• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ghost Writer UNHAPPY With 154th's Ranking!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Press freedom: Ranking criteria perplexing
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I REFER to Wednesday's report, 'Repressive? Our people know better'.
I am more perplexed than amazed by Singapore's low ranking in press freedom in surveys conducted by institutions like Reporters Without Borders and Freedom House.
What irks me most is the fact that Singapore is ranked below some countries where people are oppressed and live under tyranny. Just because newspapers are sued for their persistently false and scurrilous reports, our rating in press freedom is adversely affected. If this is the case, such findings leave much to be desired.
Newspapers cannot and will not attract readership in a situation where they do not have a free hand in reporting news without fear or favour. In some countries (namely?) where newspapers are government-owned, people turn to the Internet for alternative information.
They dare not write to the press, even when they encounter unfair treatment from government agencies, because they know their letters will not see the light of day. Worse, they may be subjected to reprisals.
Here newspapers have no qualms about publishing letters or reports on government policies which are considered unfavourable or unfair. Corporate communications departments in ministries invariably pay heed to such feedback and take appropriate action.
Singaporeans have given their thumbs-up for our newspapers' responsible and objective news coverage. Their increase in circulation and readership is attributed to readers' trust and loyalty.
This should be an accurate assessment of press freedom.
Jeffrey Law

dog-running11.jpg
<!-- end of for each --><!-- Current Ratings : start --><!-- Current Ratings : end --><!-- vbbintegration : start -->

Tiu Kwang Yew

this guy dont understand what he is talking about-----press freedom.

i think he should go SDP and attend one day course with SDP people !

born a PAP sporn , always a PAP sporn !

he will never understand .......perhaps never........

ah jeffrey ...

very obviously, u belong 2 dat 66.6% ...

ps. c ur letter write until lidat oso sian 2 comment mor oredi ... :(

This guy know nothing about PRESS freedom. Can Singaporean speak out loud in public and TV about bad policy by PAP goverment without fear of been punish or mata coming knock knock on door.
Eg, will Mediacock film any news on TV public talk bad about LKY/PAP and air it on TV without any action been taken. Answer very clear NO

jacobsgoh

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Press freedom: Ranking criteria perplexing
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I REFER to Wednesday's report, 'Repressive? Our people know better'.
I am more perplexed than amazed by Singapore's low ranking in press freedom in surveys conducted by institutions like Reporters Without Borders and Freedom House.
What irks me most is the fact that Singapore is ranked below some countries where people are oppressed and live under tyranny. Just because newspapers are sued for their persistently false and scurrilous reports, our rating in press freedom is adversely affected. If this is the case, such findings leave much to be desired.
Newspapers cannot and will not attract readership in a situation where they do not have a free hand in reporting news without fear or favour. In some countries (namely?) where newspapers are government-owned, people turn to the Internet for alternative information.
They dare not write to the press, even when they encounter unfair treatment from government agencies, because they know their letters will not see the light of day. Worse, they may be subjected to reprisals.
Here newspapers have no qualms about publishing letters or reports on government policies which are considered unfavourable or unfair. Corporate communications departments in ministries invariably pay heed to such feedback and take appropriate action.
Singaporeans have given their thumbs-up for our newspapers' responsible and objective news coverage. Their increase in circulation and readership is attributed to readers' trust and loyalty.
Jeffrey Law

dog-running11.jpg
<!-- end of for each --><!-- Current Ratings : start --><!-- Current Ratings : end --><!-- vbbintegration : start -->

Mr. Law should change his name to Jefferlee Law, same as some news reader of CNA namely xxxlee Foo.

Brightkid

Jeffrey Law

-->

I object to his use of 'Singaporeans have given their thumbs-up....'. He did not seek my agreement, therefore he do not represent me nor the entire citizenship, so how can he claimed implied all Singaporeans agreed to that ? If substantial representation, then where is the survey reference ?

Further, increase in circulation DOES NOT imply readers' trust and loyalty. I just want my morning laughter fix. Always good to start the day light hearted and to know where had sales to queue for.

What trust and loyalty ??? Which era is he from to use these 2 extinct words. sic.

Premnair

I object to his use of 'Singaporeans have given their thumbs-up....'. Further, increase in circulation DOES NOT imply readers' trust and loyalty. I just want my morning laughter fix.

"Thumbs up and increase of circulation" statements are both unverified which explains the ranking of the straits times.

oli9

Jeffrey Law

dog-running11.jpg

Hahahaha
Increase in circulation means news are trustworthy? This jeff is surely a 1st class assumption clown.
It can also mean more FTs in Spore buying ST to read up sports news lah. How stupid can one get?

TeeKee

In some countries (namely?) where newspapers are government-owned, people turn to the Internet for alternative information.

Singapore? You try to write anything negative about the Hakka Lee Regime?

With a title like, Where is our taxpayers' billions? Or The Illegal Privatization of Temasek Holdings?

See if after 9pm they send someone to knock on your door to wake up your kids??

angie II

Press freedom: Ranking criteria perplexing
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr></tr><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></tbody></table>

Jeffrey Law

317a4vm.jpg

CB.. How many times have i seen this doggie por lumpar Shit Times? :eek::rolleyes: