• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

grassroots leaders sabo PAP MPs...

Does it remind one the how the eunuchs hasten the downfall of decadent dynasties by feeding the emperor with poison-containing 'elixir' and nice words even as the invaders are already at the city gate?

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - grassroots leaders sabo PAP MPs...</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89_ <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>May-15 9:48 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(1 of 24) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>51028.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD id=msgtxt_1 class=msgtxt>When grassroots leaders may not provide most accurate feedback

showimageCC.aspx

by Ong Dai Lin
04:46 AM May 14, 2011
SINGAPORE - Members of Parliament (MPs) should not just depend on grassroots leaders to tell them about ground sentiment towards the Government.

This is because some grassroots leaders may not give accurate feedback and only highlight the positives, said several People's Action Party (PAP) MPs MediaCorp spoke to.

Their comments come after Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Hwee Hwa said on Wednesday that the PAP Aljunied Group Representation Constituency (GRC) team was surprised that the resentment towards the Government was so deep.

Mrs Lim, who is also Second Minister for Finance and Transport, and her team lost to the Workers' Party team at the May 7 polls, giving the Opposition party their first win in a GRC.

To fully understand residents' sentiments, MPs should have their own feelers on the ground and cultivate various sources of feedback, said MPs.

Mr Zaqy Mohamad, MP for Hong Kah GRC, said Singaporeans are "generally kind people" who might not reflect any negative feelings to MPs during meetings.

He added: "MPs have to be able to go to the ground to get first-hand feedback ... and have your own informal network."

MP for Tampines GRC Baey Yam Keng, also stressed the importance of having different sources for "balanced and true feedback".

The information MPs get "may be filtered" as grassroots leaders, while "dedicated and committed", might "sometimes choose to tell you more positive things than the negative", said Mr Baey, who visits online forums and holds regular chat sessions with residents.

On Mrs Lim's remarks, MP for Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC Teo Ser Luck said while candidates must have confidence going into an election, things may change during the campaign and affect the mood of residents.

Mrs Lim's statement could reflect the disconnect of the PAP from the ground and the need to find more ways to understand public sentiment, said analysts.

While he expressed surprise at Mrs Lim's remark, former Nominated MP Zulkifli Baharudin said Singaporeans could be "overly politically polite" and might not "demonstrate their unhappiness to MPs or people associated with MPs".

Singapore Management University law professor Eugene Tan said that the PAP, while aware of the unhappiness of voters with the party, might have misread its extent.

He noted that the PAP had also misread the ground in the past, citing how former Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong had said in the 1991 elections that the ground was sweet but the PAP then lost four seats and saw its lowest victory margin since independence.

Dr Rueben Wong from the National University of Singapore's political science department said the PAP cannot depend on grassroots leaders for feedback as they were PAP supporters and MPs need to find alternative voices, for instance, through social media.

"The PAP has to understand the rules of the game have changed. You must listen to people, adjust policy and sometimes, question your own party," he said.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

cooleo

Those lazy ass MPs should just do their own work and work the ground, instead of asking their lapdogs.

lianbeng

lianbeng says, "grassroot leaders by definition work on the ground eating grass like cows, goats n sheep, etc... so they will also feed those pigs above with grass-info lor.":biggrin:

In response to a question from a reporter on whether his ministers were aware of the ground issues, LHL said something to the effect that they were and that they were well informed of the situation. Instinctively, I knew that my suspicions about the aloof MPs were confirmed.

There has been much talk about the new challenges the PAP will face in recruiting candidates come 2016 ( http://singaporealternatives.blogspot.com/2011/05/pap-lost-their-biggest-gamble.html ) they will also have problems recruiting the mini-emperors aka grassroot leeches. Some of the Bedok GRC grassloot tripods have gone into hiding, no longer seen at the market or coffeeshops dropping names and telling tales of their lowly lives as porlampars for the MPs there. They have been shunned by their neigbours and coffeeshop kakis.

All these, in a PAP GRC.

lianbeng

lianbeng used to volunteer service with CCs n heard those grassrooters said, "never tell MP what is happening here hor! they sit in aircon office like kings we are sweating out here like slaves." :biggrin:

sirus

Seems to me the grassroot leaders inoculate grass (weed) sap to their masters. That is why PAP is hallucinating. he..he..

1. honest, if it is so, the system fails badly.
2. those elite sheep are just useless and kosong.
3. there is simply no contingency or what if it so-called world crass system flops!

ahleebabasingaporethief

There are many big people in S'pore who are Grasslooters.

Just count the number of DEVELOPERS among this group and you may understand why our TOP Garment people may have been FOOLED by these astute businessmen; into developing strategies that went against the NATION but made these people tonnes of money.:eek:

Any stories anyone?

alantan27

Agree, Once my Mp was scheduling to visit my flat

B4 the viist. painting and washing were done all over the places

What this imply?

So now, they are blaming their grassroot lap dogs. tsk tsk. Now we really know we are paying them $15000 - 18000 a month to do fuck all.

mesmerised

Bloody scums now blame everyone except their own incompetence for their failures. Teo Chee Hian blames the Public Service, MPs blame the grassroots, LKY will blame GCT..GCT will blame Tin Pei Lin..and Tin Pei Lin will blame the netizens!!

And they want to call themselves leaders...pui!!

The PAP leaders surround themselves with "yes men" and pour scorn on anyone who dare say a word against their leadership. Am sure many amongst the grassroots simply go along with their MPs despite feeling that things are not right. Won't ne surprised that some even voted for the Opposition!

mesmerised

but during their meet the people session, they wld have picked up some resentment, at least

You dare to go PAP "Meet the People" session and show resentment? You can forget about getting even a $20 NTUC Voucher is you go there and say that PAP policies sucks. People go there to seek help...probably say, " Dear MP, people say you very kind, very helpful, very sincere, understand the plight of the poor...can help me, please. I always vote PAP leh" etc.etc.

And the blur MP of course believes that everyone loves them from the bottom of their heart!

shitonleeky

You dare to go PAP "Meet the People" session and show resentment? You can forget about getting even a $20 NTUC Voucher is you go there and say that PAP policies sucks. People go there to seek help...probably say, " Dear MP, people say you very kind, very helpful, very sincere, understand the plight of the poor...can help me, please. I always vote PAP leh" etc.etc.

And the blur MP of course believes that everyone loves them from the bottom of their heart!

I agreed wholeheartedly. These people will suck up to the PAPies in order for their various requests to be answered. They can't b shooting themselves in the foot by highlighting the shortcomings of PAPies' policies. PAPies in turn, don't know what hit them so they must find scapegoats.