. But of course they have to buy and cook their own food. So they net out a lot less. But generally speaking they can send 2/3 of their pay back to their families. Also don't forget they don't pay CPF so, the money is net to them. I think the $400 number is too low.

spotter542

Hope those Ah Quas from Hardware Zone come here take a look at the bigger picture
Clueless as fuck in a Singapore Prostitute Holdings forum :FU:

Kee Chew

Basic salary is depending. If no meal plans provided, the basic salary for a bangla can $1200 - $1800. But of course they have to buy and cook their own food. So they net out a lot less. But generally speaking they can send 2/3 of their pay back to their families. Also don't forget they don't pay CPF so, the money is net to them. I think the $400 number is too low.

me think, just to state the minimum, the Dormitories Accomodation Business Alone is a Billion Dollar Industry.

take All Tiers of Foreign Workers ( 1, 2 & 3)
, India , Blanga , Thai , Mynmar , China. at least 500,000

Tier 1 , smarter ones with qualification and and speak English , more likely to stay shophouses , and near work places.

Tier 3 the lowest ones.

back to Dorm Rent at per pax $5 a night per pax at 150 per month.

Billion Dollar Industry = 5 x 30 days x 500,000
x 12 = s$900,000,000/- p.a. rent alone.

Nice-Gook

me quoting based on my sightings...meaning saw the figure i quoted on MOM papers issued ...which the labourer must carry before the IC is issued ...basic salaries are stated there ...myself was shocked to see $400 but what and how Banglas are actually paid is beyond me ...the highest for a Bangla labourer I had sighted was $600...which was confirmed by a Town Council Bangla ...besides his overtime these chaps earn quite a bit from Karang Guni buisness since they have the first bite over others ...Yes ,most Banglas do cook themselves as they have a huge appetite...even just 1 fish and 1 veggie in a Bangla eatery in Serangoon rd cost $6 ...but the portion of fish and rice are enormous ...at least thats not how Banglas eat in homelands ...as I have eaten myself in Bengali homes ,quite unique preparation without chilli but with mustard ....again ,i do know of Banglas in renovation and electrical fittings who earns more than $1500..these chaps do not stay in dormitory but in HDB rooms ..shared between 2 ...i am also aware of Bangla specialist doctors here who heads a team of local doctors ...

again banglas themselves should not be looked down ...there are millionaires and billionaires in HK and Russian ..yes ! Russia ...these banglas were students in Russian collages during USSR ...when it broke to pieces the entire trading system of Communist G to G system also broke creating a serious shortage of consumer goods ,like coffee and cotton materials ...the Bangla students in Russia took advantage since they had access to capitalist trading methods and how the banking system works ...till the Russian Mafias moved in...th

bobby

The FT business is huge and lucrative...lots of pap lackies and cronies benefiting from this.

Kee Chew

just heard Prof Tommy Koh , washed hands on the Foreign Workers Matter already.

He just finished reading a 3rd Book since his 6 Apr 2020 FB posting on the FWs Dorm and their living conditions in SG :

IMG_20200411_182159.jpg

IMG_20200411_182220.jpg

me think, just to state the minimum, the Dormitories Accomodation Business Alone is a Billion Dollar Industry.

take All Tiers of Foreign Workers ( 1, 2 & 3)
, India , Blanga , Thai , Mynmar , China. at least 500,000

Tier 1 , smarter ones with qualification and and speak English , more likely to stay shophouses , and near work places.

Tier 3 the lowest ones.

back to Dorm Rent at per pax $5 a night per pax at 150 per month.

Billion Dollar Industry = 5 x 30 days x 500,000
x 12 = s$900,000,000/- p.a. rent alone.
Yes, as you can see, my estimate is also over a billion $ if you include the makan. the quote you mentioned in your post is only for the bed and room. Not canteen food included.

The FT business is huge and lucrative...lots of pap lackies and cronies benefiting from this.
Yes, you are correct.

Westlite Toh Guan is run by public listed company Centurion Corporation Ltd, helmed by two PA grassroots leaders who are “joint chairmen” of the company: David Loh Kim Kang and Han Seng Juan. Han was awarded PBM in 2010 and BBM in 2015, while Loh got his PBM in 2011 and BBM in 2016.

They were both given public service medals for “helping” out at Potong Pasir SMC under MP Sitoh Yih Pin. In the general election of 2011, PAP managed to wrestle back Potong Pasir from opposition and it’s now under PAP.

Another board member of Centurion Corporation, Rajah & Tann’s lawyer Chandra Mohan, is also a grassroots leader awarded with PBM and BBM in recognition of his contribution towards community services in Northwest Community Development Council (NWCDC).

Capture-20.jpg

Capture-21.jpg

me quoting based on my sightings...meaning saw the figure i quoted on MOM papers issued ...which the labourer must carry before the IC is issued ...basic salaries are stated there ...myself was shocked to see $400 but what and how Banglas are actually paid is beyond me ...the highest for a Bangla labourer I had sighted was $600...which was confirmed by a Town Council Bangla ...besides his overtime these chaps earn quite a bit from Karang Guni buisness since they have the first bite over others ...Yes ,most Banglas do cook themselves as they have a huge appetite...even just 1 fish and 1 veggie in a Bangla eatery in Serangoon rd cost $6 ...but the portion of fish and rice are enormous ...at least thats not how Banglas eat in homelands ...as I have eaten myself in Bengali homes ,quite unique preparation without chilli but with mustard ....again ,i do know of Banglas in renovation and electrical fittings who earns more than $1500..these chaps do not stay in dormitory but in HDB rooms ..shared between 2 ...i am also aware of Bangla specialist doctors here who heads a team of local doctors ...

again banglas themselves should not be looked down ...there are millionaires and billionaires in HK and Russian ..yes ! Russia ...these banglas were students in Russian collages during USSR ...when it broke to pieces the entire trading system of Communist G to G system also broke creating a serious shortage of consumer goods ,like coffee and cotton materials ...the Bangla students in Russia took advantage since they had access to capitalist trading methods and how the banking system works ...till the Russian Mafias moved in...th

Ok, then you have better information then me on this regard. And thanks for the update. They take so little money because its a choice between joblessness and zero money in Bangladesh versus at least $400 in Singapore. Annual household wage in Bangladesh is just over USD$600, so $400 sing a month is good money for them, I guess.

Kee Chew

The Crown Jewel in Each Dormitory is the Drinks Stall selling beers , soft drinks and hot drinks and other small stuffs.

the rent for the Drink Stall can be as high as
s$100,000 per month.

small Stalls like roti prata , fruits stall , noodle stall , nasi brani stall pay much lesser rent per month.

the Barber shop also pay lesser.

the Mini Mart inside is also another Crown Jewel. At least s$50k rent per month.

next come those Mobile Phone Shops at least 3 shops at each Dorm selling top up cards and handphones.

then also money remittance company like western union shop.

yearly rents from these shops in the millions.

Ok, then you have better information then me on this regard. And thanks for the update. They take so little money because its a choice between joblessness and zero money in Bangladesh versus at least $400 in Singapore. Annual household wage in Bangladesh is just over USD$600, so $400 sing a month is good money for them, I guess.
You do know bangladeshis have to pay middlemen just to get here yes? And that they borrow and steal and need to pay back relatives etc.