• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Govt will take action on illegal tradesmen: Tan Chuan-Jin

cheesecake

By Imelda Saad
POSTED: 21 Jan 2014 15:44

Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin reiterated that it is illegal for foreigners on social visit pass to work in Singapore, when he was asked in Parliament on Tuesday about an informal sector of tradesmen from Malaysia who come to Singapore to work.

SINGAPORE: Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin reiterated that it is illegal for foreigners on social visit pass to work in Singapore, when he was asked in Parliament on Tuesday about an informal sector of tradesmen from Malaysia who come to Singapore to work.

MP for Tampines GRC Baey Yam Keng said the workers are usually freelance plumbers, air con servicemen or electricians.

He asked if the ministry is able to track their movements.

Mr Tan added since they do not pay the foreign worker levy, such tradesmen are able to charge lower fees compared to locals, and therefore could contribute to a wage depression of local workers in similar trades.

Opposition MP Low Thia Khiang wanted to know what sort of enforcement action the ministry takes on such workers.

Mr Tan said authorities conduct random checks based on feedback and complaints, and action will be taken against such illegal tradesmen.

If convicted, they could be fined up to S$20,000, jailed up to two years and barred from entry into Singapore for up to two years.

Mr Tan said: "I think it's also important for us to encourage industry associations to play a role by raising awareness for consumers on the importance of turning to properly accredited and trained tradesmen.

“...The more you employ those who are here illegally, you also actually affect the livelihood of Singaporeans who may be plying the trade in these sectors."

- CNA/nd

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/govt-will-take-action-on/961822.html

Again the PAP was taken by surprise despite this Malaysian illegal tradesmen has been coming in droves doing odd jobs since more than 10 years ago. In fact, many are sub-contractors and they employed Malaysian workers to build houses even. My friend's semi-d was renovated(complete make-over) by Malaysians.

Now after so many years, they discovered this happening? WTF!

"Mr Tan added since they do not pay the foreign worker levy, such tradesmen are able to charge lower fees compared to locals, and therefore could contribute to a wage depression of local workers in similar trades"

Wah! such enlightenment...ommm ommmm ! must be nearer to nirvana by now..Mr.Tan. You pay these clowns to tell you this...you know you have been living in the gutter for the last 25 years..thank you 60%.

Again the PAP was taken by surprise despite this Malaysian illegal tradesmen has been coming in droves doing odd jobs since more than 10 years ago. In fact, many are sub-contractors and they employed Malaysian workers to build houses even. My friend's semi-d was renovated(complete make-over) by Malaysians.

when tan chuan jin renovated his home, he is not aware meh :D

Should check out those Malaysian Registered Rusty Vans travelling on the roads in Singapore.. most of the time carrying trade tools or materials..

Save $$ on COE and import tax of singapore registered commercial vehicles..

Should check out those Malaysian Registered Rusty Vans travelling on the roads in Singapore.. most of the time carrying trade tools or materials..

Save $$ on COE and import tax of singapore registered commercial vehicles..

they usually ride bikes lah

All these illegal tradesmen from across Causeway was since 1980s and farkard old fart has not take any action.

I have been complaining on this for ages. This is a problem when you have once ONE PARTY system in parliament.

Fuck PAP to death.

By Imelda Saad
POSTED: 21 Jan 2014 15:44

Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin reiterated that it is illegal for foreigners on social visit pass to work in Singapore, when he was asked in Parliament on Tuesday about an informal sector of tradesmen from Malaysia who come to Singapore to work.

SINGAPORE: Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin reiterated that it is illegal for foreigners on social visit pass to work in Singapore, when he was asked in Parliament on Tuesday about an informal sector of tradesmen from Malaysia who come to Singapore to work.

MP for Tampines GRC Baey Yam Keng said the workers are usually freelance plumbers, air con servicemen or electricians.

He asked if the ministry is able to track their movements.

Mr Tan added since they do not pay the foreign worker levy, such tradesmen are able to charge lower fees compared to locals, and therefore could contribute to a wage depression of local workers in similar trades.

Opposition MP Low Thia Khiang wanted to know what sort of enforcement action the ministry takes on such workers.

Mr Tan said authorities conduct random checks based on feedback and complaints, and action will be taken against such illegal tradesmen.

If convicted, they could be fined up to S$20,000, jailed up to two years and barred from entry into Singapore for up to two years.

Mr Tan said: "I think it's also important for us to encourage industry associations to play a role by raising awareness for consumers on the importance of turning to properly accredited and trained tradesmen.

“...The more you employ those who are here illegally, you also actually affect the livelihood of Singaporeans who may be plying the trade in these sectors."

- CNA/nd

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/govt-will-take-action-on/961822.html

This was since the PAP pioneers.

No respect for those dead and still alive PAP pioneers. They are the most evil people and all die in hell fire.

WTF, take action against the tradesmen.

Take action against those who hire them - the problem will stop overnight.

This is the kind of BS that the govt feeds us - it is part of their plan to help businesses reduce costs.

Go along Geylang area, where there are small groups of men squatting around, waiting for contractors who need people of specific skills for short term.

WTF, take action against the tradesmen.

Take action against those who hire them - the problem will stop overnight.

This is the kind of BS that the govt feeds us - it is part of their plan to help businesses reduce costs.

Go along Geylang area, where there are small groups of men squatting around, waiting for contractors who need people of specific skills for short term.

typical PAP scholars....:D

Again the PAP was taken by surprise despite this Malaysian illegal tradesmen has been coming in droves doing odd jobs since more than 10 years ago ...
sinkielan got a loong clothes-line ...

Aiya. It is open secret some contractors uses Malaysian subcon to do government contracts. Saw those Malaysian vans and workers running cables at HDB in Yishun few months ago.

Goodness, govt just about to go after everyone tax dollar there is ....
Govt so cash strapped?

He just born yesterday? Is this supposed to be something new?

This Baey also boliao one. Ask this kind of question in Parliament. How many jobs do these tradesmen actually take away?

I did a few setups since early 90s.now I really thank whoever upstairs. If I made it earlier, now I probably more cham. Thank u, pap for making sinkees life bad. Thank you, thank you for allowing limpeh to retire at 40. Thank u so much for letting me know how fucked up pap is. Without pap, me probably still working. Maybe a cleaner at your hawker centre.

Just a few tradesmen will not upset the apple cart when the PAP smartypants let in hordes of Indian nationals with wide open gates right under our noses, and they talk about affecting people's lives now?

We should hang the Minister who stupidly signed the CECA and trash our dreams of a Swiss standard of living for the next 20 years.