• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB profitted a cool 72m from heavily subsidised BTO flats, HUAT AH!

Sounds to me that they used the cheapest quality tile available from China. In China, the export quality tile is much better than the one for the domestic market. defective tiles are sold to the china market at very cheap prices and used in the china construction. The chinese don't seem to care about the absorption rate and other qualities of the tiles. Seems like they used these cheap tiles for the HDB flats. The flooring quality should have been spec out by HDB. So, some one at HDB was sleeping when they did not inspect the tiles that were being used. This tiles cannot be what they spec out. Sounds to be too thin and uneven. I have never seen an uneven floor tile before, unless they used a wall tile for the floor. Also thinness could be a wall tile as they tend to be thinner. There was also mention that the floor was uneven. that is caused by the cement not being level, but now adays, its all prefab, so not a big chance the floor came like that from the factory. Tile popping up was also mentioned, and that is a problem with the grouting. If the grouting was done right, it should never pop up. Any stress on it will just cause it to crack and not pop up. This type of quality is also sama sama in china.

One of the major defects mentioned is the flooring. Even after the resident complained and HDB got the contractor to re-lay the floor tiles, the floor remains uneven. The HDB personnel whom the resident liaised with tried to convince him to accept the uneven flooring.

The resident said:

“And the frustrating part is at every meeting, HDB personnel would use the same excuse to try convince us to accept the flooring. And if we do not accept, he would tell us he will ask the contractors to rework again. I found it weird that no matter how lousy someone’s workmanship is, they will not keep repeating the same mistake unless they are real idiots.”

The resident then investigated the problem himself and found that actually, the tiles themselves already have defects. Some of the tiles are not flat and will wobble. Hence, even with good workmanship, the flooring will remain uneven because the tiles themselves are uneven.

He said:

“The tile itself is uneven with some area popping up and yet that HDB personnel kept trying his luck to tell us off. This is a terrible integrity issue and I became very disappointed with HDB.”

This being the case, it’s not known why HDB didn’t detect the poor quality floor tiles used by the contractor.

The reasoning is that when u 'buy' a HDB flat, you don't own it. What u did was rent it for 99years

Yes..clearly states that u don"t own it..

The owner is HDB...but when comes to defects like window hinges that drop off from your flat, the lessee ..i.e you..the minion is
liable and to pay for the defect, to make good for the landlord.

In Singapore..those in control and has the power call the shots..NO CHECK AND BALANCE..

They can also snub u..if not happy don"t buy HDB.. go buy private lor...

bro i sell u a mouse made in china bought from taobao for $4.99.i sell u in my sim lim shop for 39.90.tell u got 2 year warranty....if spoil never mind i simply throw u another made in china mouse that cost me 3 to 4.99......i call my shop new zealand hardware store.....u praise me skyhigh.....i make 1000% profit margin....win win.

Lets see, $4.99 for a mouse and delivery n installation cost $10 for local worker. I paid 39.90
Then you spend another $14.99 to replace the spoilt mouse. Excluding Opportunity cost, it is fine with me.

You dont get 1000% profit. Because u need to cost in % of defects need replacement
If you make more profit because everything is sweet, it is fine with me.

Um , who did they vote for ? :D
$8 Penang Khaw ?
He screwed the Ministry of Health , now he's screwing housing :eek:
60.14% Singaporeans deserved it since they placed their faith in a FT :oIo: