• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Govt could look at rewarding ex-NSmen: SM Goh

MarrickG

THE Government could, in some way, look into recognising the contributions of older Singaporeans who have completed their national-service cycle, said Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong.

As a possibility, he suggested helping those over 55 years old with their medical needs.

SM Goh had been speaking at a post-National Day Rally dialogue last evening with more than 200 grassroots leaders from Marine Parade GRC.

He also added that the Government would take note of suggestions to recognise the sacrifices of those who have completed their national-service cycle.

Last week, the Ministry of Defence announced details of the National Service Recognition Award with payouts of up to $9,000 and $10,500 to NSmen. The award is only for Singapore citizens and does not benefit those who have already completed their national-service cycle.

SM Goh and Marine Parade GRC MPs Lim Biow Chuan and Ong Seh Hong also took queries at the dialogue on concerns such as foreign workers, traffic congestion, carpark woes and public-housing rules.

SM Goh said that the problems Singapore faces today can be resolved, "provided we take a rational approach".

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100907-235894.html

PAP always send Lau Goh to test water over unpopular policy.

What to do the, PAP obviously don't appreciate the sacrifices of the older Spore males.:rolleyes:

Obviously they are trying to salvage the lost votes from older Sporean males.

It's bad enough with all the price increases they've announced during these hard economic times. Now they have rubbed salt among older Sporeans who can do something about the PAP problem.

Vote wisely in the next election, it might be your last chance to send a message to the old man :mad:

Must not discriminate lah. Just give all NSmen $9K. As it is, it goes to CPF so it is not money that they have to dole out till people retire. For NSmen that already retire, $9K can go into their medisave or annuity scheme. For the "younger" ex NSmen - 25-50 - money can go to CPF and can assist in buying their first home.

Most impt is no discrimination. Alfter all we keep talking about one nation, one people.

SM Goh and Marine Parade GRC MPs Lim Biow Chuan and Ong Seh Hong also took queries at the dialogue on concerns such as foreign workers, traffic congestion, carpark woes and public-housing rules. SM Goh said that the problems Singapore faces today can be resolved, "provided we take a rational approach".

Haven't SINgaporens taken a rational approach over the years, it had begun by accepting the Malaysians who worked here, muscled in many jobs SINgaporeans can fill, later granting them PR status, killing many NS liability males ability to compete for jobs....

Liberal issuance of COE's , in name controlling the number of cars, but Greed got over them, when collecting more COEs mean more income thus putting a burden on the road grid, which wasn't designed for the large increaces by an ever increasingly number of cars; which in return creating parking problems & social ones too.

The stop at two policy plus the large number of capable SINgaporeans going overseas to study due to entrance requirement in Mother's Tongue ( in this case Chinese), and many do not return; caused a decline in fertility rate & the large number of local brains who never came back plus many who had migrated also. This in return fuel an insatiable need to bring in foreigners to work in SINgapore..and once again, GREED, for more foreigners more indirect taxes, workers levy...and so forth.

So, aren't most SINgaporeans reasonable?...the 66.6% the most reasonable for they accept all this...with GOOD CHEER!... ha ha ha

knn ass loong really damn clever...stir up a storm over this $9000 allowance and then quickly run off to hide in China and ask lau goh to soothe the ppl anger for him...wat kind stupid leader we have..:mad::mad::mad::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Matthew 20:1-16

"For the kingdom of heaven is like a landowner who went out early in the morning to hire men to work in his vineyard. He agreed to pay them a denarius for the day and sent them into his vineyard. "About the third hour he went out and saw others standing in the marketplace doing nothing. He told them, 'You also go and work in my vineyard, and I will pay you whatever is right.' So they went. "He went out again about the sixth hour and the ninth hour and did the same thing. About the eleventh hour he went out and found still others standing around. He asked them, 'Why have you been standing here all day long doing nothing?'" 'Because no one has hired us,' they answered. "He said to them, 'You also go and work in my vineyard.' 8"When evening came, the owner of the vineyard said to his foreman, 'Call the workers and pay them their wages, beginning with the last ones hired and going on to the first.' "The workers who were hired about the eleventh hour came and each received a denarius. So when those came who were hired first, they expected to receive more. But each one of them also received a denarius. 11When they received it, they began to grumble against the landowner. 'These men who were hired last worked only one hour,' they said, 'and you have made them equal to us who have borne the burden of the work and the heat of the day.' "But he answered one of them, 'Friend, I am not being unfair to you. Didn't you agree to work for a denarius? Take your pay and go. I want to give the man who was hired last the same as I gave you. Don't I have the right to do what I want with my own money? Or are you envious because I am generous?' "So the last will be first, and the first will be last."

Life is unfair, if Men have agreed to the policies back then why complain and show the unhappiness only right now?

SM Goh said that the problems Singapore faces today can be resolved, "provided we take a rational approach".

PAP has been in power for decades.

They've never made mistakes & whenever there's a problem they wash their hands & blame the "lesser mortals". :(

Its time for Sporeans to take the rational approach & clean out some of the dead wood from parliament. I think many peanuts can be saved :) That's rational:D

Life is unfair, if Men have agreed to the policies back then why complain and show the unhappiness only right now?

NS has never been popular because it favours women & foreigners.

Those who want to leave Spore with their male children are penalised by bonds to prevent them from escaping NS.

Even among the elites NS has never been popular that's why you have schemes like the white horse policy to favour children of the elites.

pinky and his brains know one lah. give or dun give 9k to the unhappy laupengs, they still wont vote them one lah.

the rest are diehard pappy fans, dun give nevermind, they will swallow whatever excuses pap cooks up.

so might as well keep the 9k from the lau pengs and save a bunch.

NS has never been popular because it favours women & foreigners.

Those who want to leave Spore with their male children are penalised by bonds to prevent them from escaping NS.

Even among the elites NS has never been popular that's why you have schemes like the white horse policy to favour children of the elites.

Really with any amount of money from $9,000 to $9,999.99 ( you can hope), can never cancel out all the opportunity missed by SINgapore males in securing good paying jobs or opportunity in securing an employment, not that they can not find jobs.

In the past, the 'first fruits' are taken by the girls, who do not have to serve National Service, then came the Malaysians Males & Females, later with the gate opened for Hong Kong people ( remember tha handover to China), then the floodgates were opened for Pinoys, Indians...and now whatnots!.

How popular are their policies?...how how reasonable SINgaporeans are to be put up with all these...AMAZING YOUR SINgapore..:mad:

THE Government could, in some way, look into recognising the contributions of older Singaporeans who have completed their national-service cycle, said Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong.

As a possibility, he suggested helping those over 55 years old with their medical needs.

SM Goh had been speaking at a post-National Day Rally dialogue last evening with more than 200 grassroots leaders from Marine Parade GRC.

He also added that the Government would take note of suggestions to recognise the sacrifices of those who have completed their national-service cycle.

Last week, the Ministry of Defence announced details of the National Service Recognition Award with payouts of up to $9,000 and $10,500 to NSmen. The award is only for Singapore citizens and does not benefit those who have already completed their national-service cycle.

SM Goh and Marine Parade GRC MPs Lim Biow Chuan and Ong Seh Hong also took queries at the dialogue on concerns such as foreign workers, traffic congestion, carpark woes and public-housing rules.

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100907-235894.html

This is such a total wayang. gay Loong first announced the $9000 for Nsmen and thought that he would score easy points for the next GE. Insteaded , he created a backlash that he did not anticipate. Now, he send Wooden to float up a trail balloon about some murky pie in the eye scheme to help older NSmen such as with their medical bills.

In the first place, its much cheaper to provide all males who have done NS with free medical. Like the US have the veterans Administration. That way, if their health is damaged during NS, it can be fixed rather than wait until age 55 years where it will cost much more to cure. This should be owed to all males who have done NS anyway. No need to set up committee to talk cock and waste time. When the PAP has people over 55, they take care of them by paying them million dollar salaries and creating new positions for them. But when it comes to normal people over 55, its a "rational approach".

As for his comments about a rational approach. I have failed to see there PAP use a rational approach for a long time. The whole immigration policy does not appear rational to me, same for the housing cost issues, military spending, etc.

> Now, he send Wooden to float up a trail balloon >

Trial or trail??

>As for his comments about a rational approach. I have failed to see there PAP use a rational approach for a long time. The whole immigration policy does not appear rational to me, same for the housing cost issues, military spending, etc.>

Ask wooden, how rational was his approach, when some election past, threathen to remove all PCF kindergartens in Opposition wards, remove certain bus service, not to build a MRT station, later along the same stretch of road, build two ( one for the residents of the former cemeteries), staked his REPUTATION in taking back the two opposition wards...people minds are rational.

> Now, he send Wooden to float up a trail balloon >

Trial or trail??

>As for his comments about a rational approach. I have failed to see there PAP use a rational approach for a long time. The whole immigration policy does not appear rational to me, same for the housing cost issues, military spending, etc.>

Ask wooden, how rational was his approach, when some election past, threathen to remove all PCF kindergartens in Opposition wards, remove certain bus service, not to build a MRT station, later along the same stretch of road, build two ( one for the residents of the former cemeteries), staked his REPUTATION in taking back the two opposition wards...people minds are rational.

Wooden is just wiping up Gay Loong's mess. gay loong's NDP rally speech left more questions than answers, and he is there to play sweeper on a $3 million salary. Gay loong dispite so many years as DPM, 2 ministers to help him in the PMO, Wooden as SM, and Old Goat as MM still needs someone to wipe his backside when he cannot put together a coherent and logical speech

In the past, the 'first fruits' are taken by the girls, who do not have to serve National Service, then came the Malaysians Males & Females, later with the gate opened for Hong Kong people ( remember tha handover to China), then the floodgates were opened for Pinoys, Indians...and now whatnots!.

How popular are their policies?...how how reasonable SINgaporeans are to be put up with all these...AMAZING YOUR SINgapore..:mad:

I really don't think there's a future for Sporean males and even the females in Spore because not everyone can work in the "protective" confines of the civil service. The pot is getting smaller, with the PAP getting greedier.

Even with the current economic downturn the PAP just keeps on wasting money & increasing the cost of living for the citizens. Nowadays they don't even bother waiting until winning the elections :eek:

I think older citizens from the 66% are starting to realise this. Thats what I thought in the last 2 elections, this time I really think they will wake up, ehh I think they will wake up :confused: