• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How Much Do You Need To Earn To Survive In Singapore? - The Heart Truth

oli9

Use it they did but when losses which also do compound takes it's toll, some one had to think of a delaying tactic to repay. LoL

I got a sneaky feeling that our grand CPF pyramid scheme vault is all empty. What we see are just numbers in our CPF statement which of coz, zorro lim will be most happy every month.
The govt needs to stop playing the paternity role. If they know what's best for us all, then we wont grappling with high cost of living. At least release the Employees Contribution portion. Employees contribution belongs to employees, no?

Can you answer some of these questions ?

•Why did the government make the CPF and Medisave minimum sums so high that at least 15% would not even be able to meet these minimum sums in the first place, no matter how hard they work?
•Why does the government insist that Singaporeans need to have a minimum sum in their CPF if the money gets locked in and trapped inside, and at least 15% of the people would never be able to get their own money back?
•Why does the government not implement a minimum wage, knowing that the low-income earners won’t be able to meet the minimum sums without a minimum wage paid to them?

Because the Singapore government does not adopt the "lowest common denominator" approach that permeates Western societies to their detriment.

If everyone could meat "minimum" requirements, it would simply mean that the minimum standards aren't high enough.

soIsee

I got a sneaky feeling that our grand CPF pyramid scheme vault is all empty. What we see are just numbers in our CPF statement which of coz, zorro lim will be most happy every month.
The govt needs to stop playing the paternity role. If they know what's best for us all, then we wont grappling with high cost of living. At least release the Employees Contribution portion. Employees contribution belongs to employees, no?

And you could also realise another thing. With the current MediShield which they deduct for premium which increases with age.

Anyone who is still working will realise such insurance is useless with the conditions they set as deductable and if the person also has working medical coverage.

Ask most Sinkie whether the so called current MediShield coverage was any use at all for most ppl?

And the bugger wants to start another 'medical insurance scam' to have 'everyone covered irrespective whether they had opted out earlier or not' announced so boldly in his Rally Speech!

You Sinkie are really taken for a ride! hahahahahaha

Because the Singapore government does not adopt the "lowest common denominator" approach that permeates Western societies to their detriment.

If everyone could meat "minimum" requirements, it would simply mean that the minimum standards aren't high enough.

Hello Boss , this minimum sum should not even exist !

There is nothing wrong with the concept. It ensures that there are targets to achieve before a reward is earned.

Eg in a sales department, minimum sales figures are established before bonuses are earned.

In the Olympics, there is a minimum qualifying standard.

soIsee

There is nothing wrong with the concept. It ensures that there are targets to achieve before a reward is earned.

Eg in a sales department, minimum sales figures are established before bonuses are earned.

In the Olympics, there is a minimum qualifying standard.

What kind of rubbish talk is this?

A concept that uses money already belonging to that individual to reset another target that uses that same amount of money RETAINED, so that that same individual can slowly be 'rewarded' from that same money, little by little and you called this a concept where reward can be earned? hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah..this must be one of my longest laugher!

What kind of rubbish talk is this?

A concept that uses money already belonging to that individual to reset another target that uses that same amount of money RETAINED, so that that same individual can slowly be 'rewarded' from that same money, little by little and you called this a concept where reward can be earned? hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah..this must be one of my longest laugher!

The money may belong to the individual but it is held in trust by the government as part of a social policy designed to ensure a minimum amount of savings beyond the retirement age.

This scheme has been part and parcel of the Singapore system for a long time and the government has been given a mandate to modify the rules at every GE.

The concept is simple and straightforward... if you have saved more than the minimum requirements, you can withdraw the excess. If you haven't, it means you do not qualify and the government is therefore entitled to manage the funds for you.

It's an excellent scheme and I congratulate the PAP for managing the funds to the benefit of all Singaporeans.

Go to the hospital & you will see what is waiting for the majority of old Sporeans.:(

The calculations don't even factor in the prospect of future illnesses.

The money may belong to the individual but it is held in trust by the government as part of a social policy designed to ensure a minimum amount of savings beyond the retirement age.

This scheme has been part and parcel of the Singapore system for a long time and the government has been given a mandate to modify the rules at every GE.

The concept is simple and straightforward... if you have saved more than the minimum requirements, you can withdraw the excess. If you haven't, it means you do not qualify and the government is therefore entitled to manage the funds for you.

It's an excellent scheme and I congratulate the PAP for managing the funds to the benefit of all Singaporeans.

My parent had this system for me when I was in primary school. PAP thought sinkie will 返老還童:rolleyes:

Property price biggest culprit. Rental high, press salary down loh. don't agree arh? Then bring in more ftrash lor. Stupid sinkees really no far sight for voting the pappies. Roll eyes and roll eyes.

soIsee

Why should the gov hold in trust money of a 55 year old and need to teach the bugger how to retire?

Answer : the gov does not want the burden to house desitute ( and that is if there are any who will become one after spending his retirement income reckessly) or have their image tarnished with poor and homeless in numbers, which is real anyway in any country, when foreign media or tourists visit.

They will rather closet their 'poor' and still keeping them going as if it is worth their while to slowly chip back those funds from their iron fist.

The gov would rather Sinkie kill themselves quietly thru suicide if they cannot take it ,which they can opt not to report as it stands now and still create a false farcade for 'outsiders' to think all Sinkie are doing very well even after they retire.

If you only venture out from your mansion into the heartlands ....80 percent of sinkees stay in pigeon holes, you know.

Staying in pigeon holes does not mean poor. It means that they can't afford a fancy roof over their heads.

Poor is when your home looks like this :

batwa-shack.jpg

.... and your children look like this :

poor_children04.jpg

That's baloney. If the PAP announces their intent during election, they would have been tossed out. They only make changes early in their term so that by the time the next election comes, people would have forgotten.

Staying in pigeon holes does not mean poor. It means that they can't afford a fancy roof over their heads.

Poor is when your home looks like this :

batwa-shack.jpg

.... and your children look like this :

poor_children04.jpg

I thought we are no longer third world, so why do you keep bring up third world examples?

$1700 median take-home pay is nothing to shout about. We are supposedly first world, yet our income is second third for the majority of sinkees. But cost of health care, education and housing is first world.

I thought we are no longer third world, so why do you keep bring up third world examples?

$1700 median take-home pay is nothing to shout about. We are supposedly first world, yet our income is second third for the majority of sinkees. But cost of health care, education and housing is first world.

Singapore is first world. There is therefore no poverty. Poverty only exists in the 3rd world.

No matter how rich a country, there will always be a group which is earning low incomes. They are not poor.

Singapore is first world. There is therefore no poverty. Poverty only exists in the 3rd world.

No matter how rich a country, there will always be a group which is earning low incomes. They are not poor.

When 50 percent of those employed takes home less than $1700, that's a problem. How would they live when they retire? They won't have enough to pay for their medical bills.

That's not first world living standard. Second world at best. And the time bomb continues to tick.

When 50 percent of those employed takes home less than $1700, that's a problem. How would they live when they retire? They won't have enough to pay for their medical bills.

There are people with these sorts of problems in every country including first world countries.

Name me one first world country where there is no such thing as a low income earner.

CheeByeKiaTonyChat

TWIT,

What the fuck is this? "Meat" minimum requirements? :oIo:

Meat vs Meet :rolleyes: