How Cum Workers' Party has NO COMMENT on PRC Workers' Strike?

MBSSLOTS

How come Workers' Party keep quiet huh? Their party name is Workers' Party mah. So it should represent all WORKERS, irrespectively of nationality leh.

Temasek linked GLC practises discriminatory labour practices which is probably??? not in accordance with ILO standards. Exploting cheaper foreign labour is tantamount to human rights abuses!

As the self proclaimed Workers Party, isnt it its duty to investigate or at least question the Pappies on corporate governance - re : unfair labour practices in Singapore?

Manpower Ministry sings and advertise Fair Employment Guidelines. GLC like SMRT doesnt appear to practise what the Govt preaches...strange...

Which other GLC have the same discriminatory practices???

SDP, NSP, AND OTHER OPPO PARTIES all quiet.
How can?

This is a matter of Corporate Governance of our Temasek linked GLCs!

First world parliament???

I hope they shut their mouth.
they should not as this is a matter concerning NATIONAL INTEREST. As Oppo parties in a first world, they have a duty to give their views on matters concerning national interests.

Strike?? Where got strike?? hehe...

lee-hsien-loong_4.jpg

Would any oppo party fall into the trap of commenting and then being accused by the govt of politicising an industrial dispute?

Why drag opposition party into the matter??
Any related?
Now is between bus driver,SMRT,MOM,Union.

Would any oppo party fall into the trap of commenting and then being accused by the govt of politicising an industrial dispute?

If you want to be first world oppo, then you must not fear Papies accusing you. You can make clear your Party's stand. Its a comms job. Keeping silent shows that you have as clueless as the Pappies...
Information is sketchy and not available to public or opposition. Why rush out to look like a fool? Wait and see outcome. If there is any thing useful to say, then issue statement. What's the hurry?

You prefer WP to behave like romney?

Information is sketchy and not available to public or opposition. Why rush out to look like a fool? Wait and see outcome. If there is any thing useful to say, then issue statement. What's the hurry?

You prefer WP to behave like romney?
Ok, lets see what WP will say then while the Pappies do crisis management.

I have to agree with you here.

As politicians and political parties that aimed to be ruling parties in the long run, you must demonstrate how you will deal with such situations and not shy away from it, fearing that taking a stand would cost you votes.

There is no Right or Wrong views here, just reasonable or unreasonable views.

Goh Meng Seng

http://evertiq.com/news/

Complaint filed against Panasonic, abusing migrant workers in Singapore

The Singapore-based NGO Humanitarian Organisation for Migration Economics (HOME) have submitted a complaint with the Japanese NCP (National Contact Point) about abuse of Chinese migrant workers at a Panasonic plant.

The complaint is referring to the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises.

The complaint speaks of a violation of Singapore’s Employment Agencies Act and the ILO’s Private Employment Agencies Convention, which Japan has ratified. It alleges that the wages paid to Chinese migrant workers at a Panasonic plant in Singapore are below Singapore’s national standard of an employee in a similar occupation and are thereby barely enough to meet their own basic needs.

Because of huge debts (which are caused by the high recruitment fees), workers are highly vulnerable to situations of forced labour. They are pressured to accept excessive overtime of up to 150 hours a month.

Although media pressure in August 2012 forced Panasonic to slightly increase wages, return the migrant workers’ passports and make contracts available in Chinese, HOME claims that these measures have had a limited impact on the workers’ rights and well-being.

quite obvious that Ministry of Manpower is letting all these abuses happen and turning a blind eye as Singapore prospers at all costs with high executive pay packets with colourful financial results while the migrant workers are abused...

Not happy strike loh and face the consequences! Why must wait for this party or that party to comment? Dont comment dont mean they condone. PAP party didnt comment for nearly 2 days and finally got gumption to call it a strike. If you ask me what wld WP say, I'd say they will say strike also lah.

The best party is the sammyboy party. we all here already called it a strike from day one! looks like we shld be the govt after all. The govt is now toeing our line.

Methinks Tan Chuan Jin and LSS gang trying to sabo Lui Tuck Yew and his 900 buses.

quite obvious that Ministry of Manpower is letting all these abuses happen and turning a blind eye as Singapore prospers at all costs with high executive pay packets with colourful financial results while the migrant workers are abused...