How can SQ continue to fly a plane in this dangerous condition?

There has been lots of speculation that MH370 might have crashed due to incapacitation of its flight crew due to decompression. Here we have a SQ Airbus 380 with serious door problem. So, serious that they are using pillows to stop the noise. While passengers can hear a loud vibration noise, why wasn't this plane landed at the nearest airport? Unbelievable.

Cabin crew on SIA flight use pillows to reduce loud vibrating noise from door

Stomp contributor Johnny had been on Singapore Airlines flight A380 on March 28 when a problem with the cabin door caused a loud vibrating noise and worried passengers.

The flight captain explained that the noise was due to external pressure, and cabin crew used pillows in an attempt to stifle the noise and set passengers at ease.

Johnny told Stomp in a phone conversation:

"One hour into a flight from New York to Frankfurt on March 28, a cabin door on A380's upper deck encountered problems and resulted in a loud vibration noise.

"The cabin crew had to use pillows to reduce the loud noise pollution throughout the remaining five hours on the flight.

"We sat at the Frankfurt airport after transiting and waited for them to repair the fault, in order to continue the journey back to Singapore.

"The captain had explained on the plane that the noise was caused by external pressure. Engineers at the Frankfurt airport also reassured us that there were no safety concerns."
- See more at: http://www.relax.com.sg/article/new...ibrating-noise-from-door#sthash.yxsc7L7n.dpuf

MH370 is still around. evidence no airplane parts found.

Which part of "no safety concerns" don't you understand? :rolleyes:

Hey you are using my "Which part of..... don't you understand"/ "Which part of..... you don't understand" phrase!!

I have flown SQ Airbus 380. Its very quiet when the cabin door is not trying to shake itself lose. U are one of those fucktards that believe everything the pilot tells, you contrary to the evidence. If there was no safety concerns, why bother to repair the plane in Frankfurt? Get it?

airplane decompression dun play play..

everybody shoot out and go for a roller coaster ride, without safety harness!

[video=youtube;DAQO2JBXnwg]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DAQO2JBXnwg[/video]

SIA number one!

There has been lots of speculation that MH370 might have crashed due to incapacitation of its flight crew due to decompression. Here we have a SQ Airbus 380 with serious door problem. So, serious that they are using pillows to stop the noise. While passengers can hear a loud vibration noise, why wasn't this plane landed at the nearest airport? Unbelievable.

Stomp contributor Johnny had been on Singapore Airlines flight A380 on March 28 when a problem with the cabin door caused a loud vibrating noise and worried passengers.

The flight captain explained that the noise was due to external pressure, and cabin crew used pillows in an attempt to stifle the noise and set passengers at ease.

"One hour into a flight from New York to Frankfurt on March 28, a cabin door on A380's upper deck encountered problems and resulted in a loud vibration noise.

"The cabin crew had to use pillows to reduce the loud noise pollution throughout the remaining five hours on the flight.

"We sat at the Frankfurt airport after transiting and waited for them to repair the fault, in order to continue the journey back to Singapore.

"The captain had explained on the plane that the noise was caused by external pressure. Engineers at the Frankfurt airport also reassured us that there were no safety concerns."
- See more at: http://www.relax.com.sg/article/new...ibrating-noise-from-door#sthash.yxsc7L7n.dpuf

luckily not much chinese on board... else those pillow would hv been pinched and they will hv to serve cotton butts instead. i hope they have those fat american soft soft ones on board.

yo-mama.jpg

SIA is taking risk by still flying for 5hour. The SIA A380 should just U turn back.
If plan down in iddle of Alantic sea. This will be even worst disaster because more passenger. And SIA will be sue in billion $$$$ beacuse mostly is Ang Moh. And will be judge in USA New York and Frankfurt.

hahaha...this one takes the cake.....
I have yet to cum across another empty vessel that is more bitchy.... and this bitch really got zero cow sense and only know how to kpkb...
the flight captain (own life at stake) who is knowledgeable enough already assured that there is no cause for concern...
certified aircraft engineer (whose rice bowl is at stake) checked the plane on the ground at Frankfurt also re-assured that there is no safety concerns...
relevant authority (insurance company/FAA/airbus; etc) would certainly take follow-up actions if there are any rash acts potentially endangering the plane......
and yet we have a bitch here ranting for don't know what; thinking he is the smartest person around....truly retarded.

hahaha...this one takes the cake.....
I have yet to cum across another empty vessel that is more bitchy.... and this bitch really got zero cow sense and only know how to kpkb...
the flight captain (own life at stake) who is knowledgeable enough already assured that there is no cause for concern...
certified aircraft engineer (whose rice bowl is at stake) checked the plane on the ground at Frankfurt also re-assured that there is no safety concerns...
relevant authority (insurance company/FAA/airbus; etc) would certainly take follow-up actions if there are any rash acts potentially endangering the plane......
and yet we have a bitch here ranting for don't know what; thinking he is the smartest person around....truly retarded.

U must be the dumbest motherfucker here. Did you expect the pilot to say anything else? Did you expect the pilot to admit that he endangered the lives of his passenger by flying with a defective door? Truly, you are such a dumb piece of shit. If nothing is wrong, why even ask the engineer to check it in Frankfurt? Or are you too retarded to ask yourself that. The passengers did not hear directly from the engineers that there was nothing wrong, they heard it from the pilot, who was probably lying thru his teeth. How stupid can you be to fly with a vibrating cabin door, vibrating so badly that they had to try and suppress the sound with pillows? Did you pass your retardation genes to your children? Really pathetic.

hahaha...thank you confirming that u are really empty up there....lol.
that the plane had made it safely back to Singapore from Frankfurt showed that the judgement of the CAE and Captain were right.....and here we have bitch who will kpkb about everything remotely related to papee.

Not the first time it happened on a Airbus 380. The same upper deck door. U would expect an Arab airlines to cover up and continue to fly, I expect nothing more from them. But for SQ to endanger its passengers is too much.

Terror at 27,000ft: Crew plug gap in super jumbo jet door with blankets and pillows stuck together with gaffer tape after it 'blows open' during the flight

British tourist pictured drama on flight from Bangkok to Hong Kong
'There was a huge blast... air was rushing into the cabin like a gale'
Passengers wept and stewardess ran down aisle screaming

Emirates spokesman denies their flight was ever 'in jeopardy'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/art...d-gap-blankets-says-Briton.html#ixzz2xeHYLzso
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

A British tourist told yesterday of his flight of terror when he claims an emergency exit on a super jumbo blew open at 27,000ft.

David Reid and his son Lewis feared a bomb had gone off after hearing a ‘massive explosion’ two hours into their flight on the brand new £250million Emirates Airbus A380.

Freezing air blasted in and the cabin pressure plunged after the door in business class came an inch and a half ajar, leaving a gaping hole, said Mr Reid.

As passengers wept in terror, he said, a petrified stewardess ran down the aisle and screamed ‘the door’s going to go’ before cowering behind her seat.

Astonishingly, according to Mr Reid, instead of making an emergency landing, the crew decided to stuff blankets and pillows stuck together with gaffer tape into the hole and continue the flight despite a horrendous droning noise and sub-zero temperatures.
The drama happened on Monday as the two Britons flew from Bangkok to Hong Kong as part of what was planned as a ‘trip of a lifetime’.

He said: ‘We were about two hours in when suddenly there was a huge blast.

‘It was a real shock, so loud that I thought a bomb might have gone off. Air was gushing into the cabin like a gale.

'The stewardess jumped up and stared at the door. Her face was drained white.

'She ran up the aisle, grabbed the intercom and started screaming, “The door’s going to go, the door’s going to go!” Then she hid under her chair.

‘Other passengers were crying and saying “We’re going to go down, we’re going to go down.”

'It was complete panic. The emergency door was ajar and leaving a gaping hole. You could see straight out into the atmosphere, 27,000ft up.’

Mr Reid, who has a private pilot’s licence, said that after several moments of confusion, the cabin crew started grabbing blankets and pillows which they stuck together with duct tape to fill the gap.

He added: ‘This is a state-of-the-art plane but they were using the most crude method you could imagine to try and plug the hole.

‘The conditions were terrible for the rest of the flight. The door continued to make a horrendously loud droning sound which made it impossible to speak to each other.

'Worst of all, it was absolutely freezing. It was an extremely nerve-wracking experience for everybody.’

He said cabin crew closed the curtain between business class to stop those in the economy cabin below discovering what was happening.

Mr Reid claims he suffered a chest infection following the ordeal and the pair had to cut short their £4,500 trip.

His 18-year-old son reported the incident to the Department of Transport’s Air Accidents Investigation Branch who have passed it on to air investigators at the United Arab Emirates General Authority for Civil Aviation.

An Emirates spokesman said: ‘We can confirm there was a whistling noise emanating from one of the doors on the A380 upper deck on flight EK384 between Bangkok and Hong Kong on Monday, February 11. At no point was the safety of the flight in jeopardy.’

An Airbus spokesman said: ‘It is not possible for a cabin door to open on an A380 or on any aircraft whilst in flight, as doors open inwards and have locking mechanisms.’

An Emirates spokesman later updated the company's statement responding to Mr Reid's claims, saying : 'At no time during the flight did one of the upper deck doors open. There was also no loss in cabin pressurisation at any time during the flight.

'The noise from the door was caused by a small dimensional difference between the inflated door seal and the door lower frame striker plate, when the door is in the closed position.

'This is currently under investigation in conjunction with Airbus. Emirates have now fixed the problem.

'The blankets were placed around the door to abate the whistling sound emanating from the door, not to prevent the door from opening.

'There was no point during the incident where the safety of the flight was in jeopardy.

'In addition, the green light next to the door does not represent that the door is open. It is an Attendant Indication Panel and is used for communication information for the Cabin Crew.'

THE PERILS OF CABIN PRESSURE

An open door on an aircraft is a serious emergency because it leads to a sudden loss of cabin pressure.

Oxygen levels inside an aeroplane have to be carefully controlled because the air in the atmosphere gets ‘thinner’ – it contains less and less oxygen – the higher you climb.

Cabins of planes cruising above 12,000ft are kept pressurised to mimic conditions at around 6,000ft and keep up the levels of oxygen.

A sudden rush of ‘thin air’ from outside can cause passengers and crew to experience ear and stomach pain, or even black out due to lack of oxygen.

Rob Hunter, of the British Airline Pilots’ Association, said: ‘For a door to open or for a significant gap to appear is extremely rare.’

There has been lots of speculation that MH370 might have crashed due to incapacitation of its flight crew due to decompression..
hahaha....truly an idiot who do not know how to process information....
only know how to parrot such cock and bull speculation...
before each flight, the cockpit crew would have keyed into the auto-pilot the intended course and waypoints to reach the planned destination...
in the event the cockpit crew is incapacitated, the plane would have flown on the pre-planned flight path and would not turn around on its own........

So, remember the SQ Airbus A380 flight that made an emergency landing in Azerbaijan a few months ago due to a loss in cabin pressure? Before the loss in pressure, the passengers heard the noises too from the cabin door too. The pilot of this flight should have put the plane on the ground rather than take the chance. At least in the earlier incident, they were flying over land. In this one, they were flying over water. SHould have headed for the nearest landfall instead of continue with the flight. There was already precedent that the defective door could result in loss of cabin pressure.

A Singapore Airlines Airbus A380 relief plane arrives at Changi International Airport in Singapore on January 7, 2014 carrying nearly 500 passengers who were stranded in Azerbaijan after their Airbus A380 superjumbo was forced to make an emergency landing. The original flight from London to Singapore was forced to make an emergency landing at the Heydar Aliyev International Airport in Baku on January 6 due to a loss of cabin pressure. No one was injured but oxygen masks were deployed on the A380 and Singapore Airlines was forced to apologise to passengers for a lengthy wait as many took to social media to complain they were stranded at the airport with few amenities. AFP/MOHD FYROL

SINGAPORE – A malfunctioning door is the focus of an investigation into why a Singapore Airlines Airbus 380 superjumbo was forced to make an emergency landing in Azerbaijan, the carrier said Wednesday.

Nearly 500 passengers arrived in Singapore Tuesday in a A380 relief jet after their original flight from London to Singapore was forced to land in capital Baku due to a loss in cabin pressure.

“The root cause of the incident is being investigated and a team of specialists from Airbus will be assisting,” an airline spokesman said in a statement.

“We are focusing on a door on the main deck that appears to have suffered a leak, leading to the change in cabin pressure,” he said.

“A replacement door will be fitted to the aircraft in Baku before it returns to Singapore for a more thorough inspection.”

Passengers had spoken of noise coming from one door as the aircraft came in to land in the central Asian republic.

The A380 is the world’s largest commercial aircraft and Singapore Airlines was its debut customer in 2007.

Sean Lee, the Asia spokesman for Airbus, told AFP Wednesday that the European manufacturer is “participating fully in the investigation to determine the cause of this incident”.

“I confirm that we have a team of specialists travelling to Baku. At this time we cannot confirm the root cause of the incident,” he said.

There are 119 Airbus A380s in operation globally, according to latest data from the company.

Singapore Airlines currently has a fleet of 19 A380s, with five others on order. It uses the planes for flights from Singapore to various destinations including Frankfurt, Hong Kong, London and Los Angeles.

There has been lots of speculation that MH370 might have crashed due to incapacitation of its flight crew due to decompression..
hahaha....truly an idiot who do not know how to process information....
only know how to parrot such cock and bull speculation...
before each flight, the cockpit crew would have keyed into the auto-pilot the intended course and waypoints to reach the planned destination...
in the event the cockpit crew is incapacitated, the plane would have flown on the pre-planned flight path and would not turn around on its own........

Really retard?

A Singapore Airlines Airbus A380 relief plane arrives at Changi International Airport in Singapore on January 7, 2014 carrying nearly 500 passengers who were stranded in Azerbaijan after their Airbus A380 superjumbo was forced to make an emergency landing. The original flight from London to Singapore was forced to make an emergency landing at the Heydar Aliyev International Airport in Baku on January 6 due to a loss of cabin pressure. No one was injured but oxygen masks were deployed on the A380 and Singapore Airlines was forced to apologise to passengers for a lengthy wait as many took to social media to complain they were stranded at the airport with few amenities. AFP/MOHD FYROL

hahaha...truly an idiot..
thank you for reaffirming that SIA is a credible airline that will not compromise safety for expediency....