• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Govt. gives $83K in medical subsidies for PRs? How do citizens get this?

CLAP CLAP CLAP! another STINKAPORE LAMPAR SATU!

eh......STINKEES can swallow this arh? wah lan eh! SMELLY PEENOY FT got so much subsidies, STINKESS leh?

Really, respect STINKEES, KAN SEE LANG HO LUN. respect, respect.

bring what up, the $83k subsidies?

i think u never ever seen a hospitalization bill b4. a typical bill can run into $150k for those class C patients too, especially those who kenna prolong stay and also need ICU type. Every thing the patient used were itemized, a normal xray is bill ard $200 but after govt sudsidies become $20. a day in ICU can cost $3-500 daily but class C mean it become ard $65 etc etc... that how the $83K subsidies came about. the amount charged by these restructured hospitals are crazy, machiam since govt already subsidying, might as well charge high high. if u look into hospitals annual reports, most if not all declared losses every financial year which seems weird when the hospitals are charging the govt and patients so high. according to internal sources, the management think ppl will not be happy if hospitals make money so they use "keling sums" ie... using internal billing among the hospital and its holding company to transfer profit to its $2 registered holding company.

Wah lau ...sinkapore hospitals are as guat as the American ones.
Never trust the financial statements from GLC or the government ...they are manipulated all the time to suit the political goal. That's why we have the HDB 'subsidy'. God knows that that subsidy is non-existent, yet sinkees believe the PAP's bs about how much the HDB is subsidizing.

This government is very pro Foreigners, is written all over the "face" of the Government which is aiming to get 6.9 millions into this little red dot.
Going forward, in order to identify a Singapore born Singaporean is no more seeing an Pink IC but a birth certificate.

The subtly announced target is 8 million. 6.9 million is so yesterday.

according to the following article, there is such thing as second gen pr.

http://news.asiaone.com/News/Latest+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20120701-356519.html

Sons of PRs must do NS to keep status: Defence Minister
inShare.AsiaOne
Sunday, Jul 01, 2012
SINGAPORE - Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen reiterated that sons of permanent residents (PRs) have to complete national service (NS) in order to keep PR status.

Speaking to the Straits Times, Minister Ng said that first-generation PRs are exempted from NS, but have to be aware that their sons have to complete the duty if they apply for PR status for their children.

"The basic message to permanent residents is this: If you want to take up permanent residency for your children, please do so recognizing that they have to do NS as a duty and there will be a course if you don't.

"So, it's better not to take up PR if your children are not going to do NS," he said.

Addressing concerns about NS-liable PRs renouncing their residency before serving NS, Dr Ng added that second-generation PRs face harsh penalties if they choose not to fulfill their two years and give up their PR status.

Minister Ng's comments come as an ongoing debate takes place about the need for more punitive measures to make second-generation PRs serve the military stint, including imposing a security bond on their parents, to be forfeited if the sons do not go through NS.

Dr Ng said that current measures in place are already harsher than that.

According to RazorTV, 8,800 male foreigners who became PRs under the sponsorship of their parents over the last five years enlisted in NS.

However, another 4,200 renounced their PR status prior to serving NS.

According to Colonel Kenneth Liow, second-generation PRs' failure to serve NS will be taken into account when they apply to study or work in Singapore in the future, said in a letter to The Straits Times forum.

Minister Ng also said that he received letter letters from families who say they have been separated because NS-liable PRs chose not to complete their duty.

Dr Ng, however, pointed out that Singapore has to enforce the NS policy to send a clear signal that NS duty must be fulfilled, despite the difficulties.

I guess its the usage of the word "second generation" PR. For example, I am a 3rd generation SIngaporean. My grandfather who came to SIngapore was the first generation. In Japanese, I would be sansei and my parents would be nissei. But the very definition of "generation" means to have been borned in this country. If you are a PR and emigrated here, you are first generation. If you bring your children with you, they are also first generation PR because they are not born here. They can be classified as younger PRs but not second generation PRs. If the children of the PR were born here, than they are automatic citizens, not PR anymore. In this case, this pinoy was a PR for 13 years, and some of his children are 22, so for sure they would be born in the Phillippines. If this pinoy is a first generation Filipino, his children will be second generation filipinos. In my opinion, the govt. usage of second generation is wrong and shows poor understanding of the term.