Have you had your coffee this morning?

10 Things the Barista isn't telling you.

1. You are the reason for the wait
waiting_16ubes8-16ubesc.jpg

Customers who chat on their phone right until they get to the tills and then take ages to decide what they want are the cause of coffee shop congestion. You can streamline your morning caffeine fix by knowing what you want before the barista asks you. Plus be ready to pay and you’ll make it out the café even quicker.

2. Bigger cup doesn’t mean more coffee
big_coffee_cup_16ubes8-16ubesc.jpg

If you want a bigger caffeine fix, don’t just boost the size of your cup, you need to add an extra shot.

3. Burnt milk smells like almonds
burnt_milk_16ubes8-16ubesd.jpg

A good barista will know exactly how hot to steam the milk for your coffee. If they overdo it, your cup will smell like almond. Unless you’ve ordered a coffee with almond syrup and you catch a whiff of marzipan, send your cup back because the milk is burnt.

4. Question the quality of your coffee
coffee_quality_16ubes8-16ubesd.jpg

Ever taken a sip of a branded coffee in a café and been seriously disappointed with the taste? You’re not the first and won’t be the last. Independent coffee shops sometimes buy cheap coffee and pass it off as respectable brands. To be assured of the best quality, stick to a café with a good reputation with baristas who know their stuff.

5. Pulling an espresso is an art
espresso_16ubes8-16ubese.jpg

The best espresso is pulled in between 18-22 seconds. The temperature must be just right and the grounds must be packed to a precise firmness so that the water filters through at exactly the right speed to absorb the right levels of flavour.

6. A pretty latte is a good latte
latte_art_01_16ubesa-16ubesi.jpg

That leaf carefully sculpted into the foam on your latte not only looks good, it shows that your cup has been made properly. A leaf or heart design will only hold when the foam is just the right consistency and the espresso shot has been pulled well. So you know you’re going to have a truly tasty coffee.

7. Please goes a long way
please_16ubesa-16ubesj.jpg

Because a barista makes each coffee fresh, the more polite you are, the better quality your cup is going to be. No matter how tired you are, saying please and thank you will assure you get a better coffee.

8. Big chain coffees aren’t always authentic
starbucks_16ubesa-16ubesj.jpg

In Italy, a real macchiato has just a touch of milk foam and no sugar. But at Gloria Jeans, it comes with lots of sugar and flavoured syrups. If you’re ordering a coffee anywhere except a major chain, make sure you know exactly what you’re getting before you order. Although you never know, you might like the real thing better. Plus if you’re not in a chain coffee house, don’t order like you are. Look at the menu of the café you’re in and order something off that.

9. Don’t stir things up
stir_16ubesa-16ubesk.jpg

The flavours in more complicated coffee-based drinks are more powerful if you don’t disturb the layers carefully created by the barista. Blend things together, and the more subtle tastes get lost. So for better flavour, drink without mixing.

10. Vegan cakes aren’t necessarily good for you
vegan_cakes_16ubesa-16ubesk.jpg

They might have no animal produce in them, but all cakes in coffee shops are packed full of sugar and fat. If you want something healthy with your caffeine fix, stick to the fresh fruit salads.

my downstairs kopitiam kopi orh ti lor is bestest! ...

Coffee Art Masterpieces

calennon2_16qclnu-16qclo3.jpg

A drink with Lennon
Imagine all the people, drinking Lennon's face in foam.

caseahorse_16qcc5u-16qcc63.jpg

Mythical creature
Is this your worse mythical nightmare? This seahorse/eel/dragon image was the number one winner.

caeye_16qcc5u-16qcc64.jpg

Eye
Eye of a newt, and toe of a frog: the secret ingredient behind this delicious latte.

cahorsewings_16qcc5u-16qcc64.jpg

Flying horse
Excuse me there is a flying horse in my coffee? You're not hungover, you're just looking at coffee art.

caseacreature_16qcc5u-16qcc65.jpg

Fantasy sea creature
Whatever this is it looks great, maybe a little too great to drink.

cacat_16qcc5u-16qcc63.jpg

Here kitty, kitty
This coffee looks too good to pass up, even with the adorable foam cat face. Sorry kitty.

cakahlo_16qcc5u-16qcc64.jpg

Kahlo in a cup
Have you always wanted to meet Frida Kahlo? Well here is your chance (sort of) to get up close and personal.

caface_16qcc5u-16qcc64.jpg

Almost too pretty too drink...almost
The artist has used the etching technique to produce this lady's delicate features.

cahell_16qcc5u-16qcc64.jpg

Beware: sip quickly
Hell hath no fury like a latte artist scorn.

caking_16qcc5u-16qcc64.jpg

Can your latte do this?
If you have the skills of a king barista, your latte could certainly look like this.

Sinkies damn loser

They don't drink coffee but kopi at coffee shop