• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hot headed peasants needs to cool off

SotongMee

Hot headed peasants needs to cool off, one day before pooling day.

Shows that our government people really plans ahead 2012 must announce 2 years earlier.

Who dare says Sinkies are kiasu and kiasee???

PM Lee proposes extra day of non-campaigning before Polling Day

By Channel NewsAsia's Imelda Saad in Trinidad and Tobago | Posted: 01 December 2009 0503 hrs

PORT OF SPAIN: The Singapore government is proposing an extra day of non-campaigning as a cooling-off period just before Polling Day, ahead of the General Election due in 2012.

The extra day of non-campaigning will also apply to a presidential election.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong made the announcement to the Singapore media after wrapping up his attendance at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) in Trinidad and Tobago.

Under current election rules, political parties are not allowed to campaign on Polling Day itself.

Except for party political broadcasts and news reports, there are to be no more mass rallies, door-to-door visits and even display of party symbols.

Mr Lee said the cabinet had been considering an additional cooling-off day over the past several elections.

He said this would give voters time to reflect rationally on issues, after the emotional high of election campaigning.

Mr Lee said: "I think 24 hours after the last excitement of the election campaign period, the rallies, the door-to-door campaigning, the adrenaline flowing, the clash in the mass media as well as in person, perambulating vans blaring away loud speakers, it's good to have 24 hours to just calm down, think about it - tomorrow we vote."

He added that having a cooling-off period will also lessen the risk of public disorder.

"Previously, once in a while, we have had pushing and shoving at election rallies as the crowd gets worked up and doesn't disperse, but the main thing is to have time for people to think over the issues and to vote in a calm state of mind," he said.

Mr Lee was asked how this additional 24-hour cooling-off period would apply to the online world of networking and video-sharing sites.

"On the Internet, it's grey and also the policing is not so straight-forward but even then, in principle we should say today is a quiet day. I cannot control several million videos on youtube but your website, what you're putting up in your own name, I think that should end the day before the cooling-off day," he said.

Countries that have imposed a similar period of campaign silence include Australia and Indonesia.

Australia has a three-day black-out of election advertising and Indonesia has a three-day cooling-off before Legislative Elections and a two-day cooling-off before the Presidential election.

In Singapore, this means that the minimum period between Nomination and Polling Day will be extended from 9 to 10 days to keep the same number of minimum campaigning days.

This comes on the back of new election rules proposed earlier this year to bring more diverse views to Parliament.

These include having more single-seat wards and smaller Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs), as well as allowing for more non-elected seats.

Mr Lee had said then that the proposed changes are aimed at a more balanced system and to bring diverse views in Parliament to better reflect the aspirations of Singaporeans.

On whether the changes mean the General Election is near?

Mr Lee remained tight-lipped. "Maybe ... no I don't have a date for you - it could be, it could not be," he said.

The Prime Minister did not give a date but he did say it is getting closer. One thing's for sure, the General Election is unlikely to be in the first quarter of next year. That's because the new election rule will have to be read in Parliament before the Budget in February or March next year, and the Constitution changed after the Budget. - CNA/de

theblackhole

another innovative idea to cool things down before the final erection...too hot will kill the voter!....so cool off and think cool before you cast your cool vote for a really cool gahment for the next 4 years...

changes quite a drama now...

SotongMee

It is not like recent infamous group political massacre murder incident in Phillipines..

That sort of things only hot headed but cold-blooded Pinoys can do.

And it happened on nomination day.

another innovative idea to cool things down before the final erection...too hot will kill the voter!....so cool off and think cool before you cast your cool vote for a really cool gahment for the next 4 years...

changes quite a drama now...

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
It is an unfair rule because the ruling party could still influence voters' choice via its control over the Mass Media in Singapore.

Goh Meng Seng

cooleo

Cooling off period? They should emulate the buying insurance concept. After u buy insurance, u can cancel the plan within 14 days.

Within 1 year, i can still revoke my vote. Wah then PAPpies will be on their toes sia.

MarrickG

So is the cooling off day a public holiday? I think the citizen cn only cool off if they rest at home. If not, they will get back to office to discuss and things may change.

ahleebabasingaporethief

It is an unfair rule because the ruling party could still influence voters' choice via its control over the Mass Media in Singapore.

Goh Meng Seng
Very easy to get around this rule.

Opposition like you got m&d and water in your blains.

1. What opposition should do is to prepare a list of things that the Pappies have said and done. Examples are S'poreans are lesser mortals; of poor stock; lost money where; FT POLICY; unemployment; pay cuts; CPF NEVER restored; Ministars HIGH PAY...etc...there are so many.
If need help, there is someone in this forum that have already prepared a long long list.

2. Put this list in an envelope and distribute during hustings. Tell ALL S'poreans open and read only on last day before ERECTIONS to referesh all their memories.

You CB Opposition really hopeless. THINK THINK harder lah.!

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Haha, like the Chinese little pouch containing ideas during distress?

Goh Meng Seng

1. What opposition should do is to prepare a list of things that the Pappies have said and done. Examples are S'poreans are lesser mortals; of poor stock; lost money where; FT POLICY; unemployment; pay cuts; CPF NEVER restored; Ministars HIGH PAY...etc...there are so many.
If need help, there is someone in this forum that have already prepared a long long list.

2. Put this list in an envelope and distribute during hustings. Tell ALL S'poreans open and read only on last day before ERECTIONS to referesh all their memories.

cooleo

U dumb ass! Put inside envelopes and ask SingPost to deliver for u?! Just put the list inside mooncakes and distribute la!

Debonerman

It's only 24 hours before polling day, for God's sake. Time enough for the propaganda machinery in the form of SProsHotel and Mediacock to brainwash the electorate with recollections of racial riots, HDB property prices falling, economy crashing. I guarantee 100% Foreign Trash immigration and labour will not be mentioned!
Oh yes! Lee Kuan Yew will be talking about fighting the Communists but not Chinese Chauvinists!:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

theblackhole

really brilliant cooling idea...everyone cools in the pool..go swimming...take cool beer..take cooling herbs...cool the blains....cool the turds...cool cool before you cast your cool vote for a cool gahment to wear for next 4 years..

brilliant idea...everyone cool after after the m&d fight...and then vote cool cool..if any...hahhaaa...singaporeans damned cool after everything! lego world we are ONE!!!

Einfield

They will show footage of Dirty Hairy crying.
But keep quiet on his treason during WW2 working as translator for the invading japs, I like to see him talk Japanese, he must be very good at it in order to be a translator.

theblackhole

i say brilliant idea...hope they also cool the hot media waves...hahahaaaa....

you singaporeans are so funny wan! hhaaaaa.....

cooleo

Cool off period beneficial to PAPpies meh? I bet there will be 'coincidences' promoting a certain party on that fateful day.

theblackhole

if singaporeans can be cooled off within 24 hours and get their hot blooded fury cooled so easily...good for them...they will vote with cool minds and calm hearts for the right ghament to wear for the next 4 years..

this is world gahment strategy to cool the people...good and brilliant idea.

ahleebabasingaporethief

Haha, like the Chinese little pouch containing ideas during distress?

Goh Meng Seng

You think this is funny? Let's hear from you how an Opposition like you can get your messages to the masses in the heartland?

Let's see if you have blains. From what I see of your postings here, difficult for you to think out of the box lah.

mercbenz

Xiao la, while you having sex with your lover, just before you reach orgasm, you are to stop and go for a smoke or eat a sandwich, to 'cool' off and decide whether you really want to come or not!?:oIo:

Chan Sek Keong

Good. So the holy Goh and Co. will have no need to trespass polling stations beaming down from:

StarshipEnterprise.jpg

cooleo

CCB your english very fuck up.

Deliver during hustings mean SongPost? You fucking FT or what? never been to Erections hustings? You TCSS lah.

Are you a moron? The word 'English' begins with the uppercase 'E'! No wonder you are a thief. I bet you need to steal some brains!