• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Guess which Chow Ang Moh health care system?! She Q 2 yrs for the doctor to find out that she is 2 yrs late for cancer from harmless to hopeless!

Ang4MohTrump

https://www.halifaxexaminer.ca/feat...face-of-the-healthcare-crisis-in-nova-scotia/

3. Inez Rudderham

Inex-300x201.jpg

Inez Rudderham

Premier McNeil says he watched some of the video Inez Rudderham, a young Nova Scotia woman with cancer, posted on her Facebook profile this week. In the video, Rudderham tearfully talks about the cancer diagnosis she received two years ago, after trying to get a family doctor and being turned away from ERs. Now, she’s waiting to get mental-health care to deal with that diagnosis.

This is the face of the health-care crisis in Nova Scotia. I cannot receive help for trauma that I experienced because of this failed system until July.
What about my four-year-old daughter who doesn’t have me there, fully, because I need help and I’m not receiving it?​

As of Thursday afternoon, the video had more than 1.6 million views. Andrew Rankin at the Chronicle Herald talks with Rudderham’s aunt, Terry Rudderham.

I felt what many people are feeling after watching that video,” said Terry. “I first felt a lot of love for Inez. I really admire her bravery, of course. But I felt really sad she’s in this situation and also that many, many people in this province are also in this situation.​

In his statement, McNeil says he contacted the Nova Scotia Health Authority to connect Rudderham with psychiatric services for oncology patients.

https://www.thechronicleherald.ca/o...-cancer-patient-inez-rudderhams-video-306112/

EDITORIAL: Viral video a four-minute indictment of health system

Premium content

The Chronicle Herald
Published: Apr 26 at 7:26 p.m.
Updated: Apr 27 at 7:56 a.m.

B97908143Z.1_20190425094605_000GIOO257U.1-1_large.jpg

Inez Rudderham, in a screen grab from her Facebook video, that as of Thursday morning had been viewed more than a million times. - Facebook - The Chronicle Herald
There’s a raw, genuine truth to her four-minute video that encapsulates our collective experience with health care.​

B97908501Z.1_20190426195238_000GBPO2KQU.1-1_original.jpg

Inez Rudderham has done us all a huge service.
But it’s hard to imagine the premier and the mandarins running the health-care service in this province feeling grateful for her message.
Ms. Rudderham is the young woman whose heartfelt, touching video went viral this week, garnering hundreds of thousands of views and generating news stories across the country.
In it, she challenged Premier Stephen McNeil to meet with her face to face and deny that there is a health-care crisis in Nova Scotia. The 33-year-old mother has been battling anal cancer for months now, and tells her story in the four-minute video.
So much about Rudderham’s story squares with everything we’ve been hearing for years now from health-care workers, patients and their family members about how problems with our health care system have affected them.
Let’s start with the doctor shortage. Rudderham had no access to a family physician, and visited emergency rooms several times when she began feeling symptoms.
She said she was brushed off but had to keep returning until she was taken seriously. This is the second aspect of our system Nova Scotians have been telling us about so much: overcrowded ERs being forced to bear too much of the burden of initial care.
A visit to a family physician would likely have spotted Rudderham’s problem earlier. When it was finally diagnosed, it was at Stage 3, and she was rushed into an intense round of radiation treatments. Early detection, we’re constantly told, is the key to treating cancer, but that didn’t seem possible for Inez Rudderham.
As she recovered, Rudderham felt the need for some mental health support, as many of us would. Reaching out in January for help, she finally heard this month that she could see someone in July. This is the third, almost universal, experience Nova Scotians have told us about: how long it takes to get mental health treatment.
At one time, Inez Rudderham might have written a letter to the editor. But that couldn’t possibly have had the same impact that her tearful plea for understanding has had via social media. There’s a raw, genuine truth to her four-minute video that encapsulates our collective experience with health care.
That’s the thing: everyone has to see a doctor. Everyone visits an emergency room once in a while. Everyone has someone in their family or social circle who’s going through a tough time, healthwise.
McNeil did not commit to a meeting with Rudderham, but said he has asked health officials to look into the case. He leaves the province on Monday on a trade mission to Europe and China.
No communications strategy or list of talking points can effectively respond to this. There’s no way to deny or avoid the conclusion that our health-care system is truly in crisis, partly brought on by government policy.
It’s time for the premier to step up and admit it, for once. These aren’t “challenges” that require “adjustments,” as he says.
This is a full-blown crisis and people are hurting, right now. The premier should acknowledge that at a bare minimum.
CATCH UP ON THE STORY:

https://globalnews.ca/news/5201898/woman-makes-plea-to-premier/

Updated: April 26, 2019 8:03 am

‘This is the face of the health-care crisis’: N.S. woman with cancer challenges premier on doctor shortage

By Graeme Benjamin Online Producer/Reporter Global News

WATCH: Nova Scotia mother calls out premier on doctor shortage

A A
A Nova Scotia mother who says she waited two years for her cancer diagnosis is calling out the premier for not declaring a health-care crisis in the province.
“To the premier of Nova Scotia, I dare you to take a meeting with me … and tell me there is no health-care crisis,” Inez Rudderham said in a viral Facebook video that has been viewed over 1 million times.
READ MORE: Doctors Nova Scotia demand ‘immediate action’ on physician shortages
In the tearful and emotionally-charged video, the 33-year-old mother said she went undiagnosed with Stage 3 anal cancer for two years due to her lack of access to a family doctor.
WATCH: Nova Scotia woman with cancer challenges premier on doctor shortage
CANCER_LADY_VIDEO_4.25_848x480_1507890243792.jpg

Rudderham states she has received 30 rounds of radiation to her pelvis, which has left her “barren and infertile.” When taking her health concerns to the emergency rooms, Rudderham says she was brushed off.
“It’s OK though, right? Because they caught it. They caught it when it was Stage 3,” Rudderham cried.
“I fought. I fought for my life.”​
Rudderham also says she has been waiting to utilize mental health services since January, only to find out this month that she can only get an appointment in mid-July.
“You want to tell me that there’s no health-care crisis in my province?”
WATCH: Life on the wait list: Stories of Nova Scotia’s family doctor shortage
HAL_HEALTHCARE_WAITLISTS_848x480_1263710787672.jpg

The video posted on Tuesday has been shared more than 46,000 times and viewed by 1.2 million. A crowdfunding campaign for Rudderham has raised over $10,000.
Premier Stephen McNeil says he has seen the video and the Department of Health is reaching out to Rudderham, but again stopped short of saying there is a health-care crisis.
“There are challenges in the health-care system, in parts of accessing primary care,” McNeil said. “We continue to make adjustments. We’re in a system that hadn’t changed for decades.”

Health Minsiter Randy Delorey says the issues are concerning, but not exclusive to Nova Scotia.
“We acknowledge them. We are making efforts, we’ve been focused on those efforts for the last couple years and again use the example of primary health care, we’re seeing improvements across the province,” said Delorey.
READ MORE: Appointment no-shows common across N.S. as family doctor registry continues to grow
But opposition parties say they were disappointed in the province’s reaction to the video.
“I think when you compare the authenticity and directness of the very difficulty she speaks from with the discourse of the minister of health, I find what the minister has to say superficial and glib and empty,” said Nova Scotia NDP Leader Gary Burrill.
“There’s so many layers along the way, so many parts of the system that failed her,” said PC MLA Tim Halman.
Rudderham is calling for a face-to-face meeting with Premier McNeil.
“This is the face of the health-care crisis in Nova Scotia, and I dare you to tell me otherwise.”​
With files from Alicia Draus.

https://tw.news.yahoo.com/珍惜健保-女排隊2年才看到醫生-淚崩-小息肉已變癌末-052547043.html

珍惜健保!女排隊2年才看到醫生 淚崩:小息肉已變癌末

TVBS新聞網

19.3k 人追蹤

張中宜
2019年4月29日 下午9:06

cab38b5285c7dd2d9bcc1d551f73bfd9

圖/翻攝自Marilyn Inez臉書
台灣不僅醫療技術先進,就醫也相當方便、便宜,加上完善的全民健保體系,讓不少外國人相當羨慕。加拿大1名33歲的女子日前上傳1段影片,淚訴她為了讓家庭醫生看病,竟整整花了2年的時間排隊預約,最後等到順利檢查治療時,小息肉已演變成癌症末期。

據加拿大《CTV NEWS》報導,這名33歲女子伊內茲(Inez Rudderham)住在加拿大東南岸的新斯科細亞省(Nova Scotia),她本月23日在臉書上傳1段控訴影片,影片中她帶著頭套,聲淚俱下地表示「我的肛門癌整整2年都沒有被確診,因為我沒能預約到家庭醫生」,她邊哭邊透露,期間自己曾到3間醫院的急診室求助,卻沒有人願意裡她,等到2年後她終於看到醫生,卻被診斷出罹患癌症第3期。

《CTV NEWS》指出,當地醫師協會主席坦言,加拿大的家庭醫師數量嚴重不足,醫院急診室經常爆滿,診所也沒有設備能診斷癌症,此外,該報導更發現,新斯科細亞省其中1名家庭醫生的預約名單,排隊人數竟高達5萬5801人,相當驚人。

對此,省長麥克內爾(McNeil)25日發聲明表示,目前已要求相當單位關切伊內茲的狀況,麥克內爾也承諾,會讓伊內茲盡快看到心理醫生。

Cherish health insurance! The women lined up for 2 years to see the doctor. The tears collapsed: the small polyps have turned cancerous.
[TVBS News Network]
TVBS News Network
19.3k person tracking
Zhang Zhongyi
April 29, 2019, 9:06 PM
Figure / Reversal from Marilyn Inez Facebook

Taiwan is not only advanced in medical technology, but also very convenient and cheap to seek medical treatment. Together with the comprehensive national health insurance system, many foreigners are quite envious. A 33-year-old woman from Canada recently uploaded a video, and she complained that she had spent two years waiting in line to make an appointment for the family doctor to see a doctor. Finally, when the treatment was successfully checked, the small polyp had evolved into the end of cancer.

According to Canada's "CTV NEWS", the 33-year-old woman, Inez Rudderham, lives in Nova Scotia on the southeast coast of Canada. She uploaded a complaint on Facebook on the 23rd of this month. In the film, she took the hood and said with tears, "My anal cancer has not been diagnosed for 2 years, because I could not make an appointment with the family doctor." She said while crying that she had gone to the emergency room of three hospitals. Help, but no one wants to be in her. After two years, she finally saw the doctor, but was diagnosed with cancer.

According to CTV NEWS, the president of the local physician association admits that the number of family doctors in Canada is seriously inadequate, the emergency room of the hospital is often full, and the clinic has no equipment to diagnose cancer. In addition, the report found that one of the provinces of Nova Scotia The list of appointments for family doctors, the number of people in the queue was as high as 55,801, which is quite amazing.

In response, Governor McNeil issued a statement on the 25th that he has asked quite a unit to be concerned about the situation of Inez, and McNeil also promised to let Inez see the psychiatrist as soon as possible.

Nova Scotia sucks.

You wont hear that about Alberta.

It's not that. Each province manages their own healthcare system.

Nova Scotia is just doing it very badly.

Don't forget BC too. Both are left leaning to a ridiculous extent. At least in AB the whole province tends to be more conservative minded. With left leaning wingnuts, every deficiency is excused.

Got cancer better to just Soylent Green. Even if she went for treatment early the chances are high for recurrence. And the patient is nothing but a burden to the family n a burden to the state. Meanwhile the suffering for the patient increase. The only beneficiaries are the doctors n medical corporations

That's the problem of a socialist healthcare system.
Nope. She should not go into the emergency ward. Go see the GP first at the normal ward. Staffs at emergency only deal with accidents and victims of violence.

normally I'd agree with you, but have you tried finding a GP in Canada and it's "universal healthcare"?

Plenty of family doctors in Calgary accepting new patients. Nobody wants to work in Nova Scotia.

Best paid drs in Alberta

Plenty of family doctors in Calgary accepting new patients. Nobody wants to work in Nova Scotia.

Best paid drs in Alberta
nor tasmania down under. only the jiuhu doc who kena suspended for 6.9 months bo pian got posted there just to get pr. in u.s., worst posting is north alaska to serve eskimos and oilmen.

Best paid drs in Alberta
sorry for bundling the whole country into 1 basket. my bad. :redface:

Yes, in Calgary, I would agree with you, but further afield and in smaller towns, GP's are simply not available. Hence, the ER becomes the default GP visit for those unfortunate enough not to live in a desirable place that attracts as many doctors as Calgary. amongst the reasons that Calgary has GP's available is as you say the pay. Where they take away the pay, GP's simply move to where they are treated better. The socialist aspect either gets it right all the way as in Calgary or gets it wrong all the way in NS.

I'm also largely writing this because most Sinkie's living in a city country with a high density of healthcare alternatives simply have no idea about the things they take for granted....

but even in BC which is seen as desirable (ok, so rural BC not so desirable) : https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/rural-maternity-wards-1.4514289

for a movie made about it (!), see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Grand_Seduction