• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Give Fandi the Job

• Thread starter Thread starter Mdm Tang
  • Start date Start date
M

Mdm Tang

Fandi Ahmad is currently the coach of Johor FA (Photo courtesy of LionsXII)

If there's ever a time for Singapore's favourite footballing son to make a comeback, this is it.

Lions coach Raddy Avramovich is set to leave next February when his contract expires while the Serb's final assignment will be next month's AFF Suzuki Cup.

While interest and support in local football has increased due to the LionsXII's standout campaign in the Malaysian Super League, national support and confidence in the senior team is still a far cry from the glory days of Fandi Ahmad, V.Sundramoorthy and Lim Tong Hai.

When Raddy -- as he is known as in the local football fraternity -- took over Jan Poulsen in 2003, he was a breath of fresh air and just what the Lions needed. He led the Lions to the pinnacle of Southeast Asian football after winning back-to-back ASEAN titles in 2004 and 2007.

More importantly, he moulded Singapore into a combative unit that was tough to beat with the Lions performing admirably against stronger opponents like China and Japan. Singapore was the only nation to have beaten Iraq in the 2007 Asian Cup qualifiers.

But it's clear that Raddy's time is up. In fact, his departure has been long overdue.

Now, we need someone who can rekindle the fans' fervour and give the nation a reason to support the national team again. And who better to do that than Fandi himself?

In terms of coaching experience and credentials, Fandi is not the most qualified candidate for the job. In fact, he's never coached an international side in his career before.

But given our recent dismal performances (knocked out in group stages of the 2010 Suzuki Cup and losing all six matches in the 2014 World Cup third-round qualifying campaign), and with our FIFA world ranking at an all-time low of 162, can things get any worse?

We have splurged on foreign coaches over the years such as Raddy but look where we are now. It's time we start showing faith in our local coaches whose passion and drive to see Singapore succeed can never be matched by a foreigner.

Having said that, the only possible barrier is Fandi himself and the Football Association of Singapore (FAS). The 50-year-old, who began his three-year deal as coach of Malaysian side Johor FA earlier this year, has made no secret of his desire to contribute to local football.

But Singapore's favourite footballing son, who won both the Malaysia Cup and league with the Lions in 1994, has often been overlooked by the FAS, hence his decision to cross the border.

With all respect to the FAS, it's time to cast aside all personal and political interests and focus on one thing: bringing the glory days back to Singapore and its fans.

And Fandi is the man to do it. By all means, pay off the remainder of his contract with Johor FA and bring him home.

He will be revered by the players. He will spark renewed interest in the team again. And he will bring the fans back to the stands.

Our garment like FT so another ang moh nobody has heard of will take the job. That is the reality in Singapore.

FAS is like a shameless SPG slut..

They will ignore Fandi and go for another Ang Moh dick to replace Raddy..

Singaporeans have no talent. :D

Mind your own problem!!You not a singaporean yet criticize us.You whole night never sleep.not tired?
Your depression and mental disorder is really bad!!!SBF your only way to find someone to talk?
Find a doc n get admitted.You really having a miserable life.9 out 10 posts you criticize singapore/singaporean.
What is your purpose in life?24/7 in sbf to find thread to bash singaporean.
To some extend I do sympathy with your situation.But what you are doing is harming unity of singaporeans forummers here.
Forget it.....You get treated first (V Urgent) then you get to enjoy your life more carefree.

Mind your own problem!!You not a singaporean yet criticize us.You whole night never sleep.not tired?
Your depression and mental disorder is really bad!!!SBF your only way to find someone to talk?
Find a doc n get admitted.You really having a miserable life.9 out 10 posts you criticize singapore/singaporean.
What is your purpose in life?24/7 in sbf to find thread to bash singaporean.
To some extend I do sympathy with your situation.But what you are doing is harming unity of singaporeans forummers here.
Forget it.....You get treated first (V Urgent) then you get to enjoy your life more carefree.

Singaporeans got UNITY, meh?

If they had, they would not have gotten themselves into this stage and can't do anything about it.

Get real. Wake up. If only you had stood in one of the elections in any constitutency, you realise the very Sinkie you wanted to defend, will chicken out so badly, that you'll be thrashed by the PAP and then know 'what you mean by harming unity of Sinkie let alone the forumers here'

What's there to harm when it does not even exist.

You're pathetic.:D

I realised yesterday's match only has Malay name. Are they so racist that no other race can play in the team?

LionsXII's standout campaign in the Malaysian Super League:confused:

Huh?:confused:

1. aiyoh!
2. don't expect too much from the forgotten sheep son to the local football thing.
3. unlike the 70s & 80s, doing football was more than passion for it!

Singaporeans got UNITY, meh?

If they had, they would not have gotten themselves into this stage and can't do anything about it.

Get real. Wake up. If only you had stood in one of the elections in any constitutency, you realise the very Sinkie you wanted to defend, will chicken out so badly, that you'll be thrashed by the PAP and then know 'what you mean by harming unity of Sinkie let alone the forumers here'

What's there to harm when it does not even exist.

You're pathetic.:D

Took the words out of my mouth. Humans are finite beings. You've to choose whom or what you gonna pledge allegiance to. Sinkies are simply not worth sacrificing oneself for. Unity? What unity? Where's the unity when the old are cast aside and a certain ethnic group is despised and marginalised? Will the government or your fellow Singaporeans take care of your family if you were to lose your life while performing NS? :rolleyes:

"I have not been happy with the way the FAS (Football Association of Singapore) have done certain things in the past. But I've told myself that whatever happens, I am still a Singaporean and national interests must come first. So, even though I've got nothing to do with the FAS directly now, I hope I will be given the chance to take charge of a national team. To tell you the truth, I was ready to continue then. But they (the FAS) never got back to me. They only did so in March, three months later, and offered excuses like they could not contact me earlier. How do you expect me to react. I told them I was no longer interested." - Fandi Ahmad

We had Choo, Hussein Aljunied, PN Sivaji, all couldn't achieve anything internationally. Locals just can't do the job.

With Raddy, we are now 162th in fifa ranking. Lowest ever in Singapore's history.

Cannot compare apple to apple boy. We won Asean cups under Raddy, nothing under the locals.
Did you see how the Lions played last night. Absolutely pathetic.

Imho, the best sinkie for the job is this man:

65_Steven-Tan2.jpg

Cannot compare apple to apple boy. We won Asean cups under Raddy, nothing under the locals.
Did you see how the Lions played last night. Absolutely pathetic.

Why cannot use fifa ranking to compare? We only won Tiger Cups during Raddy's era when the rest of nations in Asean deprove (we deprove too but not as much as them), not because we are any better than Raddy.

Today, countries like Vietnam, Mynmmar, Malaysia, Thailand, Philippines already woke up and overtook us. While chaps like you and Raddy are still dreaming and harping on past Tiger Cup victories. fifa ranking don't lie. Face it.

Lousy means lousy. Same like PAP. Denying it doesn't mean anything.

Replacing Raddy will never help. Even if we hire Jose Murinho also won't help. Just look at the way the players played. Don't be naive.

Thumb up!
They play like sec school.

Just look at the way the players played.

What a silly man you are.

Let's import the whole Man Utd team then. We will play just like the English Premier League. The players can go back to fishing for a living.

"I have not been happy with the way the FAS (Football Association of Singapore) have done certain things in the past. But I've told myself that whatever happens, I am still a Singaporean and national interests must come first. So, even though I've got nothing to do with the FAS directly now, I hope I will be given the chance to take charge of a national team. To tell you the truth, I was ready to continue then. But they (the FAS) never got back to me. They only did so in March, three months later, and offered excuses like they could not contact me earlier. How do you expect me to react. I told them I was no longer interested." - Fandi Ahmad

Fandi is a HERO!! I am so proud of him.

Only the FAS is to be blamed should we lose this loyal son of Singapore.

Took the words out of my mouth. Humans are finite beings. You've to choose whom or what you gonna pledge allegiance to. Sinkies are simply not worth sacrificing oneself for. Unity? What unity? Where's the unity when the old are cast aside and a certain ethnic group is despised and marginalised? Will the government or your fellow Singaporeans take care of your family if you were to lose your life while performing NS? :rolleyes:

Bro Cruxx, you hit the nail on the head. Beautiful description.

A culture cultivated by the ruling party over time, created this self centered nature of Singaporean.