• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Graduate starting salaries in 2009

I'm surprised that accountancy get so low pay $2400. That's a big difference compared to those on the high end $3000. And people say accountacy is a high stress job :(

2400 is the starting pay for audit associates. but the good thing is their pay will rise 1000/yr for the next 3 years if they stick on in the line and get promoted. Not many grads will earn 5k after 4 years of shit if they take it.

May I know why ..you called accountancy grads and auditors' losers :confused:

Accounting is a hard discipline to study. And bean counting is unglamourous, hard work.

saying that, it provides a good base for your business career. I know many engineers are taking up post grad accounting.

NUS, NTU and SMU degrees are not recognised in the states.

companies in the sf bay area don't care what dogshit u's they come from. these are not full time employees. they are just trainees and interns on a 1 year visa, and after their stint they had to return to sg, no if's and but's. companies are more than willing to have these 1-year workers because they can get more out of these eager virgins at lower pay. a comparable u.s. full time worker going thru' the same training and doing the same grunt work is paid more.

eQuipment

according to a site, can earn 1 months salary in a day. study so hard for what? even the FTs are adapting fast!

remuneration.jpg

sammymugabe

Accounting is a hard discipline to study. And bean counting is unglamourous, hard work.

saying that, it provides a good base for your business career. I know many engineers are taking up post grad accounting.

Hahaha that's hardly the "sign" that accounting is not some loser profession. Engineering is in the deepest shithole among all shitholes you can find in Singapore that the PAP gov is so worried and has enlisted various agencies including EDB to run ADVERTISEMENTS in the state press to promote engineering as a field to go to.

Even several of the engineer-MP including farmer Lee Bee Wah said to the state press that many of ministers and perm secs are aware that NO president's scholar has taken up engineering for the past 4-5 years. :biggrin:

Robert Half

It true :o

study till honours only 2.2K. a dipolma holder also earn that pay after 1 year or so. LOL

Do you know many snobbish female finance managers at mean age of 34 yrs old earning around $8,000 a month mostly in MNC based in Singapore.

They are start working as auditor -> accountant -> senior accountant -> finance manager.
They keep changing jobs to up their salaries.

Financial controllers earn around $12,000 to $18,000 a month.

Not to mention about CFO level :wink:

sammymugabe

2400 is the starting pay for audit associates. but the good thing is their pay will rise 1000/yr for the next 3 years if they stick on in the line and get promoted. Not many grads will earn 5k after 4 years of shit if they take it.

The reason why the pay is low and increment is high is because of the extremely high drop-out rate. So the big3 normally recruit in the thousands every year. This is common knowledge. Only 2 out of 10 of the audit recruits stay within the auditing "industry" after 3 years. The long hours and poor pay are big factors in the exodus. Majority of them go become property agents, insurance agents, financial advisers.

$5k after 4 years at almost 30 yr old for a sinkie male is hardly good pay.

Even a farmer (local grad) in the civil service (any of the ministries like MFA or teacher) also earn that amount by 30.

Among the scholars,....SAF scholars get more than that amount.........at the age of 22!!!!

sammymugabe

Do you know many snobbish female finance managers at mean age of 34 yrs old earning around $8,000 a month mostly in MNC based in Singapore.

They are start working as auditor -> accountant -> senior accountant -> finance manager.
They keep changing jobs to up their salaries.

Financial controllers earn around $12,000 to $18,000 a month.

Not to mention about CFO level :wink:

I'm in the HR line, so I'm more than certain and updated on remuneration packages, not to worry.

The highest average income per annum of a finance manager (MNC or what have you, doesn't impress us here) is about $120k at the average age of 38 (for women) and 40 (for men). Before that, its much less la but built up over the years.

I know you're trying to impress the forum with your figures of what accountants may potentially earn later in their careers but what I've been trying to tell you is that the figures are not impressive and are below average compared to other professions (later in life). This is BEFORE we factor in the absurdly low pay at the beginning of their careers, making their opportunity costs even higher.

If you want to have an idea what I'm talking about, the annual package of $120k we talked about above for the 38 year woman female finance manager or 40 yr old for male, is the annual income of some people I know at the age of 26 (men).

Btw, people only compare annual packages when making comparisons or considering job offers. Monthly pay is nothing and its also well known that many foreign companies do not give any bonus while GLCs like Keppel and ST give 8 months so citing things like MNC or whatever no longer impresses anyone.

Robert Half

I'm in the HR line, so I'm more than certain and updated on remuneration packages, not to worry.

The highest average income per annum of a finance manager (MNC or what have you, doesn't impress us here) is about $120k at the average age of 38 (for women) and 40 (for men). Before that, its much less la but built up over the years.

I know you're trying to impress the forum with your figures of what accountants may potentially earn later in their careers but what I've been trying to tell you is that the figures are not impressive and are below average compared to other professions (later in life). This is BEFORE we factor in the absurdly low pay at the beginning of their careers, making their opportunity costs even higher.

Btw, people only compare annual packages when making comparisons or considering job offers. Monthly pay is nothing and its also well known that many foreign companies do not give any bonus while GLCs like Keppel and ST give 8 months so citing things like MNC or whatever no longer impresses anyone.

I am not trying to impress anyone here but just to tell some people
that accountant profession did make a decent salary and the pay jump is high & fast.

You maybe in HR line but some salaries offered to finance managers, controllers or CFO sometimes
cannot be measures under in industry rates

sammymugabe

I am not trying to impress anyone here but just to tell some people that accountant profession did make a decent salary and the pay jump is high & fast.

You maybe in HR line but some salary given to finance managers, controllers or CFO sometimes cannot be measures under in industry rates

Read below.

If you want to have an idea what I'm talking about, the annual package of $120k we talked about above for the 38 year woman female finance manager or 40 yr old for male, is the annual income of some people I know at the age of 26 (men). Any of the so-called "finance managers, controllers or CFO" earned that amount at that age? I doubt so.

subtext: maybe you're the only one in the whole universe that thinks it's high and fast. when we're only exposed to the small circle that surround us, we tend to think that is actually the big picture.

Robert Half

Read below.

If you want to have an idea what I'm talking about, the annual package of $120k we talked about above for the 38 year woman female finance manager or 40 yr old for male, is the annual income of some people I know at the age of 26 (men)

subtext: maybe you're the only one in the whole universe that thinks it's high and fast. when we're only exposed to the small circle that surround us, we tend to think that is actually the big picture.

Ok la !! some finance managers that I know.. they are not even qualified at all to earn $8,000 to $11,000 a month.

Why I define their earning by a month and not per annum..think about :confused:

The reason why the pay is low and increment is high is because of the extremely high drop-out rate. So the big3 normally recruit in the thousands every year. This is common knowledge. Only 2 out of 10 of the audit recruits stay within the auditing "industry" after 3 years. The long hours and poor pay are big factors in the exodus. Majority of them go become property agents, insurance agents, financial advisers.

$5k after 4 years at almost 30 yr old for a sinkie male is hardly good pay.

Even a farmer (local grad) in the civil service (any of the ministries like MFA or teacher) also earn that amount by 30.

Shouldn't look at the payout at year 4 in isolation. For accounting grads, 4 years of audit experience would give them a good foundation when they apply for the next job. Of course, this is only applicable if they go on to a related field. Not talking about becoming a property agent or taxi driver or geylang freelancer.

I would consider accounting one of the most valuable degrees out there.

Among the scholars,....SAF scholars get more than that amount.........at the age of 22!!!!

Really?? I didn't know this. Is this pay level only for overseas scholars/combat pilots/EOD specialists? or all of them jiak liao bee officers?

What rot u talking, simi years of working experience? These are figures for FRESH GRAD pay. It is accurate that accountancy grads earn the least among all grads, as most of them are recruited as auditors by the big 3 audit firms, and the starting pay for auditors IS indeed $2.4k. In fact this figure is already an increase from last few years when it's only $2.2k. I know this FOR A FACT cos i know at least 10 losers who became auditors after NTU accountancy or SMU and that is the pay they draw.

Please go and ask any loser accountancy grad you know what auditor's pay is.

What I trying to indicate is that fresh grad starting pay for a accountant can have a big gap For those loser Accounts grad you mentioned, working as a start for the big 3 firm, $2.4k is already not bad liao. I know of some clowns accounts grad from NTU who joined some half-past-6 company, given title of Accountant and their starting pay was $1.8k, slight edge over a diploma grad. Accountant, auditors, Accounts asst, are just titles lor.

cocobobo

when i started my career 15 years ago, an engineer with good honours starts at 2.7k/mth.

15 years later its still the same, if not less starting pay....

0 inflation? hard luck y'all.

sammymugabe

Shouldn't look at the payout at year 4 in isolation. For accounting grads, 4 years of audit experience would give them a good foundation when they apply for the next job. Of course, this is only applicable if they go on to a related field. Not talking about becoming a property agent or taxi driver or geylang freelancer.

I would consider accounting one of the most valuable degrees out there.

I understand what you have said. What I said however, is that, the pay after 4 yrs of audit experience is still considered under the market, and this is why it is one of the most useless but overrated degrees out there, but most students don't know this of cos, and by the time they do..it's too late. Hahahaha.

Robert Half and I have spoken at length on this earlier, you may go back and refer. We have talked about and agreed that the highest pay and most common route taken by these audit dropouts is the finance manager route. And we have agreed on the highest pay they can get at that appointment and at what age.

And the commanded median peaked pay is lower or the same as mass or general degree holders at the same age even though it claims to be a "professional" degree. I can tell you for a fact that a pang sai farmer teacher in MOE earns the same amount (annual pay) at 38, as does many other general degree holders in public relations, marketing, journalism. So that is NOT a premium degree by any chance (compared to other farmer degrees).

In addition, many of the audit dropouts or fresh local accountancy, communication studies and business graduates end up as insurance agents.

Really?? I didn't know this. Is this pay level only for overseas scholars/combat pilots/EOD specialists? or all of them jiak liao bee officers?
When people say "SAF scholars", they ONLY refer to SAFOS scholars. They are paid a lot. their salaries are one of the few that are pegged to Admin Service regardless of and before absorption.

A SAFOS in army earns more than a farmer fighter pilot.

These people get job offers all the time. I know several who are headhunted by consultancies and overseas (top) universities and banks, whilst they are only at CPT level in SAF. Let's just say if SAF pays them any less, they would and could easily leave and most would.

And all you'd have left are a bunch of jia leow bee illiterate and dense farmers no one in the private sector could care less of, running your armed forces, ships, fighter planes and tanks.

sammymugabe

companies in the sf bay area don't care what dogshit u's they come from. these are not full time employees. they are just trainees and interns on a 1 year visa, and after their stint they had to return to sg, no if's and but's. companies are more than willing to have these 1-year workers because they can get more out of these eager virgins at lower pay. a comparable u.s. full time worker going thru' the same training and doing the same grunt work is paid more.

i agree with you that nus, ntu and smu degrees are worth the same as dogshit.

sammymugabe

QUT, Deakin or CQU degrees shouldn't pay too well, if not the same as local.
Local degrees are on par with Aussie universities like QUT, RMIT, Curtin and James Cook University. They are below the standard of top Aussie universities like ANU, University of Melbourne, and University of Sydney.

There is a huge disparity in standards between the top Aussie universities (known as the Great 8) and the rest of the universities in the country.

NUS, NTU and SMU are very similar to the pang sai Aussie universities, with the same low standards for admission and another thing they have in common? None of them has got a Nobel laureate and they will never.

The total number of Nobel laureates by top Aussie universities (the great 8) is 15 thereabouts. Japanese universities have almost 20 to 25 Nobel laureates.

NUS, NTU and SMU degrees have the same value as a used toilet paper in Singapore and outside of Singapore. It's so bad that even the local universities themselves do not value their own PhD holders. They look down on themselves, everyone in the who's who of HR knows.

NUS PhD holders are made to become lowly teaching assistant (TA) after 5 yrs as a post-doc and they remain TA for pretty much forever, whereas a 29 year old overseas graduate is made Assoc Professor in such a breeze there. Dun believe. Ask around anyone in the academic circles and browse through the CVs of the Assoc Profs and Profs there. One example is Bristol law grad by the name Ms Tay who is co-owner of club butter factory. She was instantly made "Assoct Prof" in the SMU law school without a PhD when she was 28 or 29. How even they (local universities) know they are crap is such a joke among the top graduates I speak to.

The sinkie NUS PhD holders I know are all working in polytechnics doing farmer work like planning curriculum.

The only thing our local dumpsters excel in doing is throwing large and odious amounts of our taxpayers' dollars into funding the tropical vacations of post docs and staff of top universities through whoring themselves and begging them in tears on their knees for "tie-ups", joint degrees and "exchange programmes".

The report card speaks for itself. 10 years since Shih Choon Fong began his whoring to top-universities sell-backside exercise and an unspeakable amount of tax dollars gone, local unis remain shitty, with the same zero Nobel laureates and still taking in all and sundry from the A level cohort and their law and med schools, the scholarship rejects.

While these top universities that whored the local universities and enjoyed their big loose sore assholes continue to chalk up Nobel laureates for themselves.