• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Getting invited for a Chinese wedding this weekend,what's an optimaL Angpow nowadays?

Re: Getting invited for a Chinese wedding this weekend,what's an optimaL Angpow nowad

Don't know about you guys, but these days I have more funeral wakes to attend. Wedding dinner seldom. Any bros in similar position?

Re: Getting invited for a Chinese wedding this weekend,what's an optimaL Angpow nowad

Half a dozen big sweep tickets....but dun write down your name.
Back then go hainanese wedding most happening....they open your ang pow and announce to everyone....even got blackboard to record.

$300 is consider a lot liao bro fish,furthermore you are going alone.
Main crux of the matter is, i have incLude you to go; so the 2 of us for $300 is quite reasonabLe what..wiLL pm
you my acc number Later, you transfer the $150 1st, before Letting you know the rendevuos..:D:eek:

Main crux of the matter is, i have incLude you to go; so the 2 of us for $300 is quite reasonabLe what..wiLL pm
you my acc number Later, you transfer the $150 1st, before Letting you know the rendevuos..:D:eek:

From my experience, sounds like a potential fraud case! MO very familiar. Hahahahaaa. Have a great weekend.

$300 is a lot if you're attending alone, assuming an average 4-star standard and an average not-too-bad friendship.

From my experience, sounds like a potential fraud case! MO very familiar. Hahahahaaa. Have a great weekend.

Thanks bro, onLy Hokkien knows where i am coming from..:)

PLace : Marriot HoteL.
i am thinking of $300 for myseLf thereabouts; can that do bros ?..
Your sincere advises pLease.Thanks.
;)

This wedding ang pow culture getting out of hand. In earlier days, people attend wedding is really happy for the new couple. No need super posh location. All the friends and relatives come together, makan a simple but happy meal.

Nowadays, getting wedding invites worse than ganna traffic summon. Then go to those super posh location, usually the food sucks, especially relative to the ang pow money that you are paying.

Then the unwritten rule is that part of your ang pow money goes towards other fringe costs, like stupid door gifts that most people will throw away. Worst is the wedding photos. So many I have seen the photos don't look like the wedding couple. Photo-shop and make up until even the parents also cannot recognise. some hor, the photos taking angles all from the back view or very dark lighting, see what ah? Got meaning meh? Might as well just download some celebrity wedding photos and use it for own wedding lor. Save money and time lah. Don't force your friends and relatives to pay for useless things, can?

Then those so-called businessman parents, ai face, so insist on inviting a lot of people at super posh hotel. Really, if ai face, then declare will not accept any ang pow lah. Purely FOC for all invited guest, to show his business super solid mah. What is the meaning of expecting big ang pow to cover cost of wedding? Business no good, cannot afford a simple wedding dinner at Cappella for your offsrings ah?

Sorry if offend anyone. But serious, should we all reflect on this abnormal culture?

Sammyboy bros get married, I pow $500. Second marriage 1k. Sui bo?

Your wedding with LWL, I also pow 1K. Sui bo ?

$300 is a lot if you're attending alone, assuming an average 4-star standard and an average not-too-bad friendship.

I also felt $300 might be a bit too much. But SBF bros here seem very rich.

But with an average tabLe costing around $1,300-1,500 easiLy nowadays, sure you wouLd want to support your
host right ?..so, that's the spirit..;)

Fishypie said:
PLace : Marriot HoteL.
i am thinking of $300 for myseLf thereabouts; can that do bros ?..
Your sincere advises pLease.Thanks.
;)

If I am getting married again or my kids are getting married, I shall invite you.

This wedding ang pow culture getting out of hand. In earlier days, people attend wedding is really happy for the new couple. No need super posh location. All the friends and relatives come together, makan a simple but happy meal.

Nowadays, getting wedding invites worse than ganna traffic summon. Then go to those super posh location, usually the food sucks, especially relative to the ang pow money that you are paying.

Then the unwritten rule is that part of your ang pow money goes towards other fringe costs, like stupid door gifts that most people will throw away. Worst is the wedding photos. So many I have seen the photos don't look like the wedding couple. Photo-shop and make up until even the parents also cannot recognise. some hor, the photos taking angles all from the back view or very dark lighting, see what ah? Got meaning meh? Might as well just download some celebrity wedding photos and use it for own wedding lor. Save money and time lah. Don't force your friends and relatives to pay for useless things, can?

Then those so-called businessman parents, ai face, so insist on inviting a lot of people at super posh hotel. Really, if ai face, then declare will not accept any ang pow lah. Purely FOC for all invited guest, to show his business super solid mah. What is the meaning of expecting big ang pow to cover cost of wedding? Business no good, cannot afford a simple wedding dinner at Cappella for your offsrings ah?

Sorry if offend anyone. But serious, should we all reflect on this abnormal culture?

Bro, you reaLLy moved me with this writeup; which i agree with you 100% ..:cool:

But with an average tabLe costing around $1,300-1,500 easiLy nowadays, sure you wouLd want to support your
host right ?..so, that's the spirit..;)

Supporting is one thing. You do your maths. If every guest gifts $300, that's easily 100% profit. Must the matchmaker must guarantee the bride to bear a son? Assuming 50 tables, that's $75,000 profit. Must guests pay for their housing downpayment too?

Bro, i dont think many invitees wouLd go to that depth of caLcuLations Like you do..i mean which is not wrong.Many
wouLd probabLy gather it's once-in-a-Lifetime affair, so just Let your host feeL you are generous for once; for it may weLL go far aLong the way, right ?..

I bring my mom to yan palace for her birthday. Invite relatives, two tables @ $598 each in private room which come with karaoke. Got fins, got fish and roast piglet. More worth it than the crap those 5 stars hotels are serving in wedding dinner. I two tables with entertainment throw in still cheaper than one table in 5 stars hotel.

Bro, i dont think many invitees wouLd go to that depth of caLcuLations Like you do..i mean which is not wrong.Many
wouLd probabLy gather it's once-in-a-Lifetime affair, so just Let your host feeL you are generous for once; for it may weLL go far aLong the way, right ?..

Yes I guess, go along with what's affordable and comfortable is the best. What I'm worried about is peer pressure or market pressure. I know of people who borrow money to afford red packets big enough so as to save face.

I bring my mom to yan palace for her birthday. Invite relatives, two tables @ $598 each in private room which come with karaoke. Got fins, got fish and roast piglet. More worth it than the crap those 5 stars hotels are serving in wedding dinner. I two tables with entertainment throw in still cheaper than one table in 5 stars hotel.

Which is true..but when we are taLking about any weddings with a stage, Mc's, ambience etc aLL thrown in; you wouLd expect Lots of extra costings being thrown in as weLL..

Uncle, the hall in hotel look the same as those cheaper Chinese restaurant. The so call ambience was the effort of the groom and bride helpers. The MC also friends of the couple plus the stupid video also from the couple. I been to wakes more lively than nowsaday wedding dinners. The yam Seng is pathetic and just on the stage only. The newly wed more interested to take photos only.

P.S: I have turned down invitations in cases when I do not know either bride or groom very well, and that included those from relatives. There is nothing shameful or impolite with declining invitations if you don't see the value in showing up.

Why do you even attend an event which you disapprove of? ;)

People who organize wedding dinners should not be looking to break even/make a profit through the collection of ang pow money. If you choose a posh location, YOU foot the bill. Depending on how well I know you, I may give you a little bit more of ang pow money with due consideration to the chosen location. But don't expect me and other guests to subsidize everything.

And those door gifts are mostly retarded: salt/pepper shaker, soap, keychain, little framed pictures etc. I've seen it all.