• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gen Y Scholarship Awardee/NSF reveals his thoughts about PAP/NS.

steffychun

cunt be bothered.... never tekan my own men.... they know i later give them back with the best pages missing. however whenever i encounter a faggot like the letter writer the usual reaction is to tekan him, just for the fun of it. i had a battalion office nsf clerk that was a faggot and we did all sorts of things to him.
Bet your men weren't PES C like this KBKB person

steffychun

Dear Sirs, Mdms and all,

Today, I will leave the SAF after two years of service. My NS journey, though unexpected, has been full of pleasant surprises. I have made many good friends whom I will continue to treasure outside of the army. I have grown so much as a person, and acquired new skills in working with others and in organisations. I started in Pes C BMT in Tekong, and later vocationalised in Sembawang camp. Finally, I was posted to 2 PDF Command, G1 Branch as a clerk. The insights I have gained through my experiences have been pivotal in helping me decide what I want to do with my life after secondary school and JC. The journey has not been easy at times, but I grew stronger with the difficulties and struggles. The people who understood me and empathised with me were so important in helping me get through the difficult days. I must give special thanks to the people at SAF Counselling Centre for their support and guidance throughout this turbulent time. (Then what the fuck you write this and kill yourself now?)

With that said, I have now reached the end of my journey. I found myself looking back at the beginning, when I was a pre-enlistee - uncertain, fearful, anxious, dreading enlistment. In my mind what I was about to experience was a blank. I had no idea how it would affect me. One question did nag at me, as I’m sure it nagged at others - why serve NS?

Countless times, many superiors and comrades have told me, “you have to serve NS. Nobody can change that. What we can do is to make the best of your two years here.” So I did, I took my time here on day at a time and looked at the bright side. That does not, however, excuse the sin of a massive institution that systematically degrades hundreds of thousands of men by depriving them of their basic human rights. “You have to serve NS. Nobody can change that.” (Wah, so chim)

With that one statement, every person in the SAF, no matter how big or small, somehow managed to absolve themselves of the responsibility of the suffering that they have caused. This military, the epicentre of the government, and a microcosm of everything wrong with Singapore. In the past fifty years the military has churned ceaselessly to provide every cause for its continued relevance. It has worked desperately to cover up the fallacious logic woven into its rotten core, that compulsory conscription is institutionalised slavery.

I was charged last year, during a routine security check. A pornographic video was found on my phone, which I did not take, and which was accidentally downloaded onto my phone (What bullshit. You as a PES C ex-scholar knew what was in your phone). All my life I had been terrified of having to serve in the army. As a child in primary school, my imagination conjured up nightmares of being barked at, punished and regimented because of small, inconsequential mistakes that were largely outside of my control. I dreaded the day. I was terrified of being publicly shamed, to have the world laughing at me like I was a freak or a loser. (If you were so afraid, why didn't you run away earlier, or best kill yourself?)

Marched into an office. Having my name printed and published for everybody to gawk at. I did everything within my power to play by the rules, to not get into trouble. And still, I stumbled and was caught. I wanted to kill myself. The night after I knew that I would be summary trialed, I googled how many anarex does it take to put you to sleep forever. I imagined what my cracked skull and smashed brains would look like on the carpark ground, twenty-five storeys down from my HDB unit. I made it through, but just barely. I was shaken to my core, but I recovered. (You recovered to write this shit?_

And then came the question. Who in this world wields the authority and power to put a human being through this suffering?

Is this war, or anarchy, where there are no laws and people hurt each other to survive? No. This is institutionalised suffering and violence. And I was far from the first victim. There are thousands of people in this organisation, adorned in glittering ranks and titles, formulating and executing policies. Your reports and statistics, your conferences and closed-door meetings. If this were a well-oiled, smooth-running organisation, such a philosophy would still be excusable. It’s not. Thousands of servicemen are systematically put through the paces of this system and made to suffer unnecessarily. Your byzantine, hierarchical bureaucracy is not designed to solve problems anymore. It’s designed to entrench them. More and more, inexcusable failures stemming from processes gone awry are being covered up with showy gestures and speeches. The reputation of the military is what is being protected, not my brothers, not our men. Military classification and security is just a blank cheque that gives your people blanket freedoms to sink to levels of mediocrity without being scrutinised. (But that is what Westerners believe you twit. Trump believes this)

Many of these inconvenient facts are deflected and concealed by a bloated middle management. The people you employ to do your grunt work are invested in career advancement, not organisational advancement. They choose money, stability and stagnation over natural evolution and change. Keeping your head down and burying problems where convenient is woven into this system’s DNA, and nobody is spared. Not the bottom-feeders, who are not powerful enough to have their voices heard, not the middle-ranks, who are too concerned with infighting and promotional criteria. And certainly not your exalted, overprotected elites. The scholars.

When I enlisted in 2016, I was a promising government scholar myself (and maybe a loser). I was supposed to be fully-funded in my studies in a top-ranking university in the United States, and come back to enjoy a fast-tracked career in a government statutory board (If so why didn't you do an Amos Yee you motherfucker?). I bought into this dream of power and change. I believed in talented, passionate individuals working together for the betterment of society. I was so eager to believe that I was willing to turn a blind eye to the natural flaws in an imperfect system. So already, the seeds were there, of elitism, entitlement, apathy. Your elites, your revolutionary change-makers, are incentivised to look for problems which can be solved, within their purview, while still hauling in their five, six-figure salaries. But to overhaul the systemic, cultural flaws of an entire organisation? An individual in a system like this is a pebble in a churning river. There is a splash, but still the water flows the same way. Who dares put their livelihoods at stake for an intangible dream? (PES C somemore want to complain)

I got so disgusted with the hypocrisy and mediocrity of the civil service that I withdrew from the scholarship. I paid every cent of the $1000 liquidation fee with my own hard-earned “allowance”, by the way. I learn this – when you have money, career, prestige, you have something to lose. Something that can be taken away. That makes you valuable, tangles you in strings. This is the twisted symbiotic relationship that maintains the balance of this system: bottom-feeders are suppressed and silenced by the middle-ranks, who are eager to please their elites. Elites who become convinced, incredibly, that they are amazing leaders, miracle workers. So they leave the military, go and become CEO of SMRT and earn even more money for letting trains break down. Trains that they don’t have to ride because they ride cars. Trains that we have to ride, every day. Soak it in, this is your glorified chain of command.

This system is designed to actively resist change and fear risk. And why, you ask, should I care? You want to run your organisation like **** (swearing is so typical and such a weak argument), fine, that’s your business. But there is a cost to running your system this way, and that is us, the people who have to ride the trains every day. The bottom of the food chain. Treated with favouritism, institutional racism, deliberate or accidental oversight, red tape. Systemic racism against Malays in the special forces, in the airforce and navy. Suicides and death details that are covered up and hush-hushed. Preferential treatment among your white horses. Every act that you practice is hypocrisy. Every apologist explanation offered is threaded with a contradictory logic that shouldn’t work. Yet here we are, intimidated with punishment, fed false promises, misled by propaganda and wayang, arbitrarily carved up into the leaders and the followers. All your organisational mediocrity becomes offloaded on us, like rivers polluted by industrial chemical runoff. Your men, purged and expended for your visions of greatness.

Is this your leadership? It reads like cowardice. All this arrogance, paranoia, manipulation and deception. This is the real reason why the military is Singapore’s little factory of elites. You take us for puppets to play with, make jokes out of our lives, strip us of our identities. You forget that NSFs have minds. That every moment of every day we are here, watching your dysfunctions and failures. You say, NS is about defending your nation, defending your family and friends. Yet history tells us that the concept of a nation is artificially construed.

Some European colonisers came ashore centuries ago and started labelling our forefathers yellow skin, brown skin (Without the colonist you motherfucker, would there even be a Singapore in name?). Started carving up our land into rigid, territorial borders, as if they had a right. So now we defend a concept created by dead white tyrants? This is just another excuse for neo-colonialism. This is why Stamford Raffles stands whitewashed by the Singapore river still (Ok, tell this to your grandpa, see if he agrees. So what will he do?). Different skin colour, same problems. You want me to defend a country that abuses its institutional machinery to utterly destroy its dissidents and critics? I would rather grovel at the feet of a foreign power. (If you don't want to defend a country, live in the ocean. Please grovel with ISIS.)

Here is what I feel. I will defend what I love (Show me someone who defends that and do not tell me Barack Hussein Obama). I will defend my principles and ideals. I will fight for truth, for equality, for humility and empathy (Show me an example because those who try usually kill themselves in the process). I see these same ideals being trampled by your great machines (Ah so Trumpland is a defenss of these rights). Your national service teaches men how to hold rifles before they can hold pens in voting booths. It indulges men’s toxic ideas of masculinity, equipping them with guns and bombs, teaching them to unite against some vague external threat. This steady crawl towards paranoia is corrosive and divisive. This bleaching of minds, this mass manufactured groupthink among your soldiers, your countrymen, is a prelude to disaster. If you really succeed in what you do, you will have a horde of fascist, Nazi-esque patriots who will run this country into the dirt. I have no love for this country. Everything I believed in wholeheartedly, it destroyed. I was helpless to do anything. The second I get my chance I’m rescinding my Singapore citizenship. (Good see if you cna survive like Amos Yee, actually are you his half sibling?)

Maybe my opinion is too extreme, maybe it can be compromised. But it’s not as if you let us speak our minds like that. There is no opportunity for us to have the freedom of voice, the basic dignity of being heard. NS is supposed to be about fighting for our freedom, but instead we are building the bars of our cells. My friends fear for me. They say if I send this email, I will be intimidated, reprimanded, charged and imprisoned. Just for wanting to be listened to. You did this to them. You. You think freedom is something you can just give and take on a whim, without any respect for human beings. Do you think you are gods? You are not gods. You are not leaders. You are monsters. (You are and idiot for writing this and burning yourself).

(My replies in brackets)

Such a loser. PES, got scholarship don't want to take, complain about Raffles (hello? Then why not complain about your parents who fucked to create you? Complain want to defend ideals not country. So scared to army what bullshit. Worse of all, say didn't know got porn on phone (haha, Lui TY laughs) charged still ORD but still want to kill yourself with this letter.

WHY DIDNT YOU DO AN AMOS YEE LOSER!

bic_cherry

DWOPP30(HWZ) said:
Summary the guy is pissed because he got charged with having porn on his phone.

This post most reflects the generation gap between Gen Y and their elders.

I believe, glancing at some comments, majority ppl here(EDMW) are like middle aged folks/long past prime even waiting to die.Some past SAF retirement age but still like to behave like RSM, express obvious double standards according to wealth/ rank. Some quite illiterate or judgemental, ignore essay because "pesC", "clerk". Many r in a hurry, just complain "WOT": they r adding useless comments, maybe being a PCW is glam.

Generation Y folks however,if they not on the latest psychedelic drug or similar , I think will check out the details and give a much more robust answer / at least understand what is written.

I believe that majority of Gen Y are actually less 'strawberry' in terms of moral/ intellectual concerns. Maybe many are physically less endowed bc few blue collar jobs and Uni admission does not require NAPFA/IPPT score. However where moral/intellectual concerns r concerned, generations before Gen Y r the reall strawberries concerned because their world is based on guanXi whereby brown nosing (aka por lum par) has significant tangible benefits.
For gen Y, they have to train their intellect to sieve out fake news, analyze Carousell, Alibaba commence and live with their choice without even the chance to try out product. Crowd funding yields more $ than guanxi funding. Grab, Uber make $$$ without even owning a single taxi. Riding on intellectual property, they are overnight MNCs.

The time will soon come for earlier to be fully dependent on Gen Y leadership for their everyday needs, and when that day comes, intellectually, what we call strawberries today will prove themselves to be no push overs at all.

too superfluous and long winded which means it's mostly a rant not a constructive critique. want to offer solutions and alternatives? must know the motivation and mission in mindeaf and how doctrines and objectives in saf cum about. how about suggesting a revolutionary way to defend the cuntry and wage war if a cuntry is attacked? nope. mindeaf and the saf are concocted and morphed not for a real fight, but a tool and toy for perpetuation of power over own shitizens. the concept and doctrine of assigning hundreds of thousands of men to outmoded methodology such as a 3-corp army with 9 combat divisions involving heliborne and armored units for land grab are as old as the shitty stains on my decades-old underwear (one of them is still wearable but is about to be trashed in the bin for wear and tear).

When I enlisted in 2016, I was a promising government scholar myself. I was supposed to be fully-funded in my studies in a top-ranking university in the United States, and come back to enjoy a fast-tracked career in a government statutory board.
KNN pes c can be gov scholar ? gov scholars are all officers but pes c not qualify for ocs ? KNN

shittypore

Equally, the SAF is Fuvk up, finding a porn video in his phone shld be no big deal, unless the video was used to commit a crime. For fuck sake, he's a soldier not a boy scout. Do the SAF really know what it takes to be a good Soldier beside that fucking paper degree.

ToaPehGong

I was charged last year, during a routine security check. A pornographic video was found on my phone, which I did not take, and which was accidentally downloaded onto my phone.
Oh please, I have never accidentally download any porn in my phone. Any material found is voluntary downloaded for my viewing pleasure. In addition, only when you serve porn will your phone prone to porn virus.

We should hunt down this Chao ah qua motherfucker for wasting the time of the army.

He was charged for having porn in his phone. That is a crime. He should be lucky that he is not sitting in Changi Hostel now.

steffychun

We should hunt down this Chao ah qua motherfucker for wasting the time of the army.

He was charged for having porn in his phone. That is a crime. He should be lucky that he is not sitting in Changi Hostel now.
Clearly he intentionally wanted to be caught to write this idiotic email, or intranet mail.