• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Getting invited for a Chinese wedding this weekend,what's an optimaL Angpow nowadays?

Fishypie

PLace : Marriot HoteL.
i am thinking of $300 for myseLf thereabouts; can that do bros ?..
Your sincere advises pLease.Thanks.
;)

Re: Getting invited for a Chinese wedding this weekend,what's an optimaL Angpow nowad

PLace : Marriot HoteL.
i am thinking of $300 for myseLf thereabouts; can that do bros ?..
Your sincere advises pLease.Thanks.
;)

That's fine. If 2 persons attending, perhaps $400. It also depends on your relationship with the person inviting you.

Re: Getting invited for a Chinese wedding this weekend,what's an optimaL Angpow nowad

Your kaki getting married? If good buddy the its ok lah to give that amount..

When my best buddy got married last year I gave him $500.. Must return him the compliments as he also gave me the same amount when I married..

That's fine. If 2 persons attending, perhaps $400. It also depends on your relationship with the person inviting you.
Thanks very much bro for your prompts.Guessed the $300 it wouLd be quite ok, if i am just going aLone.:)

Im free on that day :D

Your kaki getting married? If good buddy the its ok lah to give that amount..

When my best buddy got married last year I gave him $500.. Must return him the compliments as he also gave me the same amount when I married..

His son La, bro..things have changed so much sinced the day i paid $380 a tabLe for my wedding ..:D:eek:

$380 must be in the early 80s. Similar to mine. That era, $500 seepay asai liao.

There is no such thing as an optimal 'market rate'.

Give an amount that you are willing and able to give. Do not compare with others.

Some factors to consider:

1) Is the place posh? 5/6 star hotel? Is the food good? Any live band performance?
2) How close are you to the bride and/or groom? Were you invited just to 'make up the numbers' (which usually means you'll be sitting at a table with mostly strangers)?
3) How much will your monthly disposable income be affected?

Thank goodness, I'm past the period where there's a flurry of wedding dinner invitation 'bombs'. Maybe one or two more this/next year, and that's it with wedding dinners.

P.S: I have turned down invitations in cases when I do not know either bride or groom very well, and that included those from relatives. There is nothing shameful or impolite with declining invitations if you don't see the value in showing up.

6 years ago one of my ex got married.. She purposely invited me to her wedding.. I politely declined her invitation.. I then passed an Ang Pow to a friend who was goin to her wedding.. Told him to pass to that cheebye on my behalf.. I put RM50 inside the Ang Pow.. Then few days before goin for her honeymoon she SMSed me and thanking me sarcastically for my 50 ringgit Ang Pow.. I SMSed back, '' No problem darling ''.. Then last year heard she already divorced from her hubby because he had an affair with his colleague.. Wa..Ha..Ha..Ha.. LOL..LOL..LOL..:D :D :D

Knn, you aLso damned Cheapo hor; $50 bucks you aLso dare to give....:D:eek:

Im free on that day :D

Knn bro, anyone who sees your Avatar sure says : thank you, pLease come another day...;)

Cannot say like that. If dumped that $50 on beh pio, could have struck 200k.

Knn bro, anyone who sees your Avatar sure says : thank you, pLease come another day...;)

Our avatars 半斤八两 :D

Brother Zeddy always have something funny for us. Nowadays, alot of couples are going for "lunch' instead of 'dinner' for their wedding ceremony. Cheaper, still can hold in 5 stars hotels.

Your friend's son? you must be damn old liao :D

Say who! last week I attended one at Boonlay Raja Jurong I still gave $60 angpoa leh :o

Your friend's son? you must be damn old liao :D

Say who! last week I attended one at Boonlay Raja Jurong I still gave $60 angpoa leh :o
Dont go ot uncLe, so how much to give ?...;)

My parents had taken me to various wedding dinners when I was still a boy with no pubic hair.

Here are three restaurants that, to this day, even after two decades, I still fondly remember for the great food and ambience.

1) Boon Lay Raja restaurant at Jurong.

2) Restaurant with stage karaoke at Queenstown (near cinema/bowling alley).

3) Teochew restaurant at the basement of The Concourse.

Nowadays, married couples prefer more posh locations e.g. Mariott, Fullerton, Marina Mandarin, Copthorne, Holiday Inn...

Sammyboy bros get married, I pow $500. Second marriage 1k. Sui bo?

$300 is consider a lot liao bro fish,furthermore you are going alone.

last minute he may bring FTW as escort.

There is no such thing as an optimal 'market rate'.

Give an amount that you are willing and able to give. Do not compare with others.

Some factors to consider:

1) Is the place posh? 5/6 star hotel? Is the food good? Any live band performance?
2) How close are you to the bride and/or groom? Were you invited just to 'make up the numbers' (which usually means you'll be sitting at a table with mostly strangers)?
3) How much will your monthly disposable income be affected?

Thank goodness, I'm past the period where there's a flurry of wedding dinner invitation 'bombs'. Maybe one or two more this/next year, and that's it with wedding dinners.

P.S: I have turned down invitations in cases when I do not know either bride or groom very well, and that included those from relatives. There is nothing shameful or impolite with declining invitations if you don't see the value in showing up.
Got your points..but if one's going to think so much then decide on it, the better option is not to attend..but then
my post is about the askance of a minimum decent amount of AP; given the namesake Marriot HoteL.That's it.