Good Job as PAPzi Dog, the Unsinkified Need NOT Apply

Asterix

Internet Opinion Analyst is the bestest and cushiest job you can find
However need to have a vile character and be prepared to sell out
Everything that decent and “virtuous” people would hold dear to their hearts
I leave it to you guys to make up your own list of these ANALysts in Sammyboy

Two million 'internet opinion analysts' employed to monitor China's vast online population
Government employees trawl through blogs and social media to dissect public opinion

Some two million people are employed by the Chinese government at all levels, as well as businesses, to monitor public opinion on Chinese social media, according to a report in Thursday’s Beijing News.

By trawling through blogs, microblog posts and social networks, these "Internet opinion analysts," many of them independent contractors, dissect public opinion on local issues and try to identify accusations of corruption and poor governance. They keep local leadership, from county to province, informed on a daily basis via text messages and written reports.

The Beijing-based newspaper took advantage of a seminar for these monitors, held in the capital in mid-October by the People’s Daily Online Public Opinion Monitoring Centre, a think tank-like unit of the Communist Party’s official mouthpiece, to meet these usually anonymous local government staffers known as “online public opinion analysts”.
Even though the industry has been around for at least six years, the Ministry of Human Resources only listed their duties earlier this month as an official profession certified by the ministry’s China Employment Training Technical Instruction Centre.

Since 2008, the People’s Daily’s think tank has advised local governments to quicken the pace of issuing public statements and reacting to online debate and viral political statements. In 2011, it called on officials to react within the “four golden hours” after an incident, such a train crash or a riot, to provide information and prevent allegations of cover-ups.

One such analyst the Beijing News interviewed heads the public opinion monitoring office of a county in Henan province. Every day, the man with the pseudonym Yuan Ming would search his county’s name on Google and Baidu, the Chinese equivalent of the international search engine. Special software bought by the county at a cost of three million yuan alerts his office to trending topics on social media, according to the report.

Local Communist Party propaganda departments have for years employed contractors, known as wumao at a reported rate of 0.5 yuan paid for every online post, so they can monitor public opinion and counterbalance negative voices with positive ones, as well as slander those critical of the local or central government officials.

The certification of “public opinion monitors” has led many people online to quip that wumao have been given proper and government jobs, coveted by many for their job security.

“Who pays their salaries?” one person asked. “They use taxpayers’ money to suppress taxpayers’ voices,” wrote another.

http://www.scmp.com/news/china-insi...llion-employed-monitor-chinese-public-opinion

Kopi Fart missing in action for some time oredi
Maybe Lightning sponsored him for course
As accredited web opinion analyst
Special lessons in English for those
Sponsored by friendly foreign governments ...

Web 'opinion analyst' class may draw journalism grads, but some are wary
Work in new field may appeal to fresh journalism graduates, but some are wary of colluding in web censorship or propagandising for the party

A joint initiative by People's Daily and the Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security to provide accredited courses for "public opinion analysts" is likely to be welcomed by thousands of mainland journalism graduates struggling to find a job. But the move is raising unease in some quarters amid Beijing's heightened controls over the internet.

A unit of People's Daily Online specialising in public-opinion studies recently began recruiting students for the first class for accredited opinion analysts.

Students are charged 3,980 yuan (HK$5,030) for a five-day course plus 3,920 yuan for exams and accreditation.

Announcing the programme in September, the vice-president of People's Daily Online, Luo Hua , said that as the internet had gained such a prominent role in the interaction between the authorities and the public, its significance had drawn greater attention from government.

"So studying the public reaction to certain issues in the press has become a highly sophisticated and demanding job that only trained professionals are capable of doing," Luo said.

As part of its efforts to control the internet, the central government employs thousands of people to post comments online that are favourable to the Communist Party or reflect Beijing's position on global issues. They are known as the "50-centers", an anglicisation of the 0.50 yuan they are rumoured to receive for each positive posting or tweet.

Parents on September 11 wrote an open letter calling on some mainland universities, including Sichuan University, to stop recruiting "opinion analysts" on campus to snoop on fellow students and look for "unconstructive comments".

A student was summoned four times within a day in March by Sichuan University authorities for complaining on his microblog about illicit fees for exam passes.

The student told a blog he was shocked by how closely school authorities were able to follow him online with the help of student spies.

Discussions of the emerging industry have become so contentious that People's Daily Online censored a speech made by one of its managers from the public opinion research unit during a launch ceremony for the accreditation programme.

But according to The Beijing News, Shan Xuegang , a deputy section head of the public opinion studies unit at the People's Daily Online, said the main job for public-opinion analysts was to gather and assess online opinions for decision-makers at government agencies.

The media coverage of the abuse of child workers at unlicensed kilns in Shanxi province in 2007 was a watershed in the development of public-opinion analysis, as mainland authorities were caught unprepared by the overwhelming public reaction on the internet.

Qiao Mu , a communications expert at Beijing Foreign Studies University, said that because of fast-emerging technologies, authorities were barely able to control the internet in the same way as they controlled conventional media.

"Without the help of trained professionals, they might not able to keep up with the pace of information flow over the internet, not to mention make a timely response," Qiao said.

However, he said authorities needed to be careful to avoid a backlash.

Wang Xing , a senior journalism student in Beijing, said that while people like her were experiencing greater difficulty in finding a decent job because of oversupply, the fees for the accredited classes were too expensive for a college graduate like her.

She said she and her classmates were also worried about the perception that the public-opinion analysts colluded with censors in manipulating public opinion.

"I don't want to end up as a 50-center after spending four years studying journalistic impartiality and objectivity."

http://www.scmp.com/news/china/arti...class-may-draw-journalism-grads-some-are-wary

i think kopifart just blew his cover lah and will come back with his clone army soon.

mr lim kopiuncle has turned into a ghost
there was never any cover - all made up from that intellectual turd head JW5 and his equally stoopid clone head TFBH
they thought they had nailed kopi at along last....they are damned idiotic. and they thought they were so very cleber. i say PHUI to them....
kopi has no army. kopi has nothing. these gangsters ,thugs and bullies are simply jealous...the whole lot of them are NO MATCH to kopi's old uncle
what a damned disgrace. you have these fartheadas as OPPO, Singapore will perish and die long ago...thanks to our great LKY, these fartheads remain
fartheads and twitheads....hallelujah!!!

hahahahhhaaaaaaaa.......... no more coffeedrinker..........
ilovemysignature

everybody is entitled to a fresh start.

welcome to the forum ilovesingapore.

i hope we will have useful discussions here.

there was never any cover - all made up from that intellectual turd head JW5 and his equally stoopid clone head TFBH
they thought they had nailed kopi at along last....they are damned idiotic. and they thought they were so very cleber. i say PHUI to them....
kopi has no army. kopi has nothing. these gangsters ,thugs and bullies are simply jealous...the whole lot of them are NO MATCH to kopi's old uncle
what a damned disgrace. you have these fartheadas as OPPO, Singapore will perish and die long ago...thanks to our great LKY, these fartheads remain

btw, people might be offended by your effusive love of harry. tone it down a bit, we get the point.

hahahahhhaaaaaaaa.......... no more coffeedrinker..........
ilovemysignature

this bkt has been shadowing kopi for so long
in the end...found nothing....sad hor
quite a waste of talent ...better go sell bkt lah
but you are okay lah...not like those ccccby gangsters and thugs....

btw, people might be offended by your effusive love of harry. tone it down a bit, we get the point.

i agree ...many just couldn't stand my deep and profound love for our great leaders - our world class leaders with their first world governance and leadership
we have the best governance in the world
the best in everything and the best people under the sun
singaporeans are the best governed citizens of the world - the best behaved, the most polite, the most compassionate, the most charitable
we are an honourable people with great love for our country and leaders - majulah singapura!!!

everybody is entitled to a fresh start.

welcome to the forum ilovesingapore.

i hope we will have useful discussions here.

thank you sir....thank you for your warm welcome
as you can see....the war has started, the infractions have started, the zappings and moderating missiles have been fired...
and soon, i will have to sit on the bench and just watch the clowns and the morons wayanying each other.....

singapore is so well governed, so well organised, so well disciplined,so well planned in everything...there is no need to discuss anything or say anything..
we are almost perfect....in everything. thank you.

where is the all the vulgarity gone?????

hahahhahahaaa....................

Mr Bryan Lim is a gentleman here.
How I wish everyone behaves like a gentleman here.
Speaks softly, clearly and with no vulgarities.Kind, compassionate and tolerant.
Gives good advice. Posts good articles.

BUT STILL KANA WHACKED!!! Those who whacked Mr Lim will suffer with grave karmic retributions!!!

Keep up Mr Lim. I will support you. But I am a target myself...so soon,l will disappear once again....so do take care.

Keep YOUR FRIENDS CLOSE BUT YOUR ENEMIES MUCH MUCH CLOSER.....HOORAY!!!!!!!!!!

we should keep discussing until all is perfect.

you must be a ZEN MASTER. respect.

why are so many forummers here so vulgar, so obscene and so profane - and such a big bully?
they specially target those who are pro establishment and pro government and pro singapore.

what's wrong with them ? do you think they can form a good government? they are such useless morons ! how to form a credible opposition ?

just look at some of their so called intellectual giants here - JW5 and TFBH. They are empty and intellectual turds the most - arrogant, self-centred and utterly dictatorial.
They can't make it.They are already so old. They should just quit and join me at my kopitiam limping kopiO.

Mr Lim, you seem to be a good man. I hope you are one of our great leaders with a world class governance. Thank for being so kind and civil to me.

thank you for the compliment. i'm still learning while enjoying myself.

1) the veil of anonymity

2) the same thing that's wrong with all of us. yes they can. one can govern without being opposition or incumbent.

3) elderly have a place in society. wisdom comes with age, usually.

4) i am not qualified to lead.

you must be a ZEN MASTER. respect.

why are so many forummers here so vulgar, so obscene and so profane - and such a big bully?
they specially target those who are pro establishment and pro government and pro singapore.

what's wrong with them ? do you think they can form a good government? they are such useless morons ! how to form a credible opposition ?

just look at some of their so called intellectual giants here - JW5 and TFBH. They are empty and intellectual turds the most - arrogant, self-centred and utterly dictatorial.
They can't make it.They are already so old. They should just quit and join me at my kopitiam limping kopiO.

Mr Lim, you seem to be a good man. I hope you are one of our great leaders with a world class governance. Thank for being so kind and civil to me.