• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hor Seh Leow!! PRC continue to fight against Injustice of the PAP Regime!!

tualingong

Oppositions Parties should lend support to them!! :D

SMRT wage protest sees no show by 60 drivers

Updated 09:21 PM Nov 27, 2012

SINGAPORE - SMRT confirms that 60 of the 102 drivers involved in a wage protest yesterday did not show up for work today.

A statement from SMRT says that some 60 drivers "did not turn up for work in the morning, some of whom have valid medical reasons".

SMRT adds that some bus services may have been affected this morning as a result, and it has activated other drivers to assist.

"We continue to keep our communications open with the Service Leaders, and are also working with the relevant authorities to find an amicable resolution," says the statement.

A source on the scene has said that that no arrests have been made and that if workers who did not turn up for work today do not have a valid reason, they will be referred to higher management. The source adds that no arrests will be made as it's a sit-in and not a law and order problem, and that police are only on standby.

Channel NewsAsia understands that a doctor is at the Woodlands dormitory to check if the workers have valid reasons to be absent from work. CHANNEL NEWSASIA

.... "We continue to keep our communications open with the Service Leaders ....

Is it me or has there being a change to the rank and title of SMRT pilots :confused:

If I am not mistaken, previously their rank and title were "Bus Captain".

I noticed in the last few communiques they were addressed as "Service Leaders"

Is this a promotion or demotion for their bus pilots?

Why ur article dun hav tis section since its cuming frm CNA?:confused:

Is tat a threat or something when dey say "explore other avenues"? Maybe start a civil war perhaps? Got million of AT here rite? :D

A SMRT driver said: "We hope to be able to discuss the issue further with MOM or SMRT, because as long as so many of us refuse to work, the company can't continue to stand by and do nothing. We are still part of the company, as long as they haven't fired us. They should reflect on our behaviour and investigate why we have reacted in such a way. If they do nothing, we will not accept that. We will explore other avenues for our case to be heard."

Is it me or has there being a change to the rank and title of SMRT pilots :confused:

It's just a fancy job title for a dead-end job.

Just like:

1) 'admin executive' for clerk
2) 'landscape technician' for gardener
3) 'sanitation specialist' for toilet cleaner

One of the silly ways they 'add value' to a job. :rolleyes:

It's just a fancy job title for a dead-end job:rolleyes:

OIC,

Thought it was their internal pilots' ranking system, ie.

Recruits - for new bus pilots

Service Leaders for junior pilots like other PRC friends

Bus Captains for more senior pilots

and ... Maybe Bus Colonels for bus inspectors, :confused:

Why can't they just simply called them bus DRIVERS !, is it so degrading?

lol

Don't be so surprised. The CPF website keeps changing its policies but never bother to announce in the press also.

There is no confusion lah. SMRT call their drivers "Service Leaders" whilst SBS call their drivers "Bus Captains".

This is one positive from the influx of PRC workers. They dare to stand up for their rights and challenge the authorities. SMRT will have to start looking elsewhere for cheap and compliant foreign labor.

This debacle only shows that low-wage earners won't tolerate being paid less forever.

Even in China, workers are fighting and protesting for better pay and better benefits.

Foxcom has seen the most in recent years, with suicides to make headlines all over SE Asia.

I am curious how this will turn out.. for I believe the Chinese workers will never back down if they feel they are being short-changed. They really have nothing to lose. If they have worked here for over a year, they would have earned quite a fair bit of money. Send home some.. and maybe stashed away some to buy stuff and what-nots.

And I would lend them my support in words, for if all foreign workers were to fight for better pay and benefits, it wil definitely impact on the way employers make decisions on hiring them.

In the end, this is a positive thing for sg people and job-seekers. That's how I see this situation.

WaterMargin.jpg

SBS Transit CEO Mr Gan Juay Kiat is clearly a very clever man and knows how to do his job,consider his misery afster being sacked from GEC(24 hours notice) and hang around in his wife (Dr) clinic for many years,h clearly learn his lesson,a failed SAF/President scholar now males good as a top class CEO,hat off to Col Gan!Solute from a soldier.

If they have worked here for over a year, they would have earned quite a fair bit of money. Send home some.. and maybe stashed away some to buy stuff and what-nots.

Do you think they call Geylang chicken?

If my late comrade Chairman Mao is still around,PLA army would be at the port already
but unfortunately comrade Chairman Mao soul was possessed by the super evil BIG RED DRAGON (-大紅龍) since 1949 after he stood on top of TAM gate, so that is out.
Fuck the crazy evil BIG RED DRAGON (-大紅龍) dead,soon-硫磺火湖之中焚燒淨盡
The All Seeing Eye (of Lucifer the Devil) is the Eye of the Red Dragon, that Old Serpen
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Aix6Q5MfM14

Send them packing. These chinks should not be given special treatment sinkees never got. There are millions out there who are poor and would gladly take their jobs as bus drivers.

This case not so straight forward. Wait you anger all the cheap labor prc working here, then not enough mrt train drivers and, bus drivers, how?

PAP everything want cheap and squeeze the masses dry, now is pay back time.

Got emeritus Driver?

OIC,

Thought it was their internal pilots' ranking system, ie.

Recruits - for new bus pilots

Service Leaders for junior pilots like other PRC friends

Bus Captains for more senior pilots

and ... Maybe Bus Colonels for bus inspectors, :confused:

Why can't they just simply called them bus DRIVERS !, is it so degrading?

lol

This case not so straight forward. Wait you anger all the cheap labor prc working here, then not enough mrt train drivers and, bus drivers, how?

PAP everything want cheap and squeeze the masses dry, now is pay back time.

Yes i know but if the papies dont deport them, than there will be double standard. Anyway papies got their hands full. Serve them right.

when will the pap learn that a change of name and nothing else doesnt change anything?

Fancy titles raise expectations, followed by demand in higher salaries.

Will not just call it as it is : Bus Drivers! because it is just that : drive a bus!

Remember the $400K to rename Marina Bay..............what else?........MARINA BAY!