GTR - Man uses first-class ticket to get free meals for almost a year

As Leongsam will say, Ang Mor is the best
Even when it comes to freeloading
Must also do in style with proper attire
Gastronomic freeloader met his just desert

Infamous restaurant freeloader found dead in Ghent, Belgium

He was an unrepentant gastronomic freeloader, from lobster right up to the after-dinner brandy, always enjoying the bounty to the fullest.

Titus Clarysse was infamous in and around the northern Belgian town of Ghent for walking into any restaurant of his choosing, ordering whatever his stomach and palate craved and walking out without paying.

"Curse him? Maybe. But kill him? That makes no sense," said Tim Joiris, the head of the Ghent region restaurant and hotel federation.

Two days after the 35-year-old Clarysse was found dead in his apartment, investigators on Thursday were looking for suspects in what spokeswoman Annemie Sirlippens called "a case of murder or manslaughter".

Newspapers reported Clarysse was stabbed - a detail police would not confirm - on Monday night. There was no immediate indication of the motive and Sirlippens refused to provide more details.

Clarysse's gastronomic past, though, was the stuff of lore.

"We are talking about 100 incidents spread over several convictions," Sirlippens said, and at least a half-decade of gastronomic and financial excess.

Joiris knows, since he had enough restaurant owners complain. "It was trouble for everyone. And what's worse, for long nobody knew how really to deal with it," Joiris said.

Restaurants in Ghent, a medieval university town with gabled fronts and terraces on cobblestones, attract an international and varied clientele.

"In the end, we knew his face, but you know, on a busy terrace in summer, full of people, he knew how to blend in," Joiris said.

Several convictions did not stop him and tales of freeloaders being forced to do the dishes "are a myth", Joiris said. "He did it all, the grand restaurants, the terraces. He really tried them all."

Clarysse was called a tafelschuimer - someone who takes everything, even the crumbs, off the table.

De Standaard newspaper reported he was living on municipal welfare and often seemed to have the wrong kind of friends. It was unclear whether his death was linked to his freeloading.

"We are not talking about an aggressive guy. He was just happy-go-lucky about it," Joiris said. And Clarysse never held back.

"He was asking for it all - the whole menu," Joiris said, chuckling in remembrance. "He would sit and wait after the meal - another beer, a brandy."

http://www.scmp.com/news/world/arti...estaurant-freeloader-found-dead-ghent-belgium

Read about how some poor Yankees are living in Thailand & they don't have $ to return. Makess one wonder how many poor Angmos are in Spore. Some of them would be probably be unemployed if they returned

Hi Johnny, Agree.

Many of them can be found drinking a cup of coffee at the Café, but sitting for long hours.

i got 1 new ah neh come to work with breifcase and long sleeve, nice leather shoes.
i was wondering he came to work in fiance or engineering company.
2 days later when he open up the briefcase...knncb..inside was a soldering iron with some lead and cable lugs.

Cheapskates also take free food fr business class lounge to economy class for consumption

Read about how some poor Yankees are living in Thailand & they don't have $ to return. Makess one wonder how many poor Angmos are in Spore. Some of them would be probably be unemployed if they returned

I saw an ang mo beggar going to beg for food in the food court near my place regularly. Also, another crippled ang mo busking with a gong at soem mrt stations, last I saw was at Boon Lay. Also, nowadays gotto jostle not only with ah neh and ah tiongs on the bus and mrt but also ang mos. When I was much younger, never seen ang mo on bus or train. They would always take taxi. Times have changed.

The creative Ah Tiong

Man used first-class airline ticket to get free meals in airport’s VIP lounge for almost a year

A man bought a first-class ticket and used it to have free meals and drinks at an airport’s VIP lounge almost every day for nearly a year.

The itinerary for the ticket was found to have been changed more than 300 times within a year, and the owner of the ticket used it to enjoy the facilities at the airport’s VIP lounge in Xi’an in Shaanxi, China.

The case was discovered by a China Eastern Airlines staff member, who then decided to investigate.

When the ticket’s validity was almost up, the passenger cancelled it for a refund. An airline spokesman said there were no means to stop this act, even if it was done on purpose.

I saw an ang mo beggar going to beg for food in the food court near my place regularly. Also, another crippled ang mo busking with a gong at soem mrt stations, last I saw was at Boon Lay. Also, nowadays gotto jostle not only with ah neh and ah tiongs on the bus and mrt but also ang mos. When I was much younger, never seen ang mo on bus or train. They would always take taxi. Times have changed.

There are ang mo beggars in Singapore??? I have never seen.

I used to frequent Annalakshmi's in Singapore and consider their food to be very good, if you like Indian vegetarian cuisine. The restaurant operates on a non-profit basis and is partly run by volunteers. The proceeds go towards the development of the arts and helping the poor.

On and off I saw freeloaders but diners were generally respectful and paid more than the cost of the meal.

If anyone is interested in completely free meals, try:
  • daily (I believe) vegetarian lunches at Sikh temples
  • weekend dinner buffets at the Hare Krishnan Ashram - but you'd have to put up with devotees (most of whom are NOT Indian btw) trying to convert you.

http://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Restaurant_Review-g294265-d1100181-Reviews-Annalakshmi-Singapore.html

There's one in sinkieland too....
Surprised they can survive with so many freeloaders around....guess not many knows about the place

I used to frequent Annalakshmi's in Singapore and consider their food to be very good, if you like Indian vegetarian cuisine. The restaurant operates on a non-profit basis and is partly run by volunteers. The proceeds go towards the development of the arts and helping the poor.

On and off I saw freeloaders but diners were generally respectful and paid more than the cost of the meal.

If anyone is interested in completely free meals, try:
  • daily (I believe) vegetarian lunches at Sikh temples
  • weekend dinner buffets at the Hare Krishnan Ashram - but you'd have to put up with devotees (most of whom are NOT Indian btw) trying to convert you.

http://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Restaurant_Review-g294265-d1100181-Reviews-Annalakshmi-Singapore.html
Thanks got the info.
Regarding free meals....here a popular one for old folks and foreign students.

http://chicvegetarianfood.blogspot.sg/2010/02/free-compassionate-food-vegetarian-food.html?m=1

But beware the guy in charge is a pap lackey. Lee Bock Guan.
Karna has it he mix religion with politics and is doing fake charity thus kena cancer stricken wait to die.
Dun worry...everything and everybody else about this place beside his phua bak kia is okay...
Nvm you can curse at the fucker or spit at him even on your way out.

This is evolution of the gatecrashing strangers at wedding dinners from yesteryears....back then anyone hosting wedding dinners had to look out for these freeloaders.

Still got meh..!!! Nowadays, kena videoed as most couple keeps guest list of each table....unless the scum runs to the restroom when the videoman, and the photographer come near his table...

There are ang mo beggars in Singapore??? I have never seen.

I only go to the cheapo places but even I have seen the poor angmos begging.

For example while at angmo kio food court above the bus interchange, I saw this supposedly deaf young angmo girl going from table to table with some kind of note trying to get people to give her $.

When I was younger I would often see angmos living in the Bukit Timah area. Nowadays that area is too expensive for the working poor angmos.

Now it's common to see them shopping at the neighbourhood NTUC, on the trains, shopping in the heartlands. With rising costs in Spore they are spilling out of the common angmo area.

Only one race can think of such an idea to save money...some call this cheapskate.
wen it cums 3 being chipskate, sum ppl bcums very intelligent ... juz like dat burger who make it a point 2 twurn up early @ a particular restaurant 2 harvest free toothpicks ...