Government is Working with Grocery Sellers to Sell Expired Food to Sinkie to help to lower cost of living

gingerlyn

Unsold but not unwanted food: What do supermarkets in Singapore do with these
Close to 1.3 billion tonnes of food is wasted every year, even as more than 800 million people worldwide go to bed hungry every night. In this fourth instalment of a six-part series on food waste, The Sunday Times, in partnership with DBS Bank, takes a close look at supermarkets, which have been singled out as a major culprit globally for throwing out perfectly edible food.

I love PAP. Very caring to help us to lower cost of living

SINGAPORE - Crushed cereal boxes, dented tuna cans and torn labels. These are things you rarely see on supermarket shelves in Singapore, and it is not by chance. Items deemed not good enough to sell are sieved out by supermarkets during the quality control process.

In the past, most of these items would have ended up in the trash. But as the issue of waste gains traction among the buying public, things are slowly changing.

Since 2015, supermarket chain FairPrice has been working with food charity Food from the Heart (FFTH) to redirect items from its 140-odd outlets to families and individuals who need them.

Last time government told us not to eat fresh meat because frozen meat is cheaper

Now government may ask grocery sellers to sell cheaper expired food to us

KNN my uncle kang tao confiscated by pap KNN lunch kena stolen by ft dinner also want to steal from my uncle KNN

depends on the food and beverage item. best before date doesn’t mean sexpiry of food for consumption. for sexample, a big container of mixed nuts from costco may have a bbd of june next year but may retain its quality thru’ december next year if it remains sealed throughout. i’m still enjoying crunchy cashews as though they’re freshly roasted although the bbd on the container reads nov-30-2020. however, sprout’s orange juice in the fridge tastes and smells funny although its bbd says dec-31-2020. the box containing it has bloated indicating gas sexpansion from fermentation. i would be more careful with eggs, milk, juice, fruit, meat, and vege. but snacks, nuts, seeds, dried foodstuffs, they can last on the shelf at least 6.9 years with airtight packaging.

KNN my uncle kang tao confiscated by pap KNN lunch kena stolen by ft dinner also want to steal from my uncle KNN

K.N.N.

Donch saids until Lidat Leh.

This is goodest news for @glockman
and me and nephew.

Now, we donch have to go around food ctr's tables to eat leftovers.
And have to fight the food with the pigeons.

depends on the food and beverage item. best before date doesn’t mean sexpiry of food for consumption. for sexample, a big container of mixed nuts from costco may have a bbd of june next year but may retain its quality thru’ december next year if it remains sealed throughout. i’m still enjoying crunchy cashews as though they’re freshly roasted although the bbd on the container reads nov-30-2020. however, sprout’s orange juice in the fridge tastes and smells funny although its bbd says dec-31-2020. the box containing it has bloated indicating gas sexpansion from fermentation. i would be more careful with eggs, milk, juice, fruit, meat, and vege. but snacks, nuts, seeds, dried foodstuffs, they can last on the shelf at least 6.9 years with airtight packaging.

K.N.N.

Tioks Lah.

Depending on how perishable they are,
can re-extend their shelf life by 6~9 days or even 6~9 weeks.

Anyway, a Begger like me and @glockman

cannot be choosy.

Cans eatz, donch waste mah.

LOL if singapore gahmen really want to help the people the should stop raising everything like GST, transportation fares, water and electricity bills then the people have extra cash to buy food for themself!

what the use trying to sell expired food when everything goes UP again in directly the expired food price also goes UP LOL bcak to square one!!!!
well singaporean failed to see this logic and will praise their master care for them lol

KNN my uncle say not only grocery stores are wasting food KNN not sure how fast food restoran operate now but lust time when my uncle worked in bk there is a crowd level indicator by the floor manager KNN eg mid crowd he will shout level 3 and press ding dong ding dong so my uncle need to prepare the fix lumber of each burger to standby for the crowd KNN but always some kind of burger noone will order then after like 15 or 20 mins it will goto the bin KNN my uncle asked the manager can he eat as the burger is so expensive but manager say cannot KNN

your uncle shld just fuck care the manager and tapao the burgers, then resell them at half price, lol

nine-most-terrifying-words.jpg

Always.

Either 越帮越忙, or never intended to help you in the first place. :wink:

your uncle shld just fuck care the manager and tapao the burgers, then resell them at half price, lol
KNN my uncle cannot leemember why he never ta pao :biggrin: KNN actually come to think of it it is so easy for him to make a few leelicious burger and pass it to friends or family member to bring home from the back door but why he never do KNN