• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

GONG XI FA CAI to PAP from Egypt

motormafia

The bastard got his balls castrated!

http://www.reuters.com/article/2011...E70O3UW20110201?feedType=RSS&feedName=topNews

Mubarak holds talks, pushed by army, U.S. and protests

(Reuters) - Egyptian President Hosni Mubarak's deputy began talks on sweeping reforms with the opposition on Monday, as pressure from street protests, Western allies and the army appeared to be ending Mubarak's 30 years of one-man rule.

After a week of unprecedented rallies against poverty, corruption and oppression under the 82-year-old military-backed leader, newly-appointed Vice President Omar Suleiman appeared on state television to say Mubarak had asked him to begin dialogue with all political forces on constitutional and other reforms.

The channel later said talks had begun. Suleiman also said a new government sworn in by Mubarak on Monday would fight unemployment, inflation and corruption -- all key grievances.

But opponents, ranging from young, secular dissidents to a mass Islamist movement, want Mubarak to quit altogether. They hope to rally a million people onto the streets on Tuesday and have taken heart from an assurance from the army that it will not fire on them as they air their "legitimate" demands.

At central Cairo's Tahrir Square, where thousands kept vigil through the night in defiance of a curfew, 45-year-old lawyer Ahmed Helmi said concessions were too late: "The only thing we will accept from him is that he gets on a plane and leaves."

It seems unlikely Mubarak could preside for long within any new system that brings free elections to the most populous Arab state. After the fall of Tunisia's veteran strongman two weeks ago, the shift will send a shockwave throughout the Middle East.

The United States, which has backed him as a bulwark against radical Islam and as a friend to Israel, said Mubarak must revoke the emergency law under which he has ruled since 1981 and hold free elections. Washington has sent a special envoy, former ambassador to Cairo Frank Wisner, to meet Egyptian leaders.

"The way Egypt looks and operates must change," said Robert Gibbs, spokesman for President Barack Obama.

Western powers have been caught off guard by the speed with which Mubarak's police state has been pushed back by furious but unarmed citizens. High on the Western agenda now will be trying to prevent a full-blown takeover by anti-Western Islamists.

"STALLING TACTICS"

Some analysts believe the army is seeking a face-saving way to have Mubarak leave in a way that preserves the 60-year-old influence of the military and ruling party over Egypt.

A presidential election due in September might give Mubarak the opportunity simply to say he will not run again. But such a tactic may underestimate the desire on the street to see him go. "It won't work. These are stalling tactics. I don't think Mubarak quite realizes the gravity of the situation," said Faysal Itani of Exclusive Analysis. "If this deadlock goes on much longer there could be a further breakdown of order."

At Cairo University, politics professor Hassan Nafaa said: "This all aims to gain time, calm the mood on the street, drive the protesters away and diminish the revolution ... The president must end his rule and leave, there is no alternative."

ISLAMISTS

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, for whom Egypt has been one of very few friendly neighbors, said he feared that the Muslim Brotherhood, a banned mass movement, could turn Egypt into the kind of theocracy installed in Iran in 1979.

The Brotherhood itself, which has taken a back seat to young, urban dissidents in the past week, has said it would seek a pluralist democracy. It has also called for mass protests.

Tony Blair, the international peace envoy, said of changes sweeping the Middle East: "This is a region in transition. The question is where is it transiting to. It can transit to a concept of society and the economy and politics that is 21st century. Or it can be taken backwards into a very reactionary form of religious autocracy. We don't want that."

Suleiman, an intelligence chief, was named by Mubarak on Saturday as his first ever vice president, a move that gave a first hint that he was thinking about an eventual handover.

Appearing on television, Suleiman said: "The president has asked me today to immediately hold contacts with the political forces to start a dialogue about all raised issues that also involve constitutional and legislative reforms."

"It's too little too late," said Omar Ashour of Exeter University. "He's trying to treat a malignant cancer with an aspirin. They are still in their own world ... They have ignored the main demands that are coming from Tahrir Square."

Among demands, beyond Mubarak's departure, are an end to an emergency law that gives the ruling party an effective veto over who can run for president and the dissolution of the parliament elected last year in a vote which many believe was rigged.

ARMY ASSURANCE

An armed forces statement said: "The armed forces will not resort to use of force against our great people. Your armed forces, who are aware of the legitimacy of your demands."

Since Friday, after Mubarak's hated police fought battles with young demonstrators, the army has been on the streets in a massive show of force backed by its U.S.-built tanks. But the soldiers, widely admired by Egyptians, have looked on patiently.

The uprising erupted amid frustration over repression, corruption, poverty and the lack of democracy. It was in part inspired by the fall of Tunisia's strongman leader on January 14 and has now prompted talk of a domino effect like that of 1989 which swept Soviet puppet governments out of eastern Europe.

"Something historic is happening in the Arab world," Finnish Foreign Minister Alexander Stubb said. "But it's too early to say whether this is the Berlin Wall moment, the 1989 moment."

About 140 people have died in clashes with security forces in scenes that overturned Egypt's standing as a stable country, promising emerging market and attractive tourist destination.

Although the movement started with no clear leaders or organization, the opposition is taking steps to organize. The Muslim Brotherhood said it was seeking to form a committee with retired U.N. diplomat Mohamed ElBaradei to talk to the army.

FOREIGNERS

Foreign governments scrambled to ensure the safety of their nationals trapped by the unrest in Egypt. One group of tourists was hunkered down in Cairo's Marriott Hotel:

"I had heard a lot about Egypt's history and the pyramids so I am very disappointed I cannot see all that, but I just want to get out," said Albert So, an accountant from Hong Kong.

Companies, from gas drillers to supermarkets, also pulled out staff as confrontation brought economic life to a halt. Financial markets and banks were closed for a second day.

Internationally, Europe's benchmark Brent crude oil hit $101 a barrel on fears the unrest could spread to oil producing states like Saudi Arabia. Smaller Arab countries such as Yemen, Sudan, Syria and Jordan were all mentioned by analysts as candidates for popular expressions of discontent.

Moody's downgraded Egypt's credit rating to Ba2 with a negative outlook from Ba1, saying the government might damage its weak finances by increasing social spending.

(Additional reporting by Andrew Hammond, Patrick Werr, Dina Zayed, Marwa Awad, Shaimaa Fayed, Sherine El Madany, Yasmine Saleh, Alison Williams and Samia Nakhoul in Cairo, and Peter Apps, Angus MacSwan and William Maclean in London; Writing by Alastair Macdonald; editing by David Stamp)

Dictator LKY's Mummy Fucked & Black Magic Dispelled ! Political Power will be CHANGED!

GONG XI FA CAI! HUAT AH!

http://www.telecomtv.com/comspace_newsDetail.aspx?n=47211&id=e9381817-0593-417a-8639-c4c53e2a2a10#

As Egypt begins to reinstate mobile services, Mubarak wants his mummy

Posted By TelecomTV One , 31 January 2011 | 0 Comments | [0 people rated this an average of 3/5] [0 people rated this an average of 3/5] [0 people rated this an average of 3/5] (0)
Tags: Internet mobile Politics Technology

Mobile comms services in Egypt are slowly returning to some sort of normality this morning after being shut down on Friday either on the orders of, or because of direct technical intervention by, the beleaguered Mubarak administration. Whether this is because the regime is on the point of collapse or is now more confident in its ability to survive is not yet clear and remains to be seen. Martyn Warwick reports.

The situation in Egypt is being monitored closely by Renesys, an internet security firm headquartered in Manchester, New Hampshire, in the US. The company's co-founder and CTO, Jim Cowie, says Egypt has been able to cut-off most of the links to the outside world because the Mubarak regime has ensured over the years that almost all comms networks are routed via government servers or systems. It also exercises huge control over Egypt's Internet Service Providers and is thus able, whenever it feels the need, to kill Internet access, take down wireless and wireline networks and isolate the bulk of the population from the rest of the virtual world.

Jim Cowie says that at about 17h00 East Coast US time on Thursday last, (midnight in Egypt) nearly all of the routes to Egypt were simultaneously closed. He said, "Approximately 3,500 individual BGP (Border Gateway Protocol) routes were withdrawn leaving no valid paths by which the rest of the world could continue to exchange Internet traffic with Egypt's service providers."

Mr. Cowie adds that such actions are "completely unprecedented" and that "the Egyptian government's actions essentially wiped their country from the global map. This is a completely different situation from the modest internet manipulation that took place in Tunisia, where specific routes were blocked, or Iran, where the internet stayed up in a rate-limited form designed to make Internet connectivity painfully slow.”

Interestingly, but unsurprisingly, the 83 live routes run and managed by the Noor Group, which holds the IP addresses for the Egyptian Stock Exchange, stayed up and running even s everything else was turned-off.

Meanwhile, BGPmon, a company and website devoted to the monitoring of BGP communications and analysing, on behalf of clients, what it calls "interesting" path changes says that on January 21 there were 2,903 Egyptian networks originated from 52 ISPs. By last Friday (Jan 28) that had fallen to 327 (primarily government) networks and just 26 ISPs. Over the course of a week some 88 per cent of Egyptian networks were rendered unreachable.

The wholesale closing-down of BGP routes in this way means the Egyptian state must have access to and control over all international internet connections in the country as well as the actual physical locations where the connections are made to the country's national network.

In a statement, BGPmon wrote,“The BGP is built into routers, so to shut off those connections the state would have to either shut off the router entirely or shut down the BGP server. This is something that they would have to do on a router-by-router basis.”

And of course, even those ISP and connections not closed off are being monitored by shadowy government agencies who are ready to shut them down the instant they are deemed to have transgressed the unwritten and unfathomable parameters of a paranoid government's erratic censorship system.

In essence, the simpler a country's comms topology is, and the fewer ISPs a country has, the easier it is for a regime (or a national operator) to control a nation's telecoms infrastructure.

http://www.thespoof.com/news/spoof.cfm?headline=s3i90636

Egyptians Take out Anger On Priceless Mummies - Mummies Thunderstruck
Written by Asheville Jack
Rating:
Thank you for your rating,
Your vote has been counted and is reflected above.
You have already rated this item,
Thank you for your support.

Share/Bookmark
Send to a friend Print this
Topics: Riot, Egypt, freedom of speech
You searched for: mummy Egypt [remove highlighting]

Monday, 31 January 2011
image for Egyptians Take out Anger On Priceless Mummies - Mummies Thunderstruck
"I can't read minds. How was I to know the people were unhappy," said Pesident Mubarak?

Citizens continue to protest today in the streets of major Egyptian cities against the rule of President Mubarak's thirty year regime. In a Saturday press release Mubarak played his thirty years as ruler of Egypt against the background of the country's four thousand year history.

"You know," said Mubarak, "I can't read peoples minds for crying out loud. If Egyptians were really serious about this democracy thing, one would have thought they might have spoken up earlier, like a thousand years ago. I mean this country has been around four thousands year. I don't understand why they chose this time to pick on me. How am I more despotic than, say, the Pharaohs?"

Several protestors, taking note of Mubarak's point and in a sure sign of pent up multi-generational anger and tormented by thousands of years of unresolved collective angst, broke into the world renowned Museum of Antiquities in Cairo and attacked several mummies on display, breaking off their mummy heads. The famous museum built in 1902 houses the world's largest collection of ancient Egyptian artifacts and mummies with more than 120,000 items on display.

One protestor arrested for mutilating one of the priceless mummies stated he did it to extract revenge in the name of his great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great- -great-great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great- great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great grandfather, who surely were abused at the hands of the King Tutankhamun thirty-three hundred years ago.

Make Asheville Jack's day - give this story five thumbs-up (there's no need to register, the thumbs are just down there!)

Cultural Revolution 文化大革命 happening in Egypt!

http://blogs.laweekly.com/informer/2011/01/ucla_egypt_professor_museum_lo.php

UCLA Egypt Professor: Museum Looting, Mummy Beheading Amid Chaos Is 'Huge Loss' for World Heritage
By Simone Wilson, Mon., Jan. 31 2011 @ 4:10PM
Categories: Education
0diggsdigg

tutankhamun2.jpg
This King Tut statue was smashed by looters
​At stake: Human rights. Freedom. Democracy. And a gilded wooden statue of King Tutankhamun.

UCLA Professor Willeke Wendrich just got back from an Egyptian archeological dig in December. She says she could detect a "longstanding unhappiness" in lower- and middle-class citizens, alongside whom she worked -- rooted in, among other frustrations, a "lack of freedom" and "lack of things to look forward to for youth."

One of Wendrich's anecdotes, a portrait of the times: highly educated engineers reduced to working as taxi drivers.

The professor says she's been checking in with many friends and associates in Egypt during this uprising, making sure they're all right. But one other side-effect of the chaos has her worried: Ancient Egyptian artifacts being targeted by looters.

In particular, she mourns the demolition of a "gorgeous" collection of gilded wooden statues at Cairo's world-famous Egyptian Museum.

"These were not antiquity thieves, this particular batch," she explains, guessing the looters must have thought the gilded part was real gold, smashing the statues and trying to run off with the shiny part -- even though they're far more valuable whole. Wendrich sounds personally pained as she remembers seeing the remains of the Tut statue on the news: only a "dark brown base with golden feet."

Catch a glimpse in this MSNBC report, at 01:15:

Visit msnbc.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

In the video, another Egyptian expert says of the museum: "It hurts; it really hurts. ... It's like our Smithsonian."

"It is world heritage," Wendrich agrees. "It's really important. It's a huge loss."

Since then, the heads of two mummies were also reported as ripped from their bodies in the museum.

willeke_wendrich_200x150.jpg
UCLA
Willeke Wendrich, professor of Egyptian Archeology at UCLA
​Though Wendrich says that, in general, Egyptians "aren't against excavation of cemeteries," they're still "very proud of their cultural heritage." And indeed, it appears the few looters who have chosen to take advantage of the situation are being countered by a band of artifact angels, as reported by the New York Post:

Before the army arrived, young Egyptians -- some armed with truncheons grabbed off the police -- created a human chain at the museum's front gate to prevent looters from making off with any of its priceless artifacts.

"They managed to stop them," Hawass said. He added that the would-be looters only vandalized two mummies, ripping their heads off. They also cleared out the museum gift shop.

In a Fox News report from earlier today, Minister for Archeology Zawi Hawass says the damage was much more extensive than 10 statues and two mummies, but seems to think it can all be restored:

"Thanks God," Hawass said in his thick Egyptian accent, "some [looters] entered [the Cairo Museum] when it was dark. They opened thirteen [glass] cases on the top floor. It was haphazard. They did not know what they were looking at. They were looking for gold. When they saw they were antiquities in their hands, they threw them to the ground. They broke seventy artifacts - statues. All of them, we can restore them. I can tell you: The Cairo Museum, thanks God, is safe."

Wendrich describes the false state of democracy that has existed in Egypt under President Hosni Mubarak, whom protestors are currently demanding bow out of power:

"In the past election, I know nobody who went to vote," she says. "They think it's all pre-decided anyway. ... They're absolutely fed up with the figurehead. He stands for a complex in which the military and a couple of business families basically hold all the assets in Egypt."

However, in terms of the protest and surrounding media storm, she does make it clear that life goes on for most Egyptians.

"Basically, there's a couple centers," she says. "Outside of that, Egypt continues as it normally does. ... What the media is portraying is really going on. But of course the media has no interest in showing a farmer that just goes on farming -- but that's whats really going also."

The professor adds that she will definitely focus on the current unrest, and the museum looting in particular, in her Ancient Egyptian Civilization and Egyptian Archeology lectures at UCLA this week.
Tags:
archaeology, Cairo, Egypt, Egyptian Museum, King Tut, Mubarak, museum, UCLA, UCLA research, Willeke Wendrich

aiyah...many of the modern egyptians are not even related to the people under the pharohs...why go and slap the mummies....

the curse of the mummy will rebound and more disasters will happen in the Land Of The Pharohs....6000 or even 10,000 years of grandeur and revered history....and kena slapped!

Freedom has to be fought for... and not hide under the bed cowardly like a sinkie and expect things to be changed out of thin air.

Singaporeans could have opted for a change but they chose to vote according to whether people can give them lift upgrading or not.

Mubarak is not fucked by the protesters. He is fucked by betrayal from the Army.

Singaporeans could have opted for a change but they chose to vote according to whether people can give them lift upgrading or not.

yeah.. that is why i stay away from such sinkie mentality, i just cannot access their frequency.

Either they are too stupid or i am just too smart for them. :D:D:D:D

I suspect such mentality is developed since young from the sinkie education, the sinkie media that they are exposed to and the sinkie army that they are consigned to by force ( the law) too.

What a waste to develop a human being into this form. Human beings have far more capabilities than to just follow orders like a robot. A system created by the selfish PAP to enslave people and control them.

Mubarak's 30 years rule in Egypt had not benefitted the poor. The poor are very poor, like beggars in the street and the rich are very rich. Its all about money in Egypt. Everywhere, people will try to con you for more money, street vendors, poor Egyptians selling their wares and even taxi drivers will con you. I cannot understand how he can amass 50 billions and yet so many poor people around and many slums in Old Cairo.
Our MIWs may have the highest pay in the world. Do we have many slums and poor people around in Singapore.

i was in egypt a few years back. some of the people are poor but they are honest. i don't see pick pockets and i don't get conned. my friend told me i can walk anywhere and nobody will rob you or mug you. it's very safe in egypt....all offenders and criminals will be severely dealt with by the law...so it's very safe...

now the whole place is a mayhem....it's so different now...just look at the looters and the rioters....a social disaster and a political catastrophe.....woe betide the egyptian people....with such glorious history....and now ....sad hor....

but nevermind, history will repeat itself ...like all things under heaven, they go in cycles....the old giving way to the new....good luck egypt!!!

yeah.. that is why i stay away from such sinkie mentality, i just cannot access their frequency.

Either they are too stupid or i am just too smart for them. :D:D:D:D

I suspect such mentality is developed since young from the sinkie education, the sinkie media that they are exposed to and the sinkie army that they are consigned to by force ( the law) too.

What a waste to develop a human being into this form. Human beings have far more capabilities than to just follow orders like a robot. A system created by the selfish PAP to enslave people and control them.

I never understood why people here vote according to their flat developments instead of the well-being of the nation. I don't see such "backward thinking" in nations like Japan, US, Taiwan, etc.

The PAP has successfully created a population of serfs who just willingly listen to what PAP say and accept as truth. Anybody who has different thoughts is branded a threat to the nation. Creativity is suppressed, together with "eyesight".

Even people who do things differently, are either given dirty looks or ostracized. Everybody is taught to follow the norm. A sorry nation.

I never understood why people here vote according to their flat developments instead of the well-being of the nation. I don't see such "backward thinking" in nations like Japan, US, Taiwan, etc.

The PAP has successfully created a population of serfs who just willingly listen to what PAP say and accept as truth. Anybody who has different thoughts is branded a threat to the nation. Creativity is suppressed, together with "eyesight".

Even people who do things differently, are either given dirty looks or ostracized. Everybody is taught to follow the norm. A sorry nation.

i would term it as " A Sinkie Nation."

Hi Tony Chai..... How r u? Been hopping around as your thread no movement... U can either answer to yourself or do you need me to support ha??:p

Why dun you go back and lick your master's ball.. or your master ask you to come in here and make some noise?

Alamak!

I tot I could be mummified and rise from my tomb again to rule Pee Sai KNN they can behead mummies? What will they do to Vampires then? :rolleyes::eek::eek:

Mubarak is not fucked by the protesters.
He is fucked by betrayal from the Army.

Well the army is Fucked any way !
Just too many locals and over-whelming numbers .
Give me 4 clips of ammo . I rather throw away .

Well the army is Fucked any way !
Just too many locals and over-whelming numbers .
Give me 4 clips of ammo . I rather throw away .

orra o exército é fodido toda a maneira! Apenas locals e números opressivamente demais. Dê-me 4 grampos da munição. Eu jogo um pouco afastado.