• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Full-time jobs for FTs, temp jobs for me

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Full-time jobs for FTs, temp jobs for me</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Dec-2 6:45 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(1 of 23) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>41803.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Full-time jobs for foreigners, temp jobs for Singaporeans

PostDateIcon.png
December 3rd, 2010 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions |
PostEditIcon.png
Edit

This is not the Singapore I know before the influx of foreigners came to our land.
It used to be our parents did not have as much of a problem of finding a full-time job as compared to us now.
I recalled a time that it took years and hard-earned demonstration of commitment before a foreigner could get his/her PR, unlike today in which PRs are issued like throwing confetti before any foreign Tom, Dick and Harry who is more than happy to reap its benefits in less than a year!
But mind you, I am not working as a full-timer, but as a freelancer in the creative industry. I remain as a freelancer, not by choice, but because many agencies are not willing to hire me full-time which means paying my CPF, despite me willing to reduce my salary to that of a PRC here.
So far, I’ve been working for 3 agencies while I continue to send out 1000s of CVs. I am thankful for some income that comes most of the time, if not every month, since I am hired on project basis. I noticed that each agency promised me a job after trying me out for a few weeks. Those few weeks turned to months, with excuses from them that they have “no budget to hire full-time”. Eventually, agency no.1 (which is an MNC) hired an Indonesian fresh graduate. Agency no.2 hired an Indonesian fresh graduate same as agency no.1. Agency no.3 hired a PRC. All these foreigners were given the full-time jobs originally promised to me and without having to go through the probation periods that I went through despite my years of experience exceeding theirs!!
It’s been really heart-wrenching, considering that I have a family to feed and urgently need that source of stable income. I have to continue to swallow my angst and dismay while sitting next to these fresh hirelings. Some of them their English is so bad that they needed help in translating and even asked the meanings of simple words! They are no foreign talent, just cheap labour for employers to exploit without having to relocate to 3rd world countries.
Some of the PRCs in the companies have told me unashamedly that they hope to get their PRs within a year, buy a flat here with the govt’s grant, and then retire to their homeland. Commitment to Singapore has become a laughable topic.
From reading the articles in TR, I can see that I am not the only one, and am pretty dismayed that on my left and right, my fellow Singaporeans are suffering from this and much more. The rising costs that is spiralling out of control has made me too afraid to want to start a family here considering that I have to worry about my retirement as well. What national identity can my children be proud of by the time this country is made up of 50% foreigners? And for whom are our sons defending while male foreigners can just come here easily, get a job and PR without having to serve the army?
This madness has got to stop. VOTE FOR CHANGE, VOTE PAP OUT!
Hopeless Sinkaporean

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><CITE class=fn>Martin:</CITE>
December 3, 2010 at 10:05 am Martin(Quote) (Edit)
Dear Hopeless Singaporean,
I can empathize with your plight. I am probably the record holder for the longest serving “temporary worker” in my company. I have been with the company for more than 5 years now and was never a full-time staff, meaning I do not have any benefits nor any bonuses regardless of how hard I work. Year after year, exceeded the target number set by the management and yet whenever there is any opportunity for promotion or conversion to full-time status I am always passed in favour of our new “foreign talent” hires.
It finally dawn upon me that my company and Singapore Inc has striking similiarities. They both have the strange idea that “foreign talents” are always better, in fact, my american management has always prefer to hire foreign nationals because they have this perception that they are good, although in my opinion and experience,they are only good at buttering up their bosses and they don’t come cheap!
Hell, they can’t even do their jobs, many a times they will indirectly direct their jobs down to someone else! Everytime I am asked to train them in their jobs, which they will do their utmost best to get me to complete their jobs for them!
You can call me sour grapes or whatever, it does irks me to no end whenever I hear which million dollars condominum they are buying when I cannot even afford a HDB flats despite 5 years in the company with my miserable pay. Whenever there is any company events or give-aways, the “temporary workers” are always missed out and treated as non-existent even in the company reports, and yet they expect us to be loyal to the company.
Of course, not all Singaporeans are “temporary workers”, some are full-timers, much like our ministers and from them you get the popular saying “It does not matter what you can do or how much experience you have, it always boils down to who you know and how well you know him/her.”
These full-timers usually will spend time on which pubs to hit in the evening or whatever leisure activities they are planning, well knowing they have their subordinate “temporary workers” to finish their work for them. They can leave anytime of the day to attend to any “urgent personal matters”, but when you have send your elderly mother to the doctor, they will give you that “can’t you do it after work” or “aren’t there anyone else to do that in the family?”
NO benefits, NO welfare,NO bonuses – only sloughing your life away just so they get THEIR own bonuses at the end of the year. Isn’t it similar to how Singapore is being run right now?
I have sent out resumes to other companies, I do get a couple of replies. However when they learned that I do have reservists obligations, they will turn me away. Others will lower down the salary to an obscene $1.4K regardless what experience or qualifications you have, knowing how desperate Singaporeans are in these times.
Such is the sad fact of affairs in the life or ordinary Singapore such as myself.
Regards
Martin

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Go read this
http://forum.channelnewsasia.com/viewtopic.php?t=387144&start=260
<TABLE class=forumline border=0 cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=3 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=row1 vAlign=top width=150 align=left>TienZin

</TD><TD class=row1 height=28 vAlign=top width="100%"><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD width="100%">Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 3:35 pm Post subject: </TD><TD vAlign=top noWrap> </TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=2><HR></TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=2><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=3 width="90%" align=center><TBODY><TR><TD>amabo wrote:</TD></TR><TR><TD class=quote>Sounds not so good in the job markets for degree holders. What happened to years of study and the end results is so bad</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Here is the real ground situation. My friend working as a HR is a design company. Recently he told me his company is looking for a designer. He said out 10 only 2 Singaporeans applied. The rest are from Pinoy or Malaysia but majority are from Pinoy.

He gave me the impression that Singaporeans do not wanna work. I asked what the salary and qualification. He said, degree and pay them SG2200/mth.

I told him staright in his face which SGers can live with SG2200, after CPF $1760... how to live. chances are SGers need to pay study loan too? Then he said why those pinoys applied, I told him, Pinoy pay less CPF, same for the company.

I don't blame the company as they always look for the lowest cost but I blame the employment policies by the millions dallors elites. They artifically create the supply by opening the doors big big for FTs. This in turn depress the salary of average SGers, it also deprive of young SGers working experience and job opportunity.

Why Singaporeans have 3rd world salary while living standard is 1st world?
Why is our country creating jobs for outsiders?
Why is there no control on foreign empolyment?

Sad result is this company offer the job to the cheap Pinoy with some experience .... thank you elites, for disadvantaging Singaporeans.</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<CITE class=fn>IHATEsg:</CITE>
December 3, 2010 at 10:31 am IHATEsg(Quote) (Edit)
Dear Hopeless Sinkaporean,
First, i feel sad and sorry for your situation. And as you said there are lot and lot of Singaporean in their OWN country are unable to land a decent full-time job. Most are either contract jobs, project-based jobs or temp jobs which pay on hourly based.
I myself is a local polytechnic graduate where my diploma is specialise in manufacture industry. Not only the industry is relocate out of SG, but also companies i come across do hire lot and lot of foreigners! (I believe you can see it when you takes buses at Boon Lay interchange).
And currently i’m working as temp staff in govt dept, where i do see lot of our fellow Singaporean who cannot find a full time jobs, landed as temp-job workers here. Mind you, they are not below “O” level graduates..some of them are overseas universities graduates and local uni graduates. And a handful of them are even from the local polytechnics graduates!
And no wonder my relatives and peers and people whom i know are making up their mind of migrating or finding jobs overseas. Some would even comment they will NOT return for good!! Infact, i believe you can see most of the True Blue Singaporean have lost faith in this so-call “own country” “home land” and looking for ways to move out…
Lastly, as a young generation of SG, we do hope there is changes and the greedy MIWs will be voted and throw out from their office soon! If not, my dear friend, move and go for greener pastures somewhere out there…where life is more appreciated and enjoy.

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>headgansta <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Dec-3 12:21 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (10 of 23) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>41803.10 in reply to 41803.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>I have a friend who works in a GLC. IT Company.
He is on "CONTRACT" renewable YEARLY.
His Boss is an Indian and He is a MINORITY in his Company.
Invariably more than 80% of the employees are Indian.
His terms of employment is much worse than his so called Indian Colleagues.
To add insult to injury He says many of these so called Indian experts are actually useless.
He told me He will be voting the opposition...any opposition.
My friend has a Masters degree from our Local University.

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Dec-3 12:28 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (11 of 23) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>41803.11 in reply to 41803.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><CITE class=fn>Hairdresser:</CITE>
December 3, 2010 at 4:13 pm Hairdresser(Quote) (Edit)
I come to know of a hair salon in Holland shopping centre, employing 3 PRC and 3 Malaysian without any Songaporean. Bosses themselve formerly are ex prc

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Dec-3 12:30 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (13 of 23) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>41803.13 in reply to 41803.11 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><CITE class=fn>shit:</CITE>
December 3, 2010 at 4:21 pm shit(Quote) (Edit)
i am a sub-contractor dealing with almost 99% of workers from FTs. i felt so out numbered as at many occasions they took control over me whenever issues of headcount arise. and i tought what the fuck am i doing and struggling for the sake of all this fuckers.
the prc command at least $120.00 per person per day for skilled work. its not cheap man, shit!
worst till, they can easily start company competing low price and employing their own clan for business too. so where do we sinkeporeans stand for??? what a fucking shit scenario we have in sinkapore?????

images

Lau Cheebye:"Well, remember that when voting comes." (Straits Times, 28 January 2010)

All those retarded Singaporeans can work as Full-time Construction workers. :mad:

The peasants care too much about face value and avoid all the job that is deemed as shameful

In the end, they rather go jobless

This is shocking to say the least ....!!:mad:

Imagine another 1 to 2 million new FTs gushing in here in the next few years !!!:oIo:

This is shocking to say the least ....!!:mad:

Imagine another 1 to 2 million new FTs gushing in here in the next few years !!!:oIo:

This is a great opportunity for all business owners and our economy ;)

Only peasants suffer from FT invasion because they will be displaced :D

If you are an employer, you'll be laughing off to the banks for the millions you can earn with cheap labour.
If you are an employee, tough luck with the diminishing pay packages and multiplying inflation.

The rich-poor gap widens, govt sits back and enjoy the show.

Full-time jobs for foreigners, temp jobs for Singaporeans[/COLOR][/URL] ...
it cud have been worse! ...

u stil got temp jobs now ... bcos u have ze world's bestest paid politicians who got u ze jobs ... otherwise, u dun even have any jobs ... :mad:

dun u even comprain! ... juz take wat is there 4 u! ... otherwise, u dun even have a job ... :mad:

u shud now increase ze world's bestest paid politicians salaries so dat dey can continue 2 create ur temp jobs 4 u ...

remember! ... dey muz b paid 2 their satisfaction so dat dey can b sufficiently motivated 2 make temp jobs available 4 u ...

this elitist bugger is complaining about not finding any 3k ++ a month job. most fulltime FT don't ever earn more than 1.5k a month. his familee/cronies got so much money to support him for so long even though he unemployed? suspicious. if 66.6% of singpies unemployed for so long, MRT tracks will be stacked with corpses.

All those retarded Singaporeans can work as Full-time Construction workers. :mad:

I think you're overestimating ther skills. How many Sgns can you find who know how to mix cement? Frame a door? Lay roof tiles? Sg mommies would faint if their sons were to do outdoor work, let alone construction. Their future more likely will be in loan sharking, pimping. or running churches.

>>Martin:
December 3, 2010 at 10:05 am Martin(Quote) (Edit)
Dear Hopeless Singaporean,
I can empathize with your plight. I am probably the record holder for the longest serving “temporary worker” in my company. I have been with the company for more than 5 years now and was never a full-time staff, meaning I do not have any benefits nor any bonuses regardless of how hard I work. Year after year, exceeded the target number set by the management and yet whenever there is any opportunity for promotion or conversion to full-time status I am always passed in favour of our new “foreign talent” hires.<<

Who to blame but himself? He has swallowed his pride year after year. He can only blame himself for not saving money and start his own business or look for employment in other companies.