• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HK activists protest before Singapore Consulate

• Thread starter Thread starter Mdm Tang
  • Start date Start date
KopiUncle ,

ST headlines today said DK also subtle

compliment to SPH by intending

to hire Army Colonels to SMRT ...

like that also can meh ... ?

some of these honkees are really a pathetic lot....demonstrate what!!! nahbeh no brains demons!!!

lianbeng says: put them all behind iron bars for their own good lah!:D

KopiUncle ,

ST headlines today said DK also subtle

compliment to SPH by intending

to hire Army Colonels to SMRT ...

like that also can meh ... ?

madam,we do our way....hongkees can do things their way...we no interfere and they should not interfere..

army run smrt should be on time and precisely so...military precision and sharpness. i think smrt will be world lumber one!!! after the renewal and upheaval...i always trust the army. look at the great china, when army comes, everything kwai kwai.....i saw one incident like this in china. the people refused to move...kpkb. police came no use...more police came also no use....then suddenly one convoy of military men came....everything returned to normal. china's army damned power!!!

Thank you Sir for the Insight . :)

Hope this new ex army personel mgt team

every success .

hopefully more retired solidier can

also find work in SMRt .

activists paid by PRC?

i don't think so...honkees are like that...you see them kpkb on the bus, in the streets, in the shops.....everywhere....esp in the casinos of macau...they can be quite unruly and arrogantly so....and sometimes politically naive...

Hong Kong Confederation of Trade Unions protests treatment of bus strikers in Singapore

By Kirsten Han Dec 06, 2012 9:03AM UTC

Members of the Hong Kong Confederation of Trade Unions (HKCTU) gathered outside the Singapore embassy in Hong Kong on 5 December to protest the treatment of the Chinese bus strikers from Singapore’s public transport company SMRT.

171 bus drivers went on strike on Monday 26 November, with 88 carrying on into Tuesday. The strike, pronounced “illegal” by the government, was met with swift action. Five of the strikers were charged under the Criminal Law (Temporary Provisions) Act for their involvement, while 29 others had their work permits revoked and were repatriated to China. Bao Feng Shan, one of the five charged, pleaded guilty and was sentenced to six weeks imprisonment. He did not have legal representation. (See my*previous post*for more information.)

Image from Lee Cheuk Yan on Facebook

In response, HKCTU organised a protest to demand that the charges against the strikers be dropped, the deported workers be reinstated, Bao Feng Shan released from prison and for the law criminalising strikes to be dropped.

“These actions are invariably targeted at creating fear, especially amongst migrant workers who usually receive discriminatory treatment, to warn them from taking such strike action again,” said HKCTU in their press statement. The organisation also quoted the International Labour Organisation’s (ILO) labour standards, saying, “The ILO principles governing the right to strike provides that there must be as few legal restrictions as possible, and also there must be no punitive actions taken against workers who goes on strike.”

HKCTU are not the only ones to react to the treatment of the strikers. A group of concerned Singaporeans have gathered to organise a campaign to express solidarity with the Chinese workers.

Their first event, a forum entitled ‘The SMRT Strike – Why should we care?‘ will take place in the weekend and aims to encourage Singaporeans to discuss issues surrounding industrial relations in Singapore such as discrimination and the lack of independent trade unions.

http://asiancorrespondent.com/93085...tests-treatment-of-bus-strikers-in-singapore/

ST reported that Chinese Embessy

found lawyers for the remaining four ...

" Bao Feng Shan, one of the five charged, pleaded guilty and was sentenced to six weeks imprisonment. He did not have legal representation. "

I wonder, do they know or understand the background story before protesting?

Dumbfuck Hongkies should mind their own Business. Singaporeans have spoken. we agree with our government's actions

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC121204-0000083/Most-agree-that-bus-drivers-should-have-used-proper-channels-instead-of-illegal-strike--Poll

The majority of Singaporeans thought that the Chinese bus drivers involved in last week's strike should have taken up their grievances to SMRT through the proper channels, a snap online poll has shown.

Following the illegal strike last week, Government outreach portal REACH conducted a poll to examine public sentiments on this issue. The poll was conducted between 30 November and 2 December 2012 and polled 313 Singaporean citizens aged 15 years and above.

According to REACH, the key findings of the survey were:

- A large majority of Singaporeans were aware of illegal strike, with an average of 85% of respondents indicating awareness.

- An average of 56% agreed with the way in which the Government took the time to ascertain the facts before labelling the action as an illegal strike.

- An average of 76% agreed that the Government acted swiftly in bringing the situation under control.

- An average of 74% agreed that the Chinese bus drivers should have gone through the proper channels to air their grievances.

- An average of 78% agreed that if the bus drivers from China were found to have breached Singapore's law, they should be punished to the full extent of the law,.

- An average of 76% agreed that while the bus drivers from China were wrong to have staged a strike, SMRT also bears some responsibility as it did not manage the grievances of the Chinese well.

why they so unhappy to us, we gave them free PR and citizen , in case china handover did not go well, and they have a backup.

Now they repay us with this bullshit.

They may not be good friends, but HK people know that what happens in PRC will eventually affect them. They protest against what happens in PRC not 'cos they like PRC people but 'cos they know that any gross violations of human rights that are allowed to fester in PRC will eventually come to HK. This is called "enlightened self interest". It is something that Sinkies have a huge deficiency in. Pointless explaining to these daft Sinkies, only get a blank look in return.

You made a strong point.
Recently, The commie in charge of the SAR regions have been trying to warn Hongkong Chief Exec to take a stronger action against strikers, using the non proven "evidence" of foreigners fanning the weekly protests.

Also,
Hong Kong bus drivers have gone on strikes before for better wages. They are shocked to learn that Singapore do not allow strikes.

.... They protest against what happens in PRC not 'cos they like PRC people but 'cos they know that any gross violations of human rights that are allowed to fester in PRC will eventually come to HK....

PAP thinks it can go around exploiting the 3rd world like they do to the "lesser mortals" of Spore:rolleyes: They have obviously forgotten that they have had many, many ... setbacks when they try to expand regionally. The PAP way doesn't seem to work outside Spore.

They may think that importing new citizens will strength their hold on power, but I wonder about that:confused: People are not stupid & when they feel that they are being exploited, they will not be as patient as Sporeans. Just look at how at the strike by the PRC drivers.

New citizens don't have a real stake in Spore & they haven't been here long enough to be brainwashed like many "lesser mortals". They may even give the PAP a big surprise in the next GE ;)

I think it is good that others are protesting on our behalf since it is illegal here.

There are 2 different views here - many choose to focus on this as an FT issue, in fact the majority of Sinkies are happy to see these Ah Tiongs getting a slap as if PAP help them vent their frustration, not realising PAP is the one that caused this in the first place. The more enlightened choose to see this as an issue of workers' rights.

Imagine those of you happily clapping your feet here. Either you assume you never have the need to protest or you never have the guts - hence such "clampdown" will never happen to you. Endorsing the govt's stand on the issue implies you support the govt's iron fist handling of all workers' grievances.

Since when hongkees and prcs are good friends... They are just trying to get free publicity to up their profile...

lianbeng asked: did u watch Men in the Net 网中人 many years ago? remember that Ah Chan?:D