• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gahmen and the art of throwing smoke

Instead of dialling up President of Indonesia Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono direct - and remind him how little he is paid for running a country of 247,496,843 people - Lee deputised Minister for the Environment and Water Resources Vivian Balakrishnan and Foreign Minister K. Shanmugam to call their Indonesian counterparts to register Singapore's "serious concerns" about the situation and to offer help to fight the fires there. Someone expressed hope that the experts can get together soon to compare notes on "what's happening and where, and what's being done." Every schoolboy in Singapore knows what's happening (farmers burning crops), where (Sumatra and akan datang, Kalimantan) and what's being done (zilch).

Balakrishnan, fresh from calling the Aljunied town council to name cleaning contractors, said in his own Facebook account that he asked Indonesian Minister Balthasar Kambuaya to name the companies responsible for the fires there causing the haze. For a guy who flopped at floods, danced around with dengue, the only thing he knows about clearing the haze is, as expected, pointing fingers at someone else.

- http://singaporedesk.blogspot.sg/2013/06/the-art-of-throwing-smoke.html

In the corporate, it doesn't matter what you have done. It's what's being achieved that counts. These buggers can't even succeed in a corporate world. :oIo:

They hope that by the time they finished "registering" their "serious concerns" and completed their "serious meetings", the smoke would have cleared by then..............keep fingers crossed. And at year end, get bonus.

Then they will tell us: "our Indo counterparts have promised to put in more efforts in monitoring and controlling blah blah blah....."

Then wait for next slash and burn season.....then see how.

.............Lee deputised Minister for the Environment and Water Resources Vivian Balakrishnan and Foreign Minister K. Shanmugam to call their Indonesian counterparts to register Singapore's "serious concerns" about the situation and to offer help to fight the fires there. Someone expressed hope that the experts can get together soon to compare notes on "what's happening and where, and what's being done." ..........

See how defensive Smug Shan is - beating gahmen's own chest even as the shit is hitting the fan....

SINGAPORE: Minister for Foreign Affairs and Law, K Shanmugam has stressed that the reality of international law and international relations must be recognised in response to criticisms made by some members of the public who questioned why the government cannot do more about the haze situation.

In his Facebook post, Mr Shanmugam said every country is sovereign and Singapore cannot intervene in the actions in other countries.

He explained that in every field, Singapore's size and geography mean that we are often price takers, not price makers in the areas of economics, geo politics, or the environment.

Despite that, he said Singapore has done well and much better than bigger countries with more resources.

This is because the government has managed to deal with most situations by anticipating them.

However, the haze situation is quite outside the government's control as the burning of forests is happening in Indonesia.

Mr Shanmugam said Singapore has raised the matter with Indonesian ministers.

Over the years, the government has offered technical assistance, expressed its deep distress at what is happening, and has also raised the issue internationally.

Despite these efforts, the haze problem recurs.

Mr Shanmugam thanked members of the public who have noted the reality of the situation and the limitations within which the government operates.

He urged those who think the government can do more about the haze situation to tell them what can be done, rather than using this occasion to attack the government and the People's Action Party (PAP).

- CNA/fa

Don't you just looooooooooove that last sentence. Billions for the ministers and top civil servants and CEOs, and they want daft Sinkies to tell them what to do?

Shanmugam strongly rebutted criticism that government was being soft on Indonesia.

Minister for Foreign Affairs K Shanmugam strongly rebutted netizens' criticism that the Singapore government was being soft on Indonesia.

"Every country is sovereign and we can't intervene in the actions in other countries," he said in a Facebook posting on Wednesday.

Mr Shanmugam and Minister for the Environment and Water Resources Vivian Balakrishnan on Tuesday spoke with their Indonesian counterparts to emphasise "the urgency of the situation" and offer help to fight the fires in Sumatra, a government statement said.

- CNA/AFP/jc

The three-hour Pollutant Standards Index (PSI) reading hit 170 at 2pm on Wednesday, making it a new high in the current haze season.

Means what?.......................Means JUST SUCK IT UP!!! What has been done in the past is ineffective, can't do anything now, don't know what to do in future ("He urged those who think the government can do more about the haze situation to tell them what can be done").

....By end of the year.....you know what to do.....pay my bonus:o

See how defensive Smug Shan is - beating gahmen's own chest even as the shit is hitting the fan....

SINGAPORE: Minister for Foreign Affairs and Law, K Shanmugam has stressed that the reality of international law and international relations must be recognised in response to criticisms made by some members of the public who questioned why the government cannot do more about the haze situation.

In his Facebook post, Mr Shanmugam said every country is sovereign and Singapore cannot intervene in the actions in other countries.

He explained that in every field, Singapore's size and geography mean that we are often price takers, not price makers in the areas of economics, geo politics, or the environment.

Despite that, he said Singapore has done well and much better than bigger countries with more resources.

This is because the government has managed to deal with most situations by anticipating them.

However, the haze situation is quite outside the government's control as the burning of forests is happening in Indonesia.

Over the years, the government has offered technical assistance, expressed its deep distress at what is happening, and has also raised the issue internationally.

Mr Shanmugam thanked members of the public who have noted the reality of the situation and the limitations within which the government operates.

He urged those who think the government can do more about the haze situation to tell them what can be done, rather than using this occasion to attack the government and the People's Action Party (PAP).

- CNA/fa

Better still...they can do fuckoff and we cnot voice up...we speak up str away label under "using this occasion to attack garment n PAP". :oIo:

Re: Shanmugam strongly rebutted criticism that government was being soft on Indonesia

The reality is that, unfortunately,

- the PAP's track record in recent years in handling all sorts of issues have been less than competent
- from housing to transport to cost of living, it has been nothing but 'chui kong, lampar song'
- if they want to take all the credit for the successes, then they must take the debit for the things that go wrong; which they somehow don't accept
- the credibility gap has become a chasm - whether they like it or not.

The situation is made worse when Shanmugam comes across as smug when defending the situation, saying that we have been punching above our weight etc in other things. And then got the gall to ask citizens to stop cursing the gahmen and instead, to give ideas. Hey, give me a small percentage of the salaries of the CEOs of NEA, etc and we can start talking.

Georgie Yeo's time as foreign minister tried so hard also cannot put down Indonesia's haze problem.
Don't put your high hope on that Shan as he is much worse when comes to dealing with foreign affairs.

Re: Shanmugam strongly rebutted criticism that government was being soft on Indonesia

Don't say give part of his salary to help him solve problems......

A CEO who makes all the high level decisions, has all the privileged information, controls all the available resources, but when shit hits the fan, asks junior staff to offer solutions....... what a childish proposition is this:confused:

............. Hey, give me a small percentage of the salaries of the CEOs of NEA, etc and we can start talking.

Don't say give part of his salary to help him solve problems......

A CEO who makes all the high level decisions, has all the privileged information, controls all the available resources, but when shit hits the fan, asks junior staff to offer solutions....... what a childish proposition is this:confused:

So for such a childish propositions, coming out from all these million dollars paid MiniStars..

WHAT DO YOU THINK? hehehehe

STFU Shanmugam. You would never have become Foreign Minister had George Yeo not been ousted.

You second rate benchwarmer. :oIo:

- CNA/fa

What a bloody coward.

The Indon is killing us with their toxic fumes and this Shanmu talks shit!
If I smoke out my neighbours. do think I have no case to answer?

Letz hope another tsunami hits RI........ letz all dun do anything. We did the most n what did we get in return? Haze and toxic fumes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What a bloody coward.

The Indon is killing us with their toxic fumes and this Shanmu talks shit!
If I smoke out my neighbours. do think I have no case to answer?

Letz hope another tsunami hits RI........ letz all dun do anything. We did the most n what did we get in return? Haze and toxic fumes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You smoke out your neighbor here, NEA will haul you to court. Shame Your Gun..singing song about international laws etc..who doesn't know...The Indonesians are sending smoke signals that spell "M O N E Y"...if that is not a clear signal to them whities, what can?

Just mention we help you with, 1,000,000,000 USD not Rupiahs, so that your regional governors can help the plantation owners to regulate the clearing of the land during the hot seasons..the PSI will drop to normal with 24 hours.

No need, wayang over international law, call up this call up that...the haze spell "M.O.N.E.Y"..feed me, feed me!!:rolleyes:

- CNA/fa

The Minister is absolutely right. How about doing away with NS and spending of billions of dollars in defence? What if the Indonesians turn the whole Batam Island into a military training ground? It's their right. It's their sovereign territory. Singapore owes half its success to a friendly Indonesia. The other half to docile Sinkie sheep. That's reality 101 for you.

It is very bad now in Tampinese. I can see a small yellow red yolk of a Sun due to the haze. But this being Tampines, it's affordable.

Hey Shan side track a bit, tell you what you can do, sue the farking pants off the Todds. And do it quick.

In the corporate, it doesn't matter what you have done. It's what's being achieved that counts. These buggers can't even succeed in a corporate world. :oIo:

Totally agree. So what has Pinky achieved so far to justify his world's most expensive salary?

The three-hour Pollutant Standards Index (PSI) reading hit 170 at 2pm on Wednesday, making it a new high in the current haze season.

The PM2.5 index is more significant and relevant where the impact on human health is concerned.

May the smog choke LKY and hasten his going to eat joss sticks and candle wax soon, very very soon.
And then we will see the fucking blood letting in PAP and civil serpents and kangaroos. All those are there from fucking greed and self interest driven.
They know if they do not front stab or back stab the other, they will be done so themselves.

May they have fun killing each other while we all give a huge huge YUM SENG