• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Horrible Standard of Dental Care Despite BEST PAID Minitoots! Episode 2

Mar 11, 2010

Better dental services

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I COULDN'T agree more with Mr Lim Fah Kiong's sentiments about the inflexible dental service provided at polyclinics ("Dental service: Be proactive and flexible", Tuesday).
I believe the rule to limit the duration of an appointment for each patient is to improve efficiency and thus productivity. So, technically, patients should be attended to on time if they are punctual. However, it is common to wait 30 minutes or more. At my recent visit, I missed my turn a few times as I did not hear the chime.
By the time I realised my number had been called, another number was flashed for the same room I had been allocated. A man entered the room just ahead of me. I apologised to the dentist for missing the calls, but she insisted that since I missed my calls, she would have to attend to the next patient first as he was already in the room. I reasoned that I had waited 30 minutes already. In the end, the dentist agreed to treat me after checking that the next patient was agreeable. It made me wonder why the public announcement system was not used to call me when I didn't appear after a while. What if I was in the toilet?
When it came to booking my next appointment, I was not happy with being charged an $8 deposit. Why $8, and not $5 or $4? Due to my family situation, it is also difficult for me to know three days before the appointed time if I need to reschedule in order to avoid forfeiting the $8.
What happens to all the deposits collected by the National Healthcare Group?
Instead of having to book separate appointments for scaling, polishing and/or fillings, is it possible to have another appointment system for multiple treatments?
Having separate appointments takes up more time and incurs more expenses for patients, who have to pay for consultation each time since the appointments can be months apart.
Chua Lay Kwan (Ms)

Well that's the irony of life. Anyway I am just wondering since I overheard two old ladies in subway talking about dental care in England being free to older citizens. Is that true?
Preston Dental Care

People who are used to this kind of queueing system know that they should look at the board whenever there is a beep or chime. What was she doing when her number was flashed?

She wanted the polyclinic to use the public announcement system to hail her? Who does she think she is?

singapore dental service not so good. i think it is actually better to fly to thailand have it done and fly back. maybe not the cheapest way, but the best.

I just extracted 2 bottom wisdom tooth by surgery and 2 upper tooth corresponding to the bottom wisdom tooth on Aug/22. All at once. How much I paid? 9,945.00 Baht (about S$442.00).

X-ray 500 Baht
Tooth Extraction 500 Baht each - 1,000 Baht
Surgery Wisdom tooth extraction 3,500 Baht each - 7,000 Baht
Stitching - Free
Local Anesthesia - 900 Baht
Pain Killer (to bring home) - 380 Baht
Gargle Antiseptic Solution - 65 Baht
Sterilization of Equipment Fee - 100 Baht
TOTAL - 9,945 Baht

7 days later went to remove my stitches and paid 50 baht (about $2.00).

Anyway 2 weeks ago I went Taiwan and related this to my partner and his wife there that it is so much cheaper than Singapore they stared at me and asked me why I need to even pay in my own country as Taiwanese need not pay for any dental services.

Welcome to overseas Singaporeans.

Because in Singapore . Most have good teeth .

And doctors cannot practice what they preach .

Except on the older population

JB also hv a lot of professional dentists.
And cheaper than Sinkapor...

Once i visited a dentist in Malaysia, he said Singkapor dentist very hard to earn money.
that why so expensive and all kinds of funny funny charges.
That day i went to one dental here, give me one bottle of green listerine-like to gargle.
knn nia meh ccb.. tot he give free.. after check my receipt kena charge $5.

Tiu nia seng this all farking sinki dentist ...

Malaysia do braces about RM4k-RM6k.
Singkapor SGD4k above i guess. same price but different currency.

wahlaneh...
now whats the exchange rate ha?
SGD 1: RM 2.30?
but having said that im not sure where the water they use for rinsing come from - which longkang or rusty pipe?
at least in SG we can be sure water comes from PUB/NEA pipes safe for rinsing/drinking?

Once i visited a dentist in Malaysia, he said Singkapor dentist very hard to earn money.
that why so expensive and all kinds of funny funny charges.
That day i went to one dental here, give me one bottle of green listerine-like to gargle.
knn nia meh ccb.. tot he give free.. after check my receipt kena charge $5.

Tiu nia seng this all farking sinki dentist ...

My friend here in Bangkok is doing her braces for 30,000 Baht about S$1,330. Some more pay in stages. Also any problem go back see dentist anytime free. Good price , good service , good everything.

The savings may be more than the airfare plus hotel stay.

Yes indeed. Look at my breakdown for my wisdom tooth surgery (above) that I did just a month ago. Big savings. Can shopping some more.

Ai Pee Ai Chee Ai Wa Chup Pee ....

Mar 11, 2010

Better dental services

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I COULDN'T agree more with Mr Lim Fah Kiong's sentiments about the inflexible dental service provided at polyclinics ("Dental service: Be proactive and flexible", Tuesday).
I believe the rule to limit the duration of an appointment for each patient is to improve efficiency and thus productivity. So, technically, patients should be attended to on time if they are punctual. However, it is common to wait 30 minutes or more. At my recent visit, I missed my turn a few times as I did not hear the chime.
By the time I realised my number had been called, another number was flashed for the same room I had been allocated. A man entered the room just ahead of me. I apologised to the dentist for missing the calls, but she insisted that since I missed my calls, she would have to attend to the next patient first as he was already in the room. I reasoned that I had waited 30 minutes already. In the end, the dentist agreed to treat me after checking that the next patient was agreeable. It made me wonder why the public announcement system was not used to call me when I didn't appear after a while. What if I was in the toilet?
When it came to booking my next appointment, I was not happy with being charged an $8 deposit. Why $8, and not $5 or $4? Due to my family situation, it is also difficult for me to know three days before the appointed time if I need to reschedule in order to avoid forfeiting the $8.
What happens to all the deposits collected by the National Healthcare Group?
Instead of having to book separate appointments for scaling, polishing and/or fillings, is it possible to have another appointment system for multiple treatments?
Having separate appointments takes up more time and incurs more expenses for patients, who have to pay for consultation each time since the appointments can be months apart.
Chua Lay Kwan (Ms)

wahlaneh...
now whats the exchange rate ha?
SGD 1: RM 2.30?
but having said that im not sure where the water they use for rinsing come from - which longkang or rusty pipe?
at least in SG we can be sure water comes from PUB/NEA pipes safe for rinsing/drinking?

yalo.. now around 2.3 ..
wah you think SG water clean meh ? you dare to drink from the pipes ?
you duno what's inside the pipe also .. got cockroach died or rusted or ...

no where is 100% safe lah...
dont make ourself so complicated lor...

Bangkok very far wor... Malaysia also can pay in stages..
Don't tell me after one week insert your braces.. after that drop or loose, have to go Bangkok ? Last time I did my braces.. for 2 months i every week go for check up lor... Bangkok ??? wow..

Well that's the irony of life. Anyway I am just wondering since I overheard two old ladies in subway talking about dental care in England being free to older citizens. Is that true?
Preston Dental Care

The only older citizens that gets free health & dental cares are the MIW's...they rest you just PAY & PAY..:rolleyes:

yalo.. now around 2.3 ..
wah you think SG water clean meh ? you dare to drink from the pipes ?
you duno what's inside the pipe also .. got cockroach died or rusted or ...

no where is 100% safe lah...
dont make ourself so complicated lor...

wahlaneh...
i also agree with u in that lah.
so how? better take care of our own teeth lor.:D

Bangkok very far wor... Malaysia also can pay in stages..
Don't tell me after one week insert your braces.. after that drop or loose, have to go Bangkok ? Last time I did my braces.. for 2 months i every week go for check up lor... Bangkok ??? wow..

Sorlee la. I live in Bkk so I talk like this la.

Bring in more FTs Doctors, Dental and health care workers !